Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Chapter five: Sanitary and phytosanitary measures

Article 5.1 – Definitions

1. For the purposes of this Chapter, the following definitions apply:

  1. the definitions in Annex A of the SPS Agreement;
  2. the definitions adopted under the auspices of the Codex Alimentarius Commission (the "Codex");
  3. the definitions adopted under the auspices of the World Organisation for Animal Health (the "OIE");
  4. the definitions adopted under the auspices of the International Plant Protection Convention (the "IPPC");
  5. protected zone for a specified regulated harmful organism means an officially defined geographical area in the European Union in which that organism is not established in spite of favourable conditions for its establishment and its presence in other parts of the European Union; and
  6. a competent authority of a Party means an authority listed in Annex 5-A.

2. Further to paragraph 1, the definitions under the SPS Agreement prevail to the extent that there is an inconsistency between the definitions adopted under the auspices of the Codex, the OIE, the IPPC and the definitions under the SPS Agreement.

Article 5.2 – Objectives

The objectives of this Chapter are to:

  1. protect human, animal and plant life or health while facilitating trade;
  2. ensure that the Parties' sanitary and phytosanitary ("SPS") measures do not create unjustified barriers to trade; and
  3. further the implementation of the SPS Agreement.

Article 5.3 – Scope

This Chapter applies to SPS measures that may, directly or indirectly, affect trade between the Parties.

Article 5.4 – Rights and obligations

The Parties affirm their rights and obligations under the SPS Agreement.

Article 5.5 – Adaptation to regional conditions

1. With respect to an animal, animal product and animal by-product:

  1. the Parties recognise the concept of zoning and they have decided to apply this concept to the diseases listed in Annex 5-B;
  2. if the Parties decide on principles and guidelines to recognise regional conditions, they shall include them in Annex 5-C;
  3. for the purpose of subparagraph , the importing Party shall base its sanitary measure applicable to the exporting Party whose territory is affected by a disease listed in Annex 5-B on the zoning decision made by the exporting Party, provided that the importing Party is satisfied that the exporting Party's zoning decision is in accordance with the principles and guidelines that the Parties set out in Annex 5-C, and is based on relevant international standards, guidelines, and recommendations. The importing Party may apply any additional measure to achieve its appropriate level of sanitary protection;
  4. if a Party considers that it has a special status with respect to a disease not listed in Annex 5-B, it may request recognition of that status. The importing Party may request additional guarantees for imports of live animals, animal products, and animal by-products appropriate to the agreed status recognised by the importing Party, including the special conditions identified in Annex 5-E; and
  5. the Parties recognise the concept of compartmentalisation and agree to cooperate on this matter.

2. With respect to a plant and plant product:

  1. when the importing Party establishes or maintains its phytosanitary measure, it shall take into account, among other things, the pest status of an area, such as a pest-free area, pest-free place of production, pest-free production site, an area of low pest prevalence and a protected zone that the exporting Party has established; and
  2. if the Parties decide on principles and guidelines to recognise regional conditions, they shall include them in Annex 5-C.

Article 5.6 – Equivalence

1. The importing Party shall accept the SPS measure of the exporting Party as equivalent to its own if the exporting Party objectively demonstrates to the importing Party that its measure achieves the importing Party's appropriate level of SPS protection.

2. Annex 5-D sets out principles and guidelines to determine, recognise, and maintain equivalence.

3. Annex 5-E sets out:

  1. the area for which the importing Party recognises that an SPS measure of the exporting Party is equivalent to its own; and
  2. the area for which the importing Party recognises that the fulfilment of the specified special condition, combined with the exporting Party's SPS measure, achieves the importing Party's appropriate level of SPS protection.

4. For the purposes of this Chapter, Article 1.7 (Reference to laws) applies subject to this Article, Annex 5-D and the General Notes under Annex 5-E.

Article 5.7 – Trade conditions

1. The importing Party shall make available its general SPS import requirements for all commodities. If the Parties jointly identify a commodity as a priority, the importing Party shall establish specific SPS import requirements for that commodity, unless the Parties decide otherwise. In identifying which commodities are priorities, the Parties shall cooperate to ensure the efficient management of their available resources. The specific import requirements should be applicable to the total territory of the exporting Party.

2. Pursuant to paragraph 1, the importing Party shall undertake, without undue delay, the necessary process to establish specific SPS import requirements for the commodity that is identified as a priority. Once these specific import requirements are established, the importing Party shall take the necessary steps, without undue delay, to allow trade on the basis of these import requirements.

3. For the purpose of establishing the specific SPS import requirements, the exporting Party shall, at the request of the importing Party:

  1. provide all relevant information required by the importing Party; and
  2. give reasonable access to the importing Party to inspect, test, audit and perform other relevant procedures.

4. If the importing Party maintains a list of authorised establishments or facilities for the import of a commodity, it shall approve an establishment or facility situated in the territory of the exporting Party without prior inspection of that establishment or facility if:

  1. the exporting Party has requested such an approval for the establishment or facility, accompanied by the appropriate guarantees; and
  2. the conditions and procedures set out in Annex 5-F are fulfilled.

5. Further to paragraph 4, the importing Party shall make its lists of authorised establishments or facilities publicly available.

6. A Party shall normally accept a consignment of a regulated commodity without pre-clearance of the commodity on a consignment basis, unless the Parties decide otherwise.

7. The importing Party may require that the relevant competent authority of the exporting Party objectively demonstrate, to the satisfaction of the importing Party, that the import requirements may be fulfilled or are fulfilled.

8. The Parties should follow the procedure set out in Annex 5-G on the specific import requirements for plant health.

Article 5.8 – Audit and verification

1. For the purpose of maintaining confidence in the implementation of this Chapter, a Party may carry out an audit or verification, or both, of all or part of the control programme of the competent authority of the other Party. The Party shall bear its own costs associated with the audit or verification.

2. If the Parties decide on principles and guidelines to conduct an audit or verification, they shall include them in Annex 5-H. If a Party conducts an audit or verification, it shall do so in accordance with any principles and guidelines in Annex 5-H.

Article 5.9 – Export certification

1. When an official health certificate is required to import a consignment of live animals or animal products, and if the importing Party has accepted the SPS measure of the exporting Party as equivalent to its own with respect to such animals or animal products, the Parties shall use the model health attestation prescribed in Annex 5-I for such certificate, unless the Parties decide otherwise. The Parties may also use a model attestation for other products if they so decide.

2. Annex 5-I sets out principles and guidelines for export certification, including electronic certification, withdrawal or replacement of certificates, language regimes and model attestations.

Article 5.10 – Import checks and fees

1. Annex 5-J sets out principles and guidelines for import checks and fees, including the frequency rate for import checks.

2. If import checks reveal non-compliance with the relevant import requirements, the action taken by the importing Party must be based on an assessment of the risk involved and not be more trade-restrictive than required to achieve the Party's appropriate level of sanitary or phytosanitary protection.

3. Whenever possible, the importing Party shall notify the importer of a non-compliant consignment, or its representative, of the reason for non-compliance, and provide them with an opportunity for a review of the decision. The importing Party shall consider any relevant information submitted to assist in the review.

4. A Party may collect fees for the costs incurred to conduct frontier checks, which should not exceed the recovery of the costs.

Article 5.11 – Notification and information exchange

1. A Party shall notify the other Party without undue delay of a:

  1. significant change to pest or disease status, such as the presence and evolution of a disease listed in Annex 5-B;
  2. finding of epidemiological importance with respect to an animal disease, which is not listed in Annex 5-B, or which is a new disease; and
  3. significant food safety issue related to a product traded between the Parties.

2. The Parties endeavour to exchange information on other relevant issues including:

  1. a change to a Party's SPS measure;
  2. any significant change to the structure or organisation of a Party's competent authority;
  3. on request, the results of a Party's official control and a report that concerns the results of the control carried out;
  4. the results of an import check provided for in Article 5.10 in case of a rejected or a non-compliant consignment; and
  5. on request, a risk analysis or scientific opinion that a Party has produced and that is relevant to this Chapter.

3. Unless the Joint Management Committee decides otherwise, when the information referred to in paragraph 1 or 2 has been made available via notification to the WTO's Central Registry of Notifications or to the relevant international standard-setting body, in accordance with its relevant rules, the requirements in paragraphs 1 and 2, as they apply to that information, are fulfilled.

Article 5.12 – Technical consultations

If a Party has a significant concern with respect to food safety, plant health, or animal health, or an SPS measure that the other Party has proposed or implemented, that Party may request technical consultations with the other Party. The Party that is the subject of the request should respond to the request without undue delay. Each Party shall endeavour to provide the information necessary to avoid a disruption to trade and, as the case may be, to reach a mutually acceptable solution.

Article 5.13 – Emergency SPS measures

1. A Party shall notify the other Party of an emergency SPS measure within 24 hours of its decision to implement the measure. If a Party requests technical consultations to address the emergency SPS measure, the technical consultations must be held within 10 days of the notification of the emergency SPS measure. The Parties shall consider any information provided through the technical consultations.

2. The importing Party shall consider the information that was provided in a timely manner by the exporting Party when it makes its decision with respect to a consignment that, at the time of adoption of the emergency SPS measure, is being transported between the Parties.

Article 5.14 – Joint Management Committee for Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures

1. The Joint Management Committee for Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures (the "Joint Management Committee"), established under Article 26.2.1, comprises regulatory and trade representatives of each Party responsible for SPS measures.

2. The functions of the Joint Management Committee include:

  1. to monitor the implementation of this Chapter, to consider any matter related to this Chapter and to examine all matters which may arise in relation to its implementation;
  2. to provide direction for the identification, prioritisation, management and resolution of issues;
  3. to address any request by a Party to modify an import check;
  4. at least once a year, to review the annexes to this Chapter, notably in the light of progress made under the consultations provided for under this Agreement. Following its review, the Joint Management Committee may decide to amend the annexes to this Chapter. The Parties may approve the Joint Management Committee's decision, in accordance with their respective procedures necessary for the entry into force of the amendment. The decision enters into force on a date agreed by the Parties;
  5. to monitor the implementation of a decision referred to in subparagraph , above, as well as the operation of measures referred to under subparagraph above;
  6. to provide a regular forum to exchange information that relates to each Party's regulatory system, including the scientific and risk assessment basis for an SPS measure; and
  7. to prepare and maintain a document that details the state of discussions between the Parties on their work on recognition of the equivalence of specific SPS measures.

3. The Joint Management Committee may, among other things:

  1. identify opportunities for greater bilateral engagement, including enhanced relationships, which may include an exchange of officials;
  2. discuss at an early stage, a change to, or a proposed change to, an SPS measure being considered;
  3. facilitate improved understanding between the Parties on the implementation of the SPS Agreement, and promote cooperation between the Parties on SPS issues under discussion in multilateral fora, including the WTO Committee on Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures and international standard-setting bodies, as appropriate; or
  4. identify and discuss, at an early stage, initiatives that have an SPS component, and that would benefit from cooperation.

4. The Joint Management Committee may establish working groups comprising expert-level representatives of the Parties, to address specific SPS issues.

5. A Party may refer any SPS issue to the Joint Management Committee. The Joint Management Committee should consider the issue as expeditiously as possible.

6. If the Joint Management Committee is unable to resolve an issue expeditiously, it shall, at the request of a Party, report promptly to the CETA Joint Committee.

7. Unless the Parties decide otherwise, the Joint Management Committee shall meet and establish its work programme no later than 180 days following the entry into force of this Agreement, and its rules of procedure no later than one year after the entry into force of this Agreement.

8. Following its initial meeting, the Joint Management Committee shall meet as required, normally on an annual basis. The Joint Management Committee may decide to meet by videoconference or teleconference, and it may also address issues out of session by correspondence.

9. The Joint Management Committee shall report annually on its activities and work programme to the CETA Joint Committee.

10. Upon entry into force of this Agreement, each Party shall designate and inform the other Party, in writing, of a contact point to coordinate the Joint Management Committee's agenda and to facilitate communication on SPS matters.

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Chapitre cinq : Mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires

Article 5.1 – Définitions

1. Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent aux fins du présent chapitre :

  1. les définitions figurant à l'annexe A de l'Accord SPS;
  2. les définitions adoptées sous les auspices de la Commission du Codex Alimentarius (le "Codex");
  3. les définitions adoptées sous les auspices de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé animale (l'"OIE");
  4. les définitions adoptées sous les auspices de la Convention internationale pour la protection des végétaux (la "CIPV");
  5. une zone protégée en ce qui concerne un organisme nuisible réglementé spécifié désigne une région géographique officiellement définie de l'Union européenne dans laquelle cet organisme n'est pas établi, bien que les conditions soient favorables à son établissement et qu'il soit présent dans d'autres régions de l'Union européenne;
  6. une autorité compétente d'une Partie désigne une autorité énumérée à l'annexe 5-A.

2. En complément du paragraphe 1, en cas d'incompatibilité entre les définitions adoptées sous les auspices du Codex, de l'OIE ou de la CIPV et les définitions figurant dans l'Accord SPS, ces dernières l'emportent dans la mesure de l'incompatibilité.

Article 5.2 – Objectifs

Le présent chapitre a pour objectifs :

  1. d'assurer la protection de la vie et de la santé des personnes et des animaux et la préservation des végétaux tout en facilitant le commerce;
  2. de faire en sorte que les mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires ("SPS") des Parties ne créent pas d'obstacles injustifiés au commerce;
  3. de faciliter la mise en œuvre de l'Accord SPS.

Article 5.3 – Champ d'application

Le présent chapitre s'applique aux mesures SPS qui peuvent, directement ou indirectement, affecter le commerce entre les Parties.

Article 5.4 – Droits et obligations

Les Parties confirment leurs droits et obligations au titre de l'Accord SPS.

Article 5.5 – Adaptation aux conditions régionales

1. S'agissant d'un animal, d'un produit d'origine animale ou d'un sous-produit d'origine animale :

  1. les Parties reconnaissent le concept du zonage et ont décidé de l'appliquer aux maladies énumérées à l'annexe 5-B;
  2. si les Parties décident des principes et directives devant guider la reconnaissance des conditions régionales, elles incluent ceux-ci dans l'annexe 5-C;
  3. pour l'application de l'alinéa , la Partie importatrice fonde la mesure sanitaire qu'elle applique à l'égard de la Partie exportatrice dont le territoire est touché par une maladie énumérée à l'annexe 5-B sur la décision de zonage prise par cette dernière, à la condition que la Partie importatrice soit convaincue que la décision en question est conforme aux principes et directives énoncés par les Parties à l'annexe 5-C, et qu'elle est fondée sur les normes, directives et recommandations internationales pertinentes. La Partie importatrice peut appliquer toute mesure supplémentaire pour assurer le niveau de protection sanitaire qu'elle juge approprié;
  4. une Partie qui estime avoir un statut particulier au regard d'une maladie qui ne figure pas à l'annexe 5-B peut demander la reconnaissance de ce statut. Dans le cas des importations d'animaux vivants et de produits et sous-produits d'origine animale, la Partie importatrice peut demander des garanties supplémentaires adaptées au statut convenu reconnu par la Partie importatrice, y compris les conditions spéciales mentionnées à l'annexe 5-E;
  5. les Parties reconnaissent le concept de la compartimentation et conviennent de coopérer à cet égard.

2. S'agissant d'un végétal ou d'un produit d'origine végétale :

  1. la Partie importatrice qui instaure ou maintient une mesure phytosanitaire tient compte, entre autres, de la situation de la zone au regard des parasites, à savoir de son statut de zone exempte, de lieu ou de site de production exempt, de zone à faible prévalence de parasites ou de zone protégée établie par la Partie exportatrice;
  2. si les Parties décident des principes et directives devant guider la reconnaissance des conditions régionales, elles incluent ceux-ci dans l'annexe 5-C.

Article 5.6 – Équivalence

1. La Partie importatrice accepte la mesure SPS de la Partie exportatrice comme équivalente à la sienne si la Partie exportatrice démontre de façon objective à la Partie importatrice qu'avec sa mesure le niveau approprié de protection SPS dans la Partie importatrice est atteint.

2. L'annexe 5-D énonce les principes et directives en matière de détermination, de reconnaissance et de maintien des équivalences.

3. L'annexe 5-E définit :

  1. la zone à l'égard de laquelle la Partie importatrice reconnaît qu'une mesure SPS de la Partie exportatrice est équivalente à la sienne;
  2. la zone à l'égard de laquelle la Partie importatrice reconnaît que la réalisation de la condition spéciale spécifiée, accompagnée de la mesure SPS de la Partie exportatrice, atteint le niveau approprié de protection SPS dans la Partie importatrice.

4. Aux fins du présent chapitre, l'article 1.7 (Renvois à la législation) s'applique sous réserve du présent article, de l'annexe 5-D et des notes générales de l'annexe 5-E.

Article 5.7 – Conditions du commerce

1. La Partie importatrice rend accessibles ses exigences SPS générales visant l'importation de tous les produits de base. En cas de désignation conjointe par les Parties d'un produit de base comme prioritaire, la Partie importatrice établit des exigences SPS particulières visant l'importation de ce produit, à moins que les Parties en décident autrement. Les Parties coopèrent pour assurer une gestion efficace des ressources à leur disposition aux fins de déterminer les produits de base prioritaires. Les exigences à l'importation particulières devraient s'appliquer à l'ensemble du territoire de la Partie exportatrice.

2. En application du paragraphe 1, la Partie importatrice engage, sans retard injustifié, le processus nécessaire pour établir les exigences SPS particulières visant l'importation d'un produit de base désigné comme prioritaire. Une fois ces exigences à l'importation particulières établies, la Partie importatrice prend, sans retard injustifié, les dispositions nécessaires pour permettre les échanges commerciaux sur la base de ces exigences.

3. Aux fins de l'établissement des exigences SPS à l'importation particulières, la Partie exportatrice, à la demande de la Partie importatrice :

  1. fournit tous les renseignements pertinents demandés par la Partie importatrice;
  2. ménage à la Partie importatrice un accès raisonnable pour réaliser des inspections, des essais, des audits et autres procédures pertinentes.

4. La Partie importatrice qui tient à jour une liste des établissements ou installations agréés aux fins de l'importation d'un produit de base accorde l'agrément à un établissement ou à une installation situés sur le territoire de la Partie exportatrice, sans inspection préalable, lorsque les conditions suivantes sont remplies :

  1. la Partie exportatrice a présenté une demande d'agrément de cet établissement ou installation, accompagnée des garanties appropriées;
  2. les conditions et les procédures énoncées à l'annexe 5-F sont respectées.

5. En complément du paragraphe 4, la Partie importatrice rend publiques ses listes d'établissements ou installations agréés.

6. À moins que les Parties en décident autrement, une Partie accepte normalement l'envoi d'un produit de base réglementé sans exiger le prédédouanement de chaque envoi.

7. La Partie importatrice peut demander à l'autorité compétente concernée de la Partie exportatrice de démontrer de façon objective, à la satisfaction de la Partie importatrice, que les exigences à l'importation peuvent être ou ont été remplies.

8. Les Parties devraient suivre la procédure énoncée à l'annexe 5-G concernant les exigences à l'importation particulières liées à la préservation des végétaux.

Article 5.8 – Audit et vérification

1. Afin de maintenir la confiance en la mise en œuvre du présent chapitre, une Partie peut réaliser un audit ou une vérification, ou les deux, de tout ou partie du programme de contrôle mis en place par l'autorité compétente de l'autre Partie. La Partie prend en charge les coûts qu'elle engage pour réaliser un tel audit ou vérification.

2. Si les Parties décident des principes et directives devant guider le déroulement d'un audit ou d'une vérification, elles les incluent dans l'annexe 5-H. Si une Partie réalise un audit ou une vérification, elle le fait conformément aux principes et directives énoncés à l'annexe 5-H.

Article 5.9 – Certification des exportations

1. Dans le cas où un certificat sanitaire officiel est exigé pour l'importation d'un envoi d'animaux vivants ou de produits d'origine animale et où la Partie importatrice a accepté la mesure SPS de la Partie exportatrice comme équivalente à la sienne à l'égard des animaux ou produits d'origine animale en question, les Parties utilisent le modèle d'attestation sanitaire prescrit à l'annexe 5-I pour établir ce certificat, à moins qu'elles en décident autrement. Les Parties peuvent également utiliser un modèle d'attestation pour d'autres produits, si elles en décident ainsi.

2. L'annexe 5-I énonce les principes et directives relatifs à la certification des exportations, y compris la certification électronique, la révocation ou le remplacement de certificats, les exigences d'ordre linguistique et les modèles d'attestations.

Article 5.10 – Contrôles à l'importation et redevances connexes

1. L'annexe 5-J énonce les principes et directives relatifs aux contrôles à l'importation et aux redevances connexes, y compris la fréquence de tels contrôles.

2. En cas de non-respect des exigences applicables à l'importation révélé lors des contrôles à l'importation, les dispositions prises par la Partie importatrice doivent reposer sur une évaluation du risque en cause et ne doivent pas être plus restrictives pour le commerce qu'il n'est requis pour atteindre le niveau de protection sanitaire ou phytosanitaire que la Partie juge approprié.

3. Dans la mesure du possible, la Partie importatrice informe l'importateur d'un envoi non conforme, ou son représentant, de la cause de la non-conformité, et leur donne la possibilité d'obtenir une révision de la décision. La Partie importatrice tient compte de tout renseignement pertinent soumis pour faciliter la révision.

4. Une Partie peut percevoir des redevances pour recouvrer les coûts des contrôles aux frontières, lesquelles ne devraient pas dépasser les coûts en question.

Article 5.11 – Notification et échange d'informations

1. Une Partie notifie sans retard injustifié à l'autre Partie :

  1. tout changement important de la situation au regard d'un parasite ou d'une maladie, tel que la présence et l'évolution d'une maladie énumérée à l'annexe 5-B;
  2. tout constat important sur le plan épidémiologique concernant une maladie animale qui ne figure pas à l'annexe 5-B ou qui est une nouvelle maladie;
  3. tout fait important lié à l'innocuité alimentaire concernant un produit faisant l'objet d'échanges entre les Parties.

2. Les Parties s'efforcent d'échanger des renseignements sur d'autres questions pertinentes, dont :

  1. une modification apportée à une mesure SPS d'une Partie;
  2. toute modification importante apportée à la structure ou à l'organisation de l'autorité compétente d'une Partie;
  3. sur demande, les résultats d'un contrôle officiel réalisé par une Partie et un rapport sur les résultats de ce contrôle;
  4. les résultats d'un contrôle à l'importation réalisé au titre de l'article 5.10, dans les cas où un envoi est refoulé ou jugé non conforme;
  5. sur demande, une analyse du risque ou un avis scientifique produits par une Partie et pertinents aux fins du présent chapitre.

3. À moins que le Comité de gestion mixte en décide autrement, les exigences énoncées aux paragraphes 1 et 2 applicables aux renseignements qui y sont visés sont considérées comme remplies lorsque les renseignements en question ont été communiqués, par voie de notification, au Répertoire central des notifications de l'OMC ou à l'organisme de normalisation international compétent, en conformité avec les règles applicables de celui-ci.

Article 5.12 – Consultations techniques

La Partie qui a des préoccupations importantes concernant l'innocuité alimentaire, la préservation des végétaux, la santé des animaux ou une mesure SPS proposée ou mise en œuvre par l'autre Partie, peut demander la tenue de consultations techniques avec l'autre Partie. La Partie faisant l'objet de la demande devrait y répondre sans retard injustifié. Chaque Partie s'efforce de fournir l'information nécessaire pour éviter de perturber les échanges commerciaux et, le cas échéant, parvenir à une solution mutuellement acceptable.

Article 5.13 – Mesures SPS d'urgence

1. Une Partie notifie à l'autre Partie toute mesure SPS d'urgence dans les 24 heures qui suivent la décision de mettre en œuvre une telle mesure. Si une Partie demande des consultations techniques concernant la mesure SPS d'urgence, celles-ci sont tenues dans les dix jours qui suivent la notification de la mesure SPS d'urgence. Les Parties tiennent compte de toute information communiquée dans le cadre des consultations techniques.

2. La Partie importatrice tient compte de l'information communiquée en temps opportun par la Partie exportatrice dans la décision qu'elle prend à l'égard d'un envoi qui se trouve en transit entre les territoires des Parties au moment de l'adoption de la mesure SPS d'urgence.

Article 5.14 – Comité de gestion mixte pour les mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires

1. Le Comité de gestion mixte pour les mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires (le "Comité de gestion mixte") créé en application de l'article 26.2.1 est composé de représentants des secteurs commercial et réglementaire de chaque Partie qui sont responsables des mesures SPS.

2. Le Comité de gestion mixte assume, entre autres, les fonctions suivantes :

  1. surveiller la mise en œuvre du présent chapitre, et examiner toute question relative à celui-ci et à sa mise en œuvre;
  2. donner des instructions concernant l'identification, l'ordre de priorité, la gestion et la résolution des problèmes;
  3. répondre à toute demande de modification d'un contrôle à l'importation présentée par une Partie;
  4. examiner, au moins une fois par an, les annexes du présent chapitre, notamment à la lumière des progrès réalisés dans le cadre des consultations tenues en application du présent accord. À la suite de cet examen, le Comité de gestion mixte peut décider d'amender les annexes du présent chapitre. Les Parties peuvent approuver la décision du Comité de gestion mixte, conformément à leurs procédures respectives requises pour l'entrée en vigueur de l'amendement. La décision entre en vigueur à la date convenue entre les Parties;
  5. surveiller la mise en œuvre de la décision visée à l'alinéa ci-dessus et le déroulement des mesures visées à l'alinéa ci-dessus;
  6. servir de forum régulier pour les échanges d'informations sur les régimes de réglementation de chaque Partie, y compris les évaluations scientifiques et les évaluations du risque servant de fondement à une mesure SPS;
  7. préparer et tenir à jour un document présentant l'état d'avancement des discussions entre les Parties sur leurs travaux en matière de reconnaissance de l'équivalence de mesures SPS particulières.

3. Le Comité de gestion mixte peut, entre autres :

  1. identifier les occasions d'accroître l'engagement bilatéral, y compris de renforcer les relations, notamment au moyen d'échanges de fonctionnaires;
  2. discuter à un stade précoce de tout changement ou proposition de changement concernant une mesure SPS envisagée;
  3. contribuer à améliorer la compréhension mutuelle entre les Parties en ce qui concerne la mise en œuvre de l'Accord SPS, et promouvoir la coopération entre les Parties sur les questions SPS abordées dans les enceintes multilatérales, dont le Comité des mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires de l'OMC et les organismes de normalisation internationaux, s'il y a lieu;
  4. identifier et discuter, à un stade précoce, les initiatives comportant un volet SPS susceptibles de bénéficier d'une coopération.

4. Le Comité de gestion mixte peut établir des groupes de travail composés d'experts représentant les Parties chargés d'examiner des questions SPS particulières.

5. Une Partie peut soumettre une question SPS au Comité de gestion mixte. Celui-ci devrait examiner la question aussi rapidement que possible.

6. À la demande d'une Partie, le Comité de gestion mixte fait part au Comité mixte de l'AECG, dans les moindres délais, de toute question qu'il ne parvient pas à régler rapidement.

7. À moins que les Parties en décident autrement, le Comité de gestion mixte se réunit et établit son programme de travail au plus tard 180 jours après l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord, et il arrête ses règles de procédure au plus tard un an après l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord.

8. À la suite de sa première réunion, le Comité de gestion mixte se réunit selon les besoins, normalement sur une base annuelle. Il peut décider de se réunir par vidéoconférence ou par téléconférence, et il peut également examiner des questions par correspondance en dehors de ses réunions.

9. Une fois par an, le Comité de gestion mixte rend compte de ses activités et de son programme de travail devant le Comité mixte de l'AECG.

10. Dès l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord, chaque Partie désigne un point de contact pour coordonner l'agenda du Comité de gestion mixte et faciliter la communication sur les questions SPS, et elle en informe l'autre Partie par écrit.

Date de modification: