Applicant’s Guide to the CanExport Program

Table of contents

Eligibility

To be considered for possible funding, a firm must meet the following basic criteria:

All of the above criteria will be verify by the CRA via the business identifier number indicated in the application.

Eligible Activities

To be eligible, activities must aim to promote international business development and must go beyond the applicant’s core activities, represent new initiatives and provide an opportunity to yield incremental results. For illustrative purposes, these activities could include:

Ineligible activities

Eligible Expenses

Eligible expenditures are shared up to a maximum of 50 percent between canexport and the applicant. For illustrative purposes, please see the following examples of eligible expenses with important details:

Travel for meetings/events with key contacts from target market

Participation to trade events to meet key contacts from target market

Ex:

Interpretation services for target market

Marketing tools- adaptation and translation for target market

Ex:

IP protection/certification/ adaptation of contracts for target market

Ex:

* Business, tax or legal advice for target market

Ex:

* Market research/ key contacts identification/b2b for target market

Ex:

*activities marked with an asterisk are considered consultant fees. When approved, canexport can cover up to 50 percent of the value of these expenses, just like the program would for all other type of expenses. However, the total costs for consultant services must not exceed 25 percent of the total eligible cost of the entire canexport project.

Ineligible expenses

Though most expenses supporting international business development are eligible, as described above, following is a list of expenses that are deemed to be ineligible under this program:

List of Eligible Markets

CanExport is open, with few exceptions,Footnote 2 to all markets. Applicants will need to provide a rationale as to why their firm want to enter this specific market (one new market only per project application) and explain that they have either never exported to this market or at have not exported to this market within the last 24 months.

List of Eligible Sectors

CanExport is open, with few exceptions, to all industry sectors. Note: the agriculture and processed food, fish and seafood, and wine, beer and spirits sectors are excluded from CanExport because companies active in these particular sectors and looking for export support are eligible to apply through Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada’s AgriMarketing program.

Limits on Funding Requests

Preparing to Apply for CanExport

In order to ensure a smooth application process and complete application:

Assessment Process

Once the basic eligibility criteria are met, each application will be assessed on the basis of the proposed project’s incrementality, the soundness of the export business case, its alignment with Government of Canada trade strategies and, if the information is available, on the firm’s previous history and export readiness. More precisely, all applications that meet the eligibility criteria set out in section 2 will be assessed against the following five criteria:

A. Incrementality

Demonstration that the project goes beyond the applicant’s core activities, represents new initiatives and yields incremental results. The applicant will need to provide a specific rationale as to why they want to enter a new market where they have not exported within the last 24 months. The applicant also needs to demonstrate what the expected results are, how these will be measured and what indicators will be used.

B. Export business case

The soundness of the export business case as described in the application form and the alignment of the export business case with the firm’s overarching business strategy (including resources available to perform the activities and to develop the new market).

C. Alignment with Government of Canada trade strategies

D. Market potential

E. History / export readiness

Decision and Contribution Agreement

Applicants can expect to obtain the results of the assessment process within 25 working days of a completed application. Global Affairs Canada will notify both successful and unsuccessful applicants, and will provide the successful applications to NRC-IRAP, which will prepare and sign the contribution agreement with each recipient. For successful applicants, an authorized officer of your firm will be asked to review and sign the contribution agreement that sets out the approved activities and their associated costs, as well as the responsibilities and obligations.

The firm must notify NRC-IRAP of any material modifications to the firm’s information, approved activities, approved costs, or any other issues that may require a change to the contribution agreement. Changes that represent a significant departure from the scope of the original contribution agreement will require the applicant to submit a new application for assessment. The applicant will be notified if a new application is required. Note: activities that were rejected based on ineligibility in the original application cannot be resubmitted.

Claiming Process for Reimbursement of Eligible Expenses

Recipients will receive detailed information via email on the claiming and reporting process, upon the return of their signed contribution agreement.

Each claim must be accompanied by a status report as described in the contribution agreement, which details the activities and outcomes of your project, measured against the approved activities and project objectives. Firms will submit their claims to NRC-IRAP for costs incurred between the start and end dates of the project phase of the signed contribution agreement.  Firms will not be required to submit receipts. However, firms are required to keep adequate financial records and segregate CanExport project costs from their normal operation costs as the program may request proof of costs incurred. The terms of the signed contribution agreement will dictate the period for which recipients are expected to keep these financial records. The segregation of project costs means the ability to provide traceability of CanExport project costs from normal operating costs. For travel costs, more precisely air travel, firms will be requested to provide estimates of economy class airfare at the time of their application, and could be asked to submit receipts of costs incurred when submitting their claim. The program will endeavor to pay claims within 20 working days of receiving the claim and associated report.

Activity Monitoring, Audit, Evaluation and Reporting

The Government of Canada will monitor activities, conduct audits and evaluations and seek information on program results.

Site visits: On occasion, Global Affairs Canada or the NRC may visit the firm at its place of business or at the site where approved projects and activities are taking place. Such visits may require access to a site for a time; program recipients will be expected to grant such access. Such visits ensure that approved activities are being carried out.

Audits: All recipients of program funding may be subject to an audit. If a firm has been selected for audit, it will be notified well in advance. Audits normally occur after the expiry date of the agreement and are carried out by the Global Affairs Canada or by professional auditing firms on behalf of the Global Affairs Canada. That is why it is imperative that firms maintain records of activities to substantiate costs incurred, including dates, times and locations of travel, the name and role of the staff traveling and the use of consultants, as well as receipts for all expenses related to the approved activities set out in the contribution agreement terms and conditions. If overpayment is identified in the audit, the firm will be asked for reimbursement. Failure to provide payment may be deemed a breach of the contribution agreement.

Evaluation: An evaluation of a program will be conducted. Program recipients may be asked to provide performance-related information to an evaluator or to respond to a questionnaire to support the evaluation.

Results reports: Program recipients must submit a status report with their claim and a post-project report at the end of the contribution agreement project phase. The firm will also be asked to report annually for three years following the end of the project, on the benefits resulting from the project.

Sign Up and apply for CanExport.

Feedback or Questions

If you require additional information about CanExport or would like to provide us with your comments or suggestions on this Guide, please contact us at CanExport@international.gc.ca or by phone at 1-866-203-2454. For more information, you can also consult our website.

Please note that Global Affairs Canada and the NRC are committed to protecting the privacy rights of individuals and safeguarding the personal information under its control. Personal information collected by Global Affairs Canada and the NRC is protected from disclosure to unauthorized persons and/or agencies subject to the provisions of the Privacy Act. Individuals have the right to the protection of and access to their personal information and to request corrections where the individual believes there is an error or omission. Individuals may contact Global Affairs Canada’s Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division to request corrections.

Glossary

Benefits to Canada
Benefits to Canada resulting from export activity may include the creation of new jobs, an increase in revenues for Canadian firms, an increase in transactions with foreign firms or an increase in Canadian gross domestic product.
Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) Business Number (BN)
The BN is a nine-digit identifier for businesses to simplify their dealings with federal, provincial/territorial, and municipal governments in Canada. The number is assigned by the Canada Revenue Agency. It aims to give each registered business its own unique number.
Contribution Agreement
A contribution agreement is a legal agreement between the two parties, in this case the Government of Canada and the recipient, which sets out the terms and conditions of the funding, as well as the legal and reporting obligations of each party.
Incrementality
Incrementality is a project that goes beyond the applicant’s core activities, represents new initiatives and yields incremental results.
Legal name
The legal name of your business is the name you choose when you apply to incorporate a company under the Canada Business Corporations Act. If you do not choose a name, you are assigned a numbered name and this is your legal name.
Market
The term “market” refers to a foreign country in which a firm may conduct export activity. In the context of the program, “target market” refers to a foreign country where a program applicant plans to carry out a project (i.e., export activity). Applicants may only select one market in which to carry out their project and cannot have conducted export activity in that market for at least 24 months.
NAICS number
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is used by businesses and governments to classify and measure economic activity in the United States, Canada and Mexico. NAICS is 6-digit code system that is currently the standard used by federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments according to the similarity in the processes used to produce goods or services. Each and every company will have a primary NAICS code. This number indicates a company’s primary line of business. A company’s primary NAICS code is the code definition that generates the highest revenue for that company at a specific location in the past year.
Operating name
Your operating name is the name you use in your day-to-day activities and to advertise your business. You only need to provide your operating name if it is different from your legal name.
Other government assistance
Other Canadian government sources of funding include funding provided by federal, provincial/territorial, and municipal governments.
Primary contact
The primary contact is the employee of your firm designated as the main contact point for communications regarding your firm’s application. The primary contact must have full legal signing authority to sign the application and contribution form.
Project
For the purpose of the program, a “project” is defined as the grouping of activities to be undertaken in the target market, during the period established in the approved application.
Qualified foreign contacts

Qualified foreign contacts may include foreign buyers and partners. If a company requires assistance from the Trade Commissioner Service in order to identify and qualify key contacts, it should visit the following websites:

Revenues from international sales
The revenues from international sales cover the income from the sale of goods and services to non-Canadian residents as well as revenue earned from interest and dividends on foreign assets.
Stacking limit
The stacking limit refers to the maximum level of total Canadian government funding (federal, provincial/territorial, and municipal) a successful applicant can receive towards the total eligible costs of a project.
Date Modified:

Guide du requérant pour le programme CanExport

Table des matières

Admissibilité

Pour être jugée admissible à un financement éventuel, une entreprise doit satisfaire aux critères de base suivants :

Tous les critères qui précèdent seront vérifiés par l'ARC via le numéro d'entreprise indiqué dans la demande.

Activités admissibles

Pour être admissibles, les activités doivent être de nature à promouvoir l’expansion du commerce international et aller au-delà des activités habituelles de l’entreprise, elles doivent porter sur des initiatives nouvelles et être porteuse de résultats cumulatifs. À titre indicatif, les activités suivantes seraient considérées comme admissibles :

Activités non admissibles

Les activités suivantes ne sont pas admissibles :

Dépenses admissibles

Les dépenses admissibles sont partagées jusqu’à concurrence de 50 p. 100 entre le programme CanExport  et le demandeur. Lorsque vous remplirez la section du budget dans le formulaire de demande, vous devrez énumérer les dépenses admissibles et les répartir dans chacune des trois catégories suivantes : frais de voyage, frais contractuels et honoraires d’experts-conseils. Ces trois catégories ont été créées pour faciliter l’évaluation des demandes. Voici des exemples de dépenses admissibles dans chacune des catégories.

Frais de voyage (pour un maximum de 2 employés ou propriétaires travaillant pour l’entreprise)

Frais contractuels

Honoraires d’experts-conseils

Dépenses non admissibles

Même si la plupart des dépenses liées à la promotion de l’expansion du commerce international sont admissibles, les dépenses ci-dessous ne sont pas admissibles aux fins du programme :

Marchés éligibles

Le programme CanExport est ouvert, à quelques exceptions prèsNote de bas de page 2, aux marchés d’exportation du monde entier. L’entreprise devra justifier sa décision de se lancer sur un marché en particulier (un seul nouveau marché par demande de projet) et préciser qu’elle n’a pas exporté vers ce marché du moins au cours des 24 derniers mois.

Secteurs éligibles

Le programme CanExport  est ouvert, à quelques exceptions près, à tous les secteurs d’activité. À noter que les secteurs de l’agriculture, des aliments et des boissons, du poisson et des fruits de mer, ainsi que du vin, de la bière et des spiritueux sont exclus du programme CanExport , car les entreprises actives dans ces secteurs qui souhaitent obtenir un soutien à l’exportation doivent plutôt présenter une demande au Programme Agri-marketing d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada.

Limites relatives aux demandes de financement

Démarche préalable à la demande

Pour garantir que le traitement de votre demande se déroule bien et que celle-ci est complète :

Processus d’évaluation

Chaque demande qui satisfait aux critères d’admissibilité sera évaluée en fonction de l’apport du projet proposé, de l’intérêt qu’il présente sur le plan de l’exportation, de son adéquation avec les stratégies commerciales du gouvernement du Canada et, le cas échéant, des antécédents de l’entreprise et de sa capacité immédiate d’exporter. Plus précisément, toutes les demandes qui satisfont aux critères d’admissibilité décrits au point 2 seront évaluées par rapport aux cinq critères ci-après.

A. Apport différentiel

La demande démontre que le projet va au-delà des activités habituelles de l’entreprise, qu’il porte sur des initiatives nouvelles et qu’il dégagera des résultats cumulatifs. L’entreprise devra expliquer pourquoi elle décide de pénétrer un marché où elle n’a pas exporté au cours des 24 derniers mois. Le demandeur devra aussi démontrer quels sont les résultats escomptés, expliquer ce qu’il compte faire pour les mesurer et préciser quels indicateurs seront utilisés.

B. Dossier commercial d’exportation

L’intérêt du projet sur le plan de l’exportation, tel qu’il est décrit dans le formulaire de demande, et la concordance du dossier avec la stratégie commerciale générale de l’entreprise (y compris les ressources nécessaires pour l’exécution des activités et le développement du nouveau marché).

C. Adéquation avec les stratégies commerciales du gouvernement du canada

D. Potentiel du marché

E. Antécédents et capacité immédiate d’exporter

Décision et accord de contribution

Les demandeurs peuvent s’attendre à recevoir les résultats de l’évaluation dans les 25 jours ouvrables suivant la date où ils déposent leur demande. Affaires mondiales Canada répondra à tous les demandeurs, qu’ils soient acceptés ou refusés, et transmettra ensuite les demandes acceptées au PARI-CNRC, qui établira et signera l’accord de contribution avec chaque bénéficiaire d’une subvention. Dans le cas des demandes retenues, un agent autorisé de l’entreprise devra examiner et signer l’accord de contribution dans lequel seront consignés les activités approuvées et les coûts associés, ainsi que les responsabilités et les obligations des deux parties. L’entreprise devra aviser le PARI-CNRC de toutes modifications aux renseignements la concernant, aux activités et aux dépenses approuvées ou de tout autre problème pouvant nécessiter une modification à l’accord de contribution. En cas de changements constituant une dérogation majeure à la portée de l’accord de contribution original, le demandeur sera tenu de présenter une nouvelle demande à des fins d’évaluation. Le cas échéant, on fera savoir au demandeur si les changements en cause nécessitent la présentation d’une nouvelle demande. À noter que des activités ayant été jugées non admissibles dans le cadre d’une première demande ne peuvent pas être soumises de nouveau.

Processus de demande de remboursement des dépenses admissibles

Les récipiendaires recevront avec l'accord de contribution des informations détaillées sur le processus de remboursement et sur les exigences en matière de rapports.

Chaque demande de remboursement doit être accompagnée d'un rapport d'état tel que décrit dans l'accord de contribution. Celui-ci inclura des détails quant aux activités et aux résultats de votre projet, lesquels seront comparés aux activités approuvées pour le projet ainsi qu’aux objectifs énoncés pour sa réalisation. Les entreprises présenteront leur demande de remboursement au PARI-CNRC pour les frais engagés entre la date du début et la date de la fin de l’étape indiquée dans l’accord de contribution qui aura été signé. Les entreprises n’ont pas à fournir de reçus. Cependant, elles doivent tenir des dossiers financiers adéquats et séparer les coûts du projet CanExport  de leurs frais courants d’exploitation, car une preuve des frais engagés pourrait leur être demandée. La période pendant laquelle les bénéficiaires du programme CanExport  doivent conserver les pièces justificatives est prévue dans l’accord de contribution. Séparer les coûts du projet signifie que l’entreprise doit être en mesure de retracer les coûts du projet financé par le programme CanExport  et de les distinguer de ses frais d’exploitation normaux. En ce qui a trait aux frais de déplacement, plus précisément les billets d’avion, l’entreprise doit, quand elle remplit sa demande, fournir une estimation du prix des billets aller-retour en classe économique. Il pourrait lui être demandé de fournir des reçus des frais qu’elle a engagés lorsqu’elle présentera sa demande de remboursement. Les frais seront remboursés dans les 20 jours ouvrables suivant la réception de la demande et du rapport d’étape.

Surveillance, vérification et évaluation des activités, et production de rapports

Le Gouvernement du Canada pourra, à l’occasion, surveiller les activités, mener des audits et des évaluations, et demander des renseignements sur les résultats obtenus.

Visites sur place : À l’occasion, des représentants d’Affaires mondiales Canada ou du CNRC peuvent visiter le siège de l’entreprise ou encore le site où se déroulent le projet ou les activités approuvés. De telles visites peuvent nécessiter l’accès au site pendant un certain temps; on s’attend à ce que les bénéficiaires du programme accordent cet accès aux représentants. Ces visites permettent de s’assurer que les activités approuvées sont bel et bien exécutées.

Audits : Tous les bénéficiaires du programme sont assujettis au processus d’audit. Si une entreprise est sélectionnée pour un audit, elle en sera informée à l’avance. Habituellement, les audits se déroulent après la date d’expiration de l’accord et sont réalisés par le Ministère ou au nom du Ministère par des cabinets professionnels d’audit. C’est pourquoi il est essentiel que les entreprises puissent justifier les frais engagés en consignant dans un registre les dates, les heures et les destinations des déplacements, le nom et le titre des membres du personnel qui se déplacent ainsi que le recours à des experts-conseils, et qu’elles conservent les reçus de toutes les dépenses liées aux activités approuvées, comme le prévoit l’accord de contribution. Si un paiement excédentaire est détecté au moment de l’audit, l’entreprise devra le rembourser. Le non-remboursement serait considéré comme une violation de l’accord de contribution.

Évaluation : Un projet peut faire l’objet d’une évaluation à l’occasion. Les bénéficiaires du programme devront alors fournir à l’évaluateur des renseignements sur le rendement de leur projet ou encore répondre à un questionnaire d’évaluation.

Rapports sur les résultats : Les bénéficiaires du programme doivent présenter un rapport d’étape avec leur demande de remboursement des dépenses, ainsi qu’un rapport d’évaluation lorsque prend fin la phase de réalisation du projet visé par l’accord de contribution. L’entreprise doit aussi, pendant les trois années suivant la fin du projet, présenter annuellement un rapport sur les retombées du projet.

Inscrivez-vous à CanExport et présentez une demande.

Rétroaction ou questions

Pour tout complément d’information sur le programme CanExport  ou si vous souhaitez formuler des commentaires ou des suggestions sur le présent guide, veuillez communiquer avec nous à :

CanExport@international.gc.ca ou par téléphone au 1-866-203-2454. Vous pouvez également consulter notre site Web.

Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada et le CNRC s’engagent à protéger les droits relatifs à la vie privée des personnes ainsi que les renseignements personnels qu’ils détiennent. Les renseignements personnels recueillis par Affaires mondiales Canada et le CNRC sont protégés contre la divulgation à des personnes ou à des organismes non autorisés, en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Toute personne a droit à la protection des renseignements personnels qui la concernent. Elle a aussi le droit d’accéder à ces renseignements et de demander qu’ils soient corrigés si elle estime qu’il y a erreur ou omission. Pour toute demande de modifications, veuillez communiquer avec la Direction de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels du Ministère.

Glossaire

Avantages pour le Canada
Les avantages pour le Canada découlant d’activités d’exportation pourraient inclure la création de nouveaux emplois, un accroissement des revenus des sociétés canadiennes, une hausse des transactions avec des sociétés étrangères et une augmentation du produit national brut du Canada.
Numéro d’entreprise (NE) de l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC)
Le NE est un identificateur de neuf chiffres pour les entreprises qui leur permet de simplifier leurs échanges avec les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ainsi que les administrations municipales au Canada. Ce numéro est attribué par l’Agence du revenu du Canada et vise à donner un numéro unique à chaque entreprise enregistrée.
Entente de contribution
Une entente de contribution est un accord juridique entre deux parties, dans ce cas-ci le gouvernement du Canada et le bénéficiaire, qui établit les conditions de financement ainsi que les obligations juridiques et de reddition de comptes de chaque partie.
Apport différentiel
L’apport différentiel est un projet qui va au-delà des activités principales du demandeur, qui porte sur des initiatives nouvelles et qui dégagera des résultats cumulatifs.
Dénomination sociale
La dénomination sociale de votre entreprise est le nom que vous choisissez lorsque vous demandez à constituer une société en personne morale en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions. Si vous ne choisissez pas de nom, vous vous verrez attribuer une dénomination numérique qui deviendra votre dénomination sociale.
Marché
Le terme « marché » s’entend d’un pays étranger dans lequel une société pourrait mener des activités d’exportation. Dans le contexte du programme, le terme « marché cible » s’entend d’un pays étranger où le demandeur d’un programme prévoit mener à bien un projet (p. ex. des activités d’exportation). Les demandeurs ne peuvent choisir qu’un seul marché où ils mettront en œuvre leur projet et ne peuvent avoir mené d’activités d’exportation dans ce marché depuis au moins 24 mois.
Numéro du Système de classification des industries de l’Amérique du Nord (SCIAN)
Le Système de classification des industries de l’Amérique du Nord (SCIAN) est utilisé par les entreprises et les gouvernements pour classer et mesurer l’activité économique aux États-Unis, au Canada et au Mexique. Le SCIAN est un système de code à six chiffres qui est la norme actuelle qu’utilisent les organismes statistiques fédéraux pour le classement des établissements commerciaux en fonction des similitudes dans les processus employés pour produire des biens ou des services. Chaque entreprise aura un code SCIAN primaire. Ce numéro indique le principal domaine d’activité d’une entreprise. Le code SCIAN primaire d’une entreprise est la définition du code qui génère les revenus les plus élevés pour cette entreprise à un endroit en particulier au cours de la dernière année.
Nom commercial
Votre nom commercial est le nom que vous employez dans vos activités quotidiennes pour annoncer votre entreprise. Vous ne devez fournir votre nom commercial que s’il diffère de votre dénomination sociale.
Autre aide gouvernementale
Parmi les autres sources de financement du gouvernement du Canada, mentionnons le financement fourni par les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux et les administrations municipales.
Personne-ressource principale
La personne-ressource principale est l’employé de votre société désignée comme le principal point de liaison pour les communications au sujet de la demande de la société. La principale personne-ressource doit avoir tous les pouvoirs de signature pour la demande et le formulaire de contribution.
Projet
Aux fins du programme, un projet est défini comme le regroupement des activités à réaliser dans le marché cible pendant la période établie dans la demande approuvée.
Personnes-ressources compétentes à l’étranger

Les personnes-ressources compétences à l’étranger pourraient inclure des acheteurs et des partenaires étrangers. Si une entreprise a besoin d’aide du Service des délégués commerciaux afin de définir les principales personnes-ressources et de déterminer leur admissibilité, elle devrait visiter les sites Web suivants :

Revenus tirés des ventes internationales
Les revenus tirés des ventes internationales incluent les revenus provenant de ventes de biens et services aux non-résidents canadiens ainsi que les revenus résultant des intérêts et des dividendes d’actifs étrangers.
Limite du cumul
La limite du cumul désigne le niveau maximal du total de l’aide financière gouvernementale canadienne (fédérale, provinciale/territoriale et municipale) qu’un demandeur retenu peut recevoir et qui est applicable au total des coûts admissibles d’un projet.
Date de modification: