Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Chapter four: Technical barriers to trade

Article 4.1 – Scope and definitions

1. This Chapter applies to the preparation, adoption, and application of technical regulations, standards, and conformity assessment procedures that may affect trade in goods between the Parties.

2. This Chapter does not apply to:

  1. purchasing specifications prepared by a governmental body for production or consumption requirements of governmental bodies; or
  2. a sanitary or phytosanitary measure as defined in Annex A of the SPS Agreement.

3. Except where this Agreement, including the incorporated provisions of the TBT Agreement pursuant to Article 4.2, defines or gives a meaning to a term, the general terms for standardisation and conformity assessment procedures shall normally have the meaning given to them by the definition adopted within the United Nations system and by international standardising bodies taking into account their context and in the light of the object and purpose of this Chapter.

4. References in this Chapter to technical regulations, standards, and conformity assessment procedures include amendments thereto, and additions to the rules or the product coverage thereof, except amendments and additions of an insignificant nature.

5. Article 1.8.2 (Extent of obligations) does not apply to Articles 3, 4, 7, 8 and 9 of the TBT Agreement, as incorporated into this Agreement.

Article 4.2 – Incorporation of the TBT Agreement

1. The following provisions of the TBT Agreement are hereby incorporated into and made part of this Agreement:

  1. Article 2 (Preparation, Adoption and Application of Technical Regulations by Central Government Bodies);
  2. Article 3 (Preparation, Adoption and Application of Technical Regulations by Local Government Bodies and Non-Governmental Bodies);
  3. Article 4 (Preparation, Adoption and Application of Standards);
  4. Article 5 (Procedures for Assessment of Conformity by Central Government Bodies);
  5. Article 6 (Recognition of Conformity Assessment by Central Government Bodies), without limiting a Party's rights or obligations under the Protocol on the Mutual Acceptance of the Results of Conformity Assessment, and the Protocol on the Mutual Recognition of the Compliance and Enforcement Programme Regarding Good Manufacturing Practices for Pharmaceutical Products;
  6. Article 7 (Procedures for Assessment of Conformity by Local Government Bodies);
  7. Article 8 (Procedures for Assessment of Conformity by Non-Governmental Bodies);
  8. Article 9 (International and Regional Systems);
  9. Annex 1 (Terms and their Definitions for the Purpose of this Agreement); and
  10. Annex 3 (Code of Good Practice for the Preparation, Adoption and Application of Standards).

2. The term "Members" in the incorporated provisions shall have the same meaning in this Agreement as it has in the TBT Agreement.

3. With respect to Articles 3, 4, 7, 8 and 9 of the TBT Agreement, Chapter Twenty-Nine (Dispute Settlement) can be invoked in cases where a Party considers that the other Party has not achieved satisfactory results under these Articles and its trade interests are significantly affected. In this respect, such results shall be equivalent to those as if the body in question were a Party.

Article 4.3 – Cooperation

The Parties shall strengthen their cooperation in the areas of technical regulations, standards, metrology, conformity assessment procedures, market surveillance or monitoring and enforcement activities in order to facilitate trade between the Parties, as set out in Chapter Twenty-One (Regulatory Cooperation). This may include promoting and encouraging cooperation between the Parties' respective public or private organisations responsible for metrology, standardisation, testing, certification and accreditation, market surveillance or monitoring and enforcement activities; and, in particular, encouraging their accreditation and conformity assessment bodies to participate in cooperation arrangements that promote the acceptance of conformity assessment results.

Article 4.4 – Technical regulations

1. The Parties undertake to cooperate to the extent possible, to ensure that their technical regulations are compatible with one another. To this end, if a Party expresses an interest in developing a technical regulation equivalent or similar in scope to one that exists in or is being prepared by the other Party, that other Party shall, on request, provide to the Party, to the extent practicable, the relevant information, studies and data upon which it has relied in the preparation of its technical regulation, whether adopted or being developed. The Parties recognise that it may be necessary to clarify and agree on the scope of a specific request, and that confidential information may be withheld.

2. A Party that has prepared a technical regulation that it considers to be equivalent to a technical regulation of the other Party having compatible objective and product scope may request that the other Party recognise the technical regulation as equivalent. The Party shall make the request in writing and set out detailed reasons why the technical regulation should be considered equivalent, including reasons with respect to product scope. The Party that does not agree that the technical regulation is equivalent shall provide to the other Party, upon request, the reasons for its decision.

Article 4.5 – Conformity assessment

The Parties shall observe the Protocol on the mutual acceptance of the results of conformity assessment, and the Protocol on the mutual recognition of the compliance and enforcement programme regarding good manufacturing practices for pharmaceutical products.

Article 4.6 – Transparency

1. Each Party shall ensure that transparency procedures regarding the development of technical regulations and conformity assessment procedures allow interested persons of the Parties to participate at an early appropriate stage when amendments can still be introduced and comments taken into account, except where urgent problems of safety, health, environmental protection or national security arise or threaten to arise. Where a consultation process regarding the development of technical regulations or conformity assessment procedures is open to the public, each Party shall permit persons of the other Party to participate on terms no less favourable than those accorded to its own persons.

2. The Parties shall promote closer cooperation between the standardisation bodies located within their respective territories with a view to facilitating, among other things, the exchange of information about their respective activities, as well as the harmonisation of standards based on mutual interest and reciprocity, according to modalities to be agreed by the standardisation bodies concerned.

3. Each Party shall endeavour to allow a period of at least 60 days following its transmission to the WTO Central Registry of Notifications of proposed technical regulations and conformity assessment procedures for the other Party to provide written comments, except where urgent problems of safety, health, environmental protection or national security arise or threaten to arise. A Party shall give positive consideration to a reasonable request to extend the comment period.

4. If a Party receives comments on its proposed technical regulation or conformity assessment procedure from the other Party, it shall reply in writing to those comments before the technical regulation or conformity assessment procedure is adopted.

5. Each Party shall publish or otherwise make publicly available, in print or electronically, its responses or a summary of its responses, to significant comments it receives, no later than the date it publishes the adopted technical regulation or conformity assessment procedure.

6. Each Party shall, upon request of the other Party, provide information regarding the objectives of, legal basis and rationale for, a technical regulation or conformity assessment procedure, that the Party has adopted or is proposing to adopt.

7. A Party shall give positive consideration to a reasonable request from the other Party, received prior to the end of the comment period following the transmission of a proposed technical regulation, to establish or extend the period of time between the adoption of the technical regulation and the day upon which it is applicable, except where the delay would be ineffective in fulfilling the legitimate objectives pursued.

8. Each Party shall ensure that its adopted technical regulations and conformity assessment procedures are publicly available on official websites.

9. If a Party detains at a port of entry a good imported from the territory of the other Party on the grounds that the good has failed to comply with a technical regulation, it shall, without undue delay, notify the importer of the reasons for the detention of the good.

Article 4.7 – Management of the Chapter

1. The Parties shall cooperate on issues covered by this Chapter. The Parties agree that the Committee on Trade in Goods, established under Article 26.2.1(a) shall:

  1. manage the implementation of this Chapter;
  2. promptly address an issue that a Party raises related to the development, adoption or application of standards, technical regulations or conformity assessment procedures;
  3. on a Party's request, facilitate discussion of the assessment of risk or hazard conducted by the other Party;
  4. encourage cooperation between the standardisation bodies and conformity assessment bodies of the Parties;
  5. exchange information on standards, technical regulations, or conformity assessment procedures including those of third parties or international bodies where there is a mutual interest in doing so;
  6. review this Chapter in the light of developments before the WTO Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade or under the TBT Agreement, and, if necessary, develop recommendations to amend this Chapter for consideration by the CETA Joint Committee;
  7. take other steps that the Parties consider will assist them to implement this Chapter and the TBT Agreement and to facilitate trade between the Parties; and
  8. report to the CETA Joint Committee on the implementation of this Chapter, as appropriate.

2. If the Parties are unable to resolve a matter covered under this Chapter through the Committee on Trade in Goods, upon request of a Party, the CETA Joint Committee may establish an ad hoc technical working group to identify solutions to facilitate trade. If a Party does not agree with a request from the other Party to establish a technical working group, it shall, on request, explain the reasons for its decision. The Parties shall lead the technical working group.

3. When a Party has requested information, the other Party shall provide the information, pursuant to the provisions of this Chapter, in print or electronically within a reasonable period of time. The Party shall endeavour to respond to each request for information within 60 days.

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Chapitre quatre : Obstacles techniques au commerce

Article 4.1 – Champ d'application et définitions

1. Le présent chapitre s'applique à l'élaboration, à l'adoption et à l'application de règlements techniques, de normes et de procédures d'évaluation de la conformité susceptibles d'affecter le commerce de marchandises entre les Parties.

2. Le présent chapitre ne s'applique pas :

  1. aux spécifications en matière d'achat qui sont élaborées par un organisme gouvernemental pour les besoins de la production ou de la consommation d'organismes gouvernementaux;
  2. à une mesure sanitaire ou phytosanitaire au sens de l'annexe A de l'Accord SPS.

3. À l'exception des termes dont le sens est défini ou donné par le présent accord, y compris par les dispositions de l'Accord OTC qui y sont incorporées conformément à l'article 4.2, les termes généraux relatifs à la normalisation et aux procédures d'évaluation de la conformité ont normalement le sens qui leur est donné dans les définitions adoptées au sein du système des Nations Unies et par les organismes à activité normative internationaux, compte tenu du contexte et à la lumière de l'objet et du but du présent chapitre.

4. Les références faites dans le présent chapitre aux règlements techniques, aux normes et aux procédures d'évaluation de la conformité comprennent les modifications y apportées, ainsi que les ajouts aux règles ou aux produits couverts par ces dernières, à l'exception des modifications et ajouts mineurs.

5. L'article 1.8.2 (Étendue des obligations) ne s'applique pas aux articles 3, 4, 7, 8 et 9 de l'Accord OTC, tels qu'ils sont incorporés au présent accord.

Article 4.2 – Incorporation de l'Accord OTC

1. Les dispositions suivantes de l'Accord OTC sont incorporées au présent accord et en font partie intégrante :

  1. article 2 (Élaboration, adoption et application de règlements techniques par des institutions du gouvernement central);
  2. article 3 (Élaboration, adoption et application de règlements techniques par des institutions publiques locales et des organismes non gouvernementaux);
  3. article 4 (Élaboration, adoption et application de normes);
  4. article 5 (Procédures d'évaluation de la conformité appliquées par des institutions du gouvernement central);
  5. article 6 (Reconnaissance de l'évaluation de la conformité par des institutions du gouvernement central), sans limiter les droits ou obligations d'une Partie au titre du Protocole de reconnaissance mutuelle des résultats de l'évaluation de la conformité et du Protocole sur la reconnaissance mutuelle du programme de conformité et d'application relatif aux bonnes pratiques de fabrication pour les produits pharmaceutiques;
  6. article 7 (Procédures d'évaluation de la conformité appliquées par des institutions publiques locales);
  7. article 8 (Procédures d'évaluation de la conformité appliquées par des organismes non gouvernementaux);
  8. article 9 (Systèmes internationaux et régionaux);
  9. annexe 1 (Termes et définitions utilisés aux fins de l'Accord);
  10. annexe 3 (Code de pratique pour l'élaboration, l'adoption et l'application des normes).

2. Le terme "Membres" figurant dans les dispositions incorporées au présent accord a, dans celui-ci, le même sens que dans l'Accord OTC.

3. En ce qui concerne les articles 3, 4, 7, 8 et 9 de l'Accord OTC, le Chapitre Vingt-neuf (Règlement des différends) peut être invoqué dans les cas où une Partie estime que l'autre Partie n'est pas arrivée à des résultats satisfaisants au titre de ces articles, et que ses intérêts commerciaux sont affectés de façon notable. À cet égard, ces résultats sont équivalents à ceux envisagés, comme si l'institution en question était une Partie.

Article 4.3 – Coopération

Les Parties renforcent leur coopération dans les domaines des règlements techniques, des normes, de la métrologie, des procédures d'évaluation de la conformité, de la surveillance ou du suivi des marchés et des activités d'application de la réglementation afin de faciliter le commerce entre les Parties, conformément au Chapitre Vingt-et-un (Coopération en matière de réglementation). Elles peuvent notamment promouvoir et encourager la coopération entre les organismes publics ou privés respectifs des Parties responsables de la métrologie, de la normalisation, des procédures d'essai, de certification et d'accréditation, de la surveillance ou du suivi des marchés et des activités d'application de la réglementation, et, en particulier, encourager leurs organismes chargés de l'accréditation et de l'évaluation de la conformité à participer à des arrangements de coopération visant à promouvoir la reconnaissance des résultats de l'évaluation de la conformité.

Article 4.4 – Règlements techniques

1. Les Parties s'engagent à coopérer dans la mesure du possible pour faire en sorte que leurs règlements techniques soient compatibles entre eux. À cette fin, si une Partie déclare qu'elle souhaite élaborer un règlement technique ayant une portée équivalente ou similaire à celle d'un règlement technique existant ou en cours d'élaboration de l'autre Partie, cette dernière lui fournit, sur demande et dans la mesure du possible, les informations, études et données pertinentes sur lesquelles elle s'est fondée pour élaborer son règlement technique, que celui-ci ait été adopté ou soit en cours d'élaboration. Les Parties reconnaissent qu'il pourrait être nécessaire de clarifier et de s'entendre sur la portée d'une demande donnée, et qu'il est possible que des informations confidentielles ne soient pas communiquées.

2. Une Partie qui a élaboré un règlement technique qu'elle considère comme équivalent à un règlement technique de l'autre Partie en raison de la compatibilité des objectifs visés et des produits couverts peut demander à l'autre Partie de reconnaître l'équivalence de ce règlement. Cette demande est présentée par écrit et expose en détail les raisons pour lesquelles le règlement technique devrait être considéré comme équivalent, y compris en ce qui a trait aux produits couverts. La Partie qui n'accepte pas l'équivalence d'un règlement technique communique à l'autre Partie, sur demande, les motifs de sa décision.

Article 4.5 – Évaluation de la conformité

Les Parties se conforment aux dispositions du Protocole de reconnaissance mutuelle des résultats de l'évaluation de la conformité et du Protocole sur la reconnaissance mutuelle du programme de conformité et d'application relatif aux bonnes pratiques de fabrication pour les produits pharmaceutiques.

Article 4.6 – Transparence

1. Chaque Partie fait en sorte que les procédures en matière de transparence relatives à l'élaboration de règlements techniques et de procédures d'évaluation de la conformité permettent aux personnes intéressées des Parties d'y participer à un stade précoce approprié, lorsque des modifications peuvent encore être apportées et que des observations peuvent encore être prises en considération, sauf lorsque des problèmes urgents en matière de sécurité, de santé, de protection de l'environnement ou de sécurité nationale se posent ou menacent de se poser. Lorsqu'un processus de consultation concernant l'élaboration de règlements techniques ou de procédures d'évaluation de la conformité est ouvert au public, chaque Partie permet aux personnes de l'autre Partie d'y participer à des conditions non moins favorables que celles accordées à ses propres personnes.

2. Les Parties encouragent une collaboration plus étroite entre les organismes à activité normative situés sur leurs territoires respectifs en vue de faciliter, entre autres, l'échange d'information sur leurs activités respectives, de même que l'harmonisation des normes fondée sur l'intérêt mutuel et la réciprocité, selon des modalités à convenir entre les organismes à activité normative concernés.

3. Chaque Partie s'efforce de ménager un délai d'au moins 60 jours à compter de la transmission de ses projets de règlements techniques et de procédures d'évaluation de la conformité au Répertoire central des notifications de l'OMC pour permettre à l'autre Partie de présenter ses observations écrites, sauf lorsque des problèmes urgents en matière de sécurité, de santé, de protection de l'environnement ou de sécurité nationale se posent ou menacent de se poser. Une Partie examine de manière positive toute demande raisonnable de prorogation du délai de présentation des observations.

4. La Partie qui reçoit des observations sur son projet de règlement technique ou de procédure d'évaluation de la conformité de la part de l'autre Partie y répond par écrit avant l'adoption du règlement ou de la procédure en question.

5. Chaque Partie publie ou rend publiques par d'autres moyens, sous forme imprimée ou électronique, ses réponses ou une synthèse de ses réponses aux observations importantes qu'elle a reçues, au plus tard à la date de publication du règlement technique ou de la procédure d'évaluation de la conformité adoptés.

6. Chaque Partie communique, à la demande de l'autre Partie, des renseignements concernant les objectifs, la justification et le fondement juridique d'un règlement technique ou d'une procédure d'évaluation de la conformité qu'elle a adoptés ou qu'elle se propose d'adopter.

7. Une Partie examine de manière positive toute demande raisonnable de l'autre Partie, reçue avant l'expiration du délai de présentation des observations consécutif à la transmission d'un projet de règlement technique, sollicitant l'instauration ou la prorogation d'une période d'attente entre l'adoption du règlement technique et la date de sa prise d'effet, sauf lorsque la période en question ne permettrait pas d'atteindre les objectifs légitimes poursuivis.

8. Chaque Partie fait en sorte que les règlements techniques et les procédures d'évaluation de la conformité qu'elle adopte soient mis à la disposition du public sur des sites Web officiels.

9. Une Partie qui retient, à un point d'entrée, une marchandise importée du territoire de l'autre Partie au motif que celle-ci n'est pas conforme à un règlement technique informe l'importateur, sans retard injustifié, des raisons pour lesquelles la marchandise a été retenue.

Article 4.7 – Administration du chapitre

1. Les Parties coopèrent sur les questions visées au présent chapitre. Les Parties conviennent que le Comité du commerce des marchandises institué au titre de l'article 26.2.1 a) assume les fonctions suivantes :

  1. administrer la mise en œuvre du présent chapitre;
  2. examiner dans les moindres délais toute question soulevée par une Partie en ce qui concerne l'élaboration, l'adoption ou l'application de normes, de règlements techniques ou de procédures d'évaluation de la conformité;
  3. à la demande d'une Partie, faciliter les discussions sur l'évaluation des risques ou des dangers effectuée par l'autre Partie;
  4. encourager la coopération entre les organismes à activité normative et les organismes d'évaluation de la conformité des Parties;
  5. échanger de l'information sur les normes, les règlements techniques ou les procédures d'évaluation de la conformité, y compris ceux de tierces parties ou d'organismes internationaux, lorsqu'il existe un intérêt mutuel à le faire;
  6. revoir le présent chapitre à la lumière des faits nouveaux survenus devant le Comité des obstacles techniques au commerce de l'OMC ou en ce qui a trait à l'Accord OTC et, au besoin, formuler des recommandations destinées à amender le présent chapitre pour examen par le Comité mixte de l'AECG;
  7. prendre d'autres dispositions que les Parties estiment utiles pour les aider à mettre en œuvre le présent chapitre et l'Accord OTC et à faciliter le commerce entre les Parties;
  8. faire rapport au Comité mixte de l'AECG au sujet de la mise en œuvre du présent chapitre, selon qu'il sera approprié.

2. Si les Parties ne parviennent pas à résoudre une question visée par le présent chapitre par l'entremise du Comité du commerce des marchandises, le Comité mixte de l'AECG peut, à la demande d'une Partie, constituer un groupe de travail technique spécial chargé de trouver des solutions destinées à faciliter le commerce. Si une Partie s'oppose à la demande de constitution d'un groupe de travail technique présentée par l'autre Partie, elle explique, sur demande, les motifs de sa décision. Le groupe de travail technique est dirigé par les Parties.

3. La Partie qui reçoit une demande de renseignements de l'autre Partie communique ces derniers, conformément aux dispositions du présent chapitre, dans un délai raisonnable, sous forme imprimée ou électronique. Les Parties s'efforcent de répondre à toute demande de renseignements dans un délai de 60 jours.

Date de modification: