Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Chapter seventeen: Competition policy

Article 17.1 – Definitions

For the purposes of this Chapter:

anti-competitive business conduct means anti-competitive agreements, concerted practices or arrangements by competitors, anti-competitive practices by an enterprise that is dominant in a market, and mergers with substantial anti-competitive effects; and,

service of general economic interest means, for the European Union, a service that cannot be provided satisfactorily and under conditions, such as price, objective quality characteristics, continuity, and access to the service, consistent with the public interest, by an undertaking operating under normal market conditions. The operation of a service of general economic interest must be entrusted to one or more undertakings by the state by way of a public service assignment that defines the obligations of the undertakings in question and of the state.

Article 17.2 – Competition policy

1. The Parties recognise the importance of free and undistorted competition in their trade relations. The Parties acknowledge that anti-competitive business conduct has the potential to distort the proper functioning of markets and undermine the benefits of trade liberalisation.

2. The Parties shall take appropriate measures to proscribe anti-competitive business conduct, recognising that such measures will enhance the fulfilment of the objectives of this Agreement.

3. The Parties shall cooperate on matters relating to the proscription of anti-competitive business conduct in the free trade area in accordance with the Agreement between the European Communities and the Government of Canada Regarding the Application of their Competition Laws, done at Bonn on 17 June 1999.

4. The measures referred to in paragraph 2 shall be consistent with the principles of transparency, non-discrimination, and procedural fairness. Exclusions from the application of competition law shall be transparent. A Party shall make available to the other Party public information concerning such exclusions provided under its competition law.

Article 17.3 – Application of competition policy to enterprises

1. A Party shall ensure that the measures referred to in Article 17.2.2 apply to the Parties to the extent required by its law.

2. For greater certainty:

  1. in Canada, the Competition Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-34 is binding on and applies to an agent of Her Majesty in right of Canada, or of a province, that is a corporation, in respect of commercial activities engaged in by the corporation in competition, whether actual or potential, with other persons to the extent that it would apply if the agent were not an agent of Her Majesty. Such an agent may include state enterprises, monopolies, and enterprises granted special or exclusive rights or privileges; and
  2. in the European Union, state enterprises, monopolies, and enterprises granted special rights or privileges are subject to the European Union's rules on competition. However, enterprises entrusted with the operation of services of general economic interest or having the character of a revenue-producing monopoly are subject to these rules, in so far as the application of these rules does not obstruct the performance, in law or in fact, of the particular tasks assigned to them.

Article 17.4 – Dispute settlement

Nothing in this Chapter shall be subject to any form of dispute settlement pursuant to this Agreement.

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Chapitre dix-sept : Politique de la concurrence

Article 17.1 – Définitions

Pour l'application du présent chapitre :

comportement commercial anticoncurrentiel désigne les accords, pratiques concertées ou arrangements anticoncurrentiels entre concurrents, les pratiques anticoncurrentielles d'une entreprise occupant une position dominante sur un marché ainsi que les fusions ayant des effets anticoncurrentiels substantiels;

service d'intérêt économique général désigne, dans le cas de l'Union européenne, un service ne pouvant être fourni de manière satisfaisante et dans des conditions, telles que le prix, les caractéristiques de qualité objectives, la continuité et l'accès au service, compatibles avec l'intérêt général, par une entreprise exerçant ses activités dans des conditions normales de marché. L'exploitation d'un service d'intérêt économique général doit être confiée par l'État à une ou plusieurs entreprises au moyen d'une attribution de service public définissant les obligations des entreprises concernées et celles de l'État.

Article 17.2 – Politique de la concurrence

1. Les Parties admettent l'importance d'une concurrence libre et non faussée dans leurs relations commerciales. Les Parties reconnaissent que les comportements commerciaux anticoncurrentiels sont susceptibles de fausser le bon fonctionnement des marchés et de réduire les avantages découlant de la libéralisation des échanges.

2. Les Parties prennent les mesures appropriées pour prohiber les comportements commerciaux anticoncurrentiels, reconnaissant que de telles mesures favoriseront la réalisation des objectifs du présent accord.

3. Les Parties coopèrent sur les questions ayant trait à la prohibition des comportements commerciaux anticoncurrentiels dans la zone de libre-échange conformément à l'Accord entre les Communautés européennes et le gouvernement du Canada concernant l'application de leur droit de la concurrence, fait à Bonn le 17 juin 1999.

4. Les mesures visées au paragraphe 2 sont conformes aux principes de la transparence, de la non-discrimination et de l'équité procédurale. Toute exclusion de l'application du droit de la concurrence s'effectue de façon transparente. Une Partie met à la disposition de l'autre Partie l'information publique concernant de telles exclusions prévues par son droit de la concurrence.

Article 17.3 – Application de la politique de la concurrence aux entreprises

1. Chaque Partie fait en sorte que les mesures visées à l'article 17.2.2 s'appliquent aux Parties dans la mesure requise par son droit.

2. Il est entendu que :

  1. au Canada, les personnes morales mandataires de Sa Majesté du chef du Canada ou d'une province sont, au même titre que si elles n'étaient pas des mandataires de Sa Majesté, liées par la Loi sur la concurrence, L.R.C. 1985, ch. C-34, et assujetties à son application à l'égard des activités commerciales qu'elles exercent en concurrence, réelle ou potentielle, avec d'autres personnes. De tels mandataires peuvent comprendre les entreprises d'État, les monopoles et les entreprises bénéficiant de droits ou de privilèges spéciaux ou exclusifs;
  2. dans l'Union européenne, les entreprises d'État, les monopoles et les entreprises bénéficiant de droits ou de privilèges spéciaux sont assujettis aux règles de l'Union européenne en matière de concurrence. Toutefois, les entreprises qui sont chargées de l'exploitation de services d'intérêt économique général ou qui présentent le caractère d'un monopole fiscal sont soumises à ces règles dans la mesure où l'application de ces dernières ne fait pas échec à l'accomplissement, en droit ou en fait, de la mission particulière qui leur a été confiée.

Article 17.4 – Règlement des différends

Les dispositions du présent chapitre ne sont soumises à aucune des procédures de règlement des différends prévues dans le présent accord.

Date de modification: