Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Annex 9

Annex 9-A – Understanding on national treatment with respect to the cross border supply of services

1. The EU Party and Canada share the following understanding with respect to the application of Article 9.3 to treatment accorded by a provincial or territorial government in Canada, or by a government of or in a Member State of the European Union with respect to the cross-border supply of services as defined in Article 9.1 or the supply of a service by a natural person of a Party in the territory of the other Party.

2. Pursuant to Article 9.3, treatment "no less favourable than the most favourable treatment accorded, in like situations, by that government to its own service suppliers and services" does not apply to a person of the other Party, or to a service supplied by this person if:

  1. in the case of Canada, a provincial or territorial government of Canada accords more favourable treatment to a service supplier which is a person of another provincial or territorial government of Canada, or to a service supplied by this supplier; and
  2. in the case of the EU Party:
    1. a government of a Member State of the European Union accords more favourable treatment to a service supplier which is a person of another Member State or to a service supplied by this supplier;
    2. a regional government of a Member State of the European Union accords more favourable treatment to a service supplier which is a person of another regional government of that Member State, or to a service supplied by this supplier; and
  3. the more favourable treatment referred to in subparagraphs (a) and (b) is accorded pursuant to specific mutual rights and obligations applicable between these governments.

3. For the EU Party, paragraph 2 includes in particular treatment accorded pursuant to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, done at Lisbon on 13 December 2007 in respect of the free movement of persons and services, as well as to treatment accorded by any measure adopted pursuant to that Treaty. A government of or in a Member State of the European Union may accord more favourable treatment pursuant to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union to those natural persons who are nationals of another Member State of the European Union, or to enterprises formed in accordance with the law of another Member State of the European Union and having their registered office, central administration or principal place of business within the European Union, and to the services supplied by these natural persons or enterprises.

4. For Canada, paragraph 2 includes in particular treatment accorded pursuant to the Canadian Agreement on Internal Trade, dated 18 July 1994, between the Government of Canada and the governments of the provinces and territories of Canada ("AIT") as well as to treatment accorded by any measure adopted pursuant to the AIT and from regional agreements on the free movement of persons and services. A provincial or territorial government in Canada may accord a more favourable treatment pursuant to the AIT and these regional agreements to those natural persons who are residents in the territory of a party to the AIT or regional agreement or to enterprises formed in accordance with the law of a party to the AIT or regional agreement that have their registered office, central administration or principal place of business within Canada, and to the services supplied by these natural persons or enterprises.

Annex 9-B – Understanding on new services not classified in the united nations provisional central product classification (CPC), 1991

1. The Parties agree that Chapter Twelve (Domestic Regulation) and Articles 9.3, 9.5, and 9.6 do not apply to a measure relating to a new service that cannot be classified in the CPC 1991.

2. To the extent possible, each Party shall notify the other Party prior to adopting a measure inconsistent with Chapter Twelve (Domestic Regulation), and Articles 9.3, 9.5, and 9.6 with respect to a new service, as referred to in paragraph 1.

3. At the request of a Party, the Parties shall enter into negotiations to incorporate the new service into the scope of this Agreement.

4. For greater certainty, paragraph 1 does not apply to an existing service that could be classified in the CPC 1991, but that could not previously be supplied on a cross-border basis due to lack of technical feasibility.

Annex 9-C – Understanding on courier services

1. The Parties share the following understanding with respect to the application of Articles 8.2.2(a) (Scope) and 9.2.2(e) (Scope).

2. The Parties confirm that courier services are covered by Chapters Eight (Investment) and Nine (Cross-Border Trade in Services), subject to applicable reservations as set out in the Parties' Schedules to Annexes I and II. For greater certainty, the treatment offered to courier services under Chapters Eight and Nine does not include the grant of air traffic rights for courier service suppliers. These rights are subject to the Agreement on Air Transport between Canada and the European Community and its Member States, done at Brussels on 17 December 2009 and Ottawa on December 18, 2009.

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Annexe 9

Annexe 9-A – Accord sur le traitement national concernant la fourniture transfrontières des services

1. La Partie UE et le Canada conviennent de ce qui suit concernant l'application de l'article 9.3 au traitement accordé par un gouvernement provincial ou territorial du Canada, ou par un gouvernement d'un État membre ou dans un État membre de l'Union européenne relativement à la fourniture transfrontières des services au sens de l'article 9.1, ou à la fourniture d'un service par une personne physique d'une Partie sur le territoire de l'autre Partie.

2. En vertu de l'article 9.3, un traitement "non moins favorable que le traitement le plus favorable accordé par ce gouvernement, dans des situations similaires, à ses propres fournisseurs de services et ses propres services" ne s'applique pas à une personne de l'autre Partie, ou à un service fourni par une telle personne, lorsque les conditions suivantes sont réunies :

  1. dans le cas du Canada, un gouvernement provincial ou territorial du Canada accorde un traitement plus favorable à un fournisseur de services qui est une personne d'un autre gouvernement provincial ou territorial du Canada, ou à un service fourni par un tel fournisseur;
  2. dans le cas de la Partie UE :
    1. un gouvernement d'un État membre de l'Union européenne accorde un traitement plus favorable à un fournisseur de services qui est une personne d'un autre État membre ou à un service fourni par un tel fournisseur,
    2. un gouvernement régional d'un État membre de l'Union européenne accorde un traitement plus favorable à un fournisseur de services qui est une personne d'un autre gouvernement régional de cet État membre ou à un service fourni par un tel fournisseur;
  3. le traitement plus favorable visé aux alinéas a) et b) est accordé au titre de droits et obligations mutuels spécifiques qui s'appliquent entre ces gouvernements.

3. Dans le cas de la Partie UE, le paragraphe 2 vise notamment le traitement accordé au titre du Traité sur le fonctionnement de l'Union européenne, fait à Lisbonne le 13 décembre 2007, en ce qui concerne la libre circulation des personnes et des services, ainsi que le traitement accordé au titre de toute mesure adoptée en vertu de ce traité. Un gouvernement d'un État membre de l'Union européenne ou un gouvernement dans un État membre de l'Union européenne peut accorder, en vertu du Traité sur le fonctionnement de l'Union européenne, un traitement plus favorable aux personnes physiques qui sont des ressortissants d'un autre État membre de l'Union européenne, ou aux entreprises constituées conformément au droit d'un autre État membre de l'Union européenne et ayant leur siège social, leur administration centrale ou leur principal établissement dans l'Union européenne, ainsi qu'aux services fournis par ces personnes physiques ou entreprises.

4. Dans le cas du Canada, le paragraphe 2 vise notamment le traitement accordé au titre de l'Accord sur le commerce intérieur daté du 18 juillet 1994 entre le gouvernement du Canada et les gouvernements des provinces et des territoires du Canada ("ACI") ainsi que le traitement accordé au titre de toute mesure adoptée en vertu de l'ACI et d'accords régionaux sur la libre circulation des personnes et des services. Un gouvernement provincial ou territorial du Canada peut accorder, en vertu de l'ACI et de ces accords régionaux, un traitement plus favorable aux personnes physiques qui résident sur le territoire d'une partie à l'ACI ou à l'accord régional, ou aux entreprises constituées conformément au droit d'une partie à l'ACI ou à l'accord régional et ayant leur siège social, leur administration centrale ou leur principal établissement au Canada, ainsi qu'aux services fournis par ces personnes physiques ou entreprises.

Annexe 9-B – Accord sur les nouveaux services non couverts par la classification centrale de produits (CPC) provisoire des nations unies de 1991

1. Les Parties conviennent que le chapitre Douze (Réglementation intérieure) et les articles 9.3, 9.5 et 9.6 ne s'appliquent pas à une mesure concernant un nouveau service qui ne peut être classé dans la CPC de 1991.

2. Dans la mesure du possible, chaque Partie avise l'autre Partie avant d'adopter une mesure non conforme au chapitre Douze (Réglementation intérieure) et aux articles 9.3, 9.5 et 9.6 concernant un nouveau service visé au paragraphe 1.

3. À la demande d'une Partie, les Parties entament des négociations en vue d'inclure le nouveau service dans le champ d'application du présent accord.

4. Il est entendu que le paragraphe 1 ne s'applique pas à un service existant qui pourrait être classé dans la CPC de 1991,mais dont la fourniture transfrontières ne pouvait être assurée auparavant pour des raisons techniques.

Annexe 9-C – Accord sur les services de messagerie

1. Les Parties conviennent de ce qui suit concernant l'application des articles 8.2.2 a) (Champ d'application) et 9.2.2 e) (Champ d'application).

2. Les Parties confirment que les chapitres Huit (Investissement) et Neuf (Commerce transfrontières des services) couvrent les services de messagerie, avec les réserves applicables énoncées dans les listes des Parties jointes aux annexes I et II. Il est entendu que le traitement accordé aux services de messagerie au titre des chapitres Huit et Neuf ne comprend pas l'octroi de droits de trafic aérien aux fournisseurs de services de messagerie. Ces droits sont régis par l'Accord sur le transport aérien entre le Canada et la Communauté européenne et ses États membres, fait à Bruxelles le 17 décembre 2009 et à Ottawa le 18 décembre 2009.

Date de modification: