Quarterly Financial Report

For the period ended September 30, 2016

Table of contents

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and programs

1. Introduction

This quarterly report for the period ending September 30, 2016 has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. The report has not been subject to an external audit or review, and should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and the Supplementary Estimates for the current year.

A summary description of the Department's programs can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Department's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Department consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates for the fiscal year 2016-17. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for special purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the Government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

Global Affairs Canada (GAC) uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

A. Significant changes to Authorities

The following table shows the total budget available for use by the Department. Only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament as at September 30, 2016 are included.

Table 1: Significant changes to Authorities (In thousands of dollars)
AuthoritiesFiscal Year
2016-2017
Fiscal Year
2015-2016
Variance
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016$%
Operating Expenditures1,544,3891,504,10740,2823%
Capital Expenditures159,985155,070 4,9153%
Grants and Contributions3,529,6773,573,410(43,733)-1%
Locally engaged staff pensions, insurance and social security50,77950,779-0%
Budgetary statutory authorities
Contributions to employee benefit plans108,939102,2496,6907%
Ministers' salary and motor car allowance25124831%
Payments under the Diplomatic Service (Special) Superannuation Act250250-0%
Debt forgiveness to Pakistan124,640124,640-0%
Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets3,1601,2331,927156%
Refunds of amounts credited to revenues in previous years1318(5)-28%
Payments to International Financial Institutions Direct Payments245,000245,000-0%
Total Budgetary authorities5,767,0835,757,00410,0790%
Non-budgetary authorities25,08668,119(43,033)-63%
Total Authorities5,792,1695,825,123(32,954)-1%
i. Budgetary Authorities

Operating Expenditures authorities have increased by $40.3 million. This is mainly attributable to funding received through Supplementary Estimates (A) in the first quarter of 2016-17 to support the management of the Canada-U.S. Softwood Lumber initiative, the resettling of 10,000 additional government-assisted Syrian Refugees as well as for the Canadian Technology Accelerator initiative. Also contributing to this increase was funding received for currency exchange and inflation fluctuations on operating expenditures in our international network and Locally Engaged Staff salaries. These increases were partly offset by sunsetting funding for the Stabilization and Reconstruction Task Force and the Global Peace and Security Fund, the closure of the Investment Cooperation Program (Budget 2015) and a decrease in the Operating Budget Carry-Forward amount received in 2016-17 compared to 2015-16. It should be noted that a decrease in the GPSF will be offset by funds of $209 million requested for its renewal in Supps B.

Capital Expenditures authorities have increased by $4.9 million. This is attributable to the funding received for the relocation of the chancery for the combined missions to the European Union and Belgium (Brussels) which was offset by a decrease of the Capital Budget Carry-Forward amount received in 2016-17 compared to 2015-16.

Grants and Contributions authorities have decreased by $43.7 million. This is for the most part caused by the funding for the Stabilization and Reconstruction Task Force and the Global Peace and Security Fund received in 2015-16. These reductions were partly offset by funding received for assessed contributions costs related to currency fluctuations, CanExport funding for Small and Medium-sized Enterprises and the expansion of the Trade Commissioner Service to support Canadian companies in emerging markets (Budget 2015), as well as funding to support Canada’s Migrant Smuggling Prevention Strategy.

ii. Budgetary Statutory Authorities

Contributions to employee benefits plans (EBP) statutory authorities have increased by $6.7 million. This is mainly attributable to the salary component of the funding received for currency exchange fluctuations on operating and Locally Engaged Staff salaries; the Softwood Lumber Agreement; the resettlement of 10,000 Syrian refugees as well as the CanExport program for Small and Medium-sized Enterprises and to expand the Trade Commissioner Service to support Canadian companies in emerging markets.

Debt forgiveness to Pakistan - In 2006-2007, the Government of Canada entered into an agreement with the Government of Pakistan to forgive its outstanding $447.5 million loan. In order to expire its debt obligation, the Government of Pakistan is required to make corresponding investments in their education sector. As of April 1, 2016, an amount of $124.6 million was the balance available from previous years.

iii. Non-budgetary Authorities

The Department’s non-budgetary authorities have decreased by $43.0 million. This is mainly attributable to a decrease in the anticipated payments to International Financial Institutions for capital subscriptions.

B. Significant changes to budgetary expenditures by standard object

The following table shows the budgetary expenditures and revenues netted against expenditures of the Department for the second quarter and their comparison with the same period last year.

Table 2: Significant changes to budgetary expenditures by standard object (in thousands of dollars)
Standard objectApril to September
2016-17
April to September
2015-16
Variance
$%
Expenditures
Salaries and employee benefits542,042536,0246,0181%
Transportation and communications45,37046,032(662)(1%)
Information3,4823,2901926%
Professional and special services88,98290,711(1,729)(2%)
Rentals111,311114,896(3,585)(3%)
Repair and maintenance9,55311,608(2,055)(18%)
Utilities, materials and supplies15,63717,567(1,930)(11%)
Other43,7256,53637,189569%
Total Operating860,102826,66433,4384%
Acquisition of land, buildings and works43,14616,12427,022168%
Acquisition of machinery and equipment11,67510,6371,03810%
Total Acquisition54,82126,76128,060105%
Transfer payments1,281,5081,230,70450,8044%
Total gross budgetary expenditures2,196,4312,084,129112,3025%
Less revenues netted against expenditures
Revenue Credited to the Vote29,4038,38921,014250%
Total Net Budgetary Expenditures2,167,0282,075,74091,2884%
i. Operating Expenditures

Repair and maintenance- The decrease of $2.1 million is due to different repair and maintenance requirements during the life cycle schedules of machinery and equipment compared to last year. Less repair and maintenance expenditures on our buildings abroad were also a factor in the decrease. 

Utilities, materials and supplies- The decrease of $1.9 million is in part due to lower spending on gas, fuel and electricity at missions abroad compared to last year. In addition, the department incurred lower office supply expenses in 2016-17.

Other- The increase of $37.2 million relates to the portion of debt from the Government of Pakistan being forgiven.

ii. Capital Expenditures

Acquisition of land, buildings and works-The increase of $27.0 million is primarily attributed to lease extension costs of the Canada High Commission in London that were funded using the capital expenditure budget due to the long term nature of the lease. The purchase of staff quarters in London also contributed to the increase.

Acquisition of machinery and equipment-The variance was caused by an increase  of equipment purchases at missions abroad compared to the previous year.

iii. Transfer Payments

A new scale of assessment was adopted in December 2015 by the United Nations which changed the schedule of payments, delaying some payments until 2016-2017. As a result, an increase of $50.8 million in transfer payments is related to higher spending on United Nations (UN) peacekeeping operations. Currency fluctuations also contributed to the increase.

iv. Revenues

The increase of $21.0 million in revenues originates from a timing difference in the recovery of costs from other organizations that share our space and services at missions abroad. Delays in revenue collection led to lower revenue reported in the first two quarters of 2015-2016.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

As a federal department operating in a complex and rapidly changing environment that is influenced by many external factors, such as political, economic controls,  social contexts and shifting global trends, Global  Affairs Canada (GAC) is exposed to a broad range of risks in Canada and abroad. In addition, the department faces funding pressures and must operate in a time of fiscal restraint.   Effective risk management is, therefore, critical to the department’s ability to deliver results for Canadians.

GAC continues to be more pragmatic and versatile in its management of funds. The department has improved financial forecasting and continues to find ways to absorb or fund activities. To support senior management decisions to reallocate funds within existing spending authorities, the department undertakes activities to reassess the needs and demands of various program areas without compromising on the delivery of program results. This approach has reinforced the importance of linking funding to departmental priorities and the branch objectives which support them. Branches and program areas have also grown more attentive to the department’s financial limitations as they are identifying their pressures earlier, reviewing their activities and available funds more frequently, and are increasingly utilizing forward planning.

During the period of transition to centralized government pay services, the department is closely monitoring its salary expenditures.

To ensure effective control, transparency and accountability in the management of grants and contributions, the department adheres to Treasury Board (TB) Policy on Transfer Payments. The department also utilizes a Fiduciary Risk Evaluation Tool (FRET), which provides a consistent and systematic approach to evaluate, mitigate, monitor and manage fiduciary risk for the Department’s development assistance investments.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

Subsequent to the end of the quarter, the following appointments were made:

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved, as required by the TB Policy on Financial Resource Management, Information and Reporting:

Ian Shugart
Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs

Timothy Sargent
Deputy Minister for International Trade

Peter M. Boehm
Deputy Minister of International Development

Arun Thangaraj
Assistant Deputy Minister and Chief Financial Officer, Corporate Planning, Finance and Information Technology

Ottawa, Ontario
Date: November 29, 2016

 

Table 3: Statement of Authorities (Unaudited)
This table includes authorities available for use and granted by Parliament as at September 30, 2016 (In thousands of dollars)
AuthoritiesFiscal Year 2016-2017Fiscal Year2015-2016
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2016Year to date used at quarter endTotal available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2015Year to date used at quarter end
Operating Expenditures1,544,389366,382700,2701,504,107359,800730,166
Capital Expenditures159,98538,26463,839155,07028,50740,225
Grants and Contributions3,529,677577,4501,053,7943,573,410715,8201,002,977
Locally engaged staff pensions, insurance and social security50,77914,59725,22050,77913,46022,817
Budgetary statutory authorities
Contributions to employee benefit plans108,93927,08454,130102,24925,87551,686
Ministers' salary and motor car allowance2518010124882124
Payments under the Diplomatic Service (Special) Superannuation Act2508917525054187
Debt forgiveness to Pakistan124,64039,94639,946124,640--
Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets3,1602,0002,0001,233--
Refunds of amounts credited to revenues in previous years1381318618
Payments to International Financial Institutions
Direct Payments
245,00016,705227,540245,00016,705227,540
Total Budgetary authorities5,767,0831,082,605 2,167,0285,757,0041,160,3092,075,740
Non-budgetary authorities25,0862,28310,81368,119(4,856)(481)
Total Authorities5,792,1691,084,8882,177,8415,825,1231,155,4532,075,259

 

Table 4: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
This table includes authorities available for use and granted by Parliament as at September 30, 2016 (In thousands of dollars)
Standard ObjectFiscal Year 2016-2017Fiscal Year 2015-2016
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2017Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2016Year to date used at quarter endPlanned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2015Year to date used at quarter end
Expenditures
Salaries and employee benefits1,037,801275,453542,0421,008,143252,811536,024
Transportation and communications87,12424,77645,37080,84021,54046,032
Information13,7952,3153,48211,3231,8513,290
Professional and special services258,22352,70488,982294,47057,93590,711
Rentals244,82355,694111,311209,93358,541114,896
Repair and maintenance47,7366,1159,55339,5208,26111,608
Utilities, materials and supplies60,5599,25415,63755,84010,71517,567
Acquisition of land, buildings and works126,02025,15743,14689,61013,23616,124
Acquisition of machinery and equipment36,4998,28211,67566,7117,09510,637
Transfer payments3,774,926594,2431,281,5083,818,660732,5791,230,704
Other127,80241,31343,725129,1791,9856,536
Total gross budgetary expenditures5,815,3081,095,3062,196,4315,804,2291,166,5492,084,129
Less revenues netted against expenditures
Revenue Credited to the Vote48,22512,70129,40347,2256,2408,389
Total revenues netted against expenditures48,22512,70129,40347,2256,2408,389
Total Net Budgetary Expenditures5,767,0831,082,6052,167,0285,757,0041,160,3092,075,740
Date Modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel

Pour la période terminée le 30 Septembre 2016

Table des matières

Compte rendu présentant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Le présent rapport trimestriel de la période se terminant le 30 septembre 2016 a été préparé par la direction, tel qu’exigé par l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen et devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses et les Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses de l’exercice courant.

On peut consulter une description sommaire des programmes du Ministère dans la  Partie II du Budget principal des dépenses.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Ministère accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Ministère, de manière cohérente avec le Budget principal des dépenses et les Budgets supplémentaires des dépenses pour l’exercice 2016-17. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d'une élection générale, l'article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à émettre un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l'exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

Affaires Mondiales Canada (AMC) utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour préparer et présenter ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement s’appuient encore sur une base de dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

A. Changements importants aux autorisations

 

Le tableau suivant présente les crédits budgétaires disponibles pour le Ministère. Seules les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement au 30 Septembre 2016 sont inclues.

Tableau 1 : Changements importants aux autorisations (en milliers de dollars)
AutorisationsExercice 2016-2017Exercice 2015-2016Écart
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016$%
Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement1 544 3891 504 10740 2823%
Dépenses en capital159 985155 070 4 9153%
Subventions et contributions3 529 6773 573 410(43 733)-1%
Pensions des employés engagés sur le terrain, assurance et programme de sécurité sociale50 77950 779-0%
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés108 939102 2496 6907%
Salaire et allocation pour automobile des ministres25124831%
Paiements en vertu de la Loi sur la pension spéciale du service diplomatique250250-0%
Renonciation de la dette du Pakistan124 640124 640-0%
Dépenses des produits de l'aliénation des bien en surplus de l'Etat3 1601 2331 927156%
Remboursements de montants portés aux revenus d'exercices antérieurs1318(5)-28%
Paiements aux institutions financières internationales paiements directes245 000245 000-0%
Autorisations budgétaires totales5 767 0835 757 00410 0790%
Autorisations non-budgétaires25 08668 119(43 033)-63%
Autorisations totales5 792 1695 825 123(32 954)-1%
i.Autorisations budgétaires

Les autorisations de dépenses nettes de fonctionnement ont augmenté de 40,3 millions de dollars. Ceci est principalement attribuable au financement reçu via le budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) dans le premier trimestre de 2016-2017, pour appuyer la gestion de l'initiative sur le bois d'œuvre résineux entre le Canada et les États-Unis, la réinstallation de 10 000 autres réfugiés syriens parrainés par le gouvernement et l'initiative des accélérateurs technologiques canadiens. L’augmentation est aussi due au financement reçu pour les fluctuations des taux de change et à l’inflation sur les dépenses de fonctionnement à l'étranger de notre réseau international et les salaires des employés recrutés sur place. Ces augmentations sont compensées en partie par l'élimination du financement pour le groupe de travail sur la stabilisation et la reconstruction et du fond pour la paix et la sécurité mondiales, par la fermeture du Programme de coopération pour l’investissement (Budget fédéral de 2015) et par la diminution du montant du report du budget de fonctionnement reçu en 2016-17 comparativement à 2015-16. Il est à noter que la réduction du fond pour la paix et la sécurité mondiales sera compensée par des fonds de 209 millions de dollars demandés pour son renouvellement dans les crédits supplémentaires B.

Les autorisations de dépenses en capital ont augmenté de 4,9 millions de dollars. Ceci est dû aux fonds reçus pour le déménagement de la chancellerie pour les missions combinées auprès de l'Union européenne et de la Belgique (Bruxelles). La hausse a été compensée par la diminution du montant reporté du budget des dépenses en capital reçu en 2016-17 comparativement à 2015-16.

Les autorisations de subventions et contributions ont diminué de 43,7 millions de dollars. Ceci est majoritairement causé par l’élimination du financement pour le groupe de travail sur la stabilisation et la reconstruction et du Fond pour la paix et la sécurité mondiales reçu en 2015-2016. Ces diminutions ont été compensées en partie par le financement reçu pour absorber les fluctuations des devises étrangères liées aux quotes-parts versées aux organisations internationales, le programme CanExport qui aide les petites et moyennes entreprises canadiennes et l'expansion du service des délégués commerciaux afin d'appuyer les entreprises canadiennes dans les marchés émergents (Budget fédéral de 2015) et pour appuyer la stratégie canadienne en matière de prévention du passage de clandestins.

ii. Autorisations législatives budgétaires

Les autorisations législatives des contributions aux régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés (RASE) ont augmenté de 6,7 millions de dollars. Cette augmentation est causée principalement  par la composante salariale du financement reçu pour les fluctuations des taux de change sur les dépenses d’exploitation à l'étranger et les salaires des employés recrutés sur place, par les fonds reçus pour appuyer la gestion de l'initiative sur le bois d'œuvre résineux entre le Canada et les États-Unis et par la réinstallation des 10 000 autres réfugiés syriens parrainés par le gouvernement. L’augmentation est aussi due au programme CanExport qui aide les petites et moyennes entreprises canadiennes et à l'expansion du service des délégués commerciaux afin d'appuyer les entreprises canadiennes dans les marchés émergents.

La renonciation de la dette du Pakistan - En 2006-2007, un accord a été signé entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Pakistan pour renoncer au solde du prêt de 447,5 million de dollars. Afin d’annuler l’obligation reliée à sa dette, le gouvernement du Pakistan est tenu d’effectuer des investissements équivalents dans leur secteur de l’éducation. En date du 1er avril 2016, le montant de 124,6 millions de dollars représentait le solde disponible transféré des exercices antérieurs.

iii. Autorisations non budgétaires

Les autorisations non budgétaires du Ministère ont diminué de 43 millions de dollars. Ceci est principalement attribuable à une réduction des paiements anticipés aux institutions financières internationales relatifs à la souscription au capital.

B. Changements importants aux dépenses budgétaires par article courant

Le tableau suivant présente les dépenses budgétaires et les revenus déduits des dépenses du Ministère à la fin du deuxième trimestre et leur comparaison avec l’exercice précédent.

Tableau 2 : Changements importants aux dépenses budgétaires par article courant (en milliers de dollars)
Article courantAvril à septembre
2016-17
Avril à septembre
2015-16
Écart
$%
Dépenses
Salaires et avantages sociaux542 042536 0246 0181%
Transports et communications45 37046 032(662)(1%)
Information3 4823 2901926%
Services professionnels et spéciaux88 98290 711(1 729)(2%)
Location111 311114 896(3 585)(3%)
Réparation et entretien9 55311 608(2 055)(18%)
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements15 63717 567(1 930)(11%)
Autres43 7256 53637 189569%
Total dépenses d'opération860 102826 66433 4384%
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et travaux43 14616 12427 022168%
Acquisition de machines et de matériel11 67510 6371 03810%
Total des acquisitions54 82126 76128 060105%
Paiements de transfert1 281 5081 230 70450 8044%
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales2 196 4312 084 129112 3025%
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses
Recettes affectées aux dépenses29 4038 38921 014250%
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales2 167 0282 075 74091 2884%
i. Dépenses d’opération

Réparation et entretien – La diminution de 2,1 millions de dollars est due aux différentes exigences en matière de réparation et entretien requis dans le cycle de vie des équipements, comparativement à l’année précédente. Des dépenses inférieures en entretien et réparation de nos bâtisses à l’étranger ont aussi contribué à la diminution.

Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements La diminution de 1,9 millions de dollars est en partie attribuable à une baisse des dépenses en  essence, mazout  et éléctricité dans les missions à l’étranger comparativement à l’année précédente. De plus, le ministère a encouru moins de dépenses pour les fournitures de bureau en 2016-17.

Autres – L’augmentation de 37,2 millions de dollars est due à une portion de la de la dette du gouvernement du Pakistan auquel le ministère a renoncé.

ii. Dépenses en capital

Acquisition de terrains, bâtiments et travaux – L'augmentation de 27,0 millions de dollars est principalement attribuable aux coûts de la prolongation du bail du haut-commissariat du Canada à Londres financés par le budget de dépenses en capital en raison de la nature à long terme du bail. L’acquisition de résidences pour le personnel à Londres a aussi contribué à l’augmentation.

Acquisition de machines et de matériels – L’écart est causé par une augmentation des achats d'équipement dans les missions à l'étranger par rapport à l'année précédente.

iii. Paiements de transfert

Un nouveau barème de contributions  a été adopté par les Nations Unis en décembre 2015, changeant le calendrier de paiement et reportant certains paiements jusqu’en 2016-17. Par conséquent, une augmentation de 50,8 millions de dollars en paiements de transfert est attribuable à la hause des contributions aux Nations Unies (NU) pour les opérations de maintien de la paix. Les fluctuations du taux de change ont aussi contribué à l’augmentation.

iv. Revenus

L'augmentation de 21,0 millions de dollars des revenus provient d’un écart temporaire sur le recouvrement des coûts partagés avec d’autres organisations utilisant les locaux et services de nos missions à l’étranger. Les retards dans le recouvrement des recettes ont conduit à la baisse des revenus déclarés lors des deux premiers trimestres de 2015-2016.

3. Risques et incertitudes

En tant que ministère fédéral opérant dans un environnement complexe et en évolution rapide, influencé par de nombreux facteurs externes tels que les contrôles de nature politique, économique, les contextes sociaux et les tendances mondiales changeantes, le ministère des affaires mondiales (MAM) est exposé à un large éventail de risques au Canada et à l'étranger.  De plus, le ministère fait face à des pressions financières et doit fonctionner en période de contrainte budgétaire. Une gestion efficace des risques est donc cruciale pour la capacité du Ministère à produire des résultats pour les Canadiens.

  Le MAM continue d’être plus pragmatique et polyvalent dans sa gestion des fonds. Le ministère a amélioré les prévisions financières et continue de trouver des façons d'absorber ou de financer ses activités. Pour appuyer les décisions de la haute direction en vue de réaffecter les fonds au sein des autorisations de dépenses existantes, le Ministère entreprend des activités visant à réévaluer les besoins et les demandes des divers secteurs de programme sans compromettre la prestation des résultats des programmes. Cette approche a renforcé l'importance de lier le financement aux priorités ministérielles et aux objectifs des directions générales qui les soutiennent. Les directions générales et les secteurs de programme ont également été plus attentifs aux limites financières du Ministère, en identifiant plus tôt dans l’année leurs pressions et en révisant leurs activités et les fonds disponibles plus fréquemment en utilisant de plus en plus la planification prospective.

Pendant cette période de transition vers des services centralisés de rémunération, le ministère surveille de près ses dépenses salariales.

Pour assurer un contrôle efficace, la transparence et la responsabilisation dans la gestion des subventions et des contributions, le Ministère met en œuvre les dispositions de la Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les paiements de transfert. Le Ministère utilise également un outil d'évaluation du risque fiduciaire (OERF), qui offre une approche cohérente et systématique pour évaluer, atténuer, surveiller et gérer le risque fiduciaire des projets d'aide au développement du Ministère.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Ultérieurement à la fin du trimestre, les nominations suivantes ont été effectuées:

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé, tel que requis par la Politique sur la gestion financière des ressources, l'information et les rapports financiers :

Ian Shugart
Sous-ministre des Affaires étrangères

Timothy Sargent
Sous-ministre du Commerce international

Peter M. Boehm
Sous-ministre du Développement international

Arun Thangaraj
Dirigeant principal des Finances et Sous-ministre adjoint, Planification ministérielle, Finances et Technologie de l’information

Ottawa, Ontario
Date : Le 29 Novembre 2016

Tableau 3 : État des autorisations (non vérifié)
Ce tableau n'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement au 30 septembre 2016.
(en milliers de dollars)
AutorisationsExercice 2016-2017Exercice 2015-2016
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2016Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestreCrédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016Crédits utilisés pour trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2015Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement1 544 389366 382700 2701 504 107359 800730 166
Dépenses en capital159 98538 26463 839155 07028 50740 225
Subventions et contributions3 529 677577 4501 053 7943 573 410715 8201 002 977
Pensions des employés engagés sur le terrain, assurance et programme de sécurité sociale50 77914 59725 22050 77913 46022 817
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés108 93927 08454 130102 24925 87551 686
Salaire et allocation pour automobile des ministres2518010124882124
Paiements en vertu de la Loi sur la pension spéciale du service diplomatique2508917525054187
Renonciation de la dette du Pakistan124 64039 94639 946124 640--
Dépenses des produits de l'aliénation des bien en surplus de l'Etat3 1602 0002 0001 233--
Remboursements de montants portés aux revenus d'exercices antérieurs1381318618
Paiements aux institutions financières internationales paiements directes245 00016 705227 540245 00016 705227 540
Autorisations budgétaires totales5 767 0831 082 605 2 167 0285 757 0041 160 3092 075 740
Autorisations non-budgétaires25 0862 28310 81368 119(4 856)(481)
Autorisations totales5 792 1691 084 8882 177 8415 825 1231 155 4532 075 259
 
 
Tableau 4 : Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
Ce tableau n'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement au 30 septembre 2016
(en milliers de dollars).
Article courantExercice 2016-2017Exercice 2015-2016
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2016Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestreDépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2015Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Salaires et avantages sociaux1 037 801275 453542 0421 008 143252 811536 024
Transports et communications87 12424 77645 37080 84021 54046 032
Information13 7952 3153 48211 3231 8513 290
Services professionnels et spéciaux258 22352 70488 982294 47057 93590 711
Location244 82355 694111 311209 93358 541114 896
Réparation et entretien47 7366 1159 55339 5208 26111 608
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements60 5599 25415 63755 84010 71517 567
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et travaux126 02025 15743 14689 61013 23616 124
Acquisition de machines et de matériel36 4998 28211 67566 7117 09510 637
Paiements de transfert3 774 926594 2431 281 5083 818 660732 5791 230 704
Autres127 80241 31343 725129 1791 9856 536
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales5 815 3081 095 3062 196 4315 804 2291 166 5492 084 129
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses
Recettes affectées aux dépenses48 22512 70129 40347 2256 2408 389
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses48 22512 70129 40347 2256 2408 389
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales5 767 0831 082 6052 167 0285 757 0041 160 3092 075 740
Date de modification: