Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Annex 4

Annex 4-A – Cooperation in the field of motor vehicle regulations

Article 1 – Objectives and purpose

1. The Parties note the cooperation between Canada and the European Commission in the area of science and technology.

2. The Parties affirm their joint commitment to improve vehicle safety and environmental performance, and to the harmonisation efforts pursued under the framework of the 1998 Global Agreement administered by the World Forum for the Harmonization of Vehicle Regulations (WP.29) (the "1998 Global Agreement") of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe ("UNECE").

3. The Parties note their commitment to enhance their efforts in the area of regulatory cooperation under this Chapter and Chapter Twenty-One (Regulatory Cooperation).

4. The Parties recognise the right of each Party to determine its desired level of health, safety, and environmental and consumer protection.

5. The Parties desire to enhance cooperation and to increase the efficient use of resources in matters that relate to motor vehicle technical regulations, in a manner that does not compromise each Party's ability to fulfill its responsibilities.

6. The purpose of this Annex is to strengthen cooperation and communication, including the exchange of information, on motor vehicle safety and environmental performance research activities related to the development of new technical regulations or related standards, to promote the application and recognition of the Global Technical Regulations under the framework of the 1998 Global Agreement and possible future harmonisation, between the Parties, concerning improvements and other developments in the areas of motor vehicle technical regulations or related standards.

Article 2 – Areas of cooperation

The Parties shall endeavour to share information and cooperate on activities in the following areas:

  1. the development and establishment of technical regulations or related standards;
  2. the post-implementation reviews of technical regulations or related standards;
  3. the development and dissemination of information for consumer use related to motor vehicle regulations or related standards;
  4. the exchange of research, information and results linked to the development of new vehicle safety regulations or related standards, and advanced emission reduction and electric vehicle technologies; and
  5. the exchange of available information on the identification of safety-related or emission-related defects and non-compliance with technical regulations.

Article 3 – Forms of cooperation

The Parties shall endeavour to maintain an open and ongoing dialogue in the area of motor vehicle technical regulations or related standards. To this end, the Parties shall endeavour to:

  1. meet at least annually (including meetings held on the margins of WP.29 Sessions), by video-conference or, if directly, on an alternating basis in Canada and in the European Union;
  2. share information about domestic and international programmes and agendas, including planning of research programmes linked to the development of new technical regulations or related standards;
  3. contribute jointly to encourage and promote greater international harmonisation of technical requirements through multilateral fora, such as the 1998 Global Agreement, including through cooperation in the planning of initiatives in support of such activities;
  4. share and discuss research and development plans on motor vehicle safety and environmental technical regulations or related standards;
  5. conduct joint analyses, develop methodologies and approaches, as mutually beneficial, practical and convenient, to assist and facilitate the development of motor vehicle technical regulations or related standards; and
  6. develop additional provisions for cooperation.

Article 4 – Canada's incorporation of United Nations Regulations

1. The Parties acknowledge that Canada has incorporated, with the adaptations that it considered necessary, technical regulations contained in United Nations Regulations into its Motor Vehicle Safety Regulations, C.R.C., c. 1038, as listed in Annex 4-A-1.

2. Canada maintains its right to modify its law, including by amending or revising which United Nations Regulations are incorporated into its law, or the manner in which or the extent to which these Regulations are incorporated into its law. Before introducing such changes, Canada shall inform the European Union and, upon request, shall be prepared to provide information on the rationale for these changes. Canada shall continue to recognise the relevant United Nations Regulations, unless doing so would provide for a lower level of safety than the amendments introduced, or would compromise North American integration.

3. The Parties shall engage in technical consultations with a view to determining, no later than three years after the entry into force of this Agreement, whether the technical regulations contained in the United Nations Regulations listed in Annex 4-A-2 should also be incorporated into Canada's Motor Vehicle Safety Regulations, with any adaptations Canada considers necessary. These technical regulations should be incorporated, unless doing so would provide for a lower level of safety than the Canadian regulations or would compromise North American integration.

4. The Parties shall also engage in further technical consultations to determine whether other technical regulations should be included in Annex 4-A-2.

5. Canada shall establish and maintain a list of technical regulations contained in United Nations Regulations that are incorporated into Canada's Motor Vehicle Safety Regulations. Canada shall make that list publicly available.

6. In an effort to promote regulatory convergence, the Parties shall exchange information, to the extent practicable, on their respective technical regulations related to motor vehicle safety.

Article 5 – Positive consideration of the other Party's technical regulations

When a Party develops a new technical regulation for motor vehicles and their parts, or when it modifies an existing one, it shall consider the technical regulations of the other Party, including those established under the framework of the UNECE World Forum for the Harmonization of Vehicle Regulations (WP.29). A Party shall provide, at the request of the other Party, an explanation on the extent to which it considered the technical regulations of that other Party when it developed its new technical regulations.

Article 6 – Cooperation with the United States of America

The Parties recognise their mutual interest to cooperate with the United States of America in the field of motor vehicle technical regulations. If the European Union and the United States conclude an agreement or an arrangement on the harmonisation of their respective technical regulations related to motor vehicles, the Parties shall cooperate with a view to determining whether they should conclude a similar agreement or arrangement.

Annex 4-A-1 – List referred to in Article 4.1 of Annex 4-A

United Nations RegulationTitle of United Nations RegulationCanadian Regulation into which the United Nations Regulation is incorporated, in whole or in partTitle of Canadian Regulation into which the United Nations Regulation is incorporated, in whole or in part
No. 98Uniform provisions concerning the approval of motor vehicle headlamps equipped with gas-discharge light sourcesCMVSS 108Footnote *Lighting System and Retroreflective Devices
No. 112Uniform provisions concerning the approval of motor vehicle headlamps emitting an asymmetrical passing-beam or a driving-beam or both and equipped with filament lamps and/or LED modulesCMVSS 108Footnote *Lighting System and Retroreflective Devices
No. 113Uniform provisions concerning the approval of motor vehicle headlamps emitting a symmetrical passing-beam or a driving-beam or both and equipped with filament, gas-discharge light sources or LED modulesCMVSS 108Footnote *Lighting System and Retroreflective Devices
No. 51Uniform provisions concerning the approval of motor vehicles having at least four wheels with regard to their noise emissionsCMVSS 1106Footnote *Noise Emissions
No. 41Uniform provisions concerning the approval of motor cycles with regard to noiseCMVSS 1106Footnote *Noise Emissions
No. 11Uniform provisions concerning the approval of vehicles with regard to door latches and door retention componentsCMVSS 206Footnote *Door Locks and Door Retention Components
No. 116 (immobilizer only)Uniform provisions concerning the protection of motor vehicles against unauthorized use (Immobilizer only)CMVSS 114Footnote *Theft Protection and Rollaway Prevention
No. 42Uniform provisions concerning the approval of vehicles with regard to their front and rear protective devices (bumpers etc.)CMVSS 215Footnote *Bumpers
No. 78Uniform provisions concerning the approval of vehicles of categories L1, L2, L3, L4 and L5 with regard to brakingCMVSS 122Footnote *Motorcycle Brake Systems
No. 8Uniform provisions concerning the approval of motor vehicles headlamps emitting an asymmetrical passing beam or a driving beam or both an equipped with halogen filament lamps (H1, H2, H3, HB3, HB4, H7, H8, H9, HIR1, HIR2 and/or H11)CMVSS 108Footnote *Lighting System and Retroreflective Devices
No. 20Uniform provisions concerning the approval of motor vehicles headlamps emitting an asymmetrical passing beam or a driving beam or both and equipped with halogen filament lamps (H4 lamps)CMVSS 108Footnote *Lighting System and Retroreflective Devices
No. 31Uniform provisions concerning the approval of power-driven vehicle's halogen sealed-beam headlamps (HSB) emitting an European asymmetrical passing-beam or a driving-beam or bothCMVSS 108Footnote *Lighting System and Retroreflective Devices
No. 57Uniform provisions concerning the approval of headlamps for motor cycles and vehicles treated as suchCMVSS 108Footnote *Lighting System and Retroreflective Devices
No. 72Uniform provisions concerning the approval of motor cycle headlamps emitting an asymmetrical passing beam and a driving beam and equipped with halogen lamps (HS1 lamps)CMVSS 108Footnote *Lighting System and Retroreflective Devices
No. 13H (electronic stability control only)Uniform provisions concerning the approval of passenger cars with regard to braking (electronic stability control only)CMVSS 126Electronic Stability Control Systems
No. 60Uniform provisions concerning the approval of two-wheeled motor cycles and mopeds with regard to driver-operated controls including the identification of controls, tell-tales and indicatorsCMVSS 123Motorcycle Controls and Displays
No. 81Uniform provisions concerning the approval of rear-view mirrors of two-wheeled power-driven vehicles with or without side car, with regard to the mounting of rear-view mirrors on handlebarsCMVSS 111Mirrors

Annex 4-A-2 – List referred to in Article 4.3 of Annex 4-A

United Nations RegulationTitle of United Nations Regulation
No. 12Uniform provisions concerning the approval of vehicles with regard to the protection of the driver against the steering mechanism in the event of impact
No. 17Uniform provisions concerning the approval of vehicles with regard to the seats, their anchorages and any head restraints
No. 43Uniform provisions concerning the approval of safety glazing materials and their installation on vehicles
No. 48Uniform provisions concerning the approval of vehicles with regard to the installation of lighting and light-signalling devices
No. 87Uniform provisions concerning the approval of daytime running lamps for power-driven vehicles
No. 53Uniform provisions concerning the approval of category L3 vehicles with regard to the installation of lighting and light-signalling devices
No. 116Uniform technical prescriptions concerning the protection of motor vehicles against unauthorized use
No. 123Uniform provisions concerning the approval of adaptive front-lighting systems (AFS) for motor vehicles
Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Annexe 4

Annexe 4-A Coopération dans le domaine de la réglementation des véhicules automobiles

Article premier – But et objectifs

1. Les Parties prennent acte de la coopération entre le Canada et la Commission européenne dans le domaine de la science et de la technologie.

2. Les Parties confirment leur engagement conjoint à améliorer la sécurité et la performance environnementale des véhicules, et à appuyer les efforts d'harmonisation menés dans le cadre de l'Accord mondial de 1998 administré par le Forum mondial de l'harmonisation des Règlements concernant les véhicules (WP.29) (l'"Accord mondial de 1998") de la Commission économique pour l'Europe des Nations Unies ("CEE-ONU").

3. Les Parties prennent acte de leur engagement à intensifier leurs efforts dans le domaine de la coopération en matière de réglementation au titre du présent chapitre et du chapitre Vingt-et-un (Coopération en matière de réglementation).

4. Les Parties reconnaissent le droit de chaque Partie de déterminer le niveau souhaité de protection de la santé, de la sécurité, de l'environnement et des consommateurs.

5. Les Parties souhaitent renforcer la coopération et augmenter l'efficacité de l'utilisation des ressources dans les domaines liés aux règlements techniques relatifs aux véhicules automobiles, sans compromettre la capacité de chaque Partie de s'acquitter de ses responsabilités.

6. La présente annexe a pour but de renforcer la coopération et la communication, y compris l'échange de renseignements, en ce qui a trait aux activités de recherche sur la sécurité et la performance environnementale des véhicules automobiles liées à l'élaboration de nouveaux règlements techniques ou de normes connexes, et de promouvoir l'application et la reconnaissance des règlements techniques mondiaux visés par l'Accord mondial de 1998 et une éventuelle harmonisation future entre les Parties sur le plan des améliorations et autres avancées en matière de règlements techniques relatifs aux véhicules automobiles ou de normes connexes.

Article 2 – Domaines de coopération

Les Parties s'efforcent d'échanger des renseignements et de coopérer aux activités entreprises dans les domaines suivants :

  1. l'élaboration et l'établissement de règlements techniques ou de normes connexes;
  2. les examens postérieurs à la mise en œuvre des règlements techniques ou des normes connexes;
  3. l'élaboration et la diffusion de renseignements à l'usage des consommateurs concernant les règlements relatifs aux véhicules automobiles ou les normes connexes;
  4. l'échange de données de recherche, de renseignements et de résultats liés à l'élaboration de nouveaux règlements sur la sécurité des véhicules ou de normes connexes, et aux technologies de pointe en matière de réduction des émissions et de véhicules électriques;
  5. l'échange des renseignements disponibles concernant l'identification des défectuosités liées à la sécurité ou aux émissions et la non-observation des règlements techniques.

Article 3 – Formes de coopération

Les Parties s'efforcent de maintenir un dialogue ouvert et permanent au sujet des règlements techniques relatifs aux véhicules automobiles ou des normes connexes. À cette fin, les Parties s'efforcent:

  1. de se rencontrer au moins une fois par année (y compris dans le cadre des réunions tenues en marge des sessions du WP.29) au moyen de vidéoconférences ou, dans le cas de rencontres face-à-face, en alternance au Canada et dans l'Union européenne;
  2. d'échanger des renseignements concernant les programmes et les orientations nationaux et internationaux, y compris la planification de programmes de recherche liés à l'élaboration de nouveaux règlements techniques ou de normes connexes;
  3. d'unir leurs efforts pour encourager et promouvoir une harmonisation internationale accrue des exigences techniques dans les enceintes multilatérales, comme l'Accord mondial de 1998, y compris en collaborant à la planification d'initiatives visant à appuyer de telles activités;
  4. de mettre en commun et de débattre les plans de recherche et de développement concernant les règlements techniques en matière de sécurité et de performance environnementale des véhicules automobiles ou les normes connexes;
  5. de procéder à des analyses conjointes et d'élaborer des méthodes et des approches mutuellement bénéfiques, pratiques et opportunes pour aider et faciliter l'élaboration de règlements techniques relatifs aux véhicules automobiles ou de normes connexes;
  6. d'élaborer des dispositions supplémentaires en matière de coopération.

Article 4 – Incorporation des règlements des Nations Unies par le Canada

1. Les Parties reconnaissent que le Canada a incorporé, avec les adaptations qu'il a jugées nécessaires, les règlements techniques contenus dans les règlements des Nations Unies dans son Règlement sur la sécurité des véhicules automobiles, C.R.C., ch. 1038, tels qu'ils sont énumérés à l'annexe 4-A-1.

2. Le Canada est habilité à modifier son droit, y compris à modifier ou à réviser le choix des règlements des Nations Unies qui y sont incorporés ainsi que la manière dont ces règlements sont incorporés dans son droit et la portée de cette incorporation. Avant de procéder à de telles modifications, le Canada informe l'Union européenne de son intention et se prépare, sur demande, à fournir les raisons les motivant. Le Canada continue de reconnaître les règlements pertinents des Nations Unies, à moins que cela occasionne un niveau de sécurité inférieur à celui des modifications apportées ou compromette l'intégration à l'échelle nord-américaine.

3. Les Parties engagent des consultations techniques en vue de déterminer, au plus tard trois ans après l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord, si les règlements techniques contenus dans les règlements des Nations Unies énumérés à l'annexe 4-A-2 devraient également être incorporés dans le Règlement sur la sécurité des véhicules automobiles du Canada, avec les adaptations que le Canada juge nécessaires. Ces règlements techniques devraient être incorporés à moins que cela occasionne un niveau de sécurité inférieur à celui de la réglementation canadienne ou compromette l'intégration à l'échelle nord-américaine.

4. Les Parties engagent aussi des consultations techniques additionnelles pour déterminer si d'autres règlements techniques devraient être ajoutés à l'annexe 4-A-2.

5. Le Canada dresse et tient à jour une liste des règlements techniques contenus dans les règlements des Nations Unies qui sont incorporés dans son Règlement sur la sécurité des véhicules automobiles. Le Canada met cette liste à la disposition du public.

6. Dans le but de promouvoir la convergence réglementaire, les Parties échangent, dans la mesure du possible, des renseignements sur leurs règlements techniques respectifs liés à la sécurité des véhicules automobiles.

Article 5 – Prise en compte des règlements techniques de l'autre Partie

La Partie qui élabore un nouveau règlement technique relatif aux véhicules et aux pièces automobiles, ou qui modifie un règlement existant, prend en compte les règlements techniques de l'autre Partie, y compris ceux qui ont été établis dans le cadre du Forum mondial sur l'harmonisation des Règlements concernant les véhicules (WP.29) de la CEE-ONU. Elle fournit à l'autre Partie, à la demande de celle-ci, des explications sur la mesure dans laquelle elle a pris en compte les règlements techniques de cette dernière dans l'élaboration de son nouveau règlement technique.

Article 6 – Coopération avec les États-Unis d'Amérique

Les Parties reconnaissent leur intérêt mutuel à coopérer avec les États-Unis d'Amérique dans le domaine des règlements techniques relatifs aux véhicules automobiles. Si l'Union européenne et les États-Unis concluent un accord ou un arrangement concernant l'harmonisation de leurs règlements techniques respectifs relatifs aux véhicules automobiles, les Parties coopèrent en vue de déterminer si elles devraient conclure un accord ou un arrangement similaire.

Annexe 4-A-1 – Liste visée à l'article 4.1 de l'annexe 4-A

Règlement des Nations UniesTitre du règlement des Nations UniesRèglement canadien dans lequel le règlement des Nations Unies est incorporé, en tout ou en partieTitre du règlement canadien dans lequel le règlement des Nations Unies est incorporé, en tout ou en partie
No 98Prescriptions uniformes concernant l'homologation des projecteurs de véhicules à moteur munis de sources lumineuses à déchargeNSVAC 108Note de bas de page *Système d'éclairage et dispositifs rétroréfléchissants
No 112Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des projecteurs pour véhicules automobiles émettant un faisceau de croisement asymétrique ou un faisceau de route ou les deux et équipés de lampes à incandescence et/ou de modules DELNSVAC 108Note de bas de page *Système d'éclairage et dispositifs rétroréfléchissants
No 113Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des projecteurs pour véhicules automobiles émettant un faisceau de croisement symétrique ou un faisceau de route ou les deux à la fois et équipés de lampes à incandescence, de sources lumineuses à décharge ou de modules DELNSVAC 108Note de bas de page *Système d'éclairage et dispositifs rétroréfléchissants
No 51Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des automobiles ayant au moins quatre roues en ce qui concerne le bruitNSVAC 1106Note de bas de page *Émission de bruit
No 41Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des motocycles en ce qui concerne le bruitNSVAC 1106Note de bas de page *Émission de bruit
No 11Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des véhicules en ce qui concerne les serrures et organes de fixation des portesNSVAC 206Note de bas de page *Serrures de porte et composants de retenue de porte
No 116 (dispositif d'immobilisation seulement)Prescriptions uniformes relatives à la protection des véhicules automobiles contre une utilisation non autorisée (dispositif d'immobilisation seulement)NSVAC 114Note de bas de page *Protection contre le vol et immobilisation
No 42Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des véhicules en ce qui concerne leurs dispositifs de protection (pare-chocs, etc.) à l'avant et à l'arrièreNSVAC 215Note de bas de page *Pare-chocs
No 78Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des véhicules des catégories L1, L2, L3, L4 et L5 en ce qui concerne le freinageNSVAC 122Note de bas de page *Système de freinage des motocyclettes
No 8Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des projecteurs pour véhicules automobiles émettant un faisceau-croisement asymétrique et/ou un faisceau-route et équipés de lampes à incandescence halogènes (H1, H2, H3, HB3, HB4, H7, H8, H9, HIR1, HIR2 et/ou H11)NSVAC 108Note de bas de page *Système d'éclairage et dispositifs rétroréfléchissants
No 20Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des projecteurs pour véhicules automobiles émettant un faisceau-croisement asymétrique et/ou un faisceau-route et équipés de lampes halogènes à incandescence (lampes H4)NSVAC 108Note de bas de page *Système d'éclairage et dispositifs rétroréfléchissants
No 31Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des projecteurs scellés halogènes pour véhicules à moteur émettant un faisceau de croisement asymétrique européen ou un faisceau de route, ou les deux à la foisNSVAC 108Note de bas de page *Système d'éclairage et dispositifs rétroréfléchissants
No 57Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des projecteurs pour motocycles et véhicules y assimilésNSVAC 108Note de bas de page *Système d'éclairage et dispositifs rétroréfléchissants
No 72Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des projecteurs pour motocycles émettant un faisceau-croisement asymétrique et un faisceau-route et équipés de lampes halogènes (lampes HS1)NSVAC 108Note de bas de page *Système d'éclairage et dispositifs rétroréfléchissants
No 13H (contrôle électronique de stabilité seulement)Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des voitures particulières en ce qui concerne le freinage (contrôle électronique de stabilité seulement)NSVAC 126Systèmes de contrôle électronique de la stabilité
No 60Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des motocycles et des cyclomoteurs (à deux roues) en ce qui concerne les commandes actionnées par le conducteur, y compris l'identification des commandes, témoins et indicateursNSVAC 123Commandes et affichages des motocyclettes
No 81Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des rétroviseurs des véhicules à moteur à deux roues, avec ou sans side-car, en ce qui concerne le montage des rétroviseurs sur les guidonsNSVAC 111Miroirs

Annexe 4-A-2 – Liste visée à l'article 4.3 de l'annexe 4-A

Règlement des Nations UniesTitre du règlement des Nations Unies
No 12Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des véhicules en ce qui concerne la protection du conducteur contre le dispositif de conduite en cas de choc
No 17Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des véhicules en ce qui concerne les sièges, leur ancrage et les appuis-tête
No 43Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des vitrages de sécurité et de l'installation de ces vitrages sur les véhicules
No 48Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des véhicules en ce qui concerne l'installation des dispositifs d'éclairage et de signalisation lumineuse
No 87Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des feux- circulation diurnes pour véhicules à moteur
No 53Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des véhicules de la catégorie L3 en ce qui concerne l'installation des dispositifs d'éclairage et de signalisation lumineuse
No 116Prescriptions techniques uniformes relatives à la protection des véhicules automobiles contre une utilisation non autorisée
N° 123Prescriptions uniformes relatives à l'homologation des systèmes d'éclairage avant adaptatifs (AFS) destinés aux véhicules automobiles
Date de modification: