Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Chapter twenty-two: Trade and sustainable development

Article 22.1 – Context and objectives

1. The Parties recall the Rio Declaration on Environment and Development of 1992, the Agenda 21 on Environment and Development of 1992, the Johannesburg Declaration on Sustainable Development of 2002 and the Plan of Implementation of the World Summit on Sustainable Development of 2002, the Ministerial Declaration of the United Nations Economic and Social Council on Creating an environment at the national and international levels conducive to generating full and productive employment and decent work for all, and its impact on sustainable development of 2006, and the ILO Declaration on Social Justice for a Fair Globalisation of 2008. The Parties recognise that economic development, social development and environmental protection are interdependent and mutually reinforcing components of sustainable development, and reaffirm their commitment to promoting the development of international trade in such a way as to contribute to the objective of sustainable development, for the welfare of present and future generations.

2. The Parties underline the benefit of considering trade-related labour and environmental issues as part of a global approach to trade and sustainable development. Accordingly, the Parties agree that the rights and obligations under Chapters Twenty-Three (Trade and Labour) and Twenty-Four (Trade and Environment) are to be considered in the context of this Agreement.

3. In this regard, through the implementation of Chapters Twenty-Three (Trade and Labour) and Twenty-Four (Trade and Environment), the Parties aim to:

  1. promote sustainable development through the enhanced coordination and integration of their respective labour, environmental and trade policies and measures;
  2. promote dialogue and cooperation between the Parties with a view to developing their trade and economic relations in a manner that supports their respective labour and environmental protection measures and standards, and to upholding their environmental and labour protection objectives in a context of trade relations that are free, open and transparent;
  3. enhance enforcement of their respective labour and environmental law and respect for labour and environmental international agreements;
  4. promote the full use of instruments, such as impact assessment and stakeholder consultations, in the regulation of trade, labour and environmental issues and encourage businesses, civil society organisations and citizens to develop and implement practices that contribute to the achievement of sustainable development goals; and
  5. promote public consultation and participation in the discussion of sustainable development issues that arise under this Agreement and in the development of relevant law and policies.

Article 22.2 – Transparency

The Parties stress the importance of ensuring transparency as a necessary element to promote public participation and making information public within the context of this Chapter, in accordance with the provisions of this Chapter and Chapter Twenty-Seven (Transparency) as well as Articles 23.6 (Public information and awareness) and 24.7 (Public information and awareness).

Article 22.3 – Cooperation and promotion of trade supporting sustainable development

1. The Parties recognise the value of international cooperation to achieve the goal of sustainable development and the integration at the international level of economic, social and environmental development and protection initiatives, actions and measures. Therefore, the Parties agree to dialogue and consult with each other with regard to trade-related sustainable development issues of common interest.

2. The Parties affirm that trade should promote sustainable development. Accordingly, each Party shall strive to promote trade and economic flows and practices that contribute to enhancing decent work and environmental protection, including by:

  1. encouraging the development and use of voluntary schemes relating to the sustainable production of goods and services, such as eco-labelling and fair trade schemes;
  2. encouraging the development and use of voluntary best practices of corporate social responsibility by enterprises, such as those in the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises, to strengthen coherence between economic, social and environmental objectives;
  3. encouraging the integration of sustainability considerations in private and public consumption decisions; and
  4. promoting the development, the establishment, the maintenance or the improvement of environmental performance goals and standards.

3. The Parties recognise the importance of addressing specific sustainable development issues by assessing the potential economic, social and environmental impacts of possible actions, taking account of the views of stakeholders. Therefore, each Party commits to review, monitor and assess the impact of the implementation of this Agreement on sustainable development in its territory in order to identify any need for action that may arise in connection with this Agreement. The Parties may carry out joint assessments. These assessments will be conducted in a manner that is adapted to the practices and conditions of each Party, through the respective participative processes of the Parties, as well as those processes set up under this Agreement.

Article 22.4 – Institutional mechanisms

1. The Committee on Trade and Sustainable Development, established under Article 26.2.1(g) (Specialised committees), shall be comprised of high level representatives of the Parties responsible for matters covered by this Chapter and Chapters Twenty-Three (Trade and Labour) and Twenty-Four (Trade and Environment). The Committee on Trade and Sustainable Development shall oversee the implementation of those Chapters, including cooperative activities and the review of the impact of this Agreement on sustainable development, and address in an integrated manner any matter of common interest to the Parties in relation to the interface between economic development, social development and environmental protection. With regard to Chapters Twenty-Three (Trade and Labour) and Twenty-Four (Trade and Environment), the Committee on Trade and Sustainable Development can also carry out its duties through dedicated sessions comprising participants responsible for any matter covered, respectively, under these Chapters.

2. The Committee on Trade and Sustainable Development shall meet within the first year of the entry into force of this Agreement, and thereafter as often as the Parties consider necessary. The contact points referred to in Articles 23.8 (Institutional mechanisms) and 24.13 (Institutional mechanisms) are responsible for the communication between the Parties regarding the scheduling and the organisation of those meetings or dedicated sessions.

3. Each regular meeting or dedicated session of the Committee on Trade and Sustainable Development includes a session with the public to discuss matters relating to the implementation of the relevant Chapters, unless the Parties decide otherwise.

4. The Committee on Trade and Sustainable Development shall promote transparency and public participation. To this end:

  1. any decision or report of the Committee on Trade and Sustainable Development shall be made public, unless it decides otherwise;
  2. the Committee on Trade and Sustainable Development shall present updates on any matter related to this Chapter, including its implementation, to the Civil Society Forum referred to in Article 22.5. Any view or opinion of the Civil Society Forum shall be presented to the Parties directly, or through the consultative mechanisms referred to in Articles 23.8.3 (Institutional mechanisms) and 24.13 (Institutional mechanisms). The Committee on Trade and Sustainable Development shall report annually on the follow-up to those communications;
  3. the Committee on Trade and Sustainable Development shall report annually on any matter that it addresses pursuant to Article 24.7.3 (Public information and awareness) or Article 23.8.4 (Institutional mechanisms).

Article 22.5 – Civil Society Forum

1. The Parties shall facilitate a joint Civil Society Forum composed of representatives of civil society organisations established in their territories, including participants in the consultative mechanisms referred to in Articles 23.8.3 (Institutional mechanisms) and 24.13 (Institutional mechanisms), in order to conduct a dialogue on the sustainable development aspects of this Agreement.

2. The Civil Society Forum shall be convened once a year unless otherwise agreed by the Parties. The Parties shall promote a balanced representation of relevant interests, including independent representative employers, unions, labour and business organisations, environmental groups, as well as other relevant civil society organisations as appropriate. The Parties may also facilitate participation by virtual means.

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Chapitre vingt-deux : Commerce et développement durable

Article 22.1 – Contexte et objectifs

1. Les Parties rappellent la Déclaration de Rio sur l'environnement et le développement de 1992, le programme Action 21 sur l'environnement et le développement de 1992, la Déclaration de Johannesburg sur le développement durable de 2002 et le Plan d'application du Sommet mondial pour le développement durable de Johannesburg de 2002, la Déclaration ministérielle du Conseil économique et social des Nations Unies de 2006 sur la création aux niveaux national et international d'un environnement propice au plein emploi et à la création d'emplois productifs et à un travail décent pour tous, et son incidence sur le développement durable, et la Déclaration de l'OIT sur la justice sociale pour une mondialisation équitable de 2008. Les Parties reconnaissent que le développement économique, le développement social et la protection de l'environnement sont interdépendants et forment des composantes du développement durable qui se renforcent mutuellement, et elles réaffirment leur engagement à promouvoir le développement du commerce international d'une manière qui contribue à la réalisation de l'objectif de développement durable, pour le bien-être des générations présentes et futures.

2. Les Parties soulignent l'avantage de tenir compte des questions relatives au travail et à l'environnement qui sont liées au commerce dans une approche globale du commerce et du développement durable. En conséquence, les Parties conviennent que les droits et les obligations découlant des chapitres Vingt-trois (Commerce et travail) et Vingt-quatre (Commerce et environnement) sont à prendre en considération dans le contexte du présent accord.

3. À cet égard, par la mise en œuvre des chapitres Vingt-trois (Commerce et travail) et Vingt-quatre (Commerce et environnement), les Parties visent les objectifs suivants :

  1. favoriser le développement durable par une coordination et une intégration accrues de leurs politiques et mesures respectives en matière de travail, d'environnement et de commerce;
  2. promouvoir le dialogue et la coopération entre elles en vue de resserrer leurs relations commerciales et économiques d'une manière qui appuie leurs mesures et leurs normes respectives en matière de protection du travail et de l'environnement, et en vue de respecter leurs objectifs de protection du travail et de l'environnement dans un contexte de relations commerciales libres, ouvertes et transparentes;
  3. améliorer l'application de leur droit respectif en matière de travail et d'environnement et l'observation des accords internationaux sur le travail et l'environnement;
  4. promouvoir la pleine utilisation d'instruments comme l'évaluation d'impact et la consultation des parties prenantes lors de l'élaboration de la réglementation relative aux questions touchant le commerce, le travail et l'environnement, et inciter les milieux d'affaires, les organisations de la société civile et les citoyens à développer et à mettre en œuvre des pratiques qui contribuent à l'atteinte des objectifs du développement durable;
  5. favoriser la consultation et la participation du public dans la discussion des questions de développement durable qui surviennent dans le cadre du présent accord et dans l'élaboration du droit et des politiques pertinentes.

Article 22.2 – Transparence

Les Parties soulignent qu'il importe d'assurer la transparence, laquelle est nécessaire pour favoriser la participation du public, et de rendre l'information publique dans le contexte du présent chapitre, conformément aux dispositions du présent chapitre et du chapitre Vingt-sept (Transparence) ainsi que des articles 23.6 (Information et sensibilisation du public) et 24.7 (Information et sensibilisation du public).

Article 22.3 – Coopération et promotion du commerce contribuant au développement durable

1. Les Parties reconnaissent l'intérêt de la coopération internationale pour atteindre les objectifs du développement durable et de l'intégration à l'échelle internationale des initiatives, des actions et des mesures de développement et de protection d'ordre économique, social et environnemental. En conséquence, les Parties conviennent d'entretenir un dialogue et de se consulter sur les questions de développement durable liées au commerce qui présentent un intérêt commun.

2. Les Parties affirment que le commerce devrait favoriser le développement durable. En conséquence, chaque Partie s'efforce de promouvoir les flux économiques et commerciaux et les pratiques contribuant à favoriser le travail décent et la protection de l'environnement, y compris par les moyens suivants :

  1. encourager l'élaboration et l'utilisation de programmes volontaires relatifs à la production durable de marchandises et de services, par exemple des programmes d'écoétiquetage ou de commerce équitable;
  2. encourager l'élaboration et l'utilisation, par les entreprises, de pratiques volontaires exemplaires de responsabilité sociale, comme celles énoncées dans les Principes directeurs de l'OCDE à l'intention des entreprises multinationales, en vue d'accroître la cohérence entre les objectifs économiques, sociaux et environnementaux;
  3. encourager la prise en considération de la durabilité dans les décisions de consommation privées et publiques;
  4. promouvoir l'élaboration, la mise en place, le maintien ou l'amélioration d'objectifs et de normes de performance environnementale.

3. Les Parties reconnaissent qu'il importe d'examiner certaines questions spécifiques de développement durable en évaluant les éventuelles répercussions économiques, sociales et environnementales des actions possibles, et en tenant compte du point de vue des parties prenantes. En conséquence, chaque Partie s'engage à examiner, à surveiller et à évaluer les effets de la mise en œuvre du présent accord sur le développement durable sur son territoire, afin d'identifier toute action nécessaire dans le contexte du présent accord. Les Parties peuvent effectuer des évaluations conjointes. De telles évaluations seront réalisées d'une manière adaptée aux pratiques et aux conditions de chaque Partie, par l'intermédiaire des processus participatifs respectifs des Parties et des processus établis en vertu du présent accord.

Article 22.4 – Mécanismes institutionnels

1. Le Comité du commerce et du développement durable, établi en application de l'article 26.2.1g) (Comités spécialisés), est composé de représentants de haut niveau des Parties compétents pour les questions visées par le présent chapitre et les chapitres Vingt-trois (Commerce et travail) et Vingt-quatre (Commerce et environnement). Le Comité du commerce et du développement durable supervise la mise en œuvre de ces chapitres, y compris les activités de coopération et l'examen de l'incidence que le présent accord a sur le développement durable, et traite de façon intégrée toute question d'intérêt commun pour les Parties concernant le lien entre le développement économique, le développement social et la protection de l'environnement. En ce qui concerne les chapitres Vingt-trois (Commerce et travail) et Vingt-quatre (Commerce et environnement), le Comité du commerce et du développement durable peut aussi exécuter ses tâches en organisant des séances spécifiques faisant intervenir des participants compétents pour les questions visées respectivement par ces chapitres.

2. Le Comité du commerce et du développement durable se réunit au cours de la première année suivant l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord et par la suite aussi souvent que les Parties l'estiment nécessaire. Les points de contact mentionnés aux articles 23.8 (Mécanismes institutionnels) et 24.13 (Mécanismes institutionnels) sont responsables des communications entre les Parties en ce qui concerne le calendrier et l'organisation des réunions ou des séances particulières.

3. Chaque réunion ordinaire ou séance particulière du Comité du commerce et du développement durable comprend une séance avec le public au cours de laquelle sont discutées des questions concernant la mise en œuvre des chapitres pertinents, à moins que les Parties n'en décident autrement.

4. Le Comité du commerce et du développement durable favorise la transparence et la participation du public. À cette fin :

  1. toute décision ou tout rapport du Comité du commerce et du développement durable est rendu public, à moins que celui-ci n'en décide autrement;
  2. le Comité du commerce et du développement durable présente au Forum de la société civile visé à l'article 22.5 des rapports à jour sur toute question relevant du présent chapitre, y compris sa mise en œuvre. Toute opinion ou tout point de vue du Forum de la société civile est présenté aux Parties, directement ou par l'intermédiaire des mécanismes consultatifs prévus aux articles 23.8.3 (Mécanismes institutionnels) et 24.13 (Mécanismes institutionnels). Le Comité du commerce et du développement durable présente chaque année un rapport de suivi sur ces communications;
  3. le Comité du commerce et du développement durable présente chaque année un rapport concernant toute question qu'il a examinée en application de l'article 24.7.3 (Information et sensibilisation du public) ou de l'article 23.8.4 (Mécanismes institutionnels).

Article 22.5 – Forum de la société civile

1. Les Parties facilitent l'organisation d'un Forum de la société civile mixte composé de représentants d'organisations de la société civile établies sur leurs territoires, y compris des participants aux mécanismes consultatifs visés aux articles 23.8.3 (Mécanismes institutionnels) et 24.13 (Mécanismes institutionnels), en vue de mener un dialogue sur les aspects du présent accord qui concernent le développement durable.

2. Le Forum de la société civile se réunit une fois par an, à moins que les Parties n'en conviennent autrement. Les Parties favorisent une représentation équilibrée des intérêts concernés, y compris des employeurs, des syndicats, des organisations de travailleurs, des représentants des milieux d'affaires et des groupes environnementaux qui sont représentatifs et indépendants, ainsi que d'autres organisations de la société civile concernées, s'il y a lieu. Les Parties peuvent aussi faciliter la participation par des moyens virtuels.

Date de modification: