Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Chapter fourteen: International maritime transport services

Article 14.1 – Definitions

For the purposes of this Chapter:

customs clearance services or customs house brokers' services means the carrying out, on a fee or contract basis, of customs formalities concerning import, export or through transport of cargo, irrespective of whether these services are the main or secondary activity of the service provider;

container station and depot services means the storage, stuffing, stripping or repair of containers and making them available for shipment, whether in port areas or inland;

door-to-door or multimodal transport operation means the transport of cargo under a single transport document, that uses more than one mode of transport and involves an international sea-leg;

feeder services means the pre- and onward transportation by sea of international cargo, including containerised, break bulk and dry or liquid bulk cargo, between ports located in the territory of a Party. For greater certainty, in respect of Canada, feeder services may include transportation between sea and inland waters, where inland waters means those defined in the Customs Act, R.S.C. 1985, c.1 (2nd Supp.);

international cargo means cargo transported by sea-going vessels between a port of a Party and a port of the other Party or of a third country, or between a port of one Member State of the European Union and a port of another Member State of the European Union;

international maritime transport services means the transport of passengers or cargo by a sea-going vessel between a port of one Party and a port of the other Party or of a third country, or between a port of one Member State of the European Union and a port of another Member State of the European Union, as well as direct contracting with suppliers of other transport services to ensure door-to-door or multimodal transport operations, but not the supply of such other transport services;

international maritime transport service suppliers means:

  1. an enterprise of a Party, as defined in Article 1.1 (Definitions of general application), and a branch of any such entity; or
  2. an enterprise, as defined in Article 1.1 (Definitions of general application), of a third country owned or controlled by nationals of a Party, if its vessels are registered in accordance with the legislation of that Party and flying the flag of that Party; or
  3. a branch of an enterprise of a third country with substantive business operations in the territory of a Party, that is engaged in the supply of international maritime transport services. For greater certainty, Chapter Eight (Investment) does not apply to such a branch;

maritime agency services means the representation, as an agent, within a given geographic area, of the business interests of one or more shipping lines or shipping companies, for the following purposes:

  1. marketing and sales of maritime transport and related services, from quotation to invoicing, issuance of bills of lading on behalf of the companies, acquisition and resale of the necessary related services, preparation of documentation, and provision of business information; and
  2. acting on behalf of the companies in organising the call of the vessel or taking control of cargo when required;

maritime auxiliary services means maritime cargo handling services, customs clearance services, container station and depot services, maritime agency services, maritime freight forwarding services, and storage and warehousing services;

maritime cargo handling services means the performance, organisation and supervision of:

  1. the loading or discharging of cargo to or from a vessel,
  2. the lashing or unlashing of cargo, and
  3. the reception or delivery and safekeeping of cargo before shipment or after discharge,

by stevedoring or terminal operator companies, but does not include work performed by dock labour, when this workforce is organised independently of stevedoring or terminal operator companies;

maritime freight forwarding services means the organisation and monitoring of shipments on behalf of shippers, through the supply of such services as the arrangement of transport and related services, consolidation and packing of cargo, preparation of documentation and provision of business information;

storage and warehousing services means storage services of frozen or refrigerated goods, bulk storage services of liquids or gases, and other storage or warehousing services.

Article 14.2 – Scope

1. This Chapter applies to a measure adopted or maintained by a Party relating to the supply of international maritime transport services.Footnote 1 For greater certainty, such measure is also subject to Chapters Eight (Investment) and Nine (Cross-Border Trade in Services), as applicable.

2. For greater certainty, further to Articles 8.6 (National treatment), 8.7 (Most-favoured-nation treatment), 9.3 (National treatment), and 9.5 (Most-favoured-nation treatment), a Party shall not adopt or maintain a measure in respect of:

  1. a vessel supplying an international maritime transport service and flying the flag of the other Party;Footnote 2 or
  2. an international maritime transport service supplier of the other Party,

that accords treatment that is less favourable than that accorded by that Party in like situations to its own vessels or international maritime transport service suppliers or to vessels or international maritime transport service suppliers of a third country with regard to:

  1. access to ports;
  2. the use of infrastructure and services of ports such as towage and pilotage;
  3. the use of maritime auxiliary services as well as the imposition of related fees and charges;
  4. access to customs facilities; or
  5. the assignment of berths and facilities for loading and unloading.Footnote 3

Article 14.3 – Obligations

1. Each Party shall permit the international maritime transport service suppliers of the other Party to re-position owned or leased empty containers that are carried on a non-revenue basis between the ports of that Party.

2. A Party shall permit the international maritime transport service suppliers of the other Party to supply feeder services between the ports of that Party.

3. A Party shall not adopt or maintain a cargo-sharing arrangement with a third country concerning any international maritime transport services, including dry and liquid bulk and liner trades.

4. A Party shall not adopt or maintain a measure that requires all or part of any international cargo to be transported exclusively by vessels registered in that Party or owned or controlled by nationals of that Party.

5. A Party shall not adopt or maintain a measure that prevents international maritime transport service suppliers of the other Party from directly contracting with other transport service suppliers for door-to-door or multimodal transport operations.

Article 14.4 – Reservations

1. Article 14.3 does not apply to:

  1. an existing non-conforming measure that is maintained by a Party at the level of:
    1. the European Union, as set out in its Schedule to Annex I;
    2. a national government, as set out by that Party in its Schedule to Annex I;
    3. a provincial, territorial or regional government, as set out by that Party in its Schedule to Annex I; or
    4. a local government;
  2. the continuation or prompt renewal of a non-conforming measure referred to in subparagraph (a); or
  3. an amendment to a non-conforming measure referred to in subparagraph (a) to the extent that the amendment does not decrease the conformity of the measure, as it existed immediately before the amendment, with Article 14.3.

2. Article 14.3 does not apply to a measure that a Party adopts or maintains with respect to sectors, subsectors or activities, as set out in its Schedule to Annex II.

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Chapitre quatorze : Services de transport maritime international

Article 14.1 – Définitions

Pour l'application du présent chapitre :

services de dédouanement ou services de courtage en douane désigne l'accomplissement, à forfait ou sous contrat, de formalités douanières relatives à l'importation, à l'exportation ou au transport de bout en bout de fret, indépendamment du fait que ces services constituent l'activité principale ou secondaire du fournisseur de services;

services de dépôt et d'entreposage des conteneurs désigne l'entreposage, l'empotage, le dépotage ou la réparation des conteneurs et leur préparation en vue de l'expédition, que ce soit dans une zone portuaire ou à terre;

opération de transport de porte à porte ou multimodal désigne le transport de fret sous un document de transport unique, qui fait appel à plus d'un mode de transport et comprend une étape maritime internationale;

services de collecte désigne le pré- et post-acheminement de fret international par voie maritime, y compris de fret conteneurisé, de cargaisons fractionnées et de cargaisons de vrac sec ou liquide, entre les ports situés sur le territoire d'une Partie. Il est entendu qu'en ce qui concerne le Canada, les services de collecte peuvent comprendre l'acheminement entre la mer et les eaux internes, lorsque les eaux internes sont celles définies dans la Loi sur les douanes, L.R.C. (1985), c. 1 (2e suppl.)

fret international désigne le fret transporté par des navires de mer entre un port d'une Partie et un port de l'autre Partie ou d'un pays tiers, ou entre un port d'un État membre de l'Union européenne et un port d'un autre État membre de l'Union européenne;

services de transport maritime international désigne le transport de passagers ou de fret au moyen d'un navire de mer entre un port d'une Partie et un port de l'autre Partie ou d'un pays tiers, ou entre un port d'un État membre de l'Union européenne et un port d'un autre État membre de l'Union européenne, ainsi que la passation de contrats directs avec des fournisseurs d'autres services de transport pour assurer des opérations de transport de porte à porte ou multimodal, mais non la fourniture de ces autres services de transport;

fournisseurs de services de transport maritime international désigne, selon le cas :

  1. une entreprise d'une Partie, au sens de l'article 1.1 (Définitions d'application générale), et une succursale d'une telle entité;
  2. une entreprise, au sens de l'article 1.1 (Définitions d'application générale), d'un pays tiers qui est détenue ou contrôlée par des ressortissants d'une Partie, si ses navires sont immatriculés conformément à la législation de cette Partie et battent pavillon de cette Partie;
  3. une succursale d'une entreprise d'un pays tiers effectuant des opérations commerciales substantielles sur le territoire d'une Partie, qui est engagée dans la fourniture de services de transport maritime international. Il est entendu que le chapitre Huit (Investissement) ne s'applique pas à une telle succursale;

services d'agence maritime désigne la représentation en qualité d'agent, dans une région géographique donnée, des intérêts commerciaux d'une ou plusieurs lignes ou compagnies de navigation, aux fins suivantes :

  1. la commercialisation et la vente de services de transport maritime et de services connexes, depuis la remise de l'offre jusqu'à la facturation, ainsi que la délivrance du connaissement au nom des compagnies, l'achat et la revente des services connexes nécessaires, la préparation des documents et la fourniture d'informations commerciales;
  2. la représentation des compagnies lors de l'organisation des escales ou, au besoin, la prise en charge du fret;

services maritimes auxiliaires désigne les services de manutention de fret maritime, les services de dédouanement, les services de dépôt et d'entreposage des conteneurs, les services d'agence maritime, les services d'expédition de fret maritime et les services de stockage et d'entreposage;

services de manutention de fret maritime désigne l'exécution, l'organisation et la supervision :

  1. du chargement du fret sur un navire ou du déchargement du fret d'un navire,
  2. de l'arrimage ou du désarrimage du fret, et
  3. de la réception ou de la livraison et de la conservation en lieu sûr du fret avant l'expédition ou après le déchargement,

par des entreprises de manutention ou des exploitants de terminaux, à l'exclusion du travail effectué par les dockers, lorsque cette main-d'œuvre est organisée indépendamment des entreprises de manutention ou des exploitants de terminaux;

services d'expédition de fret maritime désigne les activités consistant à organiser et à surveiller les opérations d'expédition au nom des expéditeurs, en fournissant des services tels que l'organisation du transport et des services connexes, le groupage et l'emballage du fret, la préparation des documents et la fourniture d'informations commerciales;

services de stockage et d'entreposage désigne les services de stockage de marchandises surgelées ou réfrigérées, les services de stockage en vrac de liquides ou de gaz, et autres services de stockage ou d'entreposage.

Article 14.2 – Champ d'application

1. Le présent chapitre s'applique à une mesure adoptée ou maintenue par une Partie concernant la fourniture de services de transport maritime internationalNote de bas de page 1. Il est entendu qu'une telle mesure est aussi soumise aux dispositions applicables des chapitres Huit (Investissement) et Neuf (Commerce transfrontières des services), le cas échéant.

2. Il est entendu que, conformément aux articles 8.6 (Traitement national), 8.7 (Traitement de la nation la plus favorisée), 9.3 (Traitement national) et 9.5 (Traitement de la nation la plus favorisée), une Partie n'adopte ni ne maintient de mesure à l'égard :

  1. d'un navire fournissant un service de transport maritime international qui bat pavillon de l'autre PartieNote de bas de page 2, ou
  2. d'un fournisseur de services de transport maritime international de l'autre Partie,

qui accorde un traitement moins favorable que celui accordé par cette Partie, dans des situations similaires, à ses propres navires ou fournisseurs de services de transport maritime international, ou aux navires ou fournisseurs de services de transport maritime international d'un pays tiers, en ce qui concerne :

  1. l'accès aux ports;
  2. l'utilisation des infrastructures et des services des ports, tels que le remorquage et le pilotage;
  3. l'utilisation des services maritimes auxiliaires et l'imposition des droits et redevances connexes;
  4. l'accès aux installations douanières; ou
  5. l'attribution des postes de mouillage et des installations de chargement et de déchargementNote de bas de page 3.

Article 14.3 – Obligations

1. Chaque Partie permet aux fournisseurs de services de transport maritime international de l'autre Partie de redéployer les conteneurs vides, loués ou leur appartenant, qui sont transportés sur une base non commerciale entre les ports de cette Partie.

2. Une Partie permet aux fournisseurs de services de transport maritime international de l'autre Partie de fournir des services de collecte entre les ports de cette Partie.

3. Une Partie n'adopte ni ne maintient d'arrangement en matière de partage des cargaisons avec un pays tiers concernant les services de transport maritime international, y compris le trafic de vrac sec et liquide et le trafic de ligne.

4. Une Partie n'adopte ni ne maintient de mesure prescrivant que l'ensemble ou une partie du fret international doive être transporté exclusivement par des navires qui sont immatriculés dans cette Partie, ou qui sont détenus ou contrôlés par des ressortissants de cette Partie.

5. Une Partie n'adopte ni ne maintient de mesure empêchant les fournisseurs de services de transport maritime international de l'autre Partie de conclure des contrats directs avec d'autres fournisseurs de services de transport aux fins d'opérations de transport de porte à porte ou multimodal.

Article 14.4 – Réserves

1. L'article 14.3 ne s'applique pas :

  1. à une mesure non conforme existante qui est maintenue par une Partie au niveau, selon le cas :
    1. de l'Union européenne, selon ce qui est prévu dans sa liste jointe à l'annexe I,
    2. d'un gouvernement national, selon ce qui est prévu par cette Partie dans sa liste jointe à l'annexe I,
    3. d'un gouvernement provincial, territorial ou régional, selon ce qui est prévu par cette Partie dans sa liste jointe à l'annexe I,
    4. d'une administration locale;
  2. au maintien ou au prompt renouvellement d'une mesure non conforme visée à l'alinéa a);
  3. à la modification d'une mesure non conforme visée à l'alinéa a), pour autant que la modification ne diminue pas la conformité de la mesure, telle qu'elle existait immédiatement avant la modification, à l'article 14.3.

2. L'article 14.3 ne s'applique pas à une mesure qu'une Partie adopte ou maintient à l'égard des secteurs, sous-secteurs ou activités énumérés dans sa liste jointe à l'annexe II.

Date de modification: