Joint Interpretative Instrument on the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) between Canada & the European Union and its Member States

1. Preamble

2. Right to regulate

CETA preserves the ability of the European Union and its Member States and Canada to adopt and apply their own laws and regulations that regulate economic activity in the public interest, to achieve legitimate public policy objectives such as the protection and promotion of public health, social services, public education, safety, the environment, public morals, social or consumer protection, privacy and data protection and the promotion and protection of cultural diversity.

3. Regulatory cooperation

CETA provides Canada and the European Union and its Member States with a platform to facilitate cooperation between their regulatory authorities, with the objective of achieving better quality of regulation and more efficient use of administrative resources. This cooperation will be voluntary: regulatory authorities can cooperate on a voluntary basis but do not have an obligation to do so, or to apply the outcome of their cooperation.

4. Public Services

5. Social Security or Insurance

Canada and the European Union and its Member States may regulate the provision of public services such as social security and insurance in the public interest. The European Union and its Member States and Canada confirm that compulsory social security and insurance schemes are excluded from the Agreement pursuant to Article 13.2(5) or are exempted from liberalisation obligations of the Agreement on the basis of the reservations the European Union and its Member States and Canada have taken on social and health services.

6. Investment Protection

7. Trade and Sustainable Development

8. Labour Protection

9. Environmental Protection

10. Review and Stakeholder Consultation

11. Water

CETA does not oblige Canada or the European Union and its Member States to permit the commercial use of water if they do not wish to do so. CETA fully preserves their ability to decide how to use and protect water sources. Furthermore, CETA will not prevent the reversal of a decision to allow the commercial use of water.

12. Government Procurement

CETA maintains the ability of procuring entities within the European Union and its Member States and Canada, in accordance with their respective legislation, to use environmental, social and labour-related criteria, such as the obligation to comply with and adhere to collective agreements, in procurement tenders. Canada and the European Union and its Member States will be able to use such criteria in their procurement in a way that is not discriminatory and does not constitute an unnecessary obstacle to international trade. They will be able to continue to do so under CETA.

13. Benefits for Small and Medium Sized Enterprises

CETA also provides benefits to small and medium sized enterprises (SME's) for whom trying to meet the cost requirements of customers is a constant challenge. CETA will address this issue by: allowing virtually all manufactured goods to be exported duty-free; reducing processing times at the border and making the movement of goods cheaper, faster, more predictable and efficient; reducing regulatory hurdles, in particular with the possibility to have their products tested and certified to Canadian standards within the EU and vice-versa; facilitating the movement of service providers such as contract suppliers, independent professionals, and short-term business visitors, so that SMEs can more easily meet with clients and offer after-sales servicing; and greatly expanding access to government procurement opportunities for SMEs at the central, sub-central and local government levels. Small farmers will equally benefit by easier access to markets and better selling opportunities, including for distinctive quality products.

14. Preferences for Canada’s Aboriginal Peoples

In CETA Canada has included exceptions and carve-outs to ensure its ability to adopt measures that preserve rights and preferences for Aboriginal peoples. Canada is committed to active engagement with Indigenous partners to ensure the ongoing implementation of CETA continues to reflect their interests.

Concordance Table – Joint Interpretative Instrument referenced to CETA text

This table is meant to assist in the interpretation of CETA, by relating the statement of the intention of the Parties in this Instrument with the relevant provisions of CETA. The below list of references is meant to be as complete as possible but is non-exhaustive.

Concordance Table – Joint Interpretative Instrument referenced to CETA text
Recital Joint Interpretative InstrumentReference CETA Text
1. Preamble
1.c) and d)
CETA Preamble, Art. 5.4, Art. 6.1.5, Art. 21.2.1, Art. 21.2.2, Art. 22.1, Art 23.3, Art. 23.4, Art. 24.3, Art. 24.4, Art. 24.5 and Art. 28.3
2. Right to RegulateCETA Preamble, Art. 5.4, Art. 6.1.5, Art. 8.9, Annex 8-A, Art. 21.2.1, Art. 21.2.2, Art. 22.1, Art. 23.3, Art. 23.4, Art. 24.3, Art. 24.4, Art. 24.5 and Art. 28.3 
3. Regulatory Co-operationArt. 21.2.6
4. Public ServicesArt. 8.2.2 (b), Art. 8.9, Art. 8.15, Art. 9.2.2 (a) (b)( f) and (g), Art. 9.7, Art. 13.2.5, Art. 13.10, Art.13.16, Art. 13.17, Art. 28.3, Annex I Reservations and Annex II Reservations
5. Social Security or InsuranceArt. 13.2.5, Art. 13.10, Art. 28.3 Annex I Reservations and Annex II Reservations

6. Investment Protection
6. a)
6. b)
6. c)
6. d)
6. e)
6. f)
6. g)
6. h)
6. i)

Preamble, Art. 8.2.2 (b), Art. 8.36, Art. 8.6, Art. 8.9, Annex 8-A, Art. 8.22.1 (f, g) and Art. 28.3
Art. 8.9.1, 8.12, Annex 8- A and Art. 8.39.3
Art. 8.9, Art. 8.10, Art. 8.11, Art. 8.12 and Annex 8- A
Art. 8.1 and Art. 8.18.3,
Art 8.31.3
Art. 8.27, Art. 8.28, Art. 8.30 and Art. 8.44
Art. 8.28
Art. 8.31.3 and Art.8.44.3
Art. 8.29
7. b) Trade and Sustainable DevelopmentArt. 22.1, Chapters 23 and 24
8. Labour Protection
8. a)
8. b)
8. c)
Art. 23.2, Art. 23.3.1, Art. 23.4.2, Art. 23.4.3
Art. 23.3.4
Art. 23.7 and Art. 23.8
9. Environmental Protection
9. a)
9. b)
9. c)
Art. 24.3
Art. 24.3 and Art. 24.5
Art. 24.10, Art. 24.11 and Art. 24.12
10. Review and Stakeholder Consultation
10. a)

10. b)

Art. 22.3.3, Art. 22.4, Art. 23.8, Art. 23.9, Art. 23.10 and Art. 23.11
Art. 22.1.3, Art. 22.4.3, Art. 22.4.4, Art. 23.6, Art. 23.8.4, Art. 24.13, Art. 24.14, Art. 24.15, Art. 24.16 and Art. 24.7,
11. WaterArt. 1.9
12. Government ProcurementArt. 19.9.6 and Art. 19.3.2
13. Benefits for SME'sAnnex 2- A, Chapter 4, Chapter 6, Chapter 19, Chapter 20-subsection C
14. Preferences for Canada's Aboriginal PeoplesArt. 12.2.2 and relevant Canadian reservations
Date Modified:

Instrument interprétatif commun concernant l'accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada, d'une part, et l'Union européenne et ses États membres, d'autre part

1. Préambule

2. Droit de réglementer

L'AECG préserve la capacité de l'Union européenne et de ses États membres ainsi que du Canada à adopter et à appliquer leurs propres dispositions législatives et réglementaires destinées à réglementer les activités économiques dans l'intérêt public, à réaliser des objectifs légitimes de politique publique tels que la protection et la promotion de la santé publique, des services sociaux, de l'éducation publique, de la sécurité, de l'environnement et de la moralité publique, la protection sociale ou des consommateurs, la protection de la vie privée et la protection des données, ainsi que la promotion et la protection de la diversité culturelle.

3. Coopération en matière de réglementation

L'AECG offre au Canada et à l'Union européenne et ses États membres une plateforme visant à faciliter la coopération entre leurs autorités de réglementation, l'objectif étant d'améliorer la qualité de la réglementation et d'utiliser plus efficacement les ressources administratives. Cette coopération s'effectuera sur une base volontaire, les autorités de réglementation pouvant choisir librement de coopérer, sans y être contraintes ou sans devoir mettre en œuvre les résultats de leur coopération.

4. Services publics

5. Sécurité ou assurance sociale

Le Canada ainsi que l'Union européenne et ses États membres peuvent réglementer la fourniture de services publics tels que la sécurité et l'assurance sociales dans l'intérêt public. L'Union européenne et ses États membres ainsi que le Canada confirment que les régimes de sécurité et d'assurance sociales obligatoires sont exclus de l'accord en vertu de l'article 13.2, paragraphe 5, ou sont exemptés des obligations de libéralisation prévues par l'accord sur la base des réserves que l'Union européenne et ses États membres ainsi que le Canada ont émises sur les services sociaux et de santé.

6. Protection des investissements

7. Commerce et développement durable

8. Protection du travail

9. Protection de l'environnement

10. Réexamen et consultation des parties prenantes

11. Eau

L'AECG n'oblige pas le Canada ou l'Union européenne et ses États membres à autoriser l'utilisation commerciale de l'eau s'ils ne le souhaitent pas. L'AECG préserve pleinement leur faculté de décider de la manière dont ils utilisent et protègent les sources d'eau. En outre, l'AECG n'empêchera pas de pouvoir revenir sur une décision autorisant l'utilisation commerciale de l'eau.

12. Marchés publics

L'AECG maintient la faculté des entités contractantes de l'Union européenne et de ses États membres ainsi que du Canada, conformément à leur législation respective, de recourir, dans le cadre d'appels d'offres, à des critères environnementaux, sociaux et relatifs aux travail, tels que l'obligation de se conformer et d'adhérer à des conventions collectives. Le Canada ainsi que l'Union européenne et ses États membres pourront utiliser ces critères dans le cadre de leurs marchés publics, d'une manière qui ne soit pas discriminatoire et qui ne constitue pas un obstacle non nécessaire au commerce international. Ils pourront continuer à le faire avec l'AECG.

13. Avantages pour les petites et moyennes entreprises

L'AECG offre également des avantages aux petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), pour lesquelles s'efforcer de répondre aux exigences des clients en matière de coûts est un défi constant. L'AECG apportera une réponse à ce problème: en permettant que la quasi-totalité des biens manufacturés soient exportés en franchise de droits; en réduisant les délais de traitement à la frontière et en rendant la circulation des biens moins onéreuse, plus rapide, plus prévisible et efficace; en réduisant les obstacles réglementaires, notamment en ménageant la possibilité de faire tester et certifier les produits aux normes canadiennes dans l'UE et inversement; en facilitant la circulation des prestataires de services tels que les fournisseurs de contrats, les professionnels indépendants et les visiteurs en déplacement d'affaires de courte durée, afin que les PME puissent rencontrer plus facilement leurs clients et offrir un service après-vente; et en accroissant sensiblement l'accès des PME aux marchés publics aux niveaux de gouvernement central, sous-central et local. Les petits exploitants agricoles bénéficieront également d'un accès plus facile aux marchés et de meilleures possibilités de vente, y compris pour les produits de qualité spécifiques.

14. Préférences accordées aux populations autochtones canadiennes

Dans l'AECG, le Canada a prévu des exceptions lui permettant de pouvoir adopter des mesures qui protègent les droits et préférences accordés aux populations autochtones. Le Canada s'engage à dialoguer activement avec ses partenaires autochtones pour veiller à ce que la mise en œuvre de l'AECG continue de servir leurs intérêts.

Tableau de correspondance entre l'instrument interprétatif commun et le texte de l'AECG

Ce tableau vise à faciliter l'interprétation de l'AECG en mettant en parallèle la déclaration d'intention des parties à cet instrument avec les dispositions pertinentes de l'AECG. La liste de références ci-après est censée être aussi complète que possible, mais n'est pas exhaustive.

Tableau de correspondance entre l'instrument interprétatif commun et le texte de l'AECG
Points de l'instrument interprétatif communRéférences correspondantes dans le texte de l'AECG
1. Préambule
1.c) et d)
Préambule, art. 5.4, art. 6.1.5, art. 21.2.1, art. 21.2.2, art. 22.1, art 23.3, art. 23.4, art. 24.3, art. 24.4, art. 24.5 et art. 28.3
2. Droit de réglementerPréambule, art. 5.4, art. 6.1.5, art. 8.9, annexe 8A, art. 21.2.1, art. 21.2.2, art. 22.1, art. 23.3, art. 23.4, art. 24.3, art. 24.4, art. 24.5 et art. 28.3
3. Coopération en matière de réglementationArt. 21.2.6
4. Services publicsArt. 8.2.2 b), art. 8.9, art. 8.15, art. 9.2.2 a) b) f) et g), art. 9.7, art. 13.2.5, art. 13.10, art.13.16, art. 13.17, art. 28.3, réserves au titre de l'annexe I et réserves au titre de l'annexe II
5. Sécurité ou assurance socialeArt. 13.2.5, art. 13.10, art. 28.3, réserves au titre de l'annexe I et réserves au titre de l'annexe II

6. Protection des investissements
6. a)
6. b)
6. c)
6. d)
6. e)
6. f)
6. g)
6. h)
6. i)

Préambule, art. 8.2.2 (b), art. 8.36, art. 8.6, art. 8.9, annexe 8-A, art. 8.22.1 f) et g) et art. 28.3
Art. 8.9.1, 8.12, annexe 8- A et art. 8.39.3
Art. 8.9, art. 8.10, art. 8.11, art. 8.12 et annexe 8‑A
Art. 8.1 et art. 8.18.3,
Art 8.31.3
Art. 8.27, art. 8.28, art. 8.30 et art. 8.44
Art. 8.28
Art. 8.31.3 et art.8.44.3
Art. 8.29

7. b) Commerce et développement durableArt. 22.1, chapitres 23 et 24
8. Protection du travail
8. a)
8. b)
8. c)

Art. 23.2, art. 23.3.1, art. 23.4.2, art. 23.4.3
Art. 23.3.4
Art. 23.7 et art. 23.8

9. Protection de l'environnement
9. a)
9. b)
9. c)

Art. 24.3
Art. 24.3 et art. 24.5
Art. 24.10, art. 24.11 et art. 24.12

10. Réexamen et consultation des parties prenantes
10. a)

10. b)

Art. 22.3.3, art. 22.4, art. 23.8, art. 23.9, art. 23.10 et art. 23.11
Art. 22.1.3, art. 22.4.3, art. 22.4.4, art. 23.6, art. 23.8.4, art. 24.13, art. 24.14, art. 24.15, art. 24.16 et art. 24.7

11. EauArt. 1.9
12. Marchés publicsArt. 19.9.6 et art. 19.3.2
13. Avantages pour les PMEAnnexe 2- A, chapitre 4, chapitre 6, chapitre 19, chapitre 20- section C
14. Préférences accordées aux populations autochtones canadiennesArt. 12.2.2 et réserves canadiennes pertinentes
Date de modification: