Forward Regulatory Plan for Non-Strategic Goods (Agricultural Products, Clothing and Textiles, Steel)

Amendments to the Import Control List and the Export Control List to implement certain portions of the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (working title of regulatory initiative)

Description of the objective

Objective: Canada is considering consequential amendments to the Import Control List and Export Control List to implement obligations under the Canada-European Union (EU) Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA).

Description of the Regulation: With the conclusion of the CETA, regulatory amendments are needed to the Import Control List and the Export Control List prior to the agreement coming into force in order to implement and administer certain provisions of the CETA.

Enabling Act: Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

Eligible businesses will be able to benefit from the import and export market access commitments undertaken in CETA.

Public consultation opportunities

Consultations were undertaken as part of the broader public consultation around the negotiation of the Agreement. Sector-specific consultations on the administration of export origin quotas, necessitating amendments to the Export Control List were conducted between June 21, 2016 and August 31, 2016. There will be no further consultation opportunities for this initiative.

Departmental contact

Non-Strategic Goods – General Enquiries
Telephone: 343-203-6820
Facsimile: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Issuance of Export Permit Regulations (Non-Strategic Goods)

Description of the objective

Objective: Canada will be implementing a system of export permits and export allocations for certain goods that will qualify for preferential tariff treatment through “Origin Quotas” as established under the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) between Canada and the European Union. The proposed order will ensure that goods exported under this system of export permits and export allocations are subject to their own specific set of export permit regulations.

Description of the Regulation: The Order will create a regulation to allow the Minister to issue export permits for the purposes of administering access to the CETA Origin Quotas and continue issuing export permits for other non-strategic goods (peanut butter, sugar containing products and sugars, syrups and molasses). These regulations will also define the types of information that the Minister may request and considerations that the Minister may take into account when deciding whether to issue a permit.

Enabling Act: Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

Eligible businesses will benefit from increased market access benefits and orderly export marketing.

Public consultation opportunities

Consultations were undertaken as part of the broader public consultation around the negotiation of the Agreement.  Broad-based public and sector-specific consultations on the administration of export origin quotas were conducted between June 21, 2016 and August 31, 2016. There will be no further consultation opportunities for this initiative.

Departmental contact

Non-Strategic Goods – General Enquiries
Telephone: 343-203-6820
Facsimile: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Issuance of Export Allocation Regulations

Description of the objective

Objective: Canada will be implementing a system of export permits and export allocations for certain goods that will qualify for preferential tariff treatment through “Origin Quotas” as established under the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) between Canada and the European Union.  The proposed order to promulgate Export Allocation Regulations is meant to create the formal authority that will provide for the allocation of export quotas.

Description of the Regulation: The Order will create a regulation to allow the Minister to issue allocations for the purposes of administering access to the CETA Origin Quotas, along with other existing non-strategic goods (peanut butter, sugar containing products and sugars, syrups and molasses). These regulations will also define the types of information that the Minister may request and considerations that the Minister may take into account when deciding whether to issue an allocation.

Enabling Act: Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

Eligible businesses will benefit from orderly export marketing.

Public consultation opportunities

Consultations were undertaken as part of the broader public consultation around the negotiation of the Agreement.  Broad-based public and sector-specific consultations on the administration of export origin quotas were conducted between June 21, 2016 and August 31, 2016. There will be no further consultation opportunities for this initiative.

Departmental contact

Non-Strategic Goods – General Enquiries
Telephone: 343-203-6820
Facsimile: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Order Amending Export Permit Regulations (SOR/97-204)

Description of the objective

Objective: As part of implementing the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), Canada will clarify the existing Export Permit Regulations (SOR/97-204)  to make them applicable solely to strategic and military goods and technology, certain forest products, and goods destined to countries listed on the Area Control List.  The proposed order will ensure that goods exported under this system of export permits and export allocations are subject to a single set of export permit regulations.

Description of the Regulation: The proposed order to amend the current Export Permit Regulations (SOR/97-204) will exclude those goods that will be subject to new Export Permit Regulations for CETA Origin Quotas, along with other exports of  non-strategic goods.

Enabling Act: Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

Exporters will benefit from a clear distinction between the export permit requirements associated with non-strategic goods, and the requirements for exports of strategic and military goods and technology, certain forest products and goods destined to countries listed on the Area Control List.

Public consultation opportunities

Consultations were undertaken as part of the broader public consultation around the negotiation of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA). Broad-based public and sector-specific consultations on the administration of export origin quotas, were conducted between June 21, 2016 and August 31, 2016. There will be no further consultation opportunities for this initiative.

Departmental contact

Non-Strategic Goods – General Enquiries
Telephone: 343-203-6820
Facsimile: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Amendments to the Import Control List (Schedule to the Customs Tariff Update)

Description of the objective

Objective: The proposed order would update the Import Control List to reflect the most recently agreed upon Harmonized System codes and descriptions used by Canada and other contracting parties of the World Customs Organization.

Description of Regulation: These amendments are technical in nature, implementing changes to five  Harmonized System codes or product descriptions  on the Import Control List consequential to the Order Amending the Schedule to the Customs Tariff (Harmonized System Conversion, 2017) [SOR/2016-253].

Enabling Act: Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

There are no expected business impacts.

Public consultation opportunities

This is purely an administrative amendment to reflect recent changes to Canada’s schedule to the Customs Tariff.  Public consultations are not required.

Departmental contact

Non-Strategic Goods – General Enquiries
Telephone: 343-203-6820
Facsimile: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Order Amending the Allocation Method Order (Turkey) – SOR-96-389 (ministerial amendment)

Description of the objective

Objective: Canada is considering harmonizing the turkey tariff rate quota (TRQ) allocation year (January 1 to December 31) with the Federal Quota Allocation Marketing Year/Control Period (May 1 to April 30). The objective of the amendment would be to facilitate domestic production planning, thereby increasing efficiencies in the market to the benefit of all stakeholders.

Description of the Regulation: Turkey and turkey products are controlled under the Export and Import Permits Act and their importation is subject to a tariff rate quota (TRQ). The Allocation Method Order — Turkey and Turkey Products (AMO) is a regulation of the government of Canada that establishes the method for allocating the import access quantity for the turkey TRQ, including the period over which the quota is allocated.

Enabling Act: Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

There are no expected business impacts.

Public consultation opportunities

A further round of consultations will be initiated with the Turkey Tariff Quota Advisory Committee (TQAC), which is made up of representatives from all the major industry associations, including turkey processors, further processors, distributors, and importers, as well as Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Finance Canada and Global Affairs Canada. The timing and details of those consultations will be announced in 2017. We anticipate that the TQAC consultations will take place in 2017-18.

Departmental contact

Non-Strategic Goods – General Enquiries
Telephone: 343-203-6820
Facsimile: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca 

Order Designating Inspectors under the Export and Import Permits Act – Regulatory amendment as required (ministerial order)

Description of the objective

Objective: The objective of this amendment is to ensure that the list of inspectors designated under the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA) is kept up to date.

Description of the Regulation: The EIPA requires applicants to keep records and authorize the Minister of Foreign Affairs to designate persons who may inspect the records. The inspector powers under the EIPA provide the legislative authority for inspectors, with specific exceptions, to inspect any place where the applicant keeps records and to require copies of records. The purpose of this amendment is to ensure that the list of inspectors designated under the Act is up to date.

Enabling Act: Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

There are no expected business impacts.

Public consultation opportunities

The individuals proposed for designation as inspectors are hired in accordance with the rules of the Public Service Employment Act and its Regulations. No public consultations are required.

Departmental contact

Non-Strategic Goods – General Enquiries
Telephone: 343-203-6820
Facsimile: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca 

Order Amending the Import Control List (C.R.C, c. 604) to update the Description of Item 118 (skim milk powder)

Description of the objective

Objective: The objective of this amendment would be to align the description of item 118 of the Import Control List with the definition of the corresponding goods in the Customs Tariff.

Description of the Regulation: The Export and Import Permits Act grants the Governor in Council the authority to establish a list of goods, called an Import Control List (ICL), including therein any article the import of which the Governor in Council deems it necessary to control for different purposes, notably to implement an action taken under the Agricultural Marketing Programs Act or the Canadian Dairy Commission Act, or to implement an intergovernmental arrangement or commitment.

Milk and cream, concentrated or containing added sugar or other sweetening matter, in powder, granules or other solid forms, of a fat content, by weight, not exceeding 1.5 per cent, classified under tariff item No. 0402.10.10 or 0402.10.20 in the List of Tariff Provisions set out in the schedule to the Customs Tariff, are included on the ICL (item 118) in support of Canada’s supply management system.

Enabling Act: Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

There are no expected business impacts.

Public consultation opportunities

No public consultations are required.

Departmental contact

Non-Strategic Goods – General Enquiries
Telephone: 343-203-6820
Facsimile: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca 

Order Amending the Import Control List pursuant to subsection 5.1(1) and section 6 of the Export and Import Permits Act

Description of the objective

Objective: Canada maintains a steel monitoring program to provide interested parties with a source of timely and accurate statistics concerning Canada’s steel imports. In particular, data and related reports concerning the type, quantity, price, and origin of steel imports are of ongoing interest to the Canadian steel industry. The program automatically expires every three years. Should it be deemed warranted by the circumstances of the steel industry and supported by industry stakeholders, the Minister may recommend to the Governor in Council that an Order be made in 2017 to renew the placement of steel products on the Import Control List (ICL), as required by the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA), for the purposes of the Steel Import Monitoring Program, effective October 30, 2017.

Description of the Regulation: Carbon and specialty steel products were placed on the ICL pursuant to subsection 5.1(1) and section 6 of the EIPA. Pursuant to subsection 5.1(2) of the EIPA, where any type of steel or any product has been included on the ICL by order of the Governor in Council under subsection 5.1(1), that type of steel or that product is deemed to have been removed from the ICL on the expiration of the period of three years from the day on which it was included on that List or on a day prior to the expiration of that period as may be specified in the Order. The Steel Import Monitoring Program has been renewed consistently since 1986, and the current regulatory authority will expire on October 30, 2017.

Enabling Act: Export and Import Permits Act

Indication of business impacts

There are no expected business impacts. This program has been streamlined in recent years to eliminate any burden on industry. First, the fees for permits were removed and, in April, 2012, the requirement to apply for individual, shipment-specific permits was removed. The current requirement is that importers cite a General Import Permit number on their Canada Border Services Agency documentation. The permit number is readily available on the Global Affairs and CBSA websites, as well as in the official ICL. Phone and email contact information is also available on the website to handle enquiries.

Public consultation opportunities

Consultations will be completed with stakeholders via email in the late spring and through attendance at meetings of the Canadian Steel Producers Association Trade Committee.

Departmental contact

Export Import Controls System (EICS)
Telephone: 1-877-808-8838 or 613-944-1265
eics.scei@international.gc.ca

For more information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians websites.

Date Modified:

Plan prospectif de la réglementation : Marchandises non stratégiques (produits agricoles, textiles et vêtements, acier)

Modifications à la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée et à la Liste des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée en vue de la mise en œuvre de certaines parties de l’accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne (titre provisoire de l’initiative réglementaire)

Description de l’objectif

Objectif : Le Canada envisage des modifications à la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée et à la Liste des marchandises à exportation contrôlée afin de mettre en œuvre les obligations prises au termes de l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l’Union européenne (UE).

Description du règlement : Par suite de la conclusion de l’AECG, il faut apporter des modifications réglementaires à la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée et à la Liste des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée avant l’entrée en vigueur de l’accord afin qu’il soit possible de mettre en œuvre et d’administrer certaines dispositions de l’AECG.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Répercussions sur les entreprises

Les entreprises admissibles pourront bénéficier des engagements d’accès au marché d’importation et d’exportation établis en vertu de l’AECG.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Des initiatives de consultation ont été menées dans le cadre des consultations publiques générales liées à l’entente de l’AECG. Des consultations générales et sectorielles relatives à la gestion des contingents d’origine à l’exportation, qui peuvent entraîner des modifications à la Liste des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée, ont eu lieu du 21 juin 2016 au 31 août 2016. Aucune autre occasion de consultation ne sera offerte dans le cadre de cette initiative.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Marchandises non stratégiques - Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 343-203-6820
Télécopieur: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Publication du Règlement sur les licences d’exportation (marchandises non stratégiques)

Description de l’objectif

Objectif : Le Canada mettra en œuvre un système de licences d’exportation et d’attribution de parts de contingents d’exportation pour certaines marchandises qui seront admissibles à un traitement tarifaire préférentiel par l’intermédiaire de « contingents d’origine » tel que prévu par l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l’Union européenne. Le décret proposé permettra de faire en sorte que les marchandises exportées dans le cadre de ce système de licences d’exportation et d’attribution de parts de contingents d’exportation soient assujetties à un seul ensemble de règlements sur les licences d’exportation.

Description du règlement : Le décret créera un règlement pour permettre au ministre de délivrer des licences d’exportation aux fins de l’administration de l’accès aux contingents d’origine en application de l’AECG, ainsi que les autres licences d’exportation pour les marchandises non stratégiques (beurre d’arachide, sucre et produits contenant du sucre, sirops et mélasse). Ces règlements définiront aussi les types de renseignements que le ministre peut demander et les éléments dont le ministre peut tenir compte lorsqu’il décide de délivrer ou non une licence.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Répercussions sur les entreprises

Les entreprises admissibles bénéficieront d’un meilleur accès au marché et d’une mise en marché ordonnée.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Des initiatives de consultation ont été menées dans le cadre des consultations publiques générales liées à l’entente de l’AECG. Des consultations générales et sectorielles relatives à la gestion des contingents d’origine à l’exportation ont eu lieu du 21 juin 2016 au 31 août 2016. Aucune autre occasion de consultation ne sera offerte dans le cadre de cette initiative.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Marchandises non stratégiques - Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 343-203-6820
Télécopieur: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Publication du Règlement d’attribution de parts de contingents d’exportation

Description de l’objectif

Objectif : Le Canada mettra en œuvre un système de licences d’exportation et d’attribution de parts de contingents d’exportation pour certaines marchandises qui seront admissibles à un traitement tarifaire préférentiel par l’intermédiaire de « contingents d’origine » comme prévu par l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l’Union européenne (UE). Le décret proposé pour promulguer le Règlement d’attribution de parts de contingents d’exportationest destiné à créer les pouvoirs officiels qui permettront l’attribution de contingents d’exportation.

Description du règlement : Le décret créera un règlement pour permettre au ministre de délivrer des attributions de parts de contingents d’exportation aux fins de l’administration de l’accès aux contingents d’origine en application de l’AECG, ainsi que pour les autres marchandises non stratégiques (beurre d’arachide, sucre et produits contenant du sucre, sirops et mélasse). Ces règlements définiront aussi les types de renseignements que le ministre peut demander et les éléments dont le ministre peut tenir compte lorsqu’il décide de délivrer ou non une licence.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Répercussions sur les entreprises

Les entreprises admissibles bénéficieront d’une mise en marché ordonnée.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Des initiatives de consultation ont été menées dans le cadre des consultations publiques générales liées à l’entente de l’AECG. Des consultations générales et sectorielles relatives à la gestion des contingents d’origine à l’exportation ont eu lieu du 21 juin 2016 au 31 août 2016. Aucune autre occasion de consultation ne sera offerte dans le cadre de cette initiative.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Marchandises non stratégiques - Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 343-203-6820
Télécopieur: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Décret modifiant le Règlement sur les licences d’exportation (DORS/97-204)

Description de l’objectif

Objectif : Dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG)entre le Canada et l’Union européenne (UE), le Canada clarifiera le Règlement sur les licences d’exportation (DORS/97-204) afin de restreindre son application aux marchandises et technologies militaires et stratégiques, ainsi qu’à certains produits forestiers et marchandises destinées aux pays figurant sur la Liste des pays visés. Le décret proposé permettra de faire en sorte que les marchandises exportées dans le cadre de ce système de licences d’exportation et d’attribution de parts de contingents d’exportation soient assujetties à un seul ensemble de règlements sur les licences d’exportation.

Description du règlement : Le décret proposé pour modifier l’actuel Règlement sur les licences d’exportation (DORS/97-204) exclura les marchandises qui seront assujetties au nouveau Règlement sur les licences d’exportation pour les contingents d’origine dans le cadre de l’AECG, de même que les marchandises non stratégiques.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Répercussions sur les entreprises

Les exportateurs profiteront d’un énoncé de règlement qui établit une nette distinction entre les exigences de licence d’exportation pour les marchandises non stratégiques et celles pour les marchandises et technologies militaires et stratégiques, ainsi que certains produits forestiers et marchandises destinées aux pays figurant sur la Liste des pays visés.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Des initiatives de consultation ont été menées dans le cadre des consultations publiques générales liées à l’entente de l’AECG. Des consultations générales et sectorielles relatives à la gestion des contingents d’origine à l’exportation ont eu lieu du 21 juin 2016 au 31 août 2016. Aucune autre occasion de consultation ne sera offerte dans le cadre de cette initiative.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Marchandises non stratégiques - Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 343-203-6820
Télécopieur: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Modifications à la Liste de marchandises d'importation contrôlée (Mise à jour de  l’annexe du Tarif des douanes)

Description de l’objectif

Objectif : Le décret proposé permettrait d’harmoniser la Liste de marchandises d'importation contrôlée pour qu’elle reflète les codes du Système harmonisé récemment acceptés et les descriptions utilisées par le Canada et d’autres parties contractantes de l’Organisation mondiale des douanes.

Description du règlement : Les modifications en question sont de nature technique puisqu’elles ont pour objet de modifier cinq codes ou descriptions de produit du Système harmonisé qui figurent dans la Liste de marchandises d'importation contrôlée à la suite du Décret modifiant l’annexe du Tarif des douanes (conversion du Système harmonisé, 2017)  [DORS/2016-253]

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Répercussions sur les entreprises

On ne prévoit pas de répercussions sur les entreprises.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Il s’agit d’une modification purement administrative pour tenir compte des récents changements à l’Annexe du Tarif des douanes du Canada. Des consultations publiques ne sont pas requises.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Marchandises non stratégiques - Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 343-203-6820
Télécopieur: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Arrêté modifiant l’Arrêté sur la méthode d’allocation de quotas de dindons, dindes et de leurs produits – SOR-96-389 (arrêté ministériel)

Description de l’objectif

Objectif : Le Canada envisage d’harmoniser la période d’allocation du contingent tarifaire (CT) pour le dindon (du 1er janvier au 31 décembre) avec l’année marketing/la période de contrôle du quota fédéral (du 1er mai au 30 avril). L’objectif de cette modification serait de faciliter la planification de la production domestique et d’ainsi accroître l’efficacité du marché et engendrer des bénéfices pour tous les acteurs de l’industrie.

Description de la réglementation : Le dindon et les produits du dindon sont contrôlés en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation et leurs importations soumises à un contingent tarifaire (CT). L’Arrêté sur la méthode d’allocation de quotas de dindons, dindes et de leurs produits (l’Arrêté) est un règlement du gouvernement du Canada établissant la méthode par laquelle la quantité d’accès du CT pour le dindon est allouée, incluant la période d’allocation.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Répercussions sur les entreprises

On ne prévoit pas de répercussions sur les entreprises.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Une nouvelle ronde de consultations sur cette question sera engagée avec le Comité consultatif sur le contingent tarifaire pour le dindon, qui est composé de représentants de toutes les grandes associations de l'industrie, notamment les transformateurs, distributeurs, et importateurs de dindon, d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, ainsi que d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, du ministère des Finances et d’Affaires mondiales Canada. Le détail des consultations et le moment où elles auront lieu seront annoncés en 2017. Nous anticipons que les consultations auprès du Comité consultatif auront lieu en 2017-2018.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Marchandises non stratégiques - Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 343-203-6820
Télécopieur: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Arrêté désignant les inspecteurs en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation – Modification réglementaire au besoin (arrêté ministériel)

Description de l’objectif

Objectif : L’objectif de cette modification serait de garantir que la liste des inspecteurs désignés en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation (LLEI) est maintenue à jour.

Description de la réglementation : La LLEI exige des demandeurs qu’ils tiennent des registres et autorise le ministre des Affaires étrangères à désigner des personnes pouvant inspecter ces registres. Les pouvoirs d’inspection octroyés par la LLEI fournissent le cadre légal permettant aux inspecteurs de contrôler tout lieu où les demandeurs conservent les registres et d’exiger copie des registres. L’objectif de cette modification serait de garantir que la liste des inspecteurs désignés en vertu de la Loi est maintenue à jour.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation.

Répercussions sur les entreprises

On ne prévoit pas de répercussions sur les entreprises.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Les individus mis de l’avant pour désignation comme inspecteurs sont embauchés selon les règles établies par la Loi sur l’emploi dans la fonction publique et les règlements afférents. Aucune consultation publique n’est requise.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Marchandises non stratégiques - Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 343-203-6820
Télécopieur: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Arrêté modifiant la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée (C.R.C., ch. 604) afin d’actualiser la description de l’item 118 (poudre de lait écrémé)

Description de l’objectif

Objectif : L’objectif de cette modification serait de faire correspondre la description de l’item 118 de la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée et la définition des produits correspondants fournie au Tarif des douanes.

Description de la réglementation : La Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation octroie au Gouverneur en conseil l’autorité de dresser la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée (LMIC) comprenant les articles dont, à son avis, il est nécessaire de contrôler l’importation pour différentes fins, dont mettre à exécution toute mesure d’application de la Loi sur les programmes de commercialisation agricole ou de la Loi sur la Commission canadienne du lait, ou de mettre en œuvre un accord ou un engagement intergouvernemental.

Le lait et la crème, concentrés ou additionnés de sucre ou d’autres édulcorants, en poudre, en granulés ou sous d’autres formes solides, contenant au plus 1,5 % en poids de matières grasses, qui sont classés dans les numéros tarifaires 0402.10.10 ou 0402.10.20 de la liste des dispositions tarifaires de l’annexe du Tarif des douanes, sont inclus sur la LMIC (item 118) en appui au système canadien de gestion de l’offre.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Répercussions sur les entreprises

On ne prévoit pas de répercussions sur les entreprises.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Aucune consultation publique n’est requise.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Marchandises non stratégiques - Service de renseignements
Téléphone: 343-203-6820
Télécopieur: 613-996-0612 / 613-995-5137
tic@international.gc.ca

Arrêté modifiant la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée en vertu du paragraphe 5.1(1) et de l’article 6 de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Description de l’objectif

Objectif : Grâce au programme de surveillance des importations d’acier, le Canada peut fournir aux parties intéressées des données statistiques précises et actuelles sur les importations d’acier au Canada. Plus précisément, les données et rapports sur la question de l’acier, y compris le type d’acier importé, la quantité, le prix et la provenance, font l’objet de l’intérêt constant de l’industrie canadienne de l’acier. Le programme arrive à échéance automatiquement aux trois ans. Selon la conjoncture et l’avis favorable de l’industrie de l’acier, le ministre peut recommander au gouverneur en conseil qu’un arrêté soit donné en 2017 pour reporter les aciers et produits de l’acier sur la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée, en application de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation (LLEI), afin qu’ils puissent faire l’objet d’un programme de surveillance des importations d’acier à partir du 30 octobre 2017.

Description du règlement : En application du paragraphe 5.1(1) et de l’article 6 de la LLEI, les produits en acier ordinaire et en acier spécialisé ont été placés sur la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée. Conformément au paragraphe 5.1(2) de la LLEI, les aciers ou produits portés sur la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée aux termes d’un décret pris en application du paragraphe 5.1(1) sont réputés radiés de la liste à l’expiration des trois ans suivant la date de leur inscription aux termes du décret ou à la date, antérieure à celle de l’expiration, qui y est précisée. Le programme de surveillance des importations d’acier a été renouvelé systématiquement depuis 1986. Le cadre réglementaire actuel expirera le 30 octobre 2017.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

Répercussions sur les entreprises

On ne prévoit pas de répercussions sur les entreprises. Au cours des dernières années, le programme a été simplifié afin d’éliminer les contraintes pour l’industrie. Les frais de licence ont d’abord été abolis, puis, en avril 2012, les exigences d’autorisation individuelle et spéciale de cargaison ont été éliminées. À l’heure actuelle, la seule exigence imposée aux importateurs est la mention du numéro de licence générale d’importation dans la documentation présentée à l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC). Ils peuvent se procurer leur numéro de licence sur les sites Web d’Affaires mondiales Canada ou de l’ASFC, ou auprès de l’autorité responsable de la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée. Les coordonnées des services de renseignements sont également disponibles sur le site Web.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Des consultations auprès des parties prenantes auront lieu par courriel vers la fin du printemps et au moyen de rencontres avec le Comité sur le commerce de l’Association canadienne des producteurs d’acier.

Personne-ressource au Ministère

Système des contrôles à l’exportation et à l’importation (SCEI) – Bureau de service
Téléphone : 1-877-808-8838 ou 613-944-1265
eics.scei@international.gc.ca

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.

Date de modification: