Oil and Gas

Canada has the world’s 3rd largest proven crude oil reserves and 18th largest proven natural gas reserves.Footnote 1 Canada offers foreign investors in this sector strong production economics, excellent proximity to markets (both North American and Asian), an established production and transportation infrastructure with 19 refineries and 825,000 kilometers oil pipeline system, and access to one of the largest capital markets for oil and gas companies.

“For BP, Canada is one of the better places to invest in the world. It is a stable economy. It has a stable political system. It has pragmatic regulations that allow us to be both safe and efficient. It has great people [...] just great talent locally. It’s a center of innovation in technology, and it has a great hydrocarbon basin, which is obviously extremely important for a business such as ours.”

Murray Auchincloss – Deputy CFO (upstream) & Head of Business Development, BP (July 2013)

  • For foreign investors, the full cycle supply costs for Canadian oil and gas investment opportunities are competitive with other investment opportunities such as U.S. tight oil, offshore oil, and global shale gas.
  • The country provides competitive production economics and commercial terms for global investors. Financial incentives such as Flow-Through Shares (FTS) enable companies to transfer eligible exploration and development expenses to investors, which can then apply for tax credits for these expenditures. This feature enables a company involved in exploration, drilling, production, refining or pipeline operation to fund its activities more easily.
  • When it comes to Oil and Gas listings, the Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX) ranks 1st among all exchanges globally, with 35% of the world’s public oil and gas companies listed in Canada. Footnote 2 Further, 21% of oil and gas services companies are also listed on the TSX, making Canada one of the largest capital markets for oil and gas plays.

Leading Networks, Research Groups and Support Programs

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Natural Resource Canada. Energy Markets Factbook, 2013 – 2014

Return to Footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Toronto Stock Exchange

Return to Footnote 2 referrer

Pétrole et Gaz

Le Canada possède la troisième plus grande réserve mondiale de pétrole brut et la 18e plus grande réserve de gaz naturel avérée.Footnote 1 Le Canada offre aux investisseurs étrangers dans ce secteur une excellente proximité des marchés (à la fois nord-américain et asiatique), une infrastructure établie de production et de transport avec 19 raffineries et 825 000 kilomètres de système pétrolier de pipeline; et un accès à l’un des plus grands marchés de capitaux pour les entreprises pétrolières et gazières.

« Pour BP, le Canada est l'un des meilleurs endroits pour investir dans le monde. Il s'agit d'une économie stable. Il dispose d'un système politique stable. Il dispose d'une réglementation pragmatique qui nous permet d'être à la fois sûrs et efficaces. Il a de grandes personnes ... juste un grand talent local. C'est un centre d'innovation en matière de technologie, et il dispose d'un bassin d'hydrocarbures grand, ce qui est évidemment très important pour une entreprise comme la nôtre.»

Murray Auchincloss, dirigeant principal des finances adjoint (en amont) et chef du développement de l’entreprise, BP (juillet 2013)

  • Pour les investisseurs étrangers, les coûts associés au cycle d’approvisionnement complet en ce qui concerne les occasions d’investissements dans le secteur pétrolier et gazier canadien sont concurrentiels avec d’autres occasions d’investissements, comme le pétrole de réservoirs étanches des États-Unis, les hydrocarbures extracôtiers et les gaz de schiste mondiaux.
  • Le pays offre des capacités de production compétitives et des conditions commerciales pour les investisseurs mondiaux. Le programme d’actions accréditives offre aux investisseurs étrangers la possibilité de transférer les dépenses admissibles d’exploration et de développement à leurs propriétaires, qui peuvent alors demander des crédits d’impôt pour ces dépenses. Cette mesure permet d’établir un prix intéressant pour les actions accréditives et offre aux investisseurs présents dans l’exploration, le forage, la production, le raffinage et l’exploitation d’oléoducs la possibilité de financer plus facilement ces activités.
  • En ce qui concerne les inscriptions liées au pétrole et au gaz, la Bourse de Toronto (TSX) se classe au premier rang des Bourses mondiales, avec 35 p. 100 des sociétés publiques mondiales du secteur pétrolier et gazier inscrites au Canada. Footnote 2 De plus, 21 p. 100 des sociétés de services du secteur pétrolier et gazier sont inscrites au TSX, faisant du Canada l’un des plus importants marchés de capitaux pour les gisements pétroliers et gaziers.

Principaux réseaux, groupes de recherche et programmes de soutien

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Ressources naturelles Canada, Cahier d’information : les marchés de l’énergie, 2013-2014.

Return to Footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Bourse de Toronto (2013).

Return to Footnote 2 referrer