Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Chapter nine: Cross-border trade in services

Article 9.1 – Definitions

For the purposes of this Chapter:

aircraft repair and maintenance services means activities undertaken on an aircraft or a part of an aircraft while it is withdrawn from service and do not include so-called line maintenance;

airport operation services means the operation or management, on a fee or contract basis, of airport infrastructure, including terminals, runways, taxiways and aprons, parking facilities, and intra-airport transportation systems. For greater certainty, airport operation services do not include the ownership of, or investment in, airports or airport lands, or any of the functions carried out by a board of directors. Airport operation services do not include air navigation services;

computer reservation system services means the supply of a service by computerised systems that contain information about air carriers' schedules, availability, fares and fare rules, through which reservations can be made or tickets may be issued;

cross-border trade in services or cross-border supply of services means the supply of a service:

  1. from the territory of a Party into the territory of the other Party; or
  2. in the territory of a Party to the service consumer of the other Party,

but does not include the supply of a service in the territory of a Party by a person of the other Party;

ground handling services means the supply of a service on a fee or contract basis for: ground administration and supervision, including load control and communications; passenger handling; baggage handling; cargo and mail handling; ramp handling and aircraft services; fuel and oil handling; aircraft line maintenance, flight operations and crew administration; surface transport; or catering services. Ground handling services do not include security services or the operation or management of centralised airport infrastructure, such as baggage handling systems, de-icing facilities, fuel distribution systems, or intra-airport transport systems;

selling and marketing of air transport services means opportunities for the air carrier concerned to sell and market freely its air transport services including all aspects of marketing such as market research, advertising and distribution, but do not include the pricing of air transport services or the applicable conditions; and

services supplied in the exercise of governmental authority means any service that is not supplied on a commercial basis, or in competition with one or more service suppliers.

Article 9.2 – Scope

1. This Chapter applies to a measure adopted or maintained by a Party affecting cross-border trade in services by a service supplier of the other Party, including a measure affecting:

  1. the production, distribution, marketing, sale, and delivery of a service;
  2. the purchase of, use of, or payment for, a service; and,
  3. the access to and use of, in connection with the supply of a service, services which are required to be offered to the public generally.

2. This Chapter does not apply to a measure affecting:

  1. services supplied in the exercise of governmental authority;
  2. for the European Union, audio-visual services;
  3. for Canada, cultural industries;
  4. financial services as defined in Article 13.1 (Definitions);
  5. air services, related services in support of air services and other services supplied by means of air transportFootnote 1, other than:
    1. aircraft repair and maintenance services;
    2. the selling and marketing of air transport services;
    3. computer reservation system (CRS) services;
    4. ground handling services;
    5. airport operation services;
  6. procurement by a Party of a good or service purchased for governmental purposes, and not with of a view to commercial resale or with a view to use in the supply of a good or service for commercial sale, whether or not that procurement is "covered procurement" within the meaning of Article 19.2.2 (Scope and coverage); or
  7. a subsidy, or other government support relating to cross-border trade in services, provided by a Party.

3. This Chapter does not affect the rights and obligations of the Parties under the Agreement on Air Transport between Canada and the European Community and its Member States, done at Brussels on 17 December 2009 and Ottawa on 18 December 2009.

4. This Chapter does not impose an obligation on a Party with respect to a national of the other Party seeking access to its employment market, or employment on a permanent basis in its territory, or confer any right on that national with respect to that access or employment.

Article 9.3 – National treatment

1. Each Party shall accord to service suppliers and services of the other Party treatment no less favourable than that it accords, in like situations, to its own service suppliers and services.

2. For greater certainty, the treatment accorded by a Party pursuant to paragraph 1 means, with respect to a government in Canada other than at the federal level, or, with respect to a government of or in a Member State of the European Union, treatment no less favourable than the most favourable treatment accorded, in like situations, by that government to its own service suppliers and services.

Article 9.4 – Formal requirements

Article 9.3 does not prevent a Party from adopting or maintaining a measure that prescribes formal requirements in connection with the supply of a service, provided that such requirements are not applied in a manner which would constitute a means of arbitrary or unjustifiable discrimination. These measures include requirements:

  1. to obtain a licence, registration, certification, or authorisation in order to supply a service or as a membership requirement of a particular profession, such as requiring membership in a professional organisation or participation in collective compensation funds for members of professional organisations;
  2. for a service supplier to have a local agent for service or maintain a local address;
  3. to speak a national language or hold a driver's licence; or
  4. that a service supplier:
    1. post a bond or other form of financial security;
    2. establish or contribute to a trust account;
    3. maintain a particular type and amount of insurance;
    4. provide other similar guarantees; or
    5. provide access to records.

Article 9.5 - Most-favoured-nation treatment

1. Each Party shall accord to service suppliers and services of the other Party treatment no less favourable than that it accords, in like situations, to service suppliers and services of a third country.

2. For greater certainty, the treatment accorded by a Party pursuant to paragraph 1 means, with respect to a government in Canada other than at the federal level, or, with respect to a government of or in a Member State of the European Union, the treatment accorded, in like situations, by that government in its territory to services or service suppliers of a third country.

3. Paragraph 1 does not apply to treatment accorded by a Party under an existing or future measure providing for recognition, including through an arrangement or agreement with a third country that recognises the accreditation of testing and analysis services and service suppliers, the accreditation of repair and maintenance services and service suppliers, as well as the certification of the qualifications of, or the results of, or work done by, those accredited services and service suppliers.

Article 9.6 – Market access

A Party shall not adopt or maintain, on the basis of its entire territory or on the basis of the territory of a national, provincial, territorial, regional or local level of government, a measure that imposes limitations on:

  1. the number of service suppliers, whether in the form of numerical quotas, monopolies, exclusive service suppliers or the requirement of an economic needs test;
  2. the total value of service transactions or assets in the form of numerical quotas or the requirement of an economic needs test; or
  3. the total number of service operations or the total quantity of service output expressed in terms of designated numerical units in the form of quotas or the requirement of an economic needs test.

Article 9.7 – Reservations

1. Articles 9.3, 9.5 and 9.6 do not apply to:

  1. an existing non-conforming measure that is maintained by a Party at the level of:
    1. the European Union, as set out in its Schedule to Annex I;
    2. a national government, as set out by that Party in its Schedule to Annex I;
    3. a provincial, territorial, or regional government, as set out by that Party in its Schedule to Annex I; or
    4. a local government.
  2. the continuation or prompt renewal of a non-conforming measure referred to in subparagraph (a); or
  3. an amendment to a non-conforming measure referred to in subparagraph (a) to the extent that the amendment does not decrease the conformity of the measure, as it existed immediately before the amendment, with Articles 9.3, 9.5, and 9.6.

2. Articles 9.3, 9.5, and 9.6 do not apply to a measure that a Party adopts or maintains with respect to a sector, subsector or activity, as set out in its Schedule to Annex II.

Article 9.8 – Denial of benefits

A Party may deny the benefits of this Chapter to a service supplier of the other Party that is an enterprise of that Party and to services of that service supplier if:

  1. a service supplier of a third country owns or controls the enterprise; and
  2. the denying Party adopts or maintains a measure with respect to the third country that:
    1. relates to maintenance of international peace and security; and
    2. prohibits transactions with the enterprise or would be violated or circumvented if the benefits of this Chapter were accorded to the enterprise.
Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Chapitre neuf : Commerce transfrontières des services

Article 9.1 – Définitions

Pour l'application du présent chapitre :

services de réparation et de maintenance des aéronefs désigne les activités effectuées sur un aéronef ou une partie d'un aéronef pendant que celui-ci est retiré du service, et ne comprend pas la maintenance dite en ligne;

services d'exploitation d'aéroports désigne l'exploitation ou la gestion, à forfait ou sous contrat, d'infrastructures aéroportuaires, y compris les aérogares, les pistes, les voies de circulation et les aires de trafic, les aires de stationnement et les systèmes de transport intra-aéroportuaire. Il est entendu que les services d'exploitation d'aéroports ne comprennent pas la propriété d'aéroports ou de terrains aéroportuaires, les investissements dans les aéroports ou les terrains aéroportuaires, ni les fonctions exercées par un conseil d'administration. Les services d'exploitation d'aéroports ne comprennent pas les services de navigation aérienne;

services de systèmes informatisés de réservation désigne la fourniture d'un service par des systèmes informatisés qui contiennent des renseignements au sujet des horaires des transporteurs aériens, des places disponibles, des tarifs et des règles de tarification, et par l'intermédiaire desquels des réservations peuvent être effectuées ou des billets délivrés;

commerce transfrontières des services ou fourniture transfrontières des services désigne la fourniture d'un service, selon le cas :

  1. en provenance du territoire d'une Partie et à destination du territoire de l'autre Partie;
  2. sur le territoire d'une Partie à l'intention d'un consommateur de services de l'autre Partie,

mais ne comprend pas la fourniture d'un service sur le territoire d'une Partie par une personne de l'autre Partie;

services d'assistance en escale désigne la fourniture, à forfait ou sous contrat, des services suivants : assistance administrative au sol et supervision, y compris le contrôle du chargement et les communications; l'assistance "passagers"; l'assistance "bagages"; l'assistance "fret et poste"; l'assistance "opérations en piste" et "nettoyage et service de l'avion"; l'assistance "carburant et huile"; l'assistance "maintenance en ligne", l'assistance "opérations aériennes et administration des équipages"; l'assistance "transport au sol" ou l'assistance "service commissariat". Les services d'assistance en escale ne comprennent ni les services de sécurité ni l'exploitation ou la gestion d'infrastructures aéroportuaires centralisées, telles que les systèmes de traitement des bagages, les installations de dégivrage, les systèmes d'avitaillement en carburant ou les systèmes de transport intra-aéroportuaire;

vente et commercialisation des services de transport aérien désigne la possibilité pour le transporteur aérien concerné de vendre et de commercialiser librement ses services de transport aérien, y compris tous les aspects de la commercialisation tels que l'étude des marchés, la publicité et la distribution, mais ne comprend pas la tarification des services de transport aérien ni les conditions applicables;

services fournis dans l'exercice du pouvoir gouvernemental désigne tout service qui n'est fourni ni sur une base commerciale, ni en concurrence avec un ou plusieurs fournisseurs de services.

Article 9.2 – Champ d'application

1. Le présent chapitre s'applique à une mesure adoptée ou maintenue par une Partie qui affecte le commerce transfrontières des services auquel se livre un fournisseur de services de l'autre Partie, y compris une mesure qui affecte :

  1. la production, la distribution, la commercialisation, la vente et la livraison d'un service;
  2. l'achat, l'utilisation ou le paiement d'un service;
  3. l'accès et le recours, à l'occasion de la fourniture d'un service, à des services dont il est exigé qu'ils soient offerts au public en général.

2. Le présent chapitre ne s'applique pas à une mesure qui affecte, selon le cas :

  1. les services fournis dans l'exercice du pouvoir gouvernemental;
  2. en ce qui concerne l'Union européenne, les services audiovisuels;
  3. en ce qui concerne le Canada, les industries culturelles;
  4. les services financiers au sens de l'article 13.1 (Définitions);
  5. les services aériens, les services connexes de soutien aux services aériens et les autres services fournis au moyen du transport aérienNote de bas de page 1, à l'exception :
    1. des services de réparation et de maintenance des aéronefs,
    2. de la vente et commercialisation des services de transport aérien,
    3. des services de systèmes informatisés d réservation (SIR),
    4. des services d'assistance en escale,
    5. des services d'exploitation d'aéroports;
  6. l'acquisition, par une Partie, d'une marchandise ou d'un service achetés pour les besoins des pouvoirs publics et non pour être revendus dans le commerce ou pour servir à la fourniture d'une marchandise ou d'un service destinés à la vente dans le commerce, que cette acquisition constitue ou non un "marché couvert" au sens de l'article 19.2.2 (Champ d'application et portée);
  7. une subvention, ou un autre soutien public lié au commerce transfrontières des services, fourni par une Partie.

3. Le présent chapitre n'affecte pas les droits et obligations des Parties au titre de l'Accord sur le transport aérien entre le Canada et la Communauté européenne et ses États membres, fait à Bruxelles le 17 décembre 2009 et à Ottawa le 18 décembre 2009.

4. Le présent chapitre n'impose aucune obligation à une Partie en ce qui concerne un ressortissant de l'autre Partie qui cherche à accéder à son marché du travail, ou à exercer un emploi à titre permanent sur son territoire, et ne confère à ce ressortissant aucun droit en ce qui concerne cet accès ou cet emploi.

Article 9.3 – Traitement national

1. Chaque Partie accorde aux fournisseurs de services et aux services de l'autre Partie un traitement non moins favorable que celui qu'elle accorde, dans des situations similaires, à ses propres fournisseurs de services et ses propres services.

2. Il est entendu que le traitement accordé par une Partie en application du paragraphe 1 désigne, dans le cas d'un gouvernement au Canada autre qu'au niveau fédéral ou, dans le cas d'un gouvernement d'un État membre de l'Union européenne ou d'un gouvernement dans un État membre de l'Union européenne, un traitement non moins favorable que le traitement le plus favorable accordé par ce gouvernement, dans des situations similaires, à ses propres fournisseurs de services et ses propres services.

Article 9.4 – Exigences formelles

L'article 9.3 n'a pas pour effet d'empêcher une Partie d'adopter ou de maintenir une mesure qui prescrit des exigences formelles en ce qui concerne la fourniture d'un service, à la condition que ces exigences ne soient pas appliquées de façon à constituer un moyen de discrimination arbitraire ou injustifiable. Ces mesures comprennent les exigences suivantes :

  1. être inscrit dans un registre ou obtenir une licence, une certification ou une autorisation pour pouvoir fournir un service, ou à titre d'exigence pour être membre d'une profession particulière, comme l'adhésion à une organisation professionnelle ou la participation à des fonds collectifs d'indemnisation pour les membres d'organisations professionnelles;
  2. pour un fournisseur de services, avoir un agent local aux fins de la signification de documents, ou disposer d'une adresse locale;
  3. parler une langue nationale ou être titulaire d'un permis de conduire; ou
  4. pour un fournisseur de services, selon le cas :
    1. déposer une caution ou une autre forme de garantie financière,
    2. ouvrir un compte en fiducie ou effectuer des versements sur un tel compte,
    3. souscrire une assurance d'un type particulier et d'un montant donné,
    4. fournir d'autres garanties semblables,
    5. donner accès à ses dossiers.

Article 9.5 – Traitement de la nation la plus favorisée

1. Chaque Partie accorde aux fournisseurs de services et aux services de l'autre Partie un traitement non moins favorable que celui qu'elle accorde, dans des situations similaires, aux fournisseurs de services et aux services d'un pays tiers.

2. Il est entendu que le traitement accordé par une Partie en application du paragraphe 1 désigne, dans le cas d'un gouvernement au Canada autre qu'au niveau fédéral ou, dans le cas d'un gouvernement d'un État membre de l'Union européenne ou d'un gouvernement dans un État membre de l'Union européenne, le traitement accordé par ce gouvernement sur son territoire, dans des situations similaires, aux fournisseurs de services et aux services d'un pays tiers.

3. Le paragraphe 1 ne s'applique pas au traitement accordé par une Partie au titre d'une mesure existante ou future prévoyant la reconnaissance, y compris dans le cadre d'un arrangement ou d'un accord avec un pays tiers qui reconnaît les agréments des services et des fournisseurs de services d'essai et d'analyse, les agréments des services et des fournisseurs de services de réparation et de maintenance, de même que la certification des qualifications, des résultats obtenus ou des travaux réalisés dans le cadre des services et par les fournisseurs de services faisant l'objet de ces agréments.

Article 9.6 – Accès aux marchés

Une Partie n'adopte ni ne maintient, que ce soit à l'échelle de l'ensemble de son territoire ou à l'échelle du territoire d'un gouvernement au niveau national, provincial, territorial, régional ou local, une mesure qui impose des limitations concernant, selon le cas :

  1. le nombre de fournisseurs de services, que ce soit sous la forme de contingents numériques, de monopoles, de fournisseurs exclusifs de services ou de l'exigence d'un examen des besoins économiques;
  2. la valeur totale des transactions ou des avoirs en rapport avec les services, sous la forme de contingents numériques ou de l'exigence d'un examen des besoins économiques;
  3. le nombre total d'opérations de services ou la quantité totale de services produits, exprimés en unités numériques déterminées, sous la forme de contingents ou de l'exigence d'un examen des besoins économiques.

Article 9.7 – Réserves

1. Les articles 9.3, 9.5 et 9.6 ne s'appliquent pas :

  1. à une mesure non conforme existante qui est maintenue par une Partie au niveau, selon le cas :
    1. de l'Union européenne, selon ce qui est prévu dans sa liste jointe à l'annexe I,
    2. d'un gouvernement national, selon ce qui est prévu par cette Partie dans sa liste jointe à l'annexe I,
    3. d'un gouvernement provincial, territorial ou régional, selon ce qui est prévu par cette Partie dans sa liste jointe à l'annexe I,
    4. d'une administration locale.
  2. au maintien ou au prompt renouvellement d'une mesure non conforme visée à l'alinéa a);
  3. à la modification d'une mesure non conforme visée à l'alinéa a), pour autant que la modification ne diminue pas la conformité de la mesure aux articles 9.3, 9.5 et 9.6, telle qu'elle existait immédiatement avant la modification.

2. Les articles 9.3, 9.5 et 9.6 ne s'appliquent pas à une mesure qu'une Partie adopte ou maintient à l'égard d'un secteur, d'un sous-secteur ou d'une activité énumérés dans sa liste jointe à l'annexe II.

Article 9.8 – Refus d'accorder des avantages

Une Partie peut refuser d'accorder les avantages du présent chapitre à un fournisseur de services de l'autre Partie qui est une entreprise de cette Partie et aux services de ce fournisseur de services si :

  1. d'une part, un fournisseur de services d'un pays tiers détient ou contrôle l'entreprise;
  2. d'autre part, la Partie qui refuse d'accorder les avantages adopte ou maintient à l'égard du pays tiers une mesure qui :
    1. concerne le maintien de la paix et de la sécurité internationales, et
    2. interdit les transactions avec l'entreprise, ou serait enfreinte ou contournée si les avantages du présent chapitre étaient accordés à l'entreprise.
Date de modification: