Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement

Background Information

Free trade negotiations with Costa Rica were launched on June 30, 2000 by International Trade Minister Pierre Pettigrew. Previously, the Government of Canada had consulted extensively on whether to embark on this initiative with businesses, citizen-based organizations and Canadians at large, as well as the provinces and territories. The response was positive, especially from small and medium-sized enterprises.

In total, there were seven rounds of negotiations, with the location of talks alternating between Canada and Costa Rica. A wide variety of topics were discussed including market access, competition policy, and institutional provisions and dispute settlement. Separate discussions were also held on labour and environmental issues, resulting in cooperation agreements.

The Canadian and Costa Rican delegations were lead respectively by, Claude Carrière, Director General of Trade Policy at the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, and Anabel González, Vice-Minister of the Costa Rican Ministry of Foreign Trade.

Negotiations were concluded in early April 2001 and the agreement came into force on November 1, 2002.

The Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement (CCRFTA) is a first-generation agreement that focuses mainly on trade in goods and does not include substantive provisions in areas such as cross-border trade in services, financial services, investment and government procurement.

On August 27, 2010, the Honourable Peter Van Loan, then Minister of International Trade, announced that Canada and Costa Rica had agreed to work toward modernizing the existing bilateral free trade agreement. Subsequent government-to-government exploratory discussions and public consultations with domestic stakeholders revealed broad-based support for the launch of negotiations to modernize the CCRFTA.

On August 11, 2011, Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the President of Costa Rica, Laura Chinchilla, announced the two countries will begin negotiations to modernize the existing Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement (see News Release: PM announces measures to strengthen Canada's engagement with Costa Rica).

In June 2012, Canada and Costa Rica completed the fourth round of negotiations, followed by the fifth round of negotiations in August 2012. Good progress has been made and most of the chapters are closed. Negotiators are in contact to plan next steps.

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica

Renseignements supplémentaires

Le ministre du Commerce international, M. Pierre Pettigrew, a ouvert les négociations sur la libéralisation du commerce avec le Costa Rica le 30 juin 2000, après que le gouvernement du Canada a tenu de vastes consultations auprès des milieux d'affaires, des regroupements de citoyens et l'ensemble de la population canadienne, ainsi qu'avec les administrations provinciales et territoriales. Les PME, en particulier, ont réagi positivement lors de ces consultations.

Au total, sept cycles de négociations ont eu lieu. Les pourparlers se sont déroulés tour à tour au Canada et au Costa Rica, et ont porté sur une grande variété de sujets, notamment l'accès aux marchés, la politique de concurrence, les dispositions institutionnelles ainsi que le règlement de différends. On a également tenu des discussions distinctes sur l'environnement et le travail, qui ont donné lieu à des accords de coopération.

Les délégations canadienne et costaricienne ont été dirigées respectivement par le directeur général de la politique commerciale au ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international, M. Claude Carrière, ainsi que la vice-ministre des Affaires étrangères du Costa Rica, Mme Anabel González.

Les négociations ont pris fin au début d'avril 2001 et l'accord est entré en viguer le 1er novembre 2002.

L’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et le Costa Rica (ALECCR) constitue un accord de première génération qui met principalement l’accent sur l’échange de biens, et qui exclut des aspects importants comme le commerce transfrontières des services, les services financiers, les investissements et les marchés publics.

Le 27 août 2010, l’honorable Peter Van Loan, alors ministre du Commerce international, a annoncé que le Canada et le Costa Rica convenait de travailler en vue de moderniser l’accord bilatéral de libre-échange existant. Les discussions exploratoires entre gouvernements ainsi que les consultations publiques avec les parties intéressées au Canada ont mis en évidence un appui étendu en faveur du lancement de négociations en vue de moderniser l’ALECCR.

Le 11 août 2011, le Premier ministre Stephen Harper et la présidente du Costa Rica, Laura Chinchilla, ont annoncé que les deux pays commenceront des négociations en vue de moderniser l’accord de libre-échange existant entre le Canada et le Costa Rica ( consultez le communiqué intitulé: Le PM annonce des mesures en vue de renforcer l'engagement auprès du Costa Rica ).

En juin 2012, le Canada et le Costa Rica ont conclu un quatrième cycle de négociations, suivi par le cinquième cycle en août 2012. Des progrès significatifs ont été réalisés et un certain nombre de chapitres ont été conclus. Les négociateurs sont en discussion pour planifier les prochaines étapes.