Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Chapter two: National treatment and market access for goods

Article 2.1 – Objective

The Parties shall progressively liberalise trade in goods in accordance with the provisions of this Agreement over a transitional period starting from the entry into force of this Agreement.

Article 2.2 – Scope

This Chapter applies to trade in goods of a Party, as defined in Chapter 1 (General Definitions and Initial Provisions), except as otherwise provided in this Agreement.

Article 2.3 – National treatment

1. Each Party shall accord national treatment to the goods of the other Party in accordance with Article III of the GATT 1994. To this end Article III of the GATT 1994 is incorporated into and made part of this Agreement.

2. Paragraph 1 means, with respect to a government in Canada other than at the federal level, or a government of or in a Member State of the European Union, treatment no less favourable than that accorded by that government to like, directly competitive or substitutable goods of Canada or the Member State, respectively.

3. This Article does not apply to a measure, including a measure's continuation, prompt renewal or amendment, in respect of Canadian excise duties on absolute alcohol, as listed under tariff item 2207.10.90 in Canada's Schedule of Concessions (Schedule V) annexed to the Marrakesh Protocol to the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade 1994, done on 15 April 1994 (the "Marrakesh Protocol"), used in manufacturing under provisions of the Excise Act, 2001, S.C. 2002, c. 22.

Article 2.4 – Reduction and elimination of customs duties on imports

1. Each Party shall reduce or eliminate customs duties on goods originating in either Party in accordance with the tariff elimination schedules in Annex 2-A. For the purposes of this Chapter, "originating" means originating in either Party under the rules of origin set out in the Protocol on rules of origin and origin procedures.

2. For each good, the base rate of customs duties to which the successive reductions under paragraph 1 are to be applied shall be that specified in Annex 2-A.

3. For goods that are subject to tariff preferences as listed in a Party's tariff elimination schedule in Annex 2-A, each Party shall apply to originating goods of the other Party the lesser of the customs duties resulting from a comparison between the rate calculated in accordance with that Party's Schedule and its applied Most-Favoured-Nation ("MFN") rate.

4. On the request of a Party, the Parties may consult to consider accelerating and broadening the scope of the elimination of customs duties on imports between the Parties. A decision of the CETA Joint Committee on the acceleration or elimination of a customs duty on a good shall supersede any duty rate or staging category determined pursuant to the Parties' Schedules in Annex 2-A for that good when approved by each Party in accordance with its applicable legal procedures.

Article 2.5 – Restriction on duty drawback, duty deferral and duty suspension programs

1. Subject to paragraphs 2 and 3, a Party shall not refund, defer or suspend a customs duty paid or payable on a non-originating good imported into its territory on the express condition that the good, or an identical, equivalent or similar substitute, is used as a material in the production of another good that is subsequently exported to the territory of the other Party under preferential tariff treatment pursuant to this Agreement.

2. Paragraph 1 does not apply to a Party's regime of tariff reduction, suspension or remission, either permanent or temporary, if the reduction, suspension or remission is not expressly conditioned on the exportation of a good.

3. Paragraph 1 does not apply until three years after the date of entry into force of this Agreement.

Article 2.6 – Duties, taxes or other fees and charges on exports

A Party may not adopt or maintain any duties, taxes or other fees and charges imposed on, or in connection with, the export of a good to the other Party, or any internal taxes or fees and charges on a good exported to the other Party, that is in excess of those that would be imposed on those goods when destined for internal sale.

Article 2.7 – Standstill

1. Upon the entry into force of this Agreement a Party may not increase a customs duty existing at entry into force, or adopt a new customs duty, on a good originating in the Parties.

2. Notwithstanding paragraph 1, a Party may:

  1. modify a tariff outside this Agreement on a good for which no tariff preference is claimed under this Agreement;
  2. increase a customs duty to the level established in its Schedule in Annex 2-A following a unilateral reduction; or
  3. maintain or increase a customs duty as authorised by this Agreement or any agreement under the WTO Agreement.

3. Notwithstanding paragraphs 1 and 2, only Canada may apply a special safeguard pursuant to Article 5 of the WTO Agreement on Agriculture. A special safeguard may only be applied with respect to goods classified in items with the notation "SSG" in Canada's Schedule included in Annex 2-A. The use of this special safeguard is limited to imports not subject to tariff preference and, in the case of imports subject to a tariff rate quota, to imports over the access commitment.

Article 2.8 – Temporary suspension of preferential tariff treatment

1. A Party may temporarily suspend, in accordance with paragraphs 2 through 5, the preferential tariff treatment under this Agreement with respect to a good exported or produced by a person of the other Party if the Party:

  1. as a result of an investigation based on objective, compelling and verifiable information, makes a finding that the person of the other Party has committed systematic breaches of customs legislation in order to obtain preferential tariff treatment under this Agreement; or
  2. makes a finding that the other Party systematically and unjustifiably refuses to cooperate with respect to the investigation of breaches of customs legislation under Article 6.13.4 (Cooperation), and the Party requesting cooperation, based on objective, compelling and verifiable information, has reasonable grounds to conclude that the person of the other Party has committed systematic breaches of customs legislation in order to obtain preferential tariff treatment under this Agreement.

2. A Party that has made a finding referred to in paragraph 1 shall:

  1. notify the customs authority of the other Party and provide the information and evidence upon which the finding was based;
  2. engage in consultations with the authorities of the other Party with a view to achieving a mutually acceptable resolution that addresses the concerns that resulted in the finding; and
  3. provide written notice to that person of the other Party that includes the information that is the basis of the finding.

3. If the authorities have not achieved a mutually acceptable resolution after 30 days, the Party that has made the finding shall refer the issue to the Joint Customs Cooperation Committee.

4. If the Joint Customs Cooperation Committee has not resolved the issue after 60 days, the Party that has made the finding may temporarily suspend the preferential tariff treatment under this Agreement with respect to that good of that person of the other Party. The temporary suspension does not apply to a good that is already in transit between the Parties on the day that the temporary suspension comes into effect.

5. The Party applying the temporary suspension under paragraph 1 shall only apply it for a period commensurate with the impact on the financial interests of that Party resulting from the situation responsible for the finding made pursuant to paragraph 1, to a maximum of 90 days. If the Party has reasonable grounds based on objective, compelling and verifiable information that the conditions that gave rise to the initial suspension have not changed after the expiry of the 90 day period, that Party may renew the suspension for a further period of no longer than 90 days. The original suspension and any renewed suspensions are subject to periodic consultations within the Joint Customs Cooperation Committee.

Article 2.9 – Fees and other charges

1. In accordance with Article VIII of GATT 1994, a Party shall not adopt or maintain a fee or charge on or in connection with importation or exportation of a good of a Party that is not commensurate with the cost of services rendered or that represents an indirect protection to domestic goods or a taxation of imports or exports for fiscal purposes.

2. For greater certainty, paragraph 1 does not prevent a Party from imposing a customs duty or a charge set out in paragraphs (a) through (c) of the definition of customs duty under Article 1.1 (Definitions of general application).

Article 2.10 – Goods re-entered after repair or alteration

1. For the purposes of this Article, repair or alteration means any processing operation undertaken on goods to remedy operating defects or material damage and entailing the re-establishment of goods to their original function or to ensure their compliance with technical requirements for their use, without which the goods could no longer be used in the normal way for the purposes for which they were intended. Repair or alteration of goods includes restoration and maintenance but does not include an operation or process that:

  1. destroys the essential characteristics of a good or creates a new or commercially different good;
  2. transforms an unfinished good into a finished good; or
  3. is used to substantially change the function of a good.

2. Except as provided in footnote 1, a Party shall not apply a customs duty to a good, regardless of its origin, that re-enters its territory after that good has been temporarily exported from its territory to the territory of the other Party for repair or alteration, regardless of whether such repair or alteration could be performed in the territory of the Party from which the good was exported for repair or alteration.Footnote 1, Footnote 2

3. Paragraph 2 does not apply to a good imported in bond, into free trade zones, or in similar status, that is then exported for repair and is not re-imported in bond, into free trade zones, or in similar status.

4. A Party shall not apply a customs duty to a good, regardless of its origin, imported temporarily from the territory of the other Party for repair or alteration.Footnote 3

Article 2.11 – Import and export restrictions

1. Except as otherwise provided in this Agreement, a Party shall not adopt or maintain any prohibition or restriction on the importation of any good of the other Party or on the exportation or sale for export of any good destined for the territory of the other Party, except in accordance with Article XI of the GATT 1994. To this end Article XI of the GATT 1994 is incorporated into and made a part of this Agreement.

2. If a Party adopts or maintains a prohibition or restriction on the importation from or exportation to a third country of a good, that Party may:

  1. limit or prohibit the importation from the territory of the other Party of a good of that third country; or
  2. limit or prohibit the exportation of a good to that third country through the territory of the other Party.

3. If a Party adopts or maintains a prohibition or restriction on the importation of a good from a third country, the Parties, at the request of the other Party, shall enter into discussions with a view to avoiding undue interference with or distortion of pricing, marketing or distribution arrangements in the other Party.

4. This Article does not apply to a measure, including that measure's continuation, prompt renewal or amendment, in respect of the following:

  1. the export of logs of all species. If a Party ceases to require export permits for logs destined for a third country, that Party will permanently cease requiring export permits for logs destined for the other Party;
  2. for a period of three years following the entry into force of this Agreement, the export of unprocessed fish pursuant to Newfoundland and Labrador's applicable legislation;
  3. Canadian excise duties on absolute alcohol, as listed under tariff item 2207.10.90 in Canada's Schedule of Concessions annexed to the Marrakesh Protocol (Schedule V), used in manufacturing under the provisions of the Excise Act, 2001, S.C. 2002, c. 22; and
  4. the importation of used vehicles into Canada that do not conform to Canada's safety and environmental requirements.

Article 2.12 – Other provisions related to trade in goods

Each Party shall endeavour to ensure that a good of the other Party that has been imported into and lawfully sold or offered for sale in any place in the territory of the importing Party may also be sold or offered for sale throughout the territory of the importing Party.

Article 2.13 – Committee on trade in goods

1. The functions of the Committee on Trade in Goods established under Article 26.2.1 (a) (Specialised committees) include:

  1. promoting trade in goods between the Parties, including through consultations on accelerating tariff elimination under this Agreement and other issues as appropriate;
  2. recommending to the CETA Joint Committee a modification of or an addition to any provision of this Agreement related to the Harmonized System; and
  3. promptly addressing issues related to movement of goods through the Parties' ports of entry.

2. The Committee on Trade in Goods may present to the CETA Joint Committee draft decisions on the acceleration or elimination of a customs duty on a good.

3. The Committee on Agriculture established under Article 26.2.1 (a) (Specialised committees) shall:

  1. meet within 90 days of a request by a Party;
  2. provide a forum for the Parties to discuss issues related to agricultural goods covered by this Agreement; and
  3. refer to the Committee on Trade in Goods any unresolved issue under subparagraph (b).

4. The Parties note the cooperation and exchange of information on agriculture issues under the annual Canada-European Union Agriculture Dialogue, as established in letters exchanged on 14 July 2008. As appropriate, the Agriculture Dialogue may be used for the purpose of paragraph 3.

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Chapitre deux : Traitement national et accès aux marchés pour les marchandises

Article 2.1 – Objectif

Les Parties libéralisent de manière progressive le commerce des marchandises conformément aux dispositions du présent accord pendant une période de transition débutant à la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord.

Article 2.2 – Portée

Le présent chapitre s'applique au commerce des marchandises d'une Partie, au sens du chapitre Premier (Définitions générales et dispositions initiales), sauf disposition contraire du présent accord.

Article 2.3 – Traitement national

1. Chaque Partie accorde le traitement national aux marchandises de l'autre Partie conformément à l'Article III du GATT de 1994. À cette fin, l'Article III du GATT de 1994 est incorporé au présent accord et en fait partie intégrante.

2. Le paragraphe 1 désigne, en ce qui concerne un gouvernement au Canada autre que le gouvernement fédéral, ou un gouvernement d'un État membre de l'Union européenne ou un gouvernement dans un État membre de l'Union européenne, un traitement non moins favorable que celui qu'accorde ce gouvernement aux marchandises analogues, directement concurrentes ou substituables du Canada ou de l'État membre, respectivement.

3. Le présent Article ne s'applique pas à une mesure, y compris son maintien, son prompt renouvellement ou sa modification, relative aux droits d'accise que le Canada perçoit sur l'alcool absolu, inscrit sous le numéro tarifaire 2207.10.90 dans la liste des concessions du Canada (liste V) jointe au Protocole de Marrakech annexé à l'Accord général sur les tarifs douaniers et le commerce de 1994, fait le 15 avril 1994 (le "Protocole de Marrakech"), utilisé dans la fabrication, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi de 2001 sur l'accise, L.C. 2002, ch. 22.

Article 2.4 – Réduction et élimination des droits de douane sur les importations

1. Chaque Partie réduit ou élimine les droits de douane sur les marchandises originaires de l'autre Partie conformément aux listes de démantèlement tarifaire figurant à l'annexe 2-A. Pour l'application du présent chapitre, "originaire" signifie originaire de l'une des Parties selon les règles d'origine énoncées dans le Protocole sur les règles d'origine et les procédures d'origine.

2. Pour chaque marchandise, le taux de base des droits de douane auquel les réductions successives s'appliqueront au titre du paragraphe 1 est celui qui figure à l'annexe 2-A.

3. Pour les marchandises bénéficiant de tarifs préférentiels selon la liste de démantèlement tarifaire d'une Partie figurant à l'annexe 2-A, chaque Partie applique aux marchandises originaires de l'autre Partie le droit de douane le moins élevé entre le taux calculé conformément à la liste de cette Partie et le taux de la nation la plus favorisée (NPF) qu'elle applique.

4. À la demande d'une Partie, les Parties peuvent se consulter en vue d'accélérer et d'élargir l'élimination des droits de douane applicables aux importations entre les Parties. Une décision rendue par le Comité mixte de l'AECG sur l'accélération de l'élimination ou sur l'élimination d'un droit de douane applicable à une marchandise remplace le taux du droit ou la catégorie d'échelonnement déterminés par les listes des Parties figurant à l'annexe 2-A pour cette marchandise, une fois approuvée par chaque Partie conformément à ses procédures juridiques applicables.

Article 2.5 – Restriction visant les programmes de ristourne, de report et de suspension des droits de douane

1. Sous réserve des paragraphes 2 et 3, une Partie ne rembourse, ne reporte ni ne suspend un droit de douane payé ou à payer sur une marchandise non originaire importée sur son territoire à la condition expresse que la marchandise, ou un substitut identique, équivalent ou similaire, soit utilisée comme matière dans la production d'une autre marchandise qui est par la suite exportée vers le territoire de l'autre Partie en bénéficiant d'un traitement tarifaire préférentiel conformément au présent accord.

2. Le paragraphe 1 ne s'applique pas au régime d'une Partie relatif à la réduction, la suspension ou la remise des droits, qu'il soit permanent ou temporaire, si la réduction, suspension ou remise n'est pas expressément conditionnée par l'exportation d'une marchandise.

3. Le paragraphe 1 ne s'applique que trois ans après la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord.

Article 2.6 – Droits, taxes ou autres redevances et impositions sur les exportations

Une Partie ne peut adopter ou maintenir des droits, taxes ou autres redevances et impositions à l'exportation, ou en relation avec l'exportation, d'une marchandise vers l'autre Partie, ou des taxes ou redevances intérieures et autres impositions intérieures sur une marchandise exportée vers l'autre Partie excédant celles qui seraient perçues sur ces marchandises si elles étaient destinées à la vente sur le marché intérieur.

Article 2.7 – Moratoire

1. Dès l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord, une Partie ne peut augmenter un droit de douane existant au moment de l'entrée en vigueur ni adopter un nouveau droit de douane visant une marchandise originaire des Parties.

2. Nonobstant les dispositions du paragraphe 1, une Partie peut :

  1. modifier un droit de douane à l'extérieur du cadre du présent accord sur une marchandise pour laquelle aucune préférence tarifaire n'est réclamée au titre du présent accord;
  2. augmenter un droit de douane jusqu'au niveau prévu dans sa liste figurant à l'annexe 2-A après une réduction unilatérale; ou
  3. maintenir ou augmenter un droit de douane conformément au présent accord ou à tout accord conclu dans le cadre de l'Accord sur l'OMC.

3. Nonobstant les paragraphes 1 et 2, seul le Canada peut appliquer une sauvegarde spéciale au titre de l'Article 5 de l'Accord sur l'agriculture de l'OMC. Une sauvegarde spéciale ne peut être appliquée qu'à l'égard des marchandises classées sous des numéros tarifaires portant la mention "SGS" dans la liste du Canada figurant à l'annexe 2-A. Le recours à une sauvegarde spéciale est limité aux importations qui ne bénéficient pas d'une préférence tarifaire et, dans le cas des importations faisant l'objet d'un contingent tarifaire, à celles qui excèdent les limites de l'engagement d'accès.

Article 2.8 – Suspension temporaire du traitement tarifaire préférentiel

1. Une Partie peut suspendre temporairement, conformément aux paragraphes 2 à 5, le traitement tarifaire préférentiel accordé au titre du présent accord à l'égard d'une marchandise exportée ou produite par une personne de l'autre Partie, si la Partie, selon le cas :

  1. à la suite d'une enquête fondée sur des renseignements objectifs, convaincants et vérifiables, fait la constatation que la personne de l'autre Partie a commis des violations systématiques de la législation douanière en vue d'obtenir un traitement tarifaire préférentiel au titre du présent accord;
  2. fait la constatation que l'autre Partie refuse systématiquement et sans motif de coopérer à l'enquête sur des violations de la législation douanière en application de l'Article 6.13.4 (Coopération) et que la Partie qui demande la coopération a des motifs raisonnables de conclure, en se fondant sur des renseignements objectifs, convaincants et vérifiables, que la personne de l'autre Partie a commis des violations systématiques de la législation douanière en vue d'obtenir un traitement tarifaire préférentiel au titre du présent accord.

2. Une Partie qui a établi une constatation visée au paragraphe 1 :

  1. notifie cette constatation à l'autorité douanière de l'autre Partie et lui fournit les renseignements et les éléments de preuve sur lesquels est fondée sa constatation;
  2. engage des consultations avec les autorités de l'autre Partie dans le but de parvenir à un règlement mutuellement acceptable qui répond aux préoccupations ayant donné lieu à la constatation;
  3. notifie à cette personne de l'autre Partie un avis écrit incluant les renseignements qui ont servi de fondement à sa constatation.

3. Si les autorités ne sont pas parvenues à un règlement mutuellement acceptable dans les 30 jours, la Partie qui a établi la constatation soumet la question au Comité mixte de coopération douanière.

4. Si le Comité mixte de coopération douanière n'a pas réglé la question dans les 60 jours, la Partie qui a établi la constatation peut suspendre temporairement le traitement tarifaire préférentiel accordé au titre du présent accord à l'égard de la marchandise de cette personne de l'autre Partie. La suspension temporaire ne s'applique pas à une marchandise qui est déjà en transit entre les Parties le jour où la suspension temporaire prend effet.

5. La Partie qui applique la suspension temporaire au titre du paragraphe 1 l'applique seulement pour une période proportionnelle à l'incidence que la situation ayant donné lieu à la constatation visée au paragraphe 1 a sur les intérêts financiers de cette Partie, cette période ne pouvant dépasser 90 jours. Si la Partie a des motifs raisonnables, fondés sur des renseignements objectifs, convaincants et vérifiables, de conclure que les conditions ayant donné lieu à la suspension initiale n'ont pas changé après l'expiration de la période de 90 jours, elle peut reconduire la suspension pour une période supplémentaire de 90 jours au plus. La suspension initiale et toute suspension reconduite font l'objet de consultations périodiques au sein du Comité mixte de coopération douanière.

Article 2.9 – Redevances et autres impositions

1. Conformément à l'Article VIII du GATT de 1994, une Partie n'adopte ni ne maintient, à l'importation ou à l'exportation, ou en relation avec l'importation ou l'exportation, d'une marchandise d'une Partie, des redevances ou impositions qui ne sont pas proportionnelles au coût des services rendus ou qui constituent une protection indirecte des marchandises nationales ou des taxes de caractère fiscal à l'importation ou à l'exportation.

2. Il est entendu que le paragraphe 1 n'empêche pas une Partie de percevoir un droit de douane ou une imposition énoncés aux paragraphes a) à c) de la définition de l'expression "droit de douane" figurant à l'Article 1.1 (Définitions d'application générale).

Article 2.10 – Marchandises réadmises après réparation ou modification

1. Pour l'application du présent Article, la réparation ou la modification désigne toute transformation de marchandises visant à corriger des défauts de fonctionnement ou des dommages matériels et qui suppose la remise en état des marchandises dans leur fonction initiale ou visant à en assurer la conformité avec les prescriptions techniques applicables en vue de leur utilisation, sans quoi les marchandises ne pourraient plus servir dans des conditions normales pour les fins auxquelles elles étaient destinées. La réparation ou la modification de marchandises comprend la remise en état et l'entretien, mais exclut une opération ou un procédé qui, selon le cas :

  1. détruit les caractéristiques essentielles d'une marchandise ou crée une marchandise nouvelle ou commercialement différente;
  2. transforme une marchandise non finie en une marchandise finie;
  3. sert à modifier substantiellement la fonction d'une marchandise.

2. Sauf disposition contraire dans la note de bas de page 1, une Partie ne perçoit pas de droit de douane sur une marchandise, quelle qu'en soit l'origine, qui est réadmise sur son territoire après en avoir été exportée temporairement vers le territoire de l'autre Partie pour y être réparée ou modifiée, sans égard à la question de savoir si cette réparation ou modification aurait pu être effectuée sur le territoire de la Partie d'où la marchandise a été exportée pour réparation ou modification Note de bas de page 1 Note de bas de page 2 .

3. Le paragraphe 2 ne s'applique pas à une marchandise importée et admise sous caution dans des zones franches ou à statut similaire, qui est ensuite exportée pour réparation et qui n'est pas réimportée et admise sous caution dans des zones franches ou à statut similaire.

4. Une Partie ne perçoit pas de droit de douane sur une marchandise, quelle qu'en soit l'origine, qui est importée temporairement du territoire de l'autre Partie pour réparation ou modification Note de bas de page 3 .

Article 2.11 – Restrictions à l'importation et à l'exportation

1. Sauf disposition contraire du présent accord, une Partie n'adopte ni ne maintient aucune interdiction ou restriction à l'importation d'une marchandise de l'autre Partie, ou à l'exportation ou à la vente pour l'exportation d'une marchandise destinée au territoire de l'autre Partie, sauf en conformité avec l'Article XI du GATT de 1994. À cette fin, l'Article XI du GATT de 1994 est incorporé au présent accord et en fait partie intégrante.

2. La Partie qui adopte ou maintient une interdiction ou une restriction à l'importation ou à l'exportation d'une marchandise en provenance ou à destination d'un pays tiers peut :

  1. limiter ou interdire l'importation, depuis le territoire de l'autre Partie, d'une marchandise de ce pays tiers;
  2. limiter ou interdire l'exportation d'une marchandise à destination de ce pays tiers par le territoire de l'autre Partie.

3. Dans les cas où une Partie adopte ou maintient une interdiction ou une restriction à l'importation d'une marchandise d'un pays tiers, les Parties engagent, à la demande de l'autre Partie, des discussions dans le but d'éviter toute ingérence ou toute distorsion indue touchant les arrangements relatifs à l'établissement des prix, à la commercialisation ou à la distribution dans l'autre Partie.

4. Le présent Article ne s'applique pas à une mesure, y compris son maintien, son prompt renouvellement ou sa modification, en ce qui concerne :

  1. l'exportation de billes de bois de toutes essences. La Partie qui cesse d'exiger des permis d'exportation pour les billes de bois à destination d'un pays tiers cessera définitivement d'exiger des permis d'exportation pour des billes à destination de l'autre Partie;
  2. l'exportation de poisson non transformé, au titre de la législation pertinente de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, pendant la période de trois ans suivant l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord;
  3. les droits d'accise du Canada sur l'alcool absolu, inscrit au numéro tarifaire 2207.10.90 de la liste des concessions du Canada annexée au Protocole de Marrakech (liste V), utilisé dans la fabrication, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi de 2001 sur l'accise, L.C. 2002, ch. 22;
  4. l'importation au Canada de véhicules d'occasion qui ne sont pas conformes aux normes canadiennes en matière de sécurité et d'environnement.

Article 2.12 – Autres dispositions relatives au commerce des marchandises

Chaque Partie s'efforce de faire en sorte qu'une marchandise de l'autre Partie qui a été importée et légalement vendue ou mise en vente en tout lieu sur le territoire de la Partie importatrice puisse également être vendue ou mise en vente sur tout le territoire de la Partie importatrice.

Article 2.13 – Comité du commerce des marchandises

1. Les fonctions du Comité du commerce des marchandises établi au titre de l'Article 26.2.1a) (Comités spécialisés) comprennent :

  1. la promotion du commerce des marchandises entre les Parties, y compris en tenant des consultations sur l'accélération du démantèlement tarifaire au titre du présent accord et sur d'autres questions au besoin;
  2. la recommandation au Comité mixte de l'AECG d'une modification ou d'un complément à apporter à toute disposition du présent accord concernant le Système harmonisé;
  3. le traitement dans les moindres délais des questions concernant le mouvement des marchandises par les ports d'entrée des Parties.

2. Le Comité du commerce des marchandises peut présenter au Comité mixte de l'AECG des projets de décision sur l'accélération de l'élimination ou l'élimination d'un droit de douane sur une marchandise.

3. Le Comité de l'agriculture établi au titre de l'Article 26.2.1a) (Comités spécialisés) :

  1. se réunit dans les 90 jours suivant la demande d'une Partie;
  2. sert de cadre aux discussions des Parties sur des questions concernant les marchandises agricoles couvertes par le présent accord;
  3. saisit le Comité du commerce des marchandises de toute question non résolue qui est visée à l'alinéa b).

4. Les Parties prennent acte de la coopération et de l'échange d'information sur des questions concernant l'agriculture dans le cadre du Dialogue annuel sur l'agriculture entre le Canada et l'Union européenne, établi par échange de lettres le 14 juillet 2008. Au besoin, le Dialogue sur l'agriculture peut servir aux fins prévues au paragraphe 3.

Date de modification: