New Zealand
Market Access Plan 2015-2017

CapitalPopulationTotal AreaCurrency
Wellington4.5 million263,310 km²New Zealand dollar (NZD)

Why New Zealand Matters

New Zealand is:

  • a priority established market under Canada’s Global Markets Action Plan;
  • a reliable and complementary trade partner with a developed and strong economy;
  • a small but diversified market offering potential opportunities across a range of sectors; and
  • a gateway to emerging and established economies of the Asia-Pacific region.

New Zealand boasted 3.1 percent economic growth in 2014 – one of the strongest gross domestic product (GDP) growth rates among Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development countries. The forecast is for continued significant growth of 2.9 percent in 2015 and of 5 percent on average over the next four years, in spite of low commodity prices and productivity challenges.Footnote 1

For a small country like New Zealand, trade is essential to economic growth. The country’s government is a strong proponent of trade liberalization through an ongoing commitment to work across the full World Trade Organization agenda to support a rules-based global trading system, as well as through regional cooperation and bilateral/multilateral trade arrangements. New Zealand now has ten regional trade agreements, and the New Zealand Government continues to pursue trade integration in Asia – the world’s fastest growing region.

Canada and New Zealand enjoy a strong bilateral relationship based on shared values, similar political structures, Commonwealth ties, historical defence and security cooperation, and the priority that both countries place on multilateral mechanisms and approaches. Areas of cooperation include intelligence and defence issues, trade and public administration reform. Canada and New Zealand cooperate closely in the United Nations, APEC, as well as in regional fora such as the Association of Southeast Asian Nations.

Domestic Economic Environment

Despite prudent fiscal policy and sound macroeconomic policies, the New Zealand Government fell short of balancing the budget in the 2014/15 financial year. However, a budget surplus of $1.1 billion is anticipated for fiscal year 2015/16 and is expected to rise over subsequent years. Net debt is expected to peak at 26.2 percent of gross domestic product (GDP) in 2015/16 and fall thereafter as the government seeks to achieve a debt to GDP ratio of 20 percent or lower by 2020.

Monetary policy aims to maintain price stability and limit inflation to the 1-3 percent range. To that end, the Reserve Bank of New Zealand cut interest rates from 3.5 percent to 3.25 percent in June 2015, due to weakening dairy prices and low inflation. This central bank cut was the first in four years, and further easing is a possibility.

In March 2015, Moody’s Investors Service reaffirmed New Zealand’s AAA credit rating with a stable outlook, one of only 14 countries to receive such a rating. New Zealand's economy has demonstrated a track record of faster and more stable growth than other AAA-rated sovereigns, which counterbalances its economic weaknesses (small size and relatively low income levels).

The New Zealand government’s Business Growth Agenda is delivering innovative initiatives and policy reforms to help create a more productive and competitive economy. It focuses on six core pillars, namely: capital markets, innovation, skilled and safe workplaces; infrastructure, natural resources and export markets.

Key Figures – New Zealand (2014)
GDP$218.6 billion
GDP per capita$48,380
GDP growth3.2%
Inflation1.2%
Unemployment5.4%
Canada’s merchandise exports$413.8 million
Canada’s merchandise imports$614.0 million
Canada’s service exports$244 million (2013)
Canada’s service imports$196 million (2013)
Foreign direct investment from New Zealand into Canadaconfidential
Canadian direct investment in New Zealand$773 million
Potential long-term annual export growth2.7%

Canadian Commercial Interests in New Zealand

Overview

In 2014, Canada’s bilateral merchandise trade reached just over $1 billion, a 13 percent increase year-on-year and an increase of 34 percent over the last five years.

Key Canadian exports to New Zealand include machinery, fertilizers (potash), aerospace products and wood. Imports from New Zealand reflect the importance of agricultural products in New Zealand’s economy, notably meat (lamb and beef), wine, dairy products, and fruit, but also include products such as machinery and iron and steel.

Two-way investment is a key and growing component of the bilateral relationship. New Zealand is an important destination for Canadian foreign direct investment (FDI) due to the fact that the country welcomes FDI, its regulatory systems are reliable and transparent and intellectual property is enforced. Canada’s FDI footprint in New Zealand is particularly noticeable in the oil and gas and transportation (service) sectors, with other investments in the areas of health, information and communications technology, and retail. Similarly, New Zealand investments in Canada cut across a variety of areas that include oil and gas, mining, information and communications technology, and retail.

Key Elements for Exporters to Consider

Similar cultures and business practices render business development between Canada and New Zealand relatively straightforward. New Zealand’s high standard of living and propensity to import make the New Zealand market a good target for Canadian manufacturers and exporters.

Due to the small size and distance of the market, Canadian exporters may want to adopt an ‘Oceania’ strategy that focuses on both Australia and New Zealand. Although those two markets can be quite different, standards are often similar and many companies are actively taking this approach.

New Zealand prides itself in having one of the most open and deregulated economies in the world; the country is consistently ranked in the top three in the world for transparency and ease of doing business.

New Zealand is committed to reducing trade barriers. Tariffs have been systematically reduced and quantitative controls on imported goods have been eliminated. Around 90 percent of goods come into New Zealand tariff free. Canadian goods on which tariffs apply benefit from preferential rates below five percent.

New Zealand has a strong biosecurity regime in place. All exporters of agricultural products (animal or plant-based) need to comply with strict regulations set by the Ministry of Primary Industries.

Sector-specific Opportunities and Challenges

Defence and Security

Canada’s Department of National Defence enjoys a modest but growing defence materiel cooperative relationship with the New Zealand Ministry of Defence and New Zealand Defence Force. Since 2001, Canada-New Zealand defence materiel cooperation has been pursued under the auspices of a Defence Materiel Cooperation Memorandum of Arrangement, which includes, supporting the identification of joint activities serving the principles of standardisation and interoperability, the provision of mutual support through the exchange of defence materiel-related information and personnel, and the provision of mutual assistance in technical evaluations, tests and trials. Additional bilateral mechanisms facilitate a range of other defence materiel cooperative activities between Canada and New Zealand. 

Given a solid foundation of government-to-government defence engagement and several notable past Canadian industry successes in New Zealand, there is considerable potential for further opportunities for Canadian companies to supply the New Zealand Ministry of Defence and New Zealand Defence Force in the future.

Information and Communications Technology (ICT)

According to the New Zealand Office of International Data Corporation (IDC), the New Zealand ICT market, including both consumer and business spending, is valued at NZ$11.5 billion – the largest component being telecommunications, followed by information technology services, hardware, and software.

Fibre networks are slowly being rolled out throughout the country, but asymmetric digital subscriber line (ADSL) remains the most common internet connection. A huge increase in movie streaming has led to congestion on Internet networks with limited capacity.

New Zealand sees ICT as a key tool to transforming public services. The New Zealand government has adopted a ‘whole-of-government’ approach to ICT procurement. Canadian suppliers can benefit from Canada’s reputation for a strong ICT industry.

Life Sciences

The life sciences sector is varied but generally focused on the agricultural sector (dairy, meat, fish production). The sector has difficulties raising capital past the NZ$1 million mark, and seeks engagement with U.S.-based sources of funding.

The pharmaceutical subsector is very small. New Zealand was an early adopter of ICT in the health sector and has strong capability with companies such as Orion Health. There are opportunities for Canadian solution providers as more and more organizations, from retirement villages to social services and mental health providers, deploy ICT solutions to ensure better information management.

The nutraceutical subsector offers opportunities for companies with new, thoroughly tested products.

Oil and gas

New Zealand is quickly emerging as an oil and gas producer. With an abundance of natural resources, large unexplored areas, and a range of proven and frontier basins, New Zealand has over the last few years become an investment destination offering significant oil and gas development potential. The sector is a $2.5 billion industry, and New Zealand’s fourth-largest source of export revenues. While the significant drop in oil prices and a curtailment of exploration/production activities are currently impacting this sector, investment opportunities remain.

Oil and gas activities in New Zealand have grown strongly in recent years. In 2013 and 2014, the New Zealand government’s annual Block Offers process to allocate petroleum exploration permits led to the issuance of 25 exploration permits. With only one production basin and 17 others relatively unexplored, New Zealand offers a range of investment opportunities both onshore and offshore in shallow or deep water.

The Block Offers of the past several years have contributed to the New Zealand market gaining increased traction among exploration/production companies, including Canadian firms. As the New Zealand oil patch continues to expand, industry interest in having access to a broader range of procurement options for equipment, services and technologies is also anticipated to grow.

Sustainable Technologies

Water quality, water use/storage, and water management are issues of high priority from a long-term sustainability perspective for New Zealand. Demand for environmental solutions remains. There is a potential for projects and initiatives around water treatment and irrigation due to increased demand from the agricultural sector and a higher incidence of droughts in several parts of the country. Canada’s strong capabilities in the areas of water management, leak detection, water treatment, and waste-to-energy technologies, are suited to the New Zealand market. However local councils are increasingly facing fiscal restraints which could impact the nature and roll-out of infrastructure development plans.

The renewable subsectors also hold market development potential. Over the last two years, there has been a sharp increase in solar photovoltaic (PV) installations in New Zealand, with Canadian PV panels currently found in the local market. New Zealand also has 19 wind farms, and this subsector is of interest to most New Zealand energy companies.

Major Negotiations and Agreements

Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP)

The TPP agreement is the most comprehensive and ambitious regional trade agreement in the Asia Pacific and will deepen Canada’s trade ties in this dynamic and fast growing region. The TPP currently comprises 12 countries (Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States and Vietnam), representing a combined market of nearly 800 million people and a GDP of $28.5 trillion.

Selected Trade Initiatives – Seize the Opportunity!

  • Defence/Security
    • NZ Defence Industry Association Forum, November 17-18, 2015, Wellington, New Zealand.
  • Sustainable Technologies
    • Water New Zealand Annual Conference & Expo, Hamilton, New Zealand
  • Life Sciences
    • Health Informatics New Zealand Conference, October 19-22, 2015, Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Oil and Gas
    • New Zealand Advantage and Petroleum Summit, March 2016, Auckland, New Zealand

Support Services

Where not otherwise indicated, the information is provided by the High Commission of Canada in New Zealand. This document is not intended to provide specific advice and should not be relied on as such. It is intended as an overview only. No action or decision should be taken without detailed independent research and professional advice concerning the specific subject matter of such action or decision. While Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD) has made reasonable efforts to ensure that the information contained in this document is accurate, DFATD does not represent or warrant the accurateness, timeliness or completeness of the information contained herein. This document or any part of it may become obsolete at any time. It is the user’s responsibility to verify any information contained herein before relying on such information. DFATD is not liable in any manner whatsoever for any loss or damage caused by or resulting from any inaccuracies, errors or omissions in the information contained in this document. This document is not intended to and does not constitute investment, legal or tax advice. For investment, legal or tax advice, please consult a qualified professional.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

IMF, April 2015

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Nouvelle-Zélande
Plan d’accès aux marchés 2015-2017

CapitalePopulationSuperficie totaleMonnaie
Wellington4,5 millions263 310 km²Dollar néo-zélandais (NZD​)

L’importance de la Nouvelle-Zélande

La Nouvelle-Zélande est :

  • un marché établi prioritaire dans le Plan d’action sur les marchés mondiaux du Canada;
  • un partenaire commercial fiable et complémentaire doté d’une économie forte et développée;
  • un petit marché diversifié offrant des débouchés dans différents secteurs;
  • une porte d’entrée vers les économies émergentes et établies de la région de l’Asie-Pacifique.

La Nouvelle-Zélande a connu une croissance économique de 3,1 p. 100 en 2014, l’un des taux de croissance du produit intérieur brut (PIB) les plus marqués parmi les pays de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques. On prévoit une forte croissance continue de 2,9 p. 100 en 2015 et de 5 p. 100, en moyenne, au cours des quatre prochaines années et ce, malgré la faiblesse des prix des produits de base et les difficultés liées à la productivitéNote de bas de page 1.

Pour un petit pays comme la Nouvelle-Zélande, le commerce est essentiel à la croissance économique. Le gouvernement national encourage fortement la libéralisation du commerce grâce à son engagement continu de travailler dans l’ensemble du programme de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce à l’appui d’un système commercial mondial fondé sur des règles ainsi que dans le cadre d’une collaboration régionale et d’ententes commerciales bilatérales et multilatérales. La Nouvelle-Zélande a conclu dix accords commerciaux régionaux et le gouvernement national poursuit son intégration commerciale en Asie, la région où la croissance est la plus rapide dans le monde.

Le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande entretiennent une solide relation bilatérale fondée sur des valeurs communes, une structure politique similaire, une appartenance commune au Commonwealth, une coopération historique en matière de défense et de sécurité et la priorité accordée par les deux pays aux approches et aux mécanismes multilatéraux. Les domaines de coopération touchent les enjeux relatifs au renseignement et à la défense, au commerce et à la réforme de l’administration publique. Le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande coopèrent étroitement au sein des Nations Unies, du Forum de la Coopération économique de la zone Asie-Pacifique (APEC) ainsi que des forums régionaux comme l’Association des nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est.

Contexte économique en Nouvelle-Zélande

Malgré une politique budgétaire prudente et des politiques macroéconomiques solides, le gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Zélande n’a pas atteint l’équilibre budgétaire en 2014-2015. Toutefois, un excédent budgétaire de 1,1 milliard de dollars est prévu pour l’exercice 2015-2016 et cet excédent devrait augmenter au cours des années qui suivent. La dette nette devrait plafonner à 26,2 p. 100 du PIB en 2015-2016 et diminuer par la suite alors que le gouvernement vise un ratio dette-PIB de 20 p. 100 ou moins d’ici 2020.

La politique monétaire vise à maintenir la stabilité des prix et à limiter l’inflation dans la fourchette de 1 à 3 p. 100. À cette fin, la Reserve Bank of New Zealand a réduit les taux d’intérêt de 3,5 p. 100 à 3,25 p. 100 en juin 2015, en raison de l’affaiblissement des prix des produits laitiers et du faible taux d’inflation. Cette baisse de la banque centrale était la première depuis quatre ans et il est possible qu’il y ait d’autres assouplissements.

En mars 2015, à la lumière des perspectives stables de la Nouvelle-Zélande, Moody’s Investors Service a réaffirmé la cote de crédit AAA du pays, qui est l’un des 14 pays à recevoir une telle cote. La rapidité de la croissance économique de la Nouvelle-Zélande et sa stabilité économique, qui sont supérieures à celles d’autres pays ayant une cote AAA, compensent pour les faiblesses économiques du pays (sa petite taille et son revenu relativement faible).

Le programme de croissance des entreprises de la Nouvelle-Zélande donne lieu à des initiatives novatrices et des réformes politiques qui aident le pays à établir une économie plus productive et concurrentielle. Le gouvernement national met l’accent sur six piliers essentiels : les marchés financiers, l’innovation, les milieux de travail spécialisés et sécuritaires, les infrastructures, les ressources naturelles et les marchés d’exportation.   

Nouvelle-Zélande en chiffres (2014)
PIB218,6 milliards de dollars
PIB par habitant48 380 $
Croissance du PIB3,2 %
Inflation1,2 %
Taux de chômage5,4 %
Exportations de marchandises du Canada413,8 millions de dollars
Importations de marchandises du Canada614,0 millions de dollars
Exportations de services du Canada244 millions de dollars (2013)
Importations de services du Canada196 millions de dollars (2013)
Investissement étranger direct de Nouvelle-Zélande au Canadaconfidentiel
Investissement direct du Canada en Nouvelle-Zélande773 millions de dollars
Croissance potentielle annuelle de l’exportation à long terme2,7 %

Intérêt commercial en Nouvelle-Zélandepour le Canada

Aperçu

En 2014, le commerce bilatéral des marchandises a atteint un peu plus d’un milliard de dollars, soit une augmentation de 13 p. 100 sur 12 mois et de 34 p. 100 au cours des cinq dernières années.

Les exportations canadiennes vers la Nouvelle-Zélande comprennent des machines, des engrais (potasse), des produits aérospatiaux et du bois. Les importations en provenance de la Nouvelle-Zélande reflètent surtout l’importance des produits agricoles dans l’économie du pays, notamment la viande (agneau et bœuf), le vin, les produits laitiers et les fruits, mais elles comprennent également des machines, du fer et de l’acier.

L’investissement bilatéral est un volet essentiel et en expansion des relations bilatérales. La Nouvelle-Zélande est une destination importante pour l’investissement direct étranger (IDE) du Canada puisque le pays accepte volontiers les IDE, les systèmes réglementaires du pays sont fiables et transparents et la propriété intellectuelle y est protégée. L’IDE canadien en Nouvelle-Zélande est particulièrement marqué dans les secteurs pétrolier et gazier ainsi que du transport (services). D’autres investissements sont effectués dans le secteur de la santé, dans celui des technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC) de même que dans celui du commerce de détail. De même, les investissements de la Nouvelle-Zélande au Canada touchent divers secteurs, notamment le pétrole et le gaz, l’exploitation minière, les TIC et le commerce de détail.

Facteurs à prendre en considération avant d’exporter

Des cultures et des pratiques commerciales semblables font en sorte que l’expansion des affaires entre les deux pays est relativement simple. Le niveau de vie élevé de la Nouvelle-Zélande et une propension à importer font du marché néo-zélandais une bonne cible pour les fabricants et les exportateurs canadiens.

En raison de la petite taille du marché et de la distance qui sépare les deux pays, les exportateurs canadiens souhaiteront peut-être adopter une stratégie « océanienne » qui met l’accent sur l’Australie et la Nouvelle-Zélande. Bien que les deux marchés soient différents, les normes sont souvent semblables et de nombreuses entreprises adoptent cette approche.

La Nouvelle-Zélande est fière d’avoir l’une des économies les plus ouvertes et les plus dérèglementées au monde et elle se classe continuellement parmi les trois meilleurs pays pour ce qui est de la transparence et de la facilité à y mener des affaires.

La Nouvelle-Zélande s’est engagée à réduire les obstacles commerciaux. Les droits de douane ont été systématiquement réduits et les contrôles quantitatifs des produits d’importation ont été éliminés. Près de 90 p. 100 des marchandises entrent en Nouvelle-Zélande en franchise de droits. Les marchandises canadiennes assujetties à des droits de douane font l’objet de taux préférentiels inférieurs à cinq pour cent.

Ce pays a un solide régime de biosécurité en place et tous les exportateurs de produits agricoles (de provenance animale ou végétale) doivent se conformer à des règles strictes établies par le ministère des Industries primaires.

Possibilités et défis propres aux secteurs

Défense et sécurité

Le ministère de la Défense nationale du Canada entretient une relation de coopération modeste en matière de matériel de défense, mais croissante avec le ministère de la Défense et les forces de défense de la Nouvelle-Zélande. Depuis 2001, la coopération entre le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande dans le secteur du matériel de défense est assurée sous les auspices d’un protocole d’entente sur la coopération en matière de défense qui stipule, entre autres, la détermination d’activités mixtes fondées sur les principes de normalisation et d’interopérabilité, un soutien réciproque appuyé par l’échange de renseignements sur le matériel de défense et le personnel ainsi qu’une entraide quant aux évaluations techniques, aux essais et aux épreuves. Des mécanismes bilatéraux supplémentaires favorisent une gamme d’autres activités de coopération en matière de défense entre le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande.

Compte tenu de l’engagement intergouvernemental solidement ancré dans le domaine de la défense et des nombreuses réussites passées de l’industrie canadienne en Nouvelle-Zélande, les entreprises canadiennes sont susceptibles de bénéficier d’un potentiel important de débouchés supplémentaires relativement à l’approvisionnement du ministère de la Défense et des forces de défense de la Nouvelle-Zélande.

Technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC)

Selon l’Office of International Data Corporation (OIDC) de la Nouvelle-Zélande, la valeur du marché des TIC de ce pays, qui comprend les dépenses des consommateurs et des entreprises, s’établissait à 11,5 milliards de dollars néo-zélandais, et les télécommunications en constituaient le volet le plus important, suivies des services de TI, du matériel et des logiciels.

Les connexions par fibre optique sont offertes de façon progressive au pays, mais les liaisons numériques asymétriques (ADSL) demeurent la connexion Internet la plus courante. Une augmentation considérable de la diffusion en continu de films a provoqué une congestion du réseau Internet de la Nouvelle-Zélande, dont les capacités sont limitées.

Le gouvernement néo-zélandais, qui considère les TIC comme un outil clé pour la transformation des services publics, a adopté une approche pangouvernementale en matière d’approvisionnement. Les fournisseurs canadiens peuvent donc profiter de la solide réputation du Canada dans le secteur des TIC.

Sciences de la vie

Le secteur des sciences de la vie est varié, mais porte généralement sur le secteur agricole (produits laitiers, viandes et poissons). Ce secteur, qui a de la difficulté à réunir des capitaux supérieurs à un million de dollars néo-zélandais, cherche à obtenir des sources de financement des États-Unis.

Le sous-secteur pharmaceutique est très petit. La Nouvelle-Zélande a adopté très tôt les TIC dans le secteur de la santé et possède des capacités notables grâce à des entreprises comme Orion Health. Des débouchés s’offrent aux fournisseurs de solutions du Canada alors qu’un nombre croissant d’organisations – qui vont des villages de retraités aux fournisseurs de soins de santé mentale en passant par les fournisseurs de services sociaux – mettent en œuvre des solutions de TIC pour assurer une meilleure gestion de l’information.

Le sous-secteur des produits neutraceutiques présente des débouchés pour les entreprises qui offrent de nouveaux produits ayant fait l’objet d’essais approfondis.

Pétrole et gaz

La Nouvelle-Zélande est un producteur de pétrole et de gaz en plein essor. Elle jouit d’une abondance de ressources naturelles et compte d’importantes zones encore inexplorées ainsi qu’un grand nombre de bassins éprouvés et frontaliers. Au cours des dernières années, la Nouvelle-Zélande est devenue une destination de choix pour les investisseurs, offrant d’importantes possibilités en matière de développement des ressources pétrolières et gazières. Le secteur, qui constitue la quatrième source de revenus d’exportation en importance du pays, est une industrie de 2,5 milliards de dollars. Bien que le secteur soit touché à l’heure actuelle par la baisse marquée des prix du pétrole et par une réduction des activités d’exploration et de production, il offre encore des possibilités d’investissement.

Les activités pétrolières et gazières en Nouvelle-Zélande se sont fortement accrues au cours des dernières années. En 2013 et 2014, l’offre annuelle de lots (« Block Offers ») organisée par le gouvernement national a donné lieu à l’émission de 25 licences d’exploration pétrolière. Avec un seul bassin de production et 17 autres bassins pratiquement inexplorés, la Nouvelle-Zélande offre de vastes possibilités d’investissement en zone côtière ou extracôtière et en eau profonde ou peu profonde.

Les offres de lots organisées au cours des dernières années ont contribué à la popularité accrue du marché néo-zélandais parmi les entreprises d’exploration et de production, y compris les entreprises canadiennes. À mesure que le champ de pétrole de la Nouvelle-Zélande continue de s’élargir, on prévoit que l’intérêt de l’industrie pour une vaste gamme de solutions d’approvisionnement en équipement, en services et en technologies augmentera également.

Technologies durables

La qualité, l’utilisation, le stockage et la gestion de l’eau sont des questions prioritaires du point de vue de la durabilité à long terme pour la Nouvelle-Zélande. La recherche de solutions environnementales se poursuit. Il y a toujours des débouchés pour ces solutions environnementales et les demandes accrues du secteur agricole ainsi que la fréquence plus élevée des sécheresses dans plusieurs régions du pays créent un potentiel pour des projets et des initiatives portant sur le traitement de l’eau et l’irrigation. Les fortes capacités du Canada dans les domaines de la gestion de l’eau, de la détection de fuites, du traitement de l’eau et des technologies de transformation des déchets en énergie conviennent au marché néo-zélandais. Toutefois, les conseils locaux font de plus en plus face à des contraintes financières qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur la nature et la mise en œuvre des projets de développement des infrastructures.

Les sous-secteurs de la production d’énergies renouvelables présentent également un potentiel d’expansion dans le marché. Au cours des deux dernières années, il y a eu une augmentation marquée des installations solaires photovoltaïques (PV) en Nouvelle-Zélande et des panneaux photovoltaïques canadiens se trouvent déjà sur le marché local. La Nouvelle-Zélande compte en plus 19 parcs éoliens et ce sous-secteur intéresse la plupart des sociétés énergétiques néo-zélandaises.

Négociations et accords majeurs

Partenariat transpacifique (PTP)

Le PTP est l’une des initiatives les plus ambitieuses et les plus compréhensives en matière d’accord commercial régional de l’Asie-Pacifique et servira à approfondir les liens commerciaux avec ce marché en essor rapide. Le PTP comprend actuellement les 12 pays suivants : l’Australie, Brunéi, le Canada, le Chili, le Japon, la Malaisie, le Mexique, la Nouvelle-Zélande, le Pérou, Singapour, les États-Unis, et le Vietnam, ce qui représente un marché total de presque 800 millions de personnes et un produit intérieur brut (PIB) de 28,5 billions de dollars.

Quelques événements commerciaux à ne pas manquer

  • Défense et sécurité
    • NZ Defence Industry Association Forum, les 17 et 18 novembre 2015, Wellington (Nouvelle-Zélande)
  • Technologies durables
    • Water New Zealand Annual Conference & Expo, Hamilton (Nouvelle-Zélande)
  • Sciences de la vie
    • Health Informatics New Zealand Conference, du 19 au 22 octobre 2015, Christchurch (Nouvelle-Zélande)
  • Pétrole et gaz
    • New Zealand Advantage and Petroleum Summit, mars 2016, Auckland (Nouvelle-Zélande)

Services de soutien

À moins d’indication contraire, les renseignements ont été fournis par le Haut-commissariat du Canada en Nouvelle-Zélande. Ce document n’est pas destiné à fournir des conseils précis et ne devrait pas être invoqué en tant que tel. Il est conçu comme un aperçu seulement. Aucune action ou décision ne devrait être prise sans une recherche approfondie indépendante et des conseils professionnels concernant l’objet spécifique de cette action ou décision. Bien qu’Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada (MAECD) ait fait des efforts raisonnables pour s’assurer que l’information contenue dans ce document est exacte, le MAECD n’en garantit pas l’exactitude, l’actualité ou l’exhaustivité. Ce document ou une partie de celui-ci peut devenir obsolète à tout moment. Il est de la responsabilité de l’utilisateur de vérifier toute information contenue dans ce document avant de s’appuyer sur de telles informations. Le MAECD n’est pas responsable de quelque manière que ce soit pour toute perte ou dommage causé par ou résultant de toute imprécision, inexactitude ou omission dans l’information contenue dans le présent document. Ce document ne constitue pas et n’est pas destiné à fournir un avis en matière d’investissement, ni un conseil juridique ou fiscal. Pour obtenir un avis en matière d’investissement, ou un conseil juridique ou fiscal, veuillez consulter un professionnel qualifié.

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page 1

Fonds monétaire international, avril 2015

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1