Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Annex 2-B: Declaration of the Parties concerning tariff rate quota administration

Section A – Declaration concerning European Union administration for beef and veal, and pork tariff rate quotas under this Agreement

1. The general principle is that tariff rate quota administration should be as conducive to trade as possible. More specifically, it must not impair or nullify the market access commitments negotiated by the Parties; it must be transparent, predictable, minimise transactional costs for traders, maximise fill rates and aim to avoid potential speculation.

Structure of the import licensing system

Quarterly sub-periods with carryover between periods for unused tariff rate quota quantities

2. In each of the four quarters of the marketing year, 25 per cent of the annual tariff rate quota quantity will be made available for licence applications.

3. Any quantities remaining available at the end of one quarter will be automatically rolled over into the subsequent quarter until the end of the marketing year.

Application period for import licences

4. An application for an import licence will be accepted up to 45 calendar days preceding the beginning of each quarter and an import licence shall be issued no less than 30 calendar days before the quarter begins.

5. If demand for licences during the application period exceeds the quantities available for that quarter, licences will be allocated on a pro-rated basis.

6. If the available quantity for any quarter is not fully allocated during the application period, the remaining quantity will be made available for eligible applicants to apply for on demand for the rest of that quarter. Import licences will be issued automatically on demand until the available quantity has been fully subscribed for that period.

Validity of licences

7. An import licence is valid:

  1. from the date of issue or the date of the beginning of the quarter for which the import licence is issued, whichever is later; and
  2. for five months from the applicable date in subparagraph (a) or until the end of the marketing year, whichever comes first.

8. Import licences may be used at any European Union customs entry point and for multiple shipments.

Eligibility criteria

9. The eligibility criteria and allocation method should result in the quotas going to those persons that are most likely to use it and must not create barriers to imports.

10. During the application period, eligible applicants shall include historical importers of beef, bison or veal for beef and veal imports and historical importers of beef, bison, veal or pork for pork imports.

11. In any quarter following the application period when licences are made available on demand, the eligibility criteria for applicants will be expanded to include wholesalers and accredited meat processors.

Securities

Securities tied to import licence applications

12. A security of not more than 95 euro (€) per tonne of beef and 65 euro (€) per tonne of pork will be lodged with the application for a licence.

Transfer of licence and corresponding security

13. Licences are not transferable.

Return of licence and corresponding security

14. Unused licence quantities may be returned before expiration and up to four months prior to the end of the marketing year. Each licence holder may return up to 30 per cent of their individual licence quantity. When such a quantity is returned, 60 per cent of the corresponding security is released.

15. All returned quantities will be immediately made available to other eligible applicants to apply for on demand for the rest of that quarter, and will be rolled over to subsequent quarters if not requested.

Release of security and release of full security when 95 per cent of imports occur

16. Securities shall be proportionally released each time actual imports have taken place.

17. Once 95 per cent of an importer's individual licence quantity is actually imported the full security shall be released.

Section B – Declaration concerning Canada's administration for cheese tariff rate quotas under this Agreement

1. The general principle is that tariff rate quota administration should be as conducive to trade as possible. More specifically, it must not impair or nullify the market access commitments negotiated by the Parties; it must be transparent, predictable, minimise transactional costs for traders, maximise fill rates and aim to avoid potential speculation.

2. The eligibility criteria and allocation method should result in the quotas going to those persons that are most likely to use it and must not create barriers to imports.

Structure of the import licensing system

3. The annual tariff rate quota quantity will be allocated each year among eligible applicants.

4. The tariff rate quota allocation method will allow for new entrants each year. During the phase-in period from Year 1 to Year 5, at least 30 per cent of the tariff rate quota will be available to new entrants every year. After the end of the phase-in period from Year 6 and in subsequent years, at least 10 percent of the tariff rate quota quantity will be available for new entrants.

5. The tariff rate quota quantity will be allocated on a calendar year basis. Applications from all interested parties will be received and processed according to the provisions of the Understanding on Tariff Rate Quota Administration Provisions of Agricultural Products, as defined in Article 2 of the Agreement on Agriculture, Ministerial Decision WT/MIN(13)/39, 7 December 2013, with a period of four to six weeks to submit applications. Imports will be able to start from the first day of the year.

6. In the event that the tariff rate quota is not fully allocated following the application process in paragraph 3, available quantities will immediately be offered to eligible applicants in proportion to their allocation, or on demand if quantities still remain after the first offer.

Eligibility criteria

7. To be eligible, an applicant shall be, at a minimum, a resident of Canada and be active in the Canadian cheese sector regularly during the year.

8. During the phase-in period from Year 1 to Year 5, a new entrant shall be an eligible applicant who is not an allocation holder under Canada's cheese tariff rate quota under the WTO.

9. After the end of the phase-in period, from Year 6 and in subsequent years, a new entrant shall be an eligible applicant who is not an allocation holder under Canada's cheese tariff rate quota under the WTO or did not receive an allocation of the tariff rate quotas under this Agreement in the preceding year.

10. A new entrant shall be considered as such for a period of three years.

11. Once an applicant is no longer considered to be a new entrant, the applicant shall be treated the same as all other applicants.

12. Canada may consider limiting the size of allocations to a specific percentage if it is deemed necessary to foster a competitive, fair, and balanced import environment.

Use of import allocations and import permits

13. A tariff rate quota allocation shall be valid for one quota year or, if issued after the beginning of the quota year, for the remainder of the quota year.

14. To ensure that imports are aligned with domestic market conditions and to minimise barriers to trade, an allocation holder will normally be free to use its allocation to import any product covered by the tariff rate quota at any time during the year.

15. On the basis of its allocation, an importer will submit an import permit request for each shipment of product covered by the tariff rate quota that the importer seeks to import into Canada. Import permits are normally issued automatically upon request through the electronic permitting system of the Government of Canada. Under current policies, import permits may be requested up to 30 days before the planned date of entry and are valid for a period of five days before and 25 days from the date of entry.

16. Permits are not transferable.

17. An import permit may be amended or cancelled.

18. A transfer of allocations may be authorised.

19. An allocation holder that uses less than 95 per cent of its allocation in any one year may be subject to an under-utilisation penalty in the following year, in which it will receive an allocation that reflects the actual level of use of the previous allocation. An allocation holder affected by an under-utilisation penalty will be advised prior to the final allocation of the tariff rate quota.

20. An allocation holder may return an unused quantity of their allocation up to a specified date. Returned quantities will be considered used for the purpose of the application of the under-utilisation penalty. Chronic returns may be penalised.

21. Returned quantities will normally be made available to interested allocation holders who have not returned any unused quantity of their allocation the day after the return deadline. If quantities remain after that, they may be offered to other interested third parties.

22. The return deadline will be set at a date that is early enough to give sufficient time for use of the returned quantities, while being late enough to allow allocation holders to establish their import needs until the end of the year, possibly near the middle of the quota year.

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Annexe 2-B : Déclaration des Parties sur l'administration des contingents tarifaires

Section A – Déclaration sur l'administration par l'Union européenne des contingents tarifaires de bœuf, de veau et de porc dans le cadre du présent accord

1. Le principe général est que l'administration des contingents tarifaires devrait être aussi propice que possible au commerce. Plus précisément, elle ne doit pas compromettre ou rendre nuls les engagements en matière d'accès aux marchés négociés par les Parties; elle doit être transparente et prévisible, minimiser les coûts de transaction pour les commerçants, maximiser les taux d'utilisation et viser à éviter la spéculation potentielle.

Structure du système de licences d'importation

Sous-périodes trimestrielles avec report entre les périodes des quantités sous contingent tarifaire non utilisées

2. À chacun des quatre trimestres de l'année commerciale, 25 p. cent de la quantité du contingent tarifaire annuel sera disponible aux fins des demandes de licence.

3. Les quantités qui restent disponibles à la fin d'un trimestre sont automatiquement reportées au trimestre suivant jusqu'à la fin de l'année commerciale.

Période de présentation des demandes de licences d'importation

4. Les demandes de licences d'importation seront acceptées jusqu'à 45 jours civils avant le début de chaque trimestre, et les licences d'importation sont délivrées au moins 30 jours civils avant le début du trimestre.

5. Si la demande de licences durant la période de présentation des demandes excède les quantités disponibles pour le trimestre visé, les licences seront attribuées au prorata.

6. Si la quantité disponible pour un trimestre donné n'est pas entièrement attribuée pendant la période de présentation des demandes, la quantité restante sera mise à la disposition des demandeurs admissibles, qui pourront présenter une demande pour le reste du trimestre en question. Les licences d'importation seront délivrées automatiquement sur demande jusqu'à ce que la quantité disponible soit épuisée pour cette période.

Validité des licences

7. Une licence d'importation est valide :

  1. à compter de la date de délivrance ou de la date du début du trimestre pour lequel la licence a été délivrée, la date la plus tardive étant retenue;
  2. pendant cinq mois à compter de la date applicable visée à l'alinéa a) ou jusqu'à la fin de l'année commerciale, l'échéance qui se présente la première étant retenue.

8. Les licences d'importation peuvent être utilisées à tout point d'entrée en douane de l'Union européenne et pour des expéditions multiples.

Critères d'admissibilité

9. Les critères d'admissibilité et la méthode d'attribution des contingents devraient se traduire par l'attribution de ceux-ci aux personnes qui sont les plus susceptibles de les utiliser et ne doivent pas créer d'obstacles aux importations.

10. Durant la période de présentation des demandes, sont inclus dans les demandeurs admissibles les importateurs traditionnels de bœuf, de bison ou de veau dans le cas des importations de bœuf et de veau, et les importateurs traditionnels de bœuf, de bison, de veau ou de porc dans le cas des importations de porc.

11. À chaque trimestre suivant la période de présentation des demandes, lorsque les licences sont mises à disposition sur demande, les critères d'admissibilité des demandeurs seront élargis pour inclure les grossistes et les transformateurs de viande agréés.

Garanties

Garanties liées aux demandes de licences d'importation

12. Une garantie n'excédant pas 95 euros (€) par tonne de bœuf et 65 euros (€) par tonne de porc sera déposée avec la demande de licence.

Transfert de licence et de la garantie correspondante

13. Les licences ne sont pas transférables.

Restitution de la licence et de la garantie correspondante

14. Les quantités non utilisées visées par des licences peuvent être restituées avant l'expiration de la licence et jusqu'à quatre mois avant la fin de l'année commerciale. Chaque titulaire de licence peut restituer jusqu'à 30 p. cent de la quantité visée par sa licence. Dans les cas où une telle quantité est restituée, 60 p. cent de la garantie correspondante est libérée.

15. Toutes les quantités restituées seront immédiatement mises à la disposition des autres demandeurs admissibles, qui peuvent présenter une demande pour le reste du trimestre, et seront reportées aux trimestres suivants si elles ne sont pas demandées.

Libération de la garantie et libération de la garantie totale après importation de 95 p. cent de la quantité

16. Les garanties sont libérées proportionnellement chaque fois que des importations effectives ont eu lieu.

17. Lorsqu'un importateur a importé effectivement 95 p. cent de la quantité visée par sa licence, la totalité de la garantie est libérée.

Section B – Déclaration sur l'administration par le Canada des contingents tarifaires de fromage dans le cadre du présent accord

1. Le principe général est que l'administration des contingents tarifaires devrait être aussi propice que possible au commerce. Plus précisément, elle ne doit pas compromettre ou rendre nuls les engagements en matière d'accès aux marchés négociés par les Parties; elle doit être transparente et prévisible, minimiser les coûts de transaction pour les commerçants, maximiser les taux d'utilisation et viser à éviter la spéculation potentielle.

2. Les critères d'admissibilité et la méthode d'attribution des contingents devraient se traduire par l'attribution de ceux-ci aux personnes qui sont les plus susceptibles de les utiliser et ne doivent pas créer d'obstacles aux importations.

Structure du système de licences d'importation

3. La quantité sous contingent tarifaire annuel sera répartie chaque année entre les demandeurs admissibles.

4. La méthode d'attribution du contingent tarifaire permettra l'admission de nouveaux entrants chaque année. Durant la période d'application progressive de l'année 1 à l'année 5, au moins 30 p. cent du contingent tarifaire sera disponible pour les nouveaux entrants chaque année. Après la fin de la période d'application progressive, à compter de l'année 6 et pour les années suivantes, au moins 10 p. cent de la quantité sous contingent tarifaire sera disponible pour les nouveaux entrants.

5. La quantité sous contingent tarifaire sera attribuée chaque année civile. Les demandes de toutes les parties intéressées seront reçues et traitées conformément aux dispositions du Mémorandum d'accord sur les dispositions relatives à l'administration des contingents tarifaires pour les produits agricoles, tels que définis à l'article 2 de l'Accord sur l'agriculture, Décision ministérielle WT/MIN(13)/39 du 7 décembre 2013. Une période de quatre à six semaines est prévue pour la présentation des demandes. Les importations pourront commencer le premier jour de l'année.

6. Si le contingent tarifaire n'est pas totalement attribué après le processus de présentation des demandes visé au paragraphe 3, les quantités disponibles seront immédiatement offertes aux demandeurs admissibles en proportion de leur quote-part, ou sur demande si une portion du contingent reste disponible après la première offre.

Critères d'admissibilité

7. Pour être admissible, le demandeur est au moins résident du Canada et mène régulièrement des activités dans le secteur canadien du fromage pendant l'année.

8. Durant la période d'application progressive de l'année 1 à l'année 5, un nouvel entrant est un demandeur admissible qui n'est pas titulaire d'une quote-part du contingent tarifaire de fromage du Canada dans le cadre de l'OMC.

9. Après la fin de la période d'application progressive, à compter de l'année 6 et pour les années suivantes, un nouvel entrant est un demandeur admissible qui n'est pas titulaire d'une quote-part du contingent tarifaire de fromage du Canada dans le cadre de l'OMC ou qui n'a pas obtenu de quote-part des contingents tarifaires dans le cadre du présent accord l'année précédente.

10. Un nouvel entrant est considéré comme tel pendant une période de trois ans.

11. Le demandeur qui n'est plus considéré comme un nouvel entrant est traité sur un pied d'égalité avec tous les autres demandeurs.

12. Le Canada peut envisager de plafonner la taille des quotes-parts à un certain pourcentage s'il l'estime nécessaire pour favoriser un contexte d'importation concurrentiel, juste et équilibré.

Utilisation des quotes-parts de contingent d'importation et des permis d'importation

13. Une quote-part de contingent tarifaire est valide pendant une année contingentaire ou, si elle est attribuée après le début de l'année contingentaire, pendant le reste de l'année contingentaire.

14. Pour assurer l'adéquation des importations avec les conditions du marché intérieur et pour minimiser les obstacles au commerce, le titulaire d'une quote-part contingentaire aura normalement la liberté d'utiliser sa quote-part pour importer tout produit couvert par le contingent tarifaire à n'importe quel moment de l'année.

15. Sur la base de sa quote-part, l'importateur présentera une demande de permis d'importation pour chaque expédition de produit couverte par le contingent tarifaire qu'il souhaite importer au Canada. Les permis d'importation sont normalement délivrés automatiquement sur demande par le système électronique de délivrance de permis du gouvernement du Canada. Selon les politiques actuelles, les permis d'importation peuvent être demandés jusqu'à 30 jours avant la date d'entrée prévue et sont valides pour une période de cinq jours avant et de 25 jours après la date d'entrée.

16. Les permis ne sont pas transférables.

17. Un permis d'importation peut être modifié ou annulé.

18. Le transfert de quotes-parts peut être autorisé.

19. Le titulaire d'une quote-part utilisant moins de 95 p. cent de sa quote-part dans une année peut être assujetti à une pénalité de sous-utilisation l'année suivante, au cours de laquelle il recevra une quote-part correspondant au niveau d'utilisation réel de sa quote-part antérieure. Un titulaire de quote-part touché par une pénalité de sous-utilisation sera avisé avant la répartition finale du contingent tarifaire.

20. Le titulaire d'une quote-part peut restituer une quantité non utilisée de sa quote-part jusqu'à une date donnée. Les quantités restituées seront considérées comme utilisées aux fins de l'application de la pénalité de sous-utilisation. Les restitutions qui se répètent régulièrement peuvent faire l'objet de pénalités.

21. Les quantités restituées seront normalement mises à la disposition des titulaires de permis intéressés qui n'ont pas restitué de quantité non utilisée de leur quote-part le jour suivant la date limite de restitution. Les quantités qui restent disponibles par la suite peuvent être offertes à d'autres tierces parties intéressées.

22. La date limite de restitution sera une date suffisamment précoce pour permettre l'utilisation des quantités restituées, et assez éloignée pour permettre aux titulaires de quotes-parts d'établir leurs besoins en matière d'importation jusqu'à la fin de l'année, cette date pouvant se situer vers le milieu de l'année contingentaire.

Date de modification: