Access to Information and Privacy

What’s the key to revitalizing Access to Information?

Global Affairs Canada has an established Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division to process formal requests made under the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. In this section will find information on:

Access to Information Act

The Access to Information Act gives Canadian citizens and permanent residents as well as individuals and corporations present in Canada the right to seek access to federally controlled information and records.

Privacy Act

The Privacy Act provides Canadian citizens and individuals present in Canada the right to seek access to their personal information that is held by the federal government. It also governs the collection, use, disclosure, retention and disposal of personal information.

Global Affairs Canada is committed to protecting information collected to administer its programs and adheres to the requirements of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act.

How to submit an Access to Information or Privacy Act request:

Submitting an online request

Using the ATIP online request service, is a faster, easier and more convenient way to submit access to information or privacy requests. Apply online to save time.

Mailing your request - Access to Information Act

To make a request by mail under the Access to Information Act you may either submit your request on the official form provided by the Treasury Board Secretariat or you may write to us stating what information you are seeking. Your request should be forwarded to the following address:

Please note:

Mailing your Request - Privacy Act

To make a request by mail under the Privacy Act, you may either submit your request on the official form provided by the Treasury Board Secretariat or you may write to us stating what personal information you are seeking. Your request should be sent to:

Please note:

Date Modified:

Accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels

Quelle est la clé pour revitaliser l’Accès à l’information?

Le ministère des Affaires mondiales Canada a établi une Direction de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels pour traiter les demandes officielles présentées en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Dans cette section, vous trouverez des renseignements sur :

Loi sur l'accès à l’information

La Loi sur l’accès à l’information confère aux citoyens canadiens et aux résidents permanents, de même qu’aux personnes et aux sociétés présentes au Canada, le droit de demander accès à l’information et aux dossiers qui relèvent du gouvernement fédéral.

Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels confère aux citoyens et aux personnes qui se trouvent au Canada le droit de demander les renseignements personnels que le gouvernement fédéral détient à leur sujet et régit la collecte, l’utilisation, la communication, la conservation et l’élimination de ces renseignements.

Affaires mondiales Canada s’engage à protéger les renseignements qu'il recueille pour gérer ses programmes et à respecter les exigences de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Comment soumettre une demande en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou une demande en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels :

Soumettre une demande en ligne – NOUVEAU

Utiliser le service de demande d'AIPRP en ligne est une façon plus rapide, plus facile et plus pratique de soumettre les demandes d'accès à l'information ou à des renseignements personnels. Soumettez votre demande en ligne aujourd'hui, et gagnez du temps.

Demande par la poste - Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Pour présenter une demande par la poste en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, vous pouvez soit utiliser le formulaire officiel fourni par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, ou écrire une lettre détaillant les renseignements demandés. Vous devez faire parvenir votre demande à l’adresse suivante :

Nota:

Demande par la poste - Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Pour présenter une demande par la poste en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, vous pouvez utiliser le formulaire officiel du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor ou nous écrire une lettre détaillant les renseignements personnels demandés. Vous devez poster votre demande à l’adresse suivante :

Nota :

Date de modification: