Canada and the OECD

Canada is one of the 20 founding members of the OECD. Just as Canada was committed to strengthening the economic cooperation of the Marshall Plan, Canada contributed to the creation of the OECD with the goal of promoting economic growth as a path to stability.

Canada views the OECD as a key forum to discuss international and domestic economic and social issues. OECD Peer reviews on Canada assess Canadian policies and provide useful recommendations to improve performance in a wide range of areas. For example, recent peer reviews have addressed:

Canada ranks eight in terms of assessed contributions to the OECD paying 3.6% of members’ contributions for 2012. In Canada, the three levels of government and about thirty separate federal government departments/agencies are involved in OECD work, contributing to and benefiting from efforts to better understand and help governments respond to current and new challenges.

Canada is very active in the OECD at the Committee level and Canadians currently chair several Committees and Working parties

Canada et l'OCDE

Le Canada est l’un des 20 membres fondateurs de l’OCDE. Ayant à coeur le renforcement de la coopération économique dans le contexte du Plan Marshall, il contribua à la création de cette organisation afin de promouvoir la croissance économique en tant que moyen d’assurer la stabilité.

Le Canada considère l’OCDE comme un forum clé pour discuter des questions économiques et sociales sur les plans international et national. Les examens par les pairs de l'OCDE évaluent les politiques canadiennes et fournissent des recommandations utiles afin d’améliorer les résultats dans un vaste éventail de domaines. Par exemple, des examens par les pairs récents ont porté sur les sujets suivants :

Le Canada se classe au septième rang quant à sa quote-part à l’OCDE, en versant 3,6 % de la contribution des membres pour 2012. Ses trois ordres de gouvernement et une trentaine d'agences/ministères fédéraux participent aux travaux de l'organisation, contribuant ainsi aux efforts déployés pour mieux comprendre les gouvernements et les aider à faire face aux difficultés actuelles et aux nouveaux défis.

Le Canada est très actif au sein des comités de l'OCDE. Des Canadiens président actuellement plusieurs comités et groupes de travail.