Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Chapter six: Customs and trade facilitation

Article 6.1 – Objectives and principles

1. The Parties acknowledge the importance of customs and trade facilitation matters in the evolving global trading environment.

2. The Parties shall, to the extent possible, cooperate and exchange information, including information on best practices, to promote the application of and compliance with the trade facilitation measures in this Agreement.

3. Measures to facilitate trade shall not hinder mechanisms to protect a person through effective enforcement of and compliance with a Party's law.

4. Import, export and transit requirements and procedures shall be no more administratively burdensome or trade restrictive than necessary to achieve a legitimate objective.

5. Existing international trade and customs instruments and standards shall be the basis for import, export and transit requirements and procedures, except if these instruments and standards would be an inappropriate or ineffective means for the fulfilment of the legitimate objective pursued.

Article 6.2 – Transparency

1. Each Party shall publish or otherwise make available, including through electronic means, its legislation, regulations, judicial decisions and administrative policies relating to requirements for the import or export of goods.

2. Each Party shall endeavour to make public, including on the internet, proposed regulations and administrative policies relating to customs matters and to provide interested persons an opportunity to comment prior to their adoption.

3. Each Party shall designate or maintain one or more contact points to address inquiries by interested persons concerning customs matters and make available on the internet information concerning the procedures for making such inquiries.

Article 6.3 – Release of goods

1. Each Party shall adopt or maintain simplified customs procedures for the efficient release of goods in order to facilitate trade between the Parties and reduce costs for importers and exporters.

2. Each Party shall ensure that these simplified procedures:

  1. allow for the release of goods within a period of time no longer than that required to ensure compliance with its law;
  2. allow goods, and to the extent possible controlled or regulated goods, to be released at the first point of arrival;
  3. endeavour to allow for the expeditious release of goods in need of emergency clearance;
  4. allow an importer or its agent to remove goods from customs' control prior to the final determination and payment of customs duties, taxes, and fees. Before releasing the goods, a Party may require that an importer provide sufficient guarantee in the form of a surety, a deposit, or some other appropriate instrument; and
  5. provide for, in accordance with its law, simplified documentation requirements for the entry of low-value goods as determined by each Party.

3. Each Party, in its simplified procedures, may require the submission of more extensive information through post-entry accounting and verifications, as appropriate.

4. Each Party shall allow for the expedited release of goods and, to the extent possible and if applicable, shall:

  1. provide for advance electronic submission and processing of information before physical arrival of goods to enable their release upon arrival, if no risk has been identified or if no random checks are to be performed; and
  2. provide for clearance of certain goods with a minimum of documentation.

5. Each Party shall, to the extent possible, ensure that its authorities and agencies involved in border and other import and export controls cooperate and coordinate to facilitate trade by, among other things, converging import and export data and documentation requirements and establishing a single location for one-time documentary and physical verification of consignments.

6. Each Party shall ensure, to the extent possible, that its import and export requirements for goods are coordinated to facilitate trade, regardless of whether these requirements are administered by an agency or on behalf of that agency by the customs administration.

Article 6.4 – Customs valuation

1. The Customs Valuation Agreement governs customs valuation applied to reciprocal trade between the Parties.

2. The Parties shall cooperate with a view to reaching a common approach to issues relating to customs valuation.

Article 6.5 – Classification of goods

The classification of goods in trade between the Parties under this Agreement is set out in each Party's respective tariff nomenclature in conformity with the Harmonized System.

Article 6.6 – Fees and charges

Each Party shall publish or otherwise make available information on fees and charges imposed by a customs administration of that Party, including through electronic means. This information includes the applicable fees and charges, the specific reason for the fee or charge, the responsible authority, and when and how payment is to be made. A Party shall not impose new or amended fees and charges until it publishes or otherwise makes available this information.

Article 6.7 – Risk management

1. Each Party shall base its examination, release and post-entry verification procedures on risk assessment principles, rather than requiring each shipment offered for entry to be examined in a comprehensive manner for compliance with import requirements.

2. Each Party shall adopt and apply its import, export and transit requirements and procedures for goods on the basis of risk management principles and focus compliance measures on transactions that merit attention.

3. Paragraphs 1 and 2 do not preclude a Party from conducting quality control and compliance reviews that can require more extensive examinations.

Article 6.8 – Automation

1. Each Party shall use information technologies that expedite its procedures for the release of goods in order to facilitate trade, including trade between the Parties.

2. Each Party shall:

  1. endeavour to make available by electronic means customs forms that are required for the import or export of goods;
  2. allow, subject to its law, those customs forms to be submitted in electronic format; and
  3. if possible, through its customs administration, provide for the electronic exchange of information with its trading community.

3. Each Party shall endeavour to:

  1. develop or maintain fully interconnected single window systems to facilitate a single, electronic submission of the information required by customs and non-customs legislation for cross-border movements of goods; and
  2. develop a set of data elements and processes in accordance with the World Customs Organization ("WCO") Data Model and related WCO recommendations and guidelines.

4. The Parties shall endeavour to cooperate on the development of interoperable electronic systems, including taking account of the work at the WCO, in order to facilitate trade between the Parties.

Article 6.9 – Advance rulings

1. Each Party shall issue, upon written request, advance rulings on tariff classification in accordance with its law.

2. Subject to confidentiality requirements, each Party shall publish, for example on the internet, information on advance rulings on tariff classification that is relevant to understand and apply tariff classification rules.

3. To facilitate trade, the Parties shall include in their bilateral dialogue regular updates on changes in their respective laws and implementation measures regarding matters referred to in paragraphs 1 and 2.

Article 6.10 – Review and appeal

1. Each Party shall ensure that an administrative action or official decision taken in respect of the import of goods is reviewable promptly by judicial, arbitral, or administrative tribunals or through administrative procedures.

2. The tribunal or official acting pursuant to those administrative procedures shall be independent of the official or office issuing the decision and shall have the competence to maintain, modify or reverse the determination in accordance with the Party's law.

3. Before requiring a person to seek redress at a more formal or judicial level, each Party shall provide for an administrative level of appeal or review that is independent of the official or the office responsible for the original action or decision.

4. Each Party shall grant substantially the same right of review and appeal of determinations of advance rulings by its customs administration that it provides to importers in its territory to a person that has received an advance ruling pursuant to Article 6.9.

Article 6.11 – Penalties

Each Party shall ensure that its customs law provides that penalties imposed for breaches to it be proportionate and non-discriminatory and that the application of these penalties does not result in unwarranted delays.

Article 6.12 – Confidentiality

1. Each Party shall, in accordance with its law, treat as strictly confidential all information obtained under this Chapter that is by its nature confidential or that is provided on a confidential basis, and shall protect that information from disclosure that could prejudice the competitive position of the person providing the information.

2. If the Party receiving or obtaining the information referred to in paragraph 1 is required by its law to disclose the information, that Party shall notify the Party or person who provided that information.

3. Each Party shall ensure that the confidential information collected under this Chapter shall not be used for purposes other than the administration and enforcement of customs matters, except with the permission of the Party or person that provided that confidential information.

4. A Party may allow information collected under this Chapter to be used in administrative, judicial or quasi-judicial proceedings instituted for failure to comply with customs-related laws implementing this Chapter. A Party shall notify the Party or person that provided the information in advance of such use.

Article 6.13 – Cooperation

1. The Parties shall continue to cooperate in international fora, such as the WCO, to achieve mutually-recognised goals, including those set out in the WCO Framework of Standards to Secure and Facilitate Global Trade.

2. The Parties shall regularly review relevant international initiatives on trade facilitation, including the Compendium of Trade Facilitation Recommendations developed by the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development and the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe, to identify areas where further joint action would facilitate trade between the Parties and promote shared multilateral objectives.

3. The Parties shall cooperate in accordance with the Agreement between Canada and the European Community on Customs Cooperation and Mutual Assistance in Customs Matters, done at Ottawa on 4 December 1997 (the "Canada-EU Customs Cooperation Agreement").

4. The Parties shall provide each other with mutual assistance in customs matters in accordance with the Canada-EU Customs Cooperation Agreement, including matters relating to a suspected breach of a Party's customs legislation, as defined in that agreement, and to the implementation of this Agreement.

Article 6.14 – Joint Customs Cooperation Committee

1. The Joint Customs Cooperation Committee, which is granted authority to act under the auspices of the CETA Joint Committee as a specialised committee pursuant to Article 26.2.1  (Specialised committees), shall ensure the proper functioning of this Chapter and the Protocol on Rules of Origin and Origin Procedures, as well as Article 20.43 (Scope of border measures) and Article 2.8 (Temporary suspension of preferential tariff treatment). The Joint Customs Cooperation Committee shall examine issues arising from their application in accordance with the objectives of this Agreement.

2. For matters covered by this Agreement, the Joint Customs Cooperation Committee shall comprise representatives of the customs, trade, or other competent authorities as each Party deems appropriate.

3. Each Party shall ensure that its representatives in Joint Customs Cooperation Committee meetings have an expertise that corresponds to the agenda items. The Joint Customs Cooperation Committee may meet in a specific configuration of expertise to deal with rules of origin or origin procedures matters either as the Joint Customs Cooperation Committee-Rules of Origin or the Joint Customs Cooperation Committee-Origin Procedures.

4. The Joint Customs Cooperation Committee may formulate resolutions, recommendations, or opinions and present draft decisions to the CETA Joint Committee that it considers necessary for the attainment of the common objectives and sound functioning of the mechanisms established in this Chapter and the Protocol on Rules of Origin and Origin Procedures, as well as Article 20.43 (Scope of border measures) and Article 2.8 (Temporary suspension of preferential tariff treatment).

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Chapitre six : Douanes et facilitation des échanges

Article 6.1 – Objectifs et principes

1. Les Parties reconnaissent l'importance des questions concernant les douanes et la facilitation des échanges dans le contexte évolutif du commerce mondial.

2. Dans la mesure du possible, les Parties coopèrent et échangent des informations, y compris des informations sur les pratiques exemplaires, afin de promouvoir l'application et le respect des mesures de facilitation des échanges visées au présent accord.

3. Les mesures destinées à faciliter les échanges ne doivent pas entraver les mécanismes visant à protéger une personne par l'application et le respect effectifs du droit d'une Partie.

4. Les exigences et procédures en matière d'importation, d'exportation et de transit n'imposent pas une charge administrative plus lourde ni ne restreignent le commerce plus qu'il n'est nécessaire pour réaliser un objectif légitime.

5. Les exigences et procédures en matière d'importation, d'exportation et de transit sont fondées sur les normes et instruments commerciaux et douaniers internationaux existants, sauf si ces derniers sont inadéquats ou inefficaces pour réaliser l'objectif légitime poursuivi.

Article 6.2 – Transparence

1. Chaque Partie publie ou rend accessibles d'une autre manière, y compris sous forme électronique, ses lois, règlements, décisions judiciaires et politiques administratives concernant les exigences relatives à l'importation ou à l'exportation des marchandises.

2. Chaque Partie s'efforce de mettre à la disposition du public, y compris sur Internet, les projets de règlements et de politiques administratives relatifs aux questions douanières, et de donner aux personnes intéressées la possibilité de formuler des observations avant leur adoption.

3. Chaque Partie désigne ou maintient un ou plusieurs points de contact chargés de répondre aux demandes de renseignements des personnes intéressées concernant les questions douanières, et rend accessible sur Internet l'information sur la marche à suivre pour présenter de telles demandes de renseignements.

Article 6.3 – Mainlevée des marchandises

1. Chaque Partie adopte ou maintient des procédures douanières simplifiées pour optimiser le processus de mainlevée des marchandises afin de faciliter le commerce entre les Parties et de réduire les coûts supportés par les importateurs et les exportateurs.

2. Chaque Partie fait en sorte que les procédures simplifiées précitées :

  1. permettent la mainlevée des marchandises dans un délai ne dépassant pas le temps nécessaire pour contrôler le respect de son droit;
  2. permettent que les marchandises, y compris, dans la mesure du possible, les marchandises contrôlées ou réglementées, fassent l'objet d'une mainlevée au premier point d'arrivée;
  3. visent à permettre une mainlevée rapide des marchandises nécessitant un dédouanement d'urgence;
  4. permettent à l'importateur ou à son mandataire d'enlever les marchandises d'un bureau de douane avant la détermination finale et le paiement des droits de douane, taxes et redevances exigibles. Avant d'accorder la mainlevée des marchandises, une Partie peut exiger que l'importateur fournisse une garantie suffisante sous la forme d'une caution, d'un dépôt ou d'un autre instrument approprié;
  5. prévoient, en conformité avec son droit, des exigences documentaires simplifiées pour l'admission des marchandises de faible valeur telles qu'elles sont déterminées par chaque Partie.

3. Chaque Partie peut, dans ses procédures simplifiées, exiger la présentation de renseignements plus détaillés sous forme de comptes rendus comptables et de vérifications postérieurs à l'admission, au besoin.

4. Chaque Partie permet la mainlevée accélérée des marchandises et, dans la mesure du possible et s'il y a lieu :

  1. autorise la transmission et le traitement électroniques préalables des renseignements avant l'arrivée physique des marchandises de manière à en permettre la mainlevée à l'arrivée, si aucun risque n'a été décelé ou si aucun contrôle au hasard n'est prévu;
  2. autorise le dédouanement de certaines marchandises sur la base d'un minimum de documents.

5. Chaque Partie fait en sorte, dans la mesure du possible, que ses autorités et organismes chargés des contrôles à la frontière et autres contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation coopèrent et coordonnent leurs activités afin de faciliter les échanges, entre autres en harmonisant leurs exigences relatives aux données et aux documents afférents à l'importation et à l'exportation, et en établissant un point unique pour la vérification documentaire et physique des envois en une seule étape.

6. Dans la mesure du possible, chaque Partie fait en sorte d'harmoniser ses exigences relatives à l'importation et à l'exportation des marchandises afin de faciliter les échanges, que ces exigences soient administrées par un organisme ou pour le compte de cet organisme par l'administration douanière.

Article 6.4 – Évaluation en douane

1. L'Accord sur l'évaluation en douane régit l'application de la valeur en douane aux échanges réciproques entre les Parties.

2. Les Parties coopèrent en vue de parvenir à une approche commune des questions liées à l'évaluation en douane.

Article 6.5 – Classification des marchandises

La classification des marchandises faisant l'objet d'échanges entre les Parties au titre du présent accord est exposée dans la nomenclature tarifaire respective de chaque Partie conformément au Système harmonisé.

Article 6.6 – Redevances et impositions

Chaque Partie publie ou rend accessible d'une autre manière, y compris sous forme électronique, l'information sur les redevances et impositions perçues par son administration douanière. Cette information comprend les redevances et impositions applicables, le motif précis de la redevance ou imposition, l'autorité responsable ainsi que la date et les modalités du paiement. Une Partie ne peut percevoir de redevances et impositions nouvelles ou modifiées avant de publier cette information ou de la rendre accessible d'une autre manière.

Article 6.7 – Gestion du risque

1. Chaque Partie fonde ses procédures d'examen, de mainlevée et de vérification postérieure à l'admission sur les principes d'évaluation du risque, plutôt que d'exiger que chaque cargaison présentée pour l'admission fasse l'objet d'un examen approfondi pour contrôler sa conformité aux exigences en matière d'importation.

2. Chaque Partie adopte et applique ses exigences et procédures en matière d'importation, d'exportation et de transit des marchandises en se fondant sur les principes de gestion du risque, et axe les mesures de contrôle de la conformité sur les transactions qui méritent une attention particulière.

3. Les paragraphes 1 et 2 n'ont pas pour effet d'empêcher une Partie de réaliser des contrôles de la qualité et de la conformité pouvant nécessiter des examens plus approfondis.

Article 6.8 – Automatisation

1. Chaque Partie utilise des technologies de l'information propres à accélérer ses procédures de mainlevée des marchandises afin de faciliter les échanges, y compris les échanges entre les Parties.

2. Chaque Partie :

  1. s'efforce de rendre accessibles sous forme électronique les formulaires douaniers requis pour l'importation ou l'exportation des marchandises;
  2. permet, sous réserve de son droit, la présentation des formulaires douaniers précités sous forme électronique;
  3. si possible, met en place, par l'intermédiaire de son administration douanière, un dispositif d'échange électronique d'informations avec sa communauté commerciale.

3. Chaque Partie s'efforce :

  1. d'élaborer ou de maintenir des systèmes de guichet unique entièrement interconnectés pour faciliter la présentation électronique en une seule étape des renseignements exigés en vertu de la législation douanière et autre que douanière en matière de mouvements transfrontières des marchandises;
  2. d'élaborer un ensemble d'éléments de données et de processus conformément au Modèle de données de l'Organisation mondiale des douanes (l'"OMD") et aux recommandations et directives connexes de l'OMD.

4. Les Parties s'efforcent de coopérer en vue d'élaborer des systèmes électroniques interopérables, notamment en tenant compte des travaux de l'OMD, pour faciliter les échanges entre les Parties.

Article 6.9 – Décisions anticipées

1. Chaque Partie rend, sur demande écrite, des décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire conformément à son droit.

2. Sous réserve des exigences de confidentialité, chaque Partie publie, par exemple sur Internet, les renseignements concernant les décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire qui sont pertinents pour comprendre et appliquer les règles de classement tarifaire.

3. Afin de faciliter les échanges, les Parties incluent dans leur dialogue bilatéral des mises à jour régulières sur les modifications apportées à leurs législations et mesures de mise en œuvre respectives concernant les questions visées aux paragraphes 1 et 2.

Article 6.10 – Révision et appel

1. Chaque Partie fait en sorte qu'un acte administratif ou une décision officielle concernant l'importation de marchandises puissent être révisés dans les moindres délais par des tribunaux judiciaires, arbitraux ou administratifs, ou selon des procédures administratives.

2. Le tribunal ou fonctionnaire agissant conformément aux procédures administratives précitées est indépendant du fonctionnaire ou de l'autorité qui a rendu la décision, et a compétence pour confirmer, modifier ou infirmer la détermination en conformité avec le droit de la Partie.

3. Avant d'exiger d'une personne qu'elle demande réparation devant une instance plus officielle ou judiciaire, chaque Partie prévoit la possibilité d'exercer un recours en appel ou en révision devant une instance administrative indépendante du fonctionnaire ou de l'autorité responsable de l'acte initial ou de la décision initiale.

4. Chaque Partie accorde à toute personne ayant obtenu une décision anticipée au titre de l'article 6.9 un droit de révision et d'appel essentiellement identique à celui qu'elle accorde aux importateurs sur son territoire à l'égard des déterminations relatives aux décisions anticipées rendues par son administration douanière.

Article 6.11 – Sanctions

Chaque Partie fait en sorte que son droit douanier prévoie, pour sanctionner les infractions y afférentes, des sanctions proportionnées et non discriminatoires dont l'application n'entraîne pas de retards injustifiés.

Article 6.12 – Caractère confidentiel

1. Chaque Partie traite de façon strictement confidentielle, en conformité avec son droit, les renseignements obtenus en application du présent chapitre qui ont un caractère confidentiel ou qui sont fournis à titre confidentiel, et elle protège ces renseignements de toute communication susceptible de porter préjudice à la position concurrentielle de la personne ayant fourni les renseignements.

2. Si la communication des renseignements visés au paragraphe 1 est requise par le droit de la Partie qui reçoit ou obtient ces derniers, cette Partie en avise la Partie ou la personne ayant fourni ces renseignements.

3. Chaque Partie fait en sorte que les renseignements confidentiels recueillis en application du présent chapitre ne soient pas utilisés à des fins autres que l'administration et l'application des questions douanières, sauf autorisation de la Partie ou de la personne ayant fourni ces renseignements confidentiels.

4. Une Partie peut permettre que les renseignements recueillis en application du présent chapitre soient utilisés dans le cadre d'une procédure administrative, judiciaire ou quasi judiciaire introduite pour manquement à la législation douanière mettant en œuvre le présent chapitre. La Partie avise la Partie ou la personne ayant fourni les renseignements préalablement à une telle utilisation.

Article 6.13 – Coopération

1. Les Parties continuent de coopérer dans les enceintes internationales, telles que l'OMD, en vue d'atteindre des objectifs mutuellement reconnus, notamment ceux énoncés dans le Cadre de normes de l'OMD visant à sécuriser et à faciliter le commerce mondial.

2. Les Parties examinent régulièrement les initiatives internationales pertinentes en matière de facilitation des échanges, notamment le Recueil des recommandations relatives à la facilitation du commerce élaboré par la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le commerce et le développement et la Commission économique des Nations Unies pour l'Europe, afin de cerner les domaines où de nouvelles actions concertées faciliteraient le commerce entre les Parties et la réalisation de leurs objectifs multilatéraux communs.

3. Les Parties coopèrent conformément à l'Accord entre le Canada et la Communauté européenne sur la coopération douanière et l'assistance mutuelle en matière douanière, fait à Ottawa le 4 décembre 1997 (l'"Accord Canada-UE sur la coopération douanière").

4. Les Parties se prêtent une assistance mutuelle en matière douanière conformément à l'Accord Canada-UE sur la coopération douanière, y compris en ce qui concerne les cas présumés d'infraction à la législation douanière d'une Partie, telle que définie dans ce dernier accord, et la mise en œuvre du présent accord.

Article 6.14 – Comité mixte de coopération douanière

1. Le Comité mixte de coopération douanière, qui est habilité à agir sous les auspices du Comité mixte de l'AECG à titre de comité spécialisé en vertu de l'article 26.2.1 (Comités spécialisés), veille au bon fonctionnement du présent chapitre, du Protocole sur les règles d'origine et les procédures d'origine, de l'article 20.43 (Champ d'application des mesures à la frontièret de l'article 2.8 (Suspension temporaire du traitement tarifaire préférentiel). Il examine les questions découlant de leur application au regard des objectifs du présent accord.

2. En ce qui concerne les questions visées au présent accord, le Comité mixte de coopération douanière est composé de représentants des autorités chargées des douanes, du commerce ou de toute autre autorité compétente, selon ce que chaque Partie juge approprié.

3. Chaque Partie fait en sorte que ses représentants aux réunions du Comité mixte de coopération douanière aient des connaissances correspondant aux questions à l'ordre du jour. Les membres du Comité mixte de coopération douanière peuvent se réunir dans une configuration particulière pour traiter des questions liées aux règles d'origine ou aux procédures connexes (le "Comité mixte de coopération douanière – Règles d'origine" ou le "Comité mixte de coopération douanière – Procédures d'origine").

4. Le Comité mixte de coopération douanière peut formuler des résolutions, des recommandations ou des avis et présenter au Comité mixte de l'AECG des projets de décisions qu'il considère nécessaires à la réalisation des objectifs communs et au bon fonctionnement des mécanismes établis au titre du présent chapitre, du Protocole sur les règles d'origine et les procédures d'origine, de l'article 20.43 (Champ d'application des mesures à la frontièret de l'article 2.8 (Suspension temporaire du traitement tarifaire préférentiel).

Date de modification: