Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Chapter eleven: Mutual recognition of professional qualifications

Article 11.1 – Definitions

For the purposes of this Chapter:

jurisdiction means the territory of Canada, and each of its provinces and territories, or the territory of each of the Member States of the European Union, in so far as this Agreement applies in these territories in accordance with Article 1.3 (Geographical scope of application);

negotiating entity means a person or body of a Party entitled or empowered to negotiate an agreement on the mutual recognition of professional qualifications ("MRA");

professional experience means the effective and lawful practice of a service;

professional qualifications means the qualifications attested by evidence of formal qualification and/or professional experience;

relevant authority means an authority or body, designated pursuant to legislative, regulatory or administrative provisions to recognise qualifications and authorise the practice of a profession in a jurisdiction; and

regulated profession means a service, the practice of which, including the use of a title or designation, is subject to the possession of specific qualifications by virtue of legislative, regulatory or administrative provisions.

Article 11.2 – Objectives and scope

1. This Chapter establishes a framework to facilitate a fair, transparent and consistent regime for the mutual recognition of professional qualifications by the Parties and sets out the general conditions for the negotiation of MRAs.

2. This Chapter applies to professions which are regulated in each Party, including in all or some Member States of the European Union and in all or some provinces and territories of Canada.

3. A Party shall not accord recognition in a manner that would constitute a means of discrimination in the application of its criteria for the authorisation, licensing or certification of a service supplier, or that would constitute a disguised restriction on trade in services.

4. An MRA adopted pursuant to this Chapter shall apply throughout the territories of the European Union and Canada.

Article 11.3 – Negotiation of an MRA

1. Each Party shall encourage its relevant authorities or professional bodies, as appropriate, to develop and provide to the Joint Committee on Mutual Recognition of Professional Qualifications ("MRA Committee") established under Article 26.2.1(b) joint recommendations on proposed MRAs.

2. A recommendation shall provide an assessment of the potential value of an MRA, on the basis of criteria such as the existing level of market openness, industry needs, and business opportunities, for example, the number of professionals likely to benefit from the MRA, the existence of other MRAs in the sector, and expected gains in terms of economic and business development. In addition, it shall provide an assessment as to the compatibility of the licensing or qualification regimes of the Parties and the intended approach for the negotiation of an MRA.

3. The MRA Committee shall, within a reasonable period of time, review the recommendation with a view to ensuring its consistency with the requirements of this Chapter. If these requirements are satisfied, the MRA Committee shall establish the necessary steps to negotiate and each Party shall inform its respective relevant authorities of these steps.

4. The negotiating entities shall thereafter pursue the negotiation and submit a draft MRA text to the MRA Committee.

5. The MRA Committee will thereafter review the draft MRA to ensure its consistency with this Agreement.

6. If in the view of the MRA Committee the MRA is consistent with this Agreement, the MRA Committee shall adopt the MRA by means of a decision, which is conditional upon subsequent notification to the MRA Committee by each Party of the fulfilment of its respective internal requirements. The decision becomes binding on the Parties upon that notification to the MRA Committee by each Party.

Article 11.4 – Recognition

1. The recognition of professional qualifications provided by an MRA shall allow the service supplier to practice professional activities in the host jurisdiction, in accordance with the terms and conditions specified in the MRA.

2. If the professional qualifications of a service supplier of a Party are recognised by the other Party pursuant to an MRA, the relevant authorities of the host jurisdiction shall accord to this service supplier treatment no less favourable than that accorded in like situations to a like service supplier whose professional qualifications have been certified or attested in the Party's own jurisdiction.

3. Recognition under an MRA cannot be conditioned upon:

  1. a service supplier meeting a citizenship or any form of residency requirement; or
  2. a service supplier's education, experience or training having been acquired in the Party's own jurisdiction.

Article 11.5 – Joint Committee on Mutual Recognition of Professional Qualifications

The MRA Committee responsible for the implementation of Article 11.3 shall:

  1. be composed of and co-chaired by representatives of Canada and the European Union, which must be different from the relevant authorities or professional bodies referred to in Article 11.3.1. A list of those representatives shall be confirmed through an exchange of letters;
  2. meet within one year after this Agreement enters into force, and thereafter as necessary or as decided;
  3. determine its own rules of procedure;
  4. facilitate the exchange of information regarding laws, regulations, policies and practices concerning standards or criteria for the authorisation, licensing or certification of regulated professions;
  5. make publicly available information regarding the negotiation and implementation of MRAs;
  6. report to the CETA Joint Committee on the progress of the negotiation and implementation of MRAs; and
  7. as appropriate, provide information and complement the guidelines set out in Annex 11-A.

Article 11.6 – Guidelines for the negotiation and conclusion of MRAs

As part of the framework to achieve mutual recognition of qualifications, the Parties set out in Annex 11-A non-binding guidelines with respect to the negotiation and conclusion of MRAs.

Article 11.7 – Contact points

Each Party shall establish one or more contact points for the administration of this Chapter.

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Chapitre onze : Reconnaissance mutuelle des qualifications professionnelles

Article 11.1 – Définitions

Pour l'application du présent chapitre :

juridiction désigne le territoire du Canada, et de chaque province et territoire du Canada, ou le territoire de chacun des États membres de l'Union européenne, dans la mesure où le présent accord s'applique à ces territoires conformément à l'article 1.3 (Champ d'application géographique);

entité de négociation désigne une personne ou un organisme d'une Partie qui est autorisé ou habilité à négocier un accord de reconnaissance mutuelle des qualifications professionnelles ("ARM");

expérience professionnelle désigne l'exercice effectif et licite d'un service;

qualifications professionnelles désigne les qualifications attestées par un titre de formation et/ou une expérience professionnelle;

autorité compétente désigne une autorité ou un organisme chargé en vertu de dispositions législatives, réglementaires ou administratives de reconnaître les qualifications et d'autoriser l'exercice d'une profession dans une juridiction;

profession réglementée désigne un service dont l'exercice, y compris l'utilisation d'un titre ou d'une désignation, est subordonné, en vertu de dispositions législatives, réglementaires ou administratives, à la possession de qualifications déterminées.

Article 11.2 – Objectifs et champ d'application

1. Le présent chapitre établit un cadre visant à favoriser un régime équitable, transparent et cohérent en matière de reconnaissance mutuelle des qualifications professionnelles par les Parties, et énonce les conditions générales concernant la négociation d'ARM.

2. Le présent chapitre s'applique aux professions qui sont réglementées dans chaque Partie, y compris dans l'ensemble ou une partie des États membres de l'Union européenne, et dans l'ensemble ou une partie des provinces et territoires du Canada.

3. Une Partie n'accorde pas la reconnaissance d'une manière qui constituerait un moyen de discrimination dans l'application de ses critères concernant la délivrance d'autorisations, de licences ou de certificats aux fournisseurs de services, ou une restriction déguisée au commerce des services.

4. Un ARM adopté en application du présent chapitre s'applique à l'ensemble des territoires de l'Union européenne et du Canada.

Article 11.3 – Négociation d'un ARM

1. Chaque Partie encourage ses autorités compétentes ou ses organismes professionnels, selon le cas, à élaborer et à fournir au Comité mixte de la reconnaissance mutuelle des qualifications professionnelles (le "Comité des ARM") créé en application de l'article 26.2.1b) des recommandations conjointes concernant des ARM proposés.

2. Une recommandation fait état d'une estimation de la valeur potentielle d'un ARM, fondée sur des critères tels que le degré existant d'ouverture du marché, les besoins du secteur d'activité et les occasions d'affaires, par exemple le nombre de professionnels susceptibles de tirer parti de l'ARM, l'existence d'autres ARM dans le secteur et les gains escomptés au niveau du développement économique et commercial. Elle contient en outre une appréciation de la compatibilité des régimes de délivrance de licences ou de qualification des Parties et de l'approche prévue pour la négociation d'un ARM.

3. Le Comité des ARM examine, dans un délai raisonnable, la recommandation en vue de s'assurer qu'elle est conforme aux exigences du présent chapitre. Lorsque ces exigences sont remplies, le Comité des ARM détermine les étapes nécessaires de la négociation, et chaque Partie informe ses autorités compétentes respectives des étapes en question.

4. Par la suite, les entités de négociation poursuivent la négociation et elles soumettent le texte du projet d'ARM au Comité des ARM.

5. Le Comité des ARM révisera ensuite le projet d'ARM afin de s'assurer de sa conformité au présent accord.

6. S'il estime que l'ARM est conforme au présent accord, le Comité des ARM adopte l'ARM par voie de décision, laquelle est subordonnée à la notification ultérieure au Comité des ARM, par chaque Partie, de l'accomplissement de ses formalités internes. La décision devient contraignante pour les Parties dès la transmission de cette notification par chaque Partie au Comité des ARM.

Article 11.4 – Reconnaissance

1. La reconnaissance des qualifications professionnelles prévue par un ARM permet au fournisseur de services d'exercer des activités professionnelles dans la juridiction hôte conformément aux modalités et conditions spécifiées dans l'ARM.

2. Lorsque les qualifications professionnelles d'un fournisseur de services d'une Partie sont reconnues par l'autre Partie conformément à un ARM, les autorités compétentes de la juridiction hôte accordent à ce fournisseur de services un traitement non moins favorable que celui qui est accordé dans des situations similaires à un fournisseur de services similaire dont les qualifications professionnelles ont fait l'objet d'une certification ou d'une attestation dans la juridiction même de la Partie.

3. La reconnaissance au titre d'un ARM ne peut être subordonnée :

  1. au respect par un fournisseur de services d'une exigence de citoyenneté ou d'une quelconque exigence de résidence;
  2. à l'exigence que le fournisseur de services ait fait ses études ou ait acquis son expérience ou sa formation dans la juridiction même de la Partie.

Article 11.5 – Comité mixte de la reconnaissance mutuelle des qualifications professionnelles

Le Comité des ARM responsable de la mise en œuvre de l'article 11.3 :

  1. est composé de représentants du Canada et de l'Union européenne et présidé conjointement par ceux-ci, lesquels doivent être différents des autorités compétentes ou des organismes professionnels visés à l'article 11.3.1. La liste de ces représentants est confirmée par un échange de lettres;
  2. se réunit dans l'année qui suit l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord et, par la suite, lorsque cela est nécessaire ou décidé;
  3. arrête lui-même ses propres règles de procédure;
  4. facilite l'échange d'informations sur les lois, les règlements, les politiques et les pratiques concernant les normes ou les critères applicables à la délivrance d'autorisations, de licences ou de certificats pour les professions réglementées;
  5. rend accessibles au public des renseignements sur la négociation et la mise en œuvre d'ARM;
  6. présente au Comité mixte de l'AECG des rapports sur l'avancement de la négociation et de la mise en œuvre d'ARM;
  7. s'il y a lieu, fournit des informations et complète les lignes directrices énoncées à l'annexe 11-A.

Article 11.6 – Lignes directrices sur la négociation et la conclusion d'ARM

Les Parties énoncent à l'annexe 11-A des lignes directrices non contraignantes concernant la négociation et la conclusion d'ARM, lesquelles s'inscrivent dans le cadre visant à réaliser la reconnaissance mutuelle des qualifications.

Article 11.7 – Points de contact

Chaque Partie désigne un ou plusieurs points de contact aux fins de l'administration du présent chapitre.

Date de modification: