Privacy Impact Assessment for the International Scholarship Program

Executive Summary

The International Scholarship Program distributes approximately $11 million in scholarships to foreign students who wish to study in Canada.  It is intended for students of merit who want to pursue post-secondary studies or research programs in Canada and for Canadians to take advantage of reciprocal awards offered by foreign governments. The purpose is to train future leaders, facilitate the exchange of ideas, and enable foreign scholars and future opinion leaders to contribute to their country’s knowledge and understanding of Canada upon their return, thereby raising Canada’s profile and promoting its interests globally. Canada is committed to participation in international study and research partnerships that build understanding among peoples, develop global citizens and leaders, and contribute to the development of nations. Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (DFAIT) is responsible for the Government of Canada's participation in major International Scholarship Programs. DFAIT provides support to international scholars in Canada, which is often reciprocated by foreign governments, which support Canadian scholars in their countries.

A Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) was completed as part of the Department’s commitment to protection of personal information. The assessment process also met the Management of Information Technology and Security (MITS) requirements obligating departmental enterprise applications to undergo a security and privacy assessment.

At the time the PIA was completed, the program was administered by the Canadian Bureau for International Education (CBIE) under a contribution agreement with DFAIT. CBIE hosted and administered the www.scholarships.gc.ca website and databases containing scholarship recipient and alumni information. DFAIT, at that time, had little to no control over the web environment for matters such as data collection, management, retention, disposition, or security.

At the same time, DFAIT engaged CBIE as Scholarship Administrator to provide processing and reporting for DFAIT scholarship applications from international (non-Canadian) as well as Canadian students and academics. Personal information received from students under the various programs may include the following: contact information, sensitive details of proposed research projects, copies of student visas and study permits, and the names of institutions and programs of study.

Information about applicants was stored in four main databases:

  1. DFAIT Scholarships for Non Canadians, which contained applicants’ personal information as well as their research proposals;
  2. DFAIT Scholarships for Canadians
  3. DFAIT project Scholarships
  4. Alumni program

In addition to the above, the Department and the program collected personal information associated with the operation of the following committees and working groups in order to manage the International Scholarship Program:

  1. Personal information related to the Selection Committees, normally Canadian university professors
  2. Personal information related to individuals involved in Collaboration Missions –promoting partnerships between Canadian post-secondary institutions and Caribbean and Latin American counterparts
  3. The content of the Research Proposals provided by the candidates may contain personal information

There were inherent risks associated with information capture, collection, retention, and flow in the context of the operational features of the Scholarship Administrator web-based tool, as well as the scholarship program. The PIA resulted in the identification of selected risks and described detailed mitigation strategies associated with each risk. The following are brief recommendations drawn from the completed PIA to reduce the levels of risks found with the initiative.

Action plans have been developed based on identified risks and recommended mitigations. At the time the PIA was completed, DFAIT was prioritizing the associated actions required to follow up on the recommendations and the mitigation strategies.

While these mitigating strategies did not eliminate the risk entirely, it reduced it to a level for which the Department and its senior management could assume the remaining risk with a reasonable expectation that risks in the process of being realized would be caught by monitoring processes before they became untenable. These residual risks required to be managed in accordance with the executive duties, powers and prerogatives and accountability bestowed upon the Deputy Head.

Date Modified:

Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée pour le programme de bourses internationales

Sommaire exécutif

Le programme de bourses internationales distribue environ 11 millions de dollars en bourses à des étudiants étrangers qui souhaitent étudier au Canada. Il est destiné aux étudiants méritoires qui veulent poursuivre des études postsecondaires ou des programmes de recherche au Canada et aux Canadiens voulant profiter des bourses de réciprocité offertes par des gouvernements étrangers. L’objectif est de former de futurs dirigeants, de faciliter l’échange des idées et de permettre aux chercheurs étrangers et aux futurs leaders d'opinion de contribuer, à leur retour dans leur pays, à la connaissance qu'ont leur pays du Canada et à leur compréhension du Canada, ce qui permettra de mieux faire connaître le Canada et de promouvoir ses intérêts au niveau mondial. Le Canada est déterminé à encourager la participation aux partenariats d'études et de recherches internationales qui favorisent une meilleure compréhension entre les peuples, forment des citoyens et des leaders mondiaux et contribuent au développement des nations. Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada (MAECI) est responsable de la participation du gouvernement du Canada aux grands programmes de bourses internationales. Le MAECI offre un soutien aux chercheurs internationaux au Canada, et, réciproquement, des gouvernements étrangers aident souvent des boursiers canadiens inscrits dans des établissements de leurs pays.

Une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) a été réalisée dans le cadre de l'engagement du Ministère en matière de protection des renseignements personnels. Le processus d’évaluation visait également à satisfaire aux exigences relatives à la Gestion de la sécurité des technologies de l'information (GSTI), qui prévoient que les applications d’entreprise du Ministère doivent faire l’objet d’une évaluation en matière de sécurité et de protection de la vie privée.

Au moment où l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée a été achevée, le programme était administré par le Bureau canadien de l'éducation internationale (BCEI) en vertu d’un accord de contribution conclu avec le MAECI. Le BCEI a hébergé et administré le site Web www.scholarships.gc.ca et les bases de données contenant les renseignements sur les récipiendaires des bourses et sur les anciens. À ce moment, le MAECI avait un contrôle minime ou inexistant sur l’environnement Web pour ce qui était de questions comme la collecte des données, la gestion, la conservation, l’élimination ou la sécurité.

Au même moment, le MAECI a sollicité le concours du BCEI à titre d’administrateur des bourses pour assurer le traitement des demandes de bourses reçues par le MAECI d’étudiants et de chercheurs internationaux (non canadiens). Les renseignements personnels reçus des étudiants dans le cadre des divers programmes peuvent comprendre les éléments suivants : coordonnées, détails de nature délicate des projets de recherche projetés, copies des visas étudiants et des permis d’études, et noms des institutions et des programmes d’études.

Les renseignements sur les personnes présentant des demandes étaient stockés dans quatre bases de données principales :

  1. Bourses du MAECI pour les non-Canadiens, qui contenaient les renseignements personnels des candidats ainsi que leur projet de recherche;
  2. Les bourses du MAECI pour les Canadiens
  3. Les bourses de projet du MAECI
  4. Le programme à l’intention des anciens

En plus de ce qui précède, le Ministère et les responsables du Programme ont recueilli des renseignements personnels associés au fonctionnement des comités et des groupes de travail suivants afin de gérer le Programme de bourses internationales :

  1. Renseignements personnels liés aux comités de sélection, normalement des professeurs d’université canadiens
  2. Renseignements personnels liés aux personnes participant à des missions de collaboration – faisant la promotion de partenariats entre des établissements postsecondaires canadiens et latino-américains.
  3. Le contenu des projets de recherche fourni par les candidats peut contenir des renseignements personnels.

Il existait des risques inhérents associés à la saisie, à la collecte, à la conservation et à la circulation de l’information dans le contexte des caractéristiques de fonctionnement de l’outil Web de l’administrateur des bourses, ainsi que du programme de bourses. L’EFVP a permis de cerner certains risques et a décrit des stratégies d’atténuation détaillées associées à chaque risque. Vous trouverez ci-dessous de brèves recommandations tirées de l’EFVP pour réduire les niveaux de risque de l’initiative.

Des plans d’action ont été mis au point en fonction des risques cernés et des mesures d’atténuation recommandées. Au moment où l’EFVP a été achevée, le MAECI établissait l’ordre de priorité des mesures associées requises pour donner suite aux recommandations et aux stratégies d’atténuation des risques.

Bien que ces stratégies d’atténuation des risques n’aient pas entièrement éliminé les risques, elles les ont suffisamment réduits pour que le Ministère et sa haute direction puissent les assumer et s’attendre raisonnablement à ce que les risques en voie de se concrétiser soient détectés par les processus de surveillance avant qu’ils ne deviennent insoutenables. Ces risques résiduels devaient être gérés conformément aux tâches, pouvoirs, prérogatives et responsabilités conférés à l’administrateur général.

Date de modification: