Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Chapter twenty-seven: Transparency

Article 27.1 – Publication

1. Each Party shall ensure that its laws, regulations, procedures and administrative rulings of general application respecting any matter covered by this Agreement are promptly published or made available in such a manner as to enable interested persons and the other Party to become acquainted with them.

2. To the extent possible, each Party shall:

  1. publish in advance any such measure that it proposes to adopt; and
  2. provide interested persons and the other Party a reasonable opportunity to comment on such proposed measures.

Article 27.2 – Provision of information

1. At the request of the other Party, a Party shall, to the extent possible, promptly provide information and respond to questions pertaining to any existing or proposed measure that materially affects the operation of this Agreement.

2. Information provided under this Article is without prejudice as to whether the measure is consistent with this Agreement.

Article 27.3 – Administrative proceedings

To administer a measure of general application affecting matters covered by this Agreement in a consistent, impartial and reasonable manner, each Party shall ensure that its administrative proceedings applying measures referred to in Article 27.1 to a particular person, good or service of the other Party in a specific case:

  1. whenever possible, provide reasonable notice to a person of the other Party who is directly affected by a proceeding, in accordance with domestic procedures, when a proceeding is initiated, including a description of the nature of the proceeding, a statement of the legal authority under which the proceeding is initiated and a general description of the issues in controversy;
  2. provide a person referred to in subparagraph (a) a reasonable opportunity to present facts and arguments in support of its position prior to any final administrative action, when permitted by time, the nature of the proceeding, and the public interest; and
  3. are conducted in accordance with its law.

Article 27.4 – Review and appeal

1. Each Party shall establish or maintain judicial, quasi-judicial or administrative tribunals or procedures for the purpose of the prompt review and, if warranted, correction of final administrative actions regarding matters covered by this Agreement. Each Party shall ensure that its tribunals are impartial and independent of the office or authority entrusted with administrative enforcement and that they do not have any substantial interest in the outcome of the matter.

2. Each Party shall ensure that, in any tribunals or procedures referred to in paragraph 1, the parties to the proceeding are provided with the right to:

  1. a reasonable opportunity to support or defend their respective positions; and
  2. a decision based on the evidence and submissions of record or, if required by its law, the record compiled by the administrative authority.

3. Each Party shall ensure, subject to appeal or further review as provided in its law, that such decisions are implemented by and govern the practice of the offices or authorities with respect to the administrative action at issue.

Article 27.5 – Cooperation on promoting increased transparency

The Parties agree to cooperate in bilateral, regional and multilateral fora on ways to promote transparency in respect of international trade and investment.

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Chapitre vingt-sept : Transparence

Article 27.1 – Publication

1. Chaque Partie fait en sorte que ses lois, règlements, procédures et décisions administratives d'application générale concernant toute question visée par le présent accord soient promptement publiés ou rendus accessibles d'une manière permettant aux personnes intéressées et à l'autre Partie d'en prendre connaissance.

2. Dans la mesure du possible, chaque Partie :

  1. publie à l'avance toute mesure de cette nature qu'elle projette d'adopter; et
  2. ménage aux personnes intéressées et à l'autre Partie une possibilité raisonnable de présenter des observations sur les mesures de cette nature qu'elle projette d'adopter.

Article 27.2 – Communication d'informations

1. Une Partie fournit dans les moindres délais, à la demande de l'autre Partie et dans la mesure du possible, des informations et des réponses aux questions concernant toute mesure existante ou projetée qui affecte substantiellement l'application du présent accord.

2. Les informations fournies conformément au présent article sont sans préjudice de la question de savoir si la mesure est compatible avec le présent accord.

Article 27.3 – Procédures administratives

Afin d'administrer de manière cohérente, impartiale et raisonnable une mesure d'application générale ayant une incidence sur les questions visées par le présent accord, chaque Partie fait en sorte que ses procédures administratives appliquant les mesures visées à l'article 27.1 à une personne, à une marchandise ou à un service donné de l'autre Partie dans un cas particulier :

  1. donnent à une personne de l'autre Partie qui est directement touchée par une procédure, chaque fois que cela est possible et en conformité avec les procédures internes, un préavis raisonnable lorsqu'une procédure est engagée, y compris une description de la nature de la procédure, un énoncé du fondement juridique l'autorisant et une description générale des questions litigieuses;
  2. accordent à une personne visée à l'alinéa a) une possibilité raisonnable de présenter des éléments factuels et des arguments à l'appui de sa position avant tout acte administratif définitif, pour autant que les délais, la nature de la procédure et l'intérêt public le permettent;
  3. soient menées conformément à son droit.

Article 27.4 – Révision et appel

1. Chaque Partie institue ou maintient des tribunaux ou des procédures judiciaires, quasi judiciaires ou administratifs afin que, dans les moindres délais, les actes administratifs définitifs relatifs à des questions visées par le présent accord soient révisés et, si les circonstances le justifient, corrigés. Chaque Partie fait en sorte que ses tribunaux soient impartiaux et indépendants du bureau ou de l'autorité chargés de l'application des mesures administratives et qu'ils n'aient aucun intérêt substantiel dans l'issue de l'affaire.

2. Chaque Partie fait en sorte que, devant tout tribunal ou dans le cadre de toute procédure visés au paragraphe 1, les parties à la procédure bénéficient du droit à :

  1. une possibilité raisonnable de soutenir ou de défendre leurs positions respectives; et
  2. une décision fondée sur les preuves et les conclusions déposées ou, si son droit l'exige, sur le dossier constitué par l'autorité administrative.

3. Chaque Partie fait en sorte que, sous réserve d'un appel ou d'une révision prévus par son droit, ces décisions soient appliquées par les bureaux ou les autorités et en régissent la pratique au regard de l'acte administratif en cause.

Article 27.5 – Coopération en vue de la promotion d'une transparence accrue

Les Parties conviennent de coopérer dans les enceintes bilatérales, régionales et multilatérales afin de promouvoir la transparence en matière de commerce et d'investissement internationaux.

Date de modification: