Archived information

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Global Affairs Canada
Quarterly Financial Report

For the period ended December 31, 2015

Table of Contents

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and programs

1. Introduction

This quarterly report for the period ending December 31, 2015 has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. The report has not been subject to an external audit or review, and should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and the Supplementary Estimates for the current year.

A summary description of the Department's programs can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Department's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Department consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the fiscal year 2015-16. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for special purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the Government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

Global Affairs Canada uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

A. Significant changes to Authorities

The following table shows the total budget available for use by the Department. Only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament as at December 31, 2015 are included.

Table 1: Significant changes to Authorities
Authorities (In thousands of dollars)Fiscal Year
2015-2016
Fiscal Year
2014-2015
Variance
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015$%
Operating expenditures1,504,1071,482,64321,4641%
Capital Expenditures155,070320,929(165,859)-52%
Grants and Contributions3,573,4103,431,565141,8454%
Locally engaged staff pensions, insurance and social security60,80250,77910,02320%
Budgetary statutory authorities
Contributions to employee benefit plans102,24997,8384,4115%
Ministers' salary and motor car allowance24824352%
Payments under the Diplomatic Service (Special) Superannuation Act250250-0%
Debt forgiveness to Pakistan124,640172,252(47,612)-28%
Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets1,7132,908(1,195)-41%
Refunds of amounts credited to revenues in previous years1816213%
Payment to the World Bank for the Advance Market Commitment for Pneumococcal Vaccines-10,916(10,916)-100%
Payments to International Financial Institutions Encashment of notes-211,800(211,800)-100%
Payments to International Financial Institutions Direct Payments245,00033,200211,800638%
Total Budgetary authorities5,767,507 5,815,339 (47,832)-1%
Non-budgetary authorities68,11979,632(11,513)-14%
Total Authorities5,835,626 5,894,971 (59,345)-1%
i. Budgetary Authorities

Operating Expenditures authorities haveincreased by $21.5 million. This is mainly due to currency exchange fluctuations on operating expenditures and locally engaged staff salaries, inflation on overseas operating costs and funding received for the operations of the Stabilization and Reconstruction Task Force and the Global Peace and Security Fund.

Capital Expenditures authorities have decreased by $165.9 million. This is attributable to the funding for the consolidation of the Canadian High Commission at Trafalgar Square, London, received in 2014-15. Changes in the funding profile related to the Moscow Chancery Relocation Project also contributed to this decrease which was offset by an increase of the capital budget carry-forward.

Grants and Contributions authorities have increased by $141.8 million. This is mainly due to the funding received for the Stabilization and Reconstruction Task Force and the Global Peace and Security Fund. New funding to support the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria also contributed to this increase.

Locally engaged staff pension, insurance and social security authorities have increased by $10.0 million. As part of the management of the Locally Engaged Staff (LES) pension, insurance and social security program, Global Affairs Canada annual funding requests reflect the requirements that payments in respect of such employee benefits are met. 

ii. Budgetary Statutory Authorities

Contributions to employee benefits plans (EBP) statutory have increased by $4.4 million. This is mainly due to the salary components of the funding received for the Stabilization and Reconstruction Task Force and the Global Peace and Security Fund, currency exchange fluctuations on Locally Engaged Staff salaries and compensation for collective bargaining agreements. This was partially offset by funding received through Supplementary Estimates B in the third quarter for 2014-15 for Locally Engaged Staff salary revisions not provided in the first quarter and second quarter.

Debt forgiveness to Pakistan of $124.6 million represents the available balance from previous years. For 2014-15, the opening balance was $172.2 million of which $47.6 million was used during the year. In 2006-2007, the Government of Canada, as represented by the Department, entered into an agreement with the Government of Pakistan to forgive its outstanding $447.5 million loan. In order to expire its debt obligation, the Government of Pakistan is required to make corresponding investments in their education sector.

Payments to International Financial Institutions (IFI) authorities were the same compared to last year. The authorities available in 2014-15 reflected the former payment method through the encashment of notes by IFI, whereas this year’s amounts reflect the more administratively efficient method to make payments to IFI through direct payments.

iii. Non-budgetary Authorities

The Department’s non-budgetary authorities have decreased by $11.5 million. This is largely caused by a reduction in the Working Capital Advances for loans and advances to personnel and posts abroad. In addition, there was a decrease in the anticipated payments to International Financial Institutions for capital subscriptions.

B. Significant changes to budgetary expenditures by standard object

The following table shows the budgetary expenditures and revenues netted against expenditures of the Department for the first three quarters and their comparison with the same period last year.

Table 2: Significant changes to budgetary expenditures by standard object
(in thousands of dollars)April to December
2015-16
April to December
2014-15
Variance
$%
Expenditures
Salaries and employee benefits800,580796,6623,9180%
Transportation and communications71,39474,613(3,219)(4%)
Information5,6136,075(462)(8%)
Professional and special services153,421140,46712,9549%
Rentals156,709150,3596,3504%
Repair and maintenance15,73417,362(1,628)(9%)
Utilities, materials and supplies27,32327,911(588)(2%)
Other7,71522,245(14,530)(65%)
Total Operating1,238,4891,235,6942,7950%
Acquisition of land, buildings and works27,74495,363(67,619)(71%)
Acquisition of machinery and equipment20,59219,4691,1236%
Total Acquisition48,336114,832(66,496)(58%)
Transfer payments1,989,2001,613,422375,77823%
Total gross budgetary expenditures3,276,0252,963,948312,07711%
Less revenues netted against expenditures
Revenue Credited to the Vote25,48031,200(5,720)(18%)
Total Net Budgetary Expenditures3,250,5452,932,748317,79711%
i. Operating Expenditures

Transportation and communications – The decrease of $3.2 million is caused by a timing difference from the recovery of mission mobile device costs from Shared Services Canada as well as a reduction in shipment costs for personnel abroad.

Professional and special services – The increase of $13.0 million is primarily explained by higher costs this fiscal year related to security at missions abroad, the IM/IT consulting services, the timing of security invoices from another government department and fees paid for the management of new trade offices abroad.

Rentals – The increase of $6.4 million is due in part to regular increases in rent of office and residential leases abroad as well as fluctuations in foreign and domestic currencies.

Repair and maintenance – The decrease of $1.6 million is mostly attributable to decreased expenditures on the repair and maintenance of residential buildings (staff quarters) abroad this fiscal year.

Other – The decrease of $14.5 million is mostly due to the implementation of the salary payment in arrears by the Government of Canada in 2014-2015. This process required a one-time transition payment which caused this variance. This difference was offset by the impact of foreign exchange due to a lower Canadian dollar.

ii. Capital Expenditures

Acquisition of land, building and works –The decrease of $67.6 million is attributed to the renovation costs incurred in 2014-15 for the Canada House revitalization project in London. Acquisitions made in 2015-2016 that relate to the “Official Residences right sizing” program also contributed to this variance.

iii. Transfer Payments

The increase of $375.8 million in transfer payments is, for the most part, a result of disbursements made to the World Bank for the Global Fund to fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria as well as a grant to the United Nations Development Program to provide long term institutional support to this organization. A payment to the United Nations Population Fund for the Child, Early and Forced Marriage initiative and humanitarian assistance related to the Syrian crisis have also contributed to this increase.

iv. Revenues

The decrease of $5.7 million in revenues originates from a timing difference in the recovery by Global Affairs Canada of shared costs from other organizations co-located at missions.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

Given Global Affairs Canada’s mandate, the department must operate in a constantly changing environment that is influenced by many external factors (political, global economic, export and import controls, social contexts) including shifting of global trends. In addition, the department must operate in a time of fiscal restraint as a result of the operating budget freeze that was announced for all government departments and agencies in Budget 2014.

In recognition of this environment, a new integrated business planning process was implemented to support risk management through enhanced monitoring of risk and mitigation strategies. The department has also improved financial forecasting and continues to find ways to absorb or fund activities within existing spending authorities without compromising program results.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

The following senior appointments took place during the quarter:

The Government has announced that the name of the Department will be changed to Global Affairs Canada.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved, as required by the TB Policy on Financial Resource Management, Information and Reporting:

Daniel Jean
Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs

T. Christine Hogan
Deputy Minister of International Trade

Peter M. Boehm
A/Deputy Minister of International Development

Arun Thangaraj
Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Planning, Finance and Information Technology

Ottawa, Ontario
Date: February 29, 2016

Table 3: Statement of Authorities (Unaudited)
This table includes authorities available for use and granted by Parliament as at December 31, 2015
(In thousands of dollars)Fiscal Year
2015-2016
Fiscal Year
2014-2015
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2015Year to date used at quarter endTotal available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2014Year to date used at quarter end
Operating Expenditures1,504,107350,1251,080,2911,482,643365,2701,075,693
Capital Expenditures155,07025,95266,177320,92958,236135,853
Grants and Contributions3,573,410745,9781,748,9553,431,565662,7281,390,646
Locally engaged staff pensions, insurance and social security60,80213,20636,02350,77912,16334,533
Budgetary statutory authorities
Contributions to employee benefit plans102,24925,75077,43697,83824,24173,048
Ministers' salary and motor car allowance2484216724361182
Payments under the Diplomatic Service (Special) Superannuation Act2501820525050118
Debt forgiveness to Pakistan124,640--172,252--
Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets1,7131,2331,2332,908--
Refunds of amounts credited to revenues in previous years18(0)18161616
Payment to the World Bank for the Advance Market Commitment for Pneumococcal Vaccines---10,916-10,916
Payments to International Financial Institutions
Encashment of notes
---211,80012,500211,743
Payments to International Financial Institutions
Direct Payments
245,00012,500240,04033,200--
Total Budgetary authorities5,767,507 1,174,804 3,250,545 5,815,339 1,135,265 2,932,748
Non-budgetary authorities68,11930,38329,90279,632(3,690)4,398
Total Authorities5,835,626 1,205,187 3,280,447 5,894,971 1,131,575 2,937,146
Table 4: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
This table includes authorities available for use and granted by Parliament as at December 31, 2015
(In thousands of dollars)Fiscal Year
2015-2016
Fiscal Year
2014-2015
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2015Year to date used at quarter endPlanned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2014Year to date used at quarter end
Expenditures
Salaries and employee benefits1,018,166264,556800,580962,831264,833796,662
Transportation and communications80,84025,36271,39498,83927,08174,613
Information11,3232,3235,61313,5802,5836,075
Professional and special services294,47062,710153,421286,51056,406140,467
Rentals209,93341,813156,709226,78143,584150,359
Repair and maintenance39,5214,12615,73435,3387,04117,362
Utilities, materials and supplies55,8409,75627,32356,97210,83927,911
Acquisition of land, buildings and works90,09011,62027,744209,72540,04195,363
Acquisition of machinery and equipment66,7119,95520,592112,0839,68319,469
Transfer payments3,818,660758,4961,989,2003,687,730675,2791,613,422
Other129,1781,1797,715174,287(114)22,245
Total gross budgetary expenditures5,814,732 1,191,896 3,276,025 5,864,676 1,137,256 2,963,948
Less revenues netted against expenditures
Revenue Credited to the Vote47,22517,09225,48049,3371,99131,200
Total revenues netted against expenditures47,22517,092 25,480 49,337 1,991 31,200
Total Net Budgetary Expenditures5,767,507 1,174,804 3,250,545 5,815,339 1,135,265 2,932,748
Date Modified:

Informations archivées

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Affaires mondiales Canada
Rapport financier trimestriel

Pour la période terminée le 31 décembre 2015

Table des matières

Compte rendu présentant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Le présent rapport trimestriel de la période se terminant le 31 décembre, 2015 a été préparé par la direction, tel qu’exigé par l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen et devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses et les Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses de l’exercice courant.

On peut consulter une description sommaire des programmes du Ministère dans la  Partie II du Budget principal des dépenses.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Ministère accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Ministère, de manière cohérente avec le Budget principal des dépenses et les Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l’exercice 2015-16. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d'une élection générale, l'article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à émettre un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l'exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

Affaires Mondiales Canada utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour préparer et présenter ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement s’appuient encore sur une base de dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

A. Changements importants aux autorisations

Le tableau suivant présente les crédits budgétaires disponibles pour le Ministère. Seulement les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement au 31 décembre 2015 sont inclues.

Tableau 1 : Changements importants aux autorisations
Autorisations (en milliers de dollars)Exercice
2015-2016
Exercice
2014-2015
Écart
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015$%
Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement1 504 1071 482 64321 4641 %
Dépenses en capital155 070320 929(165 859)-52 %
Subventions et contributions3 573 4103 431 565141 8454 %
Pensions des employés engagés sur le terrain, assurance et programme de sécurité sociale60 80250 77910 02320 %
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés102 24997 8384 4115 %
Salaire et allocation pour automobile des ministres24824352 %
Paiements en vertu de la Loi sur la pension spéciale du service diplomatique250250-0 %
Renonciation de la dette du Pakistan124 640172 252(47 612)-28 %
Dépenses des produits de l'aliénation des biens en surplus de l'État1 7132 908(1 195)-41 %
Remboursements de montants portés aux revenus d'exercices antérieurs1816213 %
Paiement à la Banque mondiale pour la garantie de marchés
pour le vaccin contre le pneumocoque
-10 916(10 916)-100 %
Paiements aux institutions financières encaissement de notes-211 800(211 800)-100 %
Paiements aux institutions financières internationales paiements directes245 00033 200211 800638 %
Autorisations budgétaires totales5 767 507 5 815 339 (47 832)-1 %
Autorisations non-budgétaires68 11979 632(11 513)-14 %
Autorisation totales5 835 626 5 894 971 (59 345)-1 %
i. Autorisations budgétaires

Les autorisations de dépenses nettes de fonctionnement ont augmenté de 21,5 millions de dollars. Ceci est principalement le résultat des effets des fluctuations des taux de change sur les coûts de fonctionnement et les salaires des employés recrutés sur place, de l’inflation des coûts d’opération ainsi qu’au financement reçu pour dépenses de fonctionnement du Groupe de travail sur la stabilisation et la reconstruction et du Fonds pour la paix et la sécurité mondiales.

Les autorisations de dépenses en capital ont diminué de 165,9 millions de dollars. Cette diminution est attribuable aux fonds reçus en 2014-15 dédiés à la consolidation du Haut-commissariat du Canada, à Trafalgar Square, Londres. Un changement dans le profil de financement lié au projet de déménagement de la chancellerie de Moscou a aussi contribué à cet écart qui a été compensé par une augmentation du report du budget en capital.

Les autorisations de dépenses en subventions et contributionsont augmenté de 141,8 millions de dollars. Ceci est principalement dû au financement reçu pour le Groupe de travail sur la stabilisation et la reconstruction et le Fonds pour la paix et la sécurité mondiales. Du financement additionnel dédié à l’appui du Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme a aussi contribué à cette augmentation.

Les autorisations de dépenses en programmes de pensions, d’assurances et de sécurité sociale des employés engagés sur le terrain ont augmenté de 10,0 millions de dollars. Dans le cadre de la gestion des programmes de pension, d’assurance et de sécurité sociale des employés recrutés sur place, les demandes de financement annuel d’Affaires mondiales Canada reflètent le respect des exigences des paiements en ce qui concerne les bénéfices des employés.

ii. Autorisations législatives budgétaires

Les autorisations législatives des contributions aux régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés (RASE) ont augmenté de 4,4 millions de dollars. Cette augmentation est causée principalement par la composante salariale du financement supplémentaire reçu pour les dépenses de fonctionnement du Groupe de travail sur la stabilisation et la reconstruction et du Fonds pour la paix et la sécurité mondiales, les fluctuations des taux de change sur les salaires des employés recrutés sur place et les rémunérations liées aux nouvelles négociations collectives. Le tout est partiellement compensé par un financement reçu via les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses B lors du troisième trimestre 2014-15 pour des révisions des salaires des employés recrutés sur place non présentées lors du premier et deuxième trimestre.

La renonciation de la dette du Pakistan de 124,6 millions de dollars représente le solde disponible transféré des exercices antérieurs. Pour 2014-15, le solde d’ouverture était de 172,2 millions de dollars duquel 47,6 millions de dollars ont été utilisés au cours de l’exercice. En 2006-2007, un accord a été signé entre le gouvernement du Canada, représenté par le Ministère, et le gouvernement du Pakistan pour renoncer au solde du prêt de 447,5 million de dollars. Afin d’annuler l’obligation reliée à sa dette, le gouvernement du Pakistan est tenu d’effectuer des investissements équivalents dans leur secteur de l’éducation.

Les autorisations législatives des paiements aux institutions financières internationales (IFI) sont demeurées constantes comparativement à l’exercice précédent. Les autorisations disponibles en 2014-15 reflétaient l’ancienne méthode de paiement par le biais d’encaissement des notes par les IFI tandis que, les montants autorisés cette année reflètent la méthode la plus efficiente sur le plan administratif de paiements directs aux IFI.

iii. Les autorisations non budgétaires

Les autorisations non budgétaires du Ministère ont diminué de 11,5 millions de dollars. Ceci est en grande partie causé par une réduction des avances de fonds de roulement pour les prêts et les avances consenties aux missions à l'étranger. De plus les paiements anticipés aux institutions financières internationales relatifs à la souscription au capital ont diminué.

B. Changements importants aux dépenses budgétaires par article courant

Le tableau suivant présente les dépenses budgétaires et les revenus déduits des dépenses du Ministère pour les trois premiers trimestres et leur comparaison avec l’exercice précédent de l’année dernière.

Tableau 2 : Changements importants aux dépenses budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
(en milliers de dollars)Avril à Décembre
2015-16
Avril à Décembre
2014-15
Écart
$%
Dépenses:
Salaires et avantages sociaux800 580796 6623 9180 %
Transports et communications71 39474 613(3 219)(4 %)
Information5 6136 075(462)(8 %)
Services professionnels et spéciaux153 421140 46712 9549 %
Location156 709150 3596 3504 %
Réparation et entretien15 73417 362(1 628)(9 %)
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements27 32327 911(588)(2 %)
Autres7 71522 245(14 530)(65 %)
Total dépenses d'opération1 238 4891 235 6942 7950 %
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et travaux27 74495 363(67 619)(71 %)
Acquisition de machines et de matériel20 59219 4691 1236 %
Total des acquisitions48 336114 832(66 496)(58 %)
Paiements de transfert1 989 2001 613 422375 77823 %
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales3 276 0252 963 948312 07711 %
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses:
Recettes affectées aux dépenses25 48031 200(5 720)(18 %)
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales3 250 5452 932 748317 79711 %
i. Dépenses d’opération

Transports et communication – La diminution de 3,2 millions est due à un écart temporaire concernant le remboursement par Services partagés Canada des dépenses de communications des appareils mobiles sans fil dans les missions ainsi que par une baisse des coûts d'expédition pour les employés à l’étranger.

Services professionnels et spéciaux – L’augmentation de 13,0 millions de dollars est essentiellement expliquée par une hausse des dépenses cette année financière relatives à la sécurité dans certaines missions à l’étranger ainsi que le recours services professionnels en TI/GI, le calendrier de facturation des frais de sécurité provenant d’un autre ministère du gouvernement ainsi qu’aux frais payés pour la gestion de nouveaux bureaux commerciaux à l’étranger.

Location – L’augmentation de 6,4 millions de dollars est en partie due à la hausse régulière des loyers de bureaux de résidences à l’étranger ainsi qu’à la fluctuation des devises étrangères et locales.

Réparation et entretien – La diminution de 1,6 millions de dollars est principalement attribuable à des dépenses réduites en réparation et entretien de bâtiments résidentiels (logements du personnel) à l’étranger pour cette année financière.

Autres – La diminution de 14,5 millions de dollars est, en grande partie, le résultat de la mise en œuvre de la paye en arrérages au cours du premier trimestre 2014-2015 par le gouvernement du Canada. Ce processus a exigé un paiement transitoire et donc un écart non-récurrent. Cet écart a été compensé en partie par l’impact du taux de change découlant de la baisse de valeur du dollar Canadien.

ii. Dépenses en capital

Acquisition de terrains, bâtiments et travaux – La diminution de 67,6 millions de dollars est attribuée aux coûts de rénovations encourus en 2014-15 liés au projet de revitalisation de la Maison du Canada à Londres. Les acquisitions faites en 2015-2016 qui se rapportent au programme de « Dimensionnement des résidences officielles » ont également contribué à cet écart.

iii. Paiements de transfert

L’augmentation de 375,8 millions de dollars en paiements de transfert est, en grande partie, le résultat de décaissements effectués à la Banque Mondiale pour le Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme ainsi qu’une subvention au Programme de développement des Nations Unies pour fournir un appui institutionnel à long terme à cette organisation. Un paiement au Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population relatif à l’initiative de mariages d’enfants, précoces et forcés (MEPF) ainsi que l’assistance humanitaire liée à la crise syrienne ont contribué à cette augmentation.

iv. Revenus

La diminution de 5,7 millions de dollars en revenus provient d’un écart temporaire dû au recouvrement par Affaires mondiales Canada des coûts partagés avec d’autres organisations installées dans les locaux des missions.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Compte tenu du mandat d’Affaires mondiales Canada, le ministère doit opérer dans un environnement en constante évolution qui est influencé par de nombreux facteurs externes (politique, économie mondiale, contrôles à l’exportation et à l’importation, contextes sociaux) y compris le repositionnement des tendances mondiales. De plus, le ministère doit opérer dans une période de restrictions budgétaires en raison du gel du budget de fonctionnement qui a été annoncé pour tous les ministères et organismes gouvernementaux au Budget 2014.

Considérant cet environnement, un nouveau processus de planification intégrée des activités a été mis en place pour soutenir la gestion des risques grâce à la surveillance accrue des risques et des stratégies d'atténuation. Le ministère a également amélioré ses prévisions financières et continue de trouver des façons d'absorber ou de financer les activités selon les limites des pouvoirs de dépenser existantes sans compromettre les résultats des programmes.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Les nominations de hauts fonctionnaires suivants ont eu lieu au cours du trimestre :

Le gouvernement a annoncé que le nom du ministère sera modifié pour Affaires Mondiales Canada.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé, tel que requis par la Politique sur la gestion financière des ressources, l'information et les rapports financiers :

Daniel Jean
Sous-ministre des Affaires étrangères

T. Christine Hogan
Sous-ministre du Commerce international

Peter M. Boehm
Sous-ministre du Développement international par intérim/p.i.

Arun Thangaraj
Dirigeant principal des Finances et Sous-ministre adjoint, Planification ministérielle, Finances et Technologie de l’information

Ottawa, Ontario
Date: Le 29 février 2016

Tableau 3 : État des Autorisations (non vérifié)
Ce tableau n'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement au 31 décembre 2015
(en milliers de dollars)Exercice 2015-2016Exercice 2014-2015
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2015Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestreCrédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars  2015Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2014Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement1 504 107350 1251 080 2911 482 643365 2701 075 693
Dépenses en capital155 07025 95266 177320 92958 236135 853
Subventions et contributions3 573 410745 9781 748 9553 431 565662 7281 390 646
Pensions des employés engagés sur le terrain, assurance et programme de sécurité sociale60 80213 20636 02350 77912 16334 533
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés102 24925 75077 43697 83824 24173 048
Salaire et allocation pour automobile des ministres2484216724361182
Paiements en vertu de la Loi sur la pension spéciale du service diplomatique2501820525050118
Renonciation de la dette du Pakistan124 640--172 252--
Dépenses des produits de l'aliénation des biens en surplus de l’État1 7131 2331 2332 908--
Remboursements de montants portés aux revenus d'exercices antérieurs18(0)18161616
Paiement à la Banque mondiale pour la garantie de marchés
pour le vaccin contre le pneumocoque
---10 916-10 916
Paiements aux institution financières-encaissement de notes---211 80012 500211 743
Paiements aux institutions financières internationales-paiements directes245 00012 500240 04033 200--
Autorisations budgétaires totales5 767 507 1 174 804 3 250 545 5 815 339 1 135 265 2 932 748
Autorisations non-budgétaires68 11930 38329 90279 632(3 690)4 398
Autorisations totales5 835 626 1 205 187 3 280 447 5 894 971 1 131 575 2 937 146
Tableau 4: Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
Ce tableau n'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement au 31 décembre 2015
(en milliers de dollars)Exercice 2015-2016Exercice 2014-2015
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2015Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestreDépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2014Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses:
Salaires et avantages sociaux1 018 166264 556800 580962 831264 833796 662
Transports et communications80 84025 36271 39498 83927 08174 613
Information11 3232 3235 61313 5802 5836 075
Services professionnels et spéciaux294 47062 710153 421286 51056 406140 467
Location209 93341 813156 709226 78143 584150 359
Réparation et entretien39 5214 12615 73435 3387 04117 362
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements55 8409 75627 32356 97210 83927 911
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et travaux90 09011 62027 744209 72540 04195 363
Acquisition de machine et de matériel66 7119 95520 592112 0839 68319 469
Paiements de transfert3 818 660758 4961 989 2003 687 730675 2791 613 422
Autres129 1781 1797 715174 287(114)22 245
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales5 814 732 1 191 896 3 276 025 5 864 676 1 137 256 2 963 948
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses :
Recettes affectées aux dépenses47 22517 09225 48049 3371 99131 200
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses47 22517 092 25 480 49 337 1 991 31 200
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales5 767 507 1 174 804 3 250 545 5 815 339 1 135 265 2 932 748
Date de modification: