Web Summary – Privacy Impact Assessment – Administrative Investigations Program

An administrative investigation can be defined as a formal fact-finding inquiry, conducted by an investigator, which examines allegations of misconduct in order to determine whether wrong-doing has occurred and, if so, the persons or entities responsible, as well as the amount of loss. The purpose of which is to allow management to make an informed decision.

An administrative investigation is conducted to probe allegations of employee financial misconduct and to confirm or deny their validity. The Special Investigations Division may undertake investigations for the following incidents: financial fraud, malfeasance, or losses of money and/or property of the Crown. A systematic evaluation of the circumstances and facts surrounding an allegation is required. The administrative investigation may be conducted independent of or in conjunction with a criminal investigation; however, the latter is conducted by a law enforcement agency and is not a substitute for an administrative inquiry.

After an administrative investigation is conducted, a report is provided to senior management with the facts of the case, including what weaknesses led to the loss and what controls are recommended to mitigate future risks. This report is then taken into consideration in management's decision to impose administrative and/or disciplinary measures.

Key Risks Identified:

Overall, the Administrative Investigations Program poses a low risk to privacy. This is due primarily to the high degree of care demonstrated by ZIU personnel in handling sensitive personal information collected and used during the course of an investigation. The following specific risks were identified in this assessment:

  1. A Threat Risk Assessment (TRA) for the case management software has not been completed as of the writing of this assessment (September, 2016).
  2. There are no standard operating procedures (SOPs) in place requiring that investigation reports and other material only be transmitted over the department’s secure C-5 system.

Mitigating Strategies:

To mitigate these risks, the following strategies are recommended:

  1. The case management software will not be implemented by GLOBAL AFFAIRS CANADA until the TRA is completed and approved by executive committee.
  2. ZIU will ensure all staff complete formal data protection training with particular regard to the importance of storing and transmitting sensitive personal information in a secure manner.
Date Modified:

Résumé en ligne – Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée – Programme d’enquête administrative

Une enquête administrative est une enquête officielle permettant d’établir les faits; elle est réalisée par un enquêteur, qui examine les allégations d’inconduite en vue de déterminer si un acte répréhensible a été commis et dans l’affirmative, déterminer les personnes ou les entités responsables, ainsi que le montant de la perte, l’objectif étant de permettre aux dirigeants de prendre une décision éclairée.

Une enquête administrative est effectuée pour vérifier le bien-fondé des allégations de malversations financières de la part d’employés et pour confirmer leur validité ou les rejeter. La Direction des enquêtes spéciales (ZIU) peut entreprendre des enquêtes sur les points suivants : fraude financière, méfaits, perte de fonds et/ou de biens de l’État. Une évaluation systématique des circonstances et des faits entourant une allégation doit être réalisée. L’enquête administrative peut être effectuée de manière indépendante ou en même temps qu’une enquête criminelle; celle-ci doit toutefois être réalisée par un organisme d’application de la loi et ne peut pas remplacer une enquête administrative.

Une fois l’enquête administrative terminée, un rapport est présenté aux cadres supérieurs, incluant les faits et les faiblesses qui ont concouru à la perte et les contrôles recommandés pour atténuer les risques à l’avenir. Ce rapport est pris en considération par les cadres supérieurs dans leur décision d’imposer des mesures administratives et/ou disciplinaires.

Principaux risques recensés

Dans l’ensemble, le Programme d’enquête administrative représente un faible risque pour la vie privée. Cela est principalement attribuable aux mesures de protection prises par les employés concernant la manipulation, la collecte et l’utilisation des renseignements de nature délicate dans le cadre d’une enquête. Les risques suivants ont été relevés lors de l’évaluation :

  1. Une évaluation de la menace et du risque (EMR) du logiciel de gestion de cas n’a pas été réalisée à ce jour (septembre 2016).
  2. Il n’existe aucune procédure normale d’exploitation en place exigeant que des rapports d’enquête et autres documents soient seulement transmis par le réseau ministériel C5 sécurisé.

Stratégies d’atténuation

Les stratégies suivantes sont recommandées afin d’atténuer les risques :

  1. Le logiciel de gestion des cas ne sera pas mis en œuvre par AFFAIRES MONDIALES CANADA jusqu’à ce que l’EMR soit réalisée et approuvée par le Comité exécutif.
  2. ZIU veillera à ce que tous les employés suivent la formation officielle sur la protection des données, un accent particulier étant mis sur l’importance de classer et de transmettre des renseignements personnels de nature délicate d’une manière sécuritaire.
Date de modification: