Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Chapter eighteen: State enterprises, monopolies, and enterprises granted special rights or privileges

Article 18.1 – Definitions

For the purposes of this Chapter:

covered entity means:

  1. a monopoly;
  2. a supplier of a good or service, if it is one of a small number of goods or services suppliers authorised or established by a Party, formally or in effect, and the Party substantially prevents competition among those suppliers in its territory;
  3. any entity to which a Party has granted, formally or in effect, special rights or privileges to supply a good or service, substantially affecting the ability of any other enterprise to supply the same good or service in the same geographical area under substantially equivalent conditions, and allowing the entity to escape, in whole or in part, competitive pressures or market constraints;Footnote 1 or
  4. a state enterprise;

designate means to establish or authorise a monopoly, or to expand the scope of a monopoly to cover an additional good or service;

in accordance with commercial considerations means consistent with customary business practices of a privately held enterprise in the relevant business or industry; and

non-discriminatory treatment means the better of national treatment and most-favoured-nation treatment as set out in this Agreement.

Article 18.2 – Scope

1. The Parties confirm their rights and obligations under Articles XVII:1 through XVII:3 of the GATT 1994, the Understanding on the Interpretation of Article XVII of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade 1994, and Articles VIII:1 and VIII:2 of GATS, all of which are hereby incorporated into and made part of this Agreement.

2. This Chapter does not apply to the procurement by a Party of a good or service purchased for governmental purposes and not with a view to commercial resale or with a view to use in the supply of a good or service for commercial sale, whether or not that procurement is a "covered procurement" within the meaning of Article 19.2 (Scope and coverage).

3. Articles 18.4 and 18.5 do not apply to the sectors set out in Article 8.2 (Scope) and Article 9.2 (Scope).

4. Articles 18.4 and 18.5 do not apply to a measure of a covered entity if a reservation of a Party, taken against a national treatment or most-favoured nation treatment obligation, as set out in that Party's Schedule to Annex I, II, or III, would be applicable if the same measure had been adopted or maintained by that Party.

Article 18.3 – State enterprises, monopolies and enterprises granted special rights or privileges

1. Without prejudice to the Parties' rights and obligations under this Agreement, nothing in this Chapter prevents a Party from designating or maintaining a state enterprise or a monopoly or from granting an enterprise special rights or privileges.

2. A Party shall not require or encourage a covered entity to act in a manner inconsistent with this Agreement.

Article 18.4 – Non-discriminatory treatment

1. Each Party shall ensure that in its territory a covered entity accords non-discriminatory treatment to a covered investment, to a good of the other Party, or to a service supplier of the other Party in the purchase or sale of a good or service.

2. If a covered entity described in paragraphs (b) through (d) of the definition of "covered entity" in Article 18.1 acts in accordance with Article 18.5.1, the Party in whose territory the covered entity is located shall be deemed to be in compliance with the obligations set out in paragraph 1 in respect of that covered entity.

Article 18.5 – Commercial considerations

1. Each Party shall ensure that a covered entity in its territory acts in accordance with commercial considerations in the purchase or sale of goods, including with regard to price, quality, availability, marketability, transportation, and other terms and conditions of purchase or sale, as well as in the purchase or supply of services, including when such goods or services are supplied to or by an investment of an investor of the other Party.

2. Provided that a covered entity's conduct is consistent with Article 18.4 and Chapter Seventeen (Competition Policy), the obligation contained in paragraph 1 does not apply:

  1. in the case of a monopoly, to the fulfilment of the purpose for which the monopoly has been created or for which special rights or privileges have been granted, such as a public service obligation or regional development; or,
  2. in the case of a state enterprise, to the fulfilment of its public mandate.
Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Chapitre dix-huit : Entreprises d'état, monopoles et entreprises bénéficiant de droits ou de privilèges spéciaux       

Article 18.1 – Définitions

Pour l'application du présent chapitre :

entité visée désigne, selon le cas :

  1. un monopole;
  2. un fournisseur d'une marchandise ou d'un service lorsque celui-ci fait partie d'un petit nombre de fournisseurs de marchandises ou de services autorisés ou établis par une Partie, en droit ou en fait, et que la Partie empêche substantiellement la concurrence entre ces fournisseurs sur son territoire;
  3. toute entité à laquelle une Partie a accordé, en droit ou en fait, des droits ou des privilèges spéciaux concernant la fourniture d'une marchandise ou d'un service, lesquels affectent substantiellement la capacité de toute autre entreprise de fournir la même marchandise ou le même service dans la même région géographique dans des conditions substantiellement équivalentes, et permettent à l'entité d'échapper, entièrement ou partiellement, aux pressions concurrentielles ou aux contraintes du marchéNote de bas de page 1;
  4. une entreprise d'État;

désigner s'entend du fait d'établir ou d'autoriser un monopole, ou d'élargir la portée d'un monopole pour couvrir une marchandise ou un service additionnel;

en s'inspirant de considérations d'ordre commercial désigne le fait d'être conforme aux usages commerciaux ordinaires d'une entreprise privée de la branche ou du secteur d'activité concernés;

traitement non discriminatoire désigne le traitement le plus avantageux entre le traitement national et le traitement de la nation la plus favorisée tels qu'ils sont définis dans le présent accord.

Article 18.2 – Champ d'application

1. Les Parties confirment leurs droits et obligations au titre des articles XVII:1 à XVII:3 du GATT de 1994, du Mémorandum d'accord sur l'interprétation de l'article XVII de l'Accord général sur les tarifs douaniers et le commerce de 1994 ainsi que des articles VIII:1 et VIII:2 de l'AGCS, lesquels sont tous incorporés au présent accord et en font partie intégrante.

2. Le présent chapitre ne s'applique pas à l'acquisition, par une Partie, de marchandises ou de services achetés pour les besoins des pouvoirs publics et non pas pour être revendus dans le commerce ou pour servir à la fourniture de marchandises ou de services destinés à la vente dans le commerce, que cette acquisition constitue ou non un "marché couvert" au sens de l'article 19.2 (Champ d'application et portée).

3. Les articles 18.4 et 18.5 ne s'appliquent pas aux secteurs énumérés aux articles 8.2 (Champ d'application) et 9.2 (Champ d'application).

4. Les articles 18.4 et 18.5 ne s'appliquent pas à une mesure d'une entité visée si une réserve d'une Partie relative à l'obligation de traitement national ou de traitement de la nation la plus favorisée, telle qu'elle figure dans la liste de cette Partie jointe aux annexes I, II ou III, serait applicable si la même mesure avait été adoptée ou maintenue par cette Partie.

Article 18.3 – Entreprises d'État, monopoles et entreprises bénéficiant de droits ou de privilèges spéciaux

1. Sans préjudice des droits et obligations des Parties au titre du présent accord, aucune disposition du présent chapitre n'a pour effet d'empêcher une Partie de désigner ou de maintenir une entreprise d'État ou un monopole, ou d'accorder des droits ou des privilèges spéciaux à une entreprise.

2. Une Partie n'oblige pas et n'encourage pas une entité visée à agir d'une manière incompatible avec le présent accord.

Article 18.4 – Traitement non discriminatoire

1. Chaque Partie fait en sorte que, sur son territoire, une entité visée accorde un traitement non discriminatoire à un investissement visé, à une marchandise de l'autre Partie ou à un fournisseur de services de l'autre Partie lors de l'achat ou de la vente d'une marchandise ou d'un service.

2. Si une entité visée décrite aux paragraphes b) à d) de la définition donnée à l'article 18.1 agit conformément à l'article 18.5.1, la Partie sur le territoire de laquelle l'entité visée est située est réputée respecter les obligations énoncées au paragraphe 1 en ce qui concerne cette entité.

Article 18.5 – Considérations d'ordre commercial

1. Chaque Partie fait en sorte qu'une entité visée située sur son territoire agisse en s'inspirant de considérations d'ordre commercial lors de l'achat ou de la vente de marchandises, notamment en ce qui concerne le prix, la qualité, les quantités disponibles, les qualités marchandes, les transports et les autres modalités et conditions d'achat ou de vente, ainsi que lors de l'achat ou de la fourniture de services, y compris dans les cas où ces marchandises ou services sont fournis à ou par un investissement d'un investisseur de l'autre Partie.

2. Pour autant que le comportement d'une entité visée soit conforme à l'article 18.4 et au chapitre Dix-sept (Politique de la concurrence), l'obligation énoncée au paragraphe 1 ne s'applique pas :

  1. dans le cas d'un monopole, à l'accomplissement du but dans lequel le monopole a été créé ou dans lequel des droits ou des privilèges spéciaux ont été accordés, tel qu'une obligation de service public ou le développement régional;
  2. dans le cas d'une entreprise d'État, à l'accomplissement de sa mission d'intérêt public.
Date de modification: