Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Chapter twenty-eight: Exceptions

Article 28.1 – Definitions

For the purposes of this Chapter:

residence means residence for tax purposes;

tax convention means a convention for the avoidance of double taxation or other international taxation agreement or arrangement; and

tax and taxation measure includes an excise duty, but does not include:

  1. a customs duty as defined in Article 1.1 (General definitions), and
  2. a measure listed in exceptions (b) or (c) in the definition of "customs duty" in Article 1.1 (General definitions).

Article 28.2 – Party specific definitions

For the purposes of this Chapter:

competition authority means:

  1. for Canada, the Commissioner of Competition or a successor notified to the other Party through the CETA contact points; and
  2. for the European Union, the Commission of the European Union with respect to its responsibilities pursuant to the competition laws of the European Union;

competition laws means:

  1. for Canada, the Competition Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-34; and
  2. for the European Union, Articles 101, 102 and 106 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, of 13 December 2007, Council Regulation (EC) No. 139/2004 of 20 January 2004 on the control of concentrations between undertakings, and their implementing regulations or amendments; and

information protected under its competition laws means:

  1. for Canada, information within the scope of Section 29 of the Competition Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. C-34; and
  2. for the European Union, information within the scope of Article 28 of Council Regulation (EC) No. 1/2003 of 16 December 2002 on the implementation of the rules on competition laid down in Articles 81 and 82 of the Treaty or Article 17 of Council Regulation (EC) No. 139/2004 of 20 January 2004 on the control of concentrations between undertakings.

Article 28.3 – General exceptions

1. For the purposes of Article 30.8.5 (Termination, suspension or incorporation of other existing agreements), Chapters Two (National Treatment and Market Access for Goods), Five (Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures), and Six (Customs and Trade Facilitation), the Protocol on rules of origin and origin procedures and Sections B (Establishment of investment) and C (Non-discriminatory treatment) of Chapter Eight (Investment), Article XX of the GATT 1994 is incorporated into and made part of this Agreement. The Parties understand that the measures referred to in Article XX (b) of the GATT 1994 include environmental measures necessary to protect human, animal or plant life or health. The Parties understand that Article XX(g) of the GATT 1994 applies to measures for the conservation of living and non-living exhaustible natural resources.

2. For the purposes of Chapters Nine (Cross-Border Trade in Services), Ten (Temporary Entry and Stay of Natural Persons for Business Purposes), Twelve (Domestic Regulation), Thirteen (Financial Services), Fourteen (International Maritime Transport Services), Fifteen (Telecommunications), Sixteen (Electronic Commerce), and Sections B (Establishment of investments) and C (Non-discriminatory treatment) of Chapter Eight (Investment), subject to the requirement that such measures are not applied in a manner which would constitute a means of arbitrary or unjustifiable discrimination between the Parties where like conditions prevail, or a disguised restriction on trade in services, nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to prevent the adoption or enforcement by a Party of measures necessary:

  1. to protect public security or public morals or to maintain public order;Footnote 1
  2. to protect human, animal or plant life or health;Footnote 2 or
  3. to secure compliance with laws or regulations which are not inconsistent with the provisions of this Agreement including those relating to:
    1. the prevention of deceptive and fraudulent practices or to deal with the effects of a default on contracts;
    2. the protection of the privacy of individuals in relation to the processing and dissemination of personal data and the protection of confidentiality of individual records and accounts; or
    3. safety.

Article 28.4 – Temporary safeguard measures with regard to capital movements and payments

1. Where, in exceptional circumstances, capital movements and payments, including transfers, cause or threaten to cause serious difficulties for the operation of the economic and monetary union of the European Union, the European Union may impose safeguard measures that are strictly necessary to address such difficulties for a period not to exceed 180 days.

2. Measures imposed by the European Union pursuant to paragraph 1 shall not constitute a means of arbitrary or unjustifiable discrimination in respect of Canada or its investors compared to a third country or its investors. The European Union shall inform Canada forthwith and present, as soon as possible, a schedule for the removal of such measures.

Article 28.5 – Restrictions in case of serious balance of payments and external financial difficulties

1. Where Canada or a Member State of the European Union that is not a member of the European Monetary Union experiences serious balance-of-payments or external financial difficulties, or threat thereof, it may adopt or maintain restrictive measures with regard to capital movements or payments, including transfers.

2. Measures referred to in paragraph 1 shall:

  1. not treat a Party less favourably than a third country in like situations;
  2. be consistent with the Articles of Agreement of the International Monetary Fund, done at Bretton Woods on 22 July 1944, as applicable;
  3. avoid unnecessary damage to the commercial, economic and financial interests of a Party;
  4. be temporary and phased out progressively as the situation specified in paragraph 1 improves and shall not exceed 180 days. If extremely exceptional circumstances arise such that a Party seeks to extend such measures beyond a period of 180 days, it will consult in advance with the other Party regarding the implementation of any proposed extension.

3. In the case of trade in goods, a Party may adopt restrictive measures in order to safeguard its balance-of-payments or external financial position. Such measures shall be in accordance with the GATT 1994 and the Understanding on the Balance-of-Payments Provisions of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade 1994, contained in Annex 1A to the WTO Agreement.

4. In the case of trade in services, a Party may adopt restrictive measures in order to safeguard its balance-of-payments or external financial position. Such measures shall be in accordance with the GATS.

5. A Party that adopts or maintains a measure referred to in paragraph 1 shall promptly notify the other Party and provide, as soon as possible, a schedule for its removal.

6. Where the restrictions are adopted or maintained under this Article, consultations between the Parties shall be held promptly in the CETA Joint Committee, if such consultations are not otherwise taking place in a forum outside of this Agreement. The consultations held under this paragraph shall assess the balance-of-payments or external financial difficulty that led to the respective measures, taking into account, among other things, such factors as:

  1. the nature and extent of the difficulties;
  2. the external economic and trading environment; or
  3. the availability of alternative corrective measures.

7. The consultations pursuant to paragraph 6 shall address the compliance of any restrictive measures with paragraphs 1 through 4. The Parties shall accept all findings of statistical and other facts presented by the International Monetary Fund ("IMF") relating to foreign exchange, monetary reserves, balance-of-payments, and their conclusions shall be based on the assessment by the IMF of the balance-of-payments and the external financial situation of the Party concerned.

Article 28.6 – National security

Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed:

  1. to require a Party to furnish or allow access to information if that Party determines that the disclosure of this information would be contrary to its essential security interests; or
  2. to prevent a Party from taking an action that it considers necessary to protect its essential security interests:
    1. connected to the production of or traffic in arms, ammunition and implements of war and to such traffic and transactions in other goods and materials, services and technology undertaken, and to economic activities, carried out directly or indirectly for the purpose of supplying a military or other security establishment;Footnote 3
    2. taken in time of war or other emergency in international relations; or
    3. relating to fissionable and fusionable materials or the materials from which they are derived; or
  3. prevent a Party from taking any action in order to carry out its international obligations for the purpose of maintaining international peace and security.

Article 28.7 – Taxation

1. Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to prevent a Party from adopting or maintaining any taxation measure that distinguishes between persons who are not in the same situation, in particular with regard to their place of residence or with regard to the place where their capital is invested.

2. Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to prevent a Party from adopting or maintaining any taxation measure aimed at preventing the avoidance or evasion of taxes pursuant to its tax laws or tax conventions.

3. This Agreement does not affect the rights and obligations of a Party under a tax convention. In the event of inconsistency between this Agreement and a tax convention, that convention prevails to the extent of the inconsistency.

4. Nothing in this Agreement or in any arrangement adopted under this Agreement shall apply:

  1. to a taxation measure of a Party that provides a more favourable tax treatment to a corporation, or to a shareholder of a corporation, on the basis that the corporation is wholly or partly owned or controlled, directly or indirectly, by one or more investors who are residents of that Party;
  2. to a taxation measure of a Party that provides an advantage relating to the contributions made to, or income of, an arrangement providing for the deferral of, or exemption from, tax for pension, retirement, savings, education, health, disability or other similar purposes, conditional on a requirement that that Party maintains continuous jurisdiction over such arrangement;
  3. to a taxation measure of a Party that provides an advantage relating to the purchase or consumption of a particular service, conditional on a requirement that the service be provided in the territory of that Party;
  4. to a taxation measure of a Party that is aimed at ensuring the equitable and effective imposition or collection of taxes, including a measure that is taken by a Party in order to ensure compliance with the Party's taxation system;
  5. to a taxation measure that provides an advantage to a government, a part of a government, or a person that is directly or indirectly owned, controlled or established by a government;
  6. to an existing non-conforming taxation measure not otherwise covered in paragraphs 1, 2 and 4(a) through (e), to the continuation or prompt renewal of such a measure, or an amendment of such a measure, provided that the amendment does not decrease its conformity with the provisions of this Agreement as it existed immediately before the amendment.

5. For greater certainty, the fact that a taxation measure constitutes a significant amendment to an existing taxation measure, takes immediate effect as of its announcement, clarifies the intended application of an existing taxation measure, or has an unexpected impact on an investor or covered investment, does not, in and of itself, constitute a violation of Article 8.10 (Treatment of investors and of covered investments).

6. Articles 8.7 (Most-favoured-nation treatment), 9.5 (Most-favoured-nation treatment) and 13.4 (Most-favoured-nation treatment) do not apply to an advantage accorded by a Party pursuant to a tax convention.

7.

  1. Where an investor submits a request for consultations pursuant to Article 8.19 (Consultations) claiming that a taxation measure breaches an obligation under Sections C (Non-discriminatory treatment) or D (Investment protection) of Chapter Eight (Investment), the respondent may refer the matter for consultation and joint determination by the Parties as to whether:
    1. the measure is a taxation measure;
    2. the measure, if it is found to be a taxation measure, breaches an obligation under Sections C (Non-discriminatory treatment) or D (Investment protection) of Chapter Eight (Investment); or
    3. there is an inconsistency between the obligations in this Agreement that are alleged to have been breached and those of a tax convention.
  2. A referral pursuant to subparagraph (a) cannot be made later than the date the Tribunal fixes for the respondent to submit its counter-memorial. Where the respondent makes such a referral the time periods or proceedings specified in Section F (Resolution of investment disputes between investors and states) of Chapter Eight (Investment) shall be suspended. If within 180 days from the referral the Parties do not agree to consider the issue, or fail to make a joint determination, the suspension of the time periods or proceedings shall no longer apply and the investor may proceed with its claim.
  3. A joint determination by the Parties pursuant to subparagraph (a) shall be binding on the Tribunal.
  4. Each Party shall ensure that its delegation for the consultations to be conducted pursuant to subparagraph (a) shall include persons with relevant expertise on the issues covered by this Article, including representatives from the relevant tax authorities of each Party. For Canada, this means officials from the Department of Finance Canada.

8. For greater certainty,

  1. taxation measure of a Party means a taxation measure adopted at any level of government of a Party; and
  2. for measures of a sub-national government, resident of a Party, means either resident of that sub-national jurisdiction or resident of the Party of which it forms a part.

Article 28.8 – Disclosure of information

1. This Agreement does not require a Party to furnish or allow access to information which, if disclosed, would impede law enforcement or the disclosure of which is prohibited or restricted under its law.

2. In the course of a dispute settlement procedure under this Agreement,

  1. a Party is not required to furnish or allow access to information protected under its competition laws; and
  2. a competition authority of a Party is not required to furnish or allow access to information that is privileged or otherwise protected from disclosure.

Article 28.9 – Exceptions applicable to culture

The Parties recall the exceptions applicable to culture as set out in the relevant provisions of Chapters Seven (Subsidies), Eight (Investment), Nine (Cross-Border Trade in Services), Twelve (Domestic Regulation) and Nineteen (Government Procurement).

Article 28.10 – WTO waivers

If a right or obligation in this Agreement duplicates one under the WTO Agreement, the Parties agree that a measure in conformity with a waiver decision adopted by the WTO pursuant to Article IX of the WTO Agreement is deemed to be also in conformity with the duplicated provision in this Agreement.

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Chapitre vingt-huit : Exceptions

Article 28.1 – Définitions

Pour l'application du présent chapitre :

résidence désigne la résidence à des fins fiscales;

convention fiscale désigne une convention visant à éviter les doubles impositions ou un autre accord ou arrangement international en matière fiscale;

impôt et mesure fiscale inclut un droit d'accise, mais non :

  1. un droit de douane au sens de l'article 1.1 (Définitions générales);
  2. une mesure visée aux exceptions b) ou c) de la définition de "droit de douane" à l'article 1.1 (Définitions générales).

Article 28.2 – Définitions propres aux Parties

Pour l'application du présent chapitre :

autorité en matière de concurrence désigne :

  1. dans le cas du Canada, le commissaire de la concurrence, ou son successeur notifié à l'autre Partie par l'entremise des points de contact de l'AECG;
  2. dans le cas de l'Union européenne, la Commission de l'Union européenne en ce qui concerne ses responsabilités découlant des lois sur la concurrence de l'Union européenne;

lois sur la concurrence désigne :

  1. dans le cas du Canada, la Loi sur la concurrence, L.R.C. 1985, ch. C-34;
  2. dans le cas de l'Union européenne, les articles 101, 102 et 106 du Traité sur le fonctionnement de l'Union européenne, du 13 décembre 2007, le Règlement (CE) no 139/2004 du Conseil du 20 janvier 2004 relatif au contrôle des concentrations entre entreprises, et leurs règlements de mise en œuvre ou leurs modifications;

renseignements protégés par ses lois sur la concurrence désigne :

  1. dans le cas du Canada, les renseignements visés par l'article 29 de la Loi sur la concurrence, L.R.C. 1985, ch. C-34;
  2. dans le cas de l'Union européenne, les renseignements visés par l'article 28 du Règlement (CE) n° 1/2003 du Conseil du 16 décembre 2002 relatif à la mise en œuvre des règles de concurrence prévues aux articles 81 et 82 du traité ou par l'article 17 du Règlement (CE) no 139/2004 du Conseil du 20 janvier 2004 relatif au contrôle des concentrations entre entreprises.

Article 28.3 – Exceptions générales

1. Pour l'application de l'article 30.8.5 (Extinction, suspension ou incorporation d'autres accords existants), des chapitres Deux (Traitement national et accès aux marchés pour les marchandises), Cinq (Mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires) et Six (Douanes et facilitation des échanges), du Protocole sur les règles d'origine et les procédures d'origine et des sections B (Établissement d'investissements) et C (Traitement non discriminatoire) du chapitre Huit (Investissement), l'article XX du GATT de 1994 est incorporé au présent accord et en fait partie intégrante. Les Parties comprennent que les mesures visées à l'article XX b) du GATT de 1994 englobent les mesures environnementales nécessaires à la protection de la santé et de la vie des personnes et des animaux ou à la préservation des végétaux. Les Parties comprennent que l'article XX g) du GATT de 1994 s'applique aux mesures pour la conservation des ressources naturelles épuisables, qu'elles soient biologiques ou non biologiques.

2. Pour l'application des chapitres Neuf (Commerce transfrontières des services), Dix (Admission et séjour temporaires des personnes physiques à des fins professionnelles), Douze (Réglementation intérieure), Treize (Services financiers), Quatorze (Services de transport maritime international), Quinze (Télécommunications), Seize (Commerce électronique) et des sections B (Établissement d'investissements) et C (Traitement non discriminatoire) du chapitre Huit (Investissement), sous réserve que de telles mesures ne soient pas appliquées de façon à constituer soit un moyen de discrimination arbitraire ou injustifiable entre les Parties où des conditions similaires existent, soit une restriction déguisée au commerce des services entre les Parties, aucune disposition du présent accord ne peut être interprétée comme empêchant l'adoption ou l'application par une Partie de mesures nécessaires :

  1. à la protection de la sécurité publique ou de la moralité publique, ou au maintien de l'ordre publicNote de bas de page 1;
  2. à la protection de la santé et de la vie des personnes et des animaux ou à la préservation des végétauxNote de bas de page 2;
  3. pour assurer le respect des lois ou des règlements qui ne sont pas incompatibles avec les dispositions du présent accord, y compris ceux qui se rapportent :
    1. à la prévention des pratiques de nature à induire en erreur et frauduleuses ou aux moyens de remédier aux effets d'un manquement à des contrats,
    2. à la protection de la vie privée des personnes pour ce qui est du traitement et de la dissémination de données à caractère personnel, ainsi qu'à la protection du caractère confidentiel des dossiers et comptes personnels,
    3. à la sécurité.

Article 28.4 – Mesures de sauvegarde temporaires à l'égard des mouvements de capitaux et des paiements

1. Lorsque, dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, des mouvements de capitaux et des paiements, y compris des transferts, causent ou menacent de causer de graves difficultés au fonctionnement de l'union économique et monétaire de l'Union européenne, l'Union européenne peut imposer des mesures de sauvegarde qui sont strictement nécessaires pour remédier à ces difficultés pour une période n'excédant pas 180 jours.

2. Les mesures imposées par l'Union européenne en application du paragraphe 1 ne constituent pas un moyen de discrimination arbitraire ou injustifiable envers le Canada ou ses investisseurs par rapport à un pays tiers ou à ses investisseurs. L'Union européenne en informe immédiatement le Canada et lui présente dès que possible un calendrier pour l'élimination de ces mesures.

Article 28.5 – Restrictions en cas de graves difficultés liées à la balance des paiements et à la situation financière extérieure

1. Le Canada ou un État membre de l'Union européenne qui n'est pas membre de l'Union monétaire européenne, lorsqu'il éprouve ou risque d'éprouver de graves difficultés liées à sa balance des paiements ou à sa situation financière extérieure, peut adopter ou maintenir des mesures restrictives quant aux mouvements de capitaux ou aux paiements, y compris les transferts.

2. Les mesures visées au paragraphe 1 :

  1. accordent à une Partie un traitement non moins favorable que celui accordé à un pays tiers dans des situations similaires;
  2. sont compatibles avec les Statuts du Fonds monétaire international, faits à Bretton Woods le 22 juillet 1944, s'il y a lieu;
  3. évitent de léser inutilement les intérêts commerciaux, économiques et financiers d'une Partie;
  4. sont temporaires et supprimées progressivement à mesure que la situation mentionnée au paragraphe 1 s'améliore et ne durent pas plus de 180 jours. La Partie qui cherche à prolonger ces mesures au-delà de la période de 180 jours en raison de circonstances extrêmement exceptionnelles consultera au préalable l'autre Partie quant à la mise en œuvre de toute prolongation envisagée.

3. Dans le cas du commerce de marchandises, une Partie peut adopter des mesures restrictives pour protéger l'équilibre de sa balance des paiements ou sa position financière extérieure. De telles mesures sont compatibles avec le GATT de 1994 et le Mémorandum d'accord sur les dispositions de l'Accord général sur les tarifs douaniers et le commerce de 1994 relatives à la balance des paiements figurant à l'annexe 1A de l'Accord sur l'OMC.

4. Dans le cas du commerce de services, une Partie peut adopter des mesures restrictives pour protéger l'équilibre de sa balance des paiements ou sa position financière extérieure. De telles mesures sont compatibles avec l'AGCS.

5. Une Partie qui adopte ou maintient une mesure visée au paragraphe 1 le notifie à l'autre Partie dans les moindres délais et lui présente dès que possible un calendrier pour l'élimination de cette mesure.

6. Lorsque des restrictions sont adoptées ou maintenues en application du présent article, des consultations entre les Parties se tiennent dans les moindres délais au Comité mixte de l'AECG, si de telles consultations n'ont pas déjà cours dans un forum en dehors du cadre du présent accord. Les consultations tenues en application du présent paragraphe évaluent les difficultés liées à la balance des paiements ou à la situation financière extérieure ayant mené aux mesures respectives et tiennent compte, entre autres, de facteurs comme :

  1. la nature et l'étendue des difficultés;
  2. l'environnement économique et commercial externe;
  3. la disponibilité de mesures correctives alternatives.

7. Les consultations tenues en application du paragraphe 6 portent sur la conformité de toute mesure restrictive avec les paragraphes 1 à 4. Les Parties acceptent toutes les constatations, d'ordre statistique ou portant sur d'autres faits, communiquées par le Fonds monétaire international (FMI) en matière de change, de réserves monétaires et de balance des paiements, et leurs conclusions sont fondées sur l'évaluation par le FMI de la situation de la balance des paiements et de la situation financière extérieure de la Partie concernée.

Article 28.6 – Sécurité nationale

Aucune disposition du présent accord ne peut être interprétée :

  1. comme obligeant une Partie à fournir des renseignements dont la divulgation serait à son avis contraire aux intérêts essentiels de sa sécurité, ou à permettre l'accès à de tels renseignements;
  2. comme empêchant une Partie de prendre les mesures qu'elle estime nécessaires à la protection des intérêts essentiels de sa sécurité :
    1. relatives à la production ou au trafic d'armes, de munitions et de matériel de guerre, au trafic et aux transactions portant sur d'autres marchandises et matériels, services et technologies, ainsi qu'aux activités économiques, destinés directement ou indirectement à assurer l'approvisionnement des forces armées ou d'autres forces de sécuritéNote de bas de page 3,
    2. décidées en temps de guerre ou face à toute autre situation d'urgence dans les relations internationales; ou
    3. relatives à des matières fissiles et fusibles ou à des matières qui servent à leur fabrication;
  3. comme empêchant une Partie de prendre des mesures pour honorer ses obligations internationales en vue du maintien de la paix et de la sécurité internationales.

Article 28.7 – Fiscalité

1. Aucune disposition du présent accord ne peut être interprétée comme empêchant une Partie d'adopter ou de maintenir une mesure fiscale qui établit une distinction entre des personnes qui ne se trouvent pas dans la même situation, en particulier en ce qui a trait à leur lieu de résidence ou au lieu où leurs capitaux sont investis.

2. Aucune disposition du présent accord ne peut être interprétée comme empêchant une Partie d'adopter ou de maintenir une mesure fiscale destinée à empêcher l'évasion fiscale, la fraude fiscale ou l'évitement fiscal en application de ses lois ou conventions fiscales.

3. Le présent accord n'a pas d'incidence sur les droits et obligations d'une Partie au titre d'une convention fiscale. En cas d'incompatibilité entre le présent accord et une convention fiscale, les dispositions de la convention fiscale l'emportent dans la mesure de l'incompatibilité.

4. Aucune disposition du présent accord, ni de tout arrangement fait dans le cadre du présent accord, ne s'applique :

  1. à une mesure fiscale d'une Partie qui accorde un traitement fiscal plus favorable à une société, ou à un actionnaire d'une société, au motif que la société est détenue ou contrôlée, en tout ou en partie, directement ou indirectement, par un ou plusieurs investisseurs qui sont des résidents de cette Partie;
  2. à une mesure fiscale d'une Partie qui subordonne un avantage concernant les cotisations à verser au titre d'un arrangement prévoyant le report ou l'exemption d'impôt aux fins de la pension, de la retraite, de l'épargne, des études, des soins de santé, d'une incapacité ou autres fins semblables, ou le revenu découlant d'un tel arrangement, à l'exigence que cette Partie maintienne une compétence continue sur cet arrangement;
  3. à une mesure fiscale d'une Partie qui subordonne un avantage concernant l'achat ou la consommation d'un service donné à l'exigence que le service soit fourni sur le territoire de cette Partie;
  4. à une mesure fiscale d'une Partie destinée à assurer l'équité et l'efficacité de l'imposition ou de la perception d'impôts, y compris une mesure prise par une Partie pour assurer la conformité à son régime fiscal;
  5. à une mesure fiscale qui confère un avantage à un gouvernement, à une partie d'un gouvernement ou à une personne qui est directement ou indirectement détenue, contrôlée ou constituée par un gouvernement;
  6. à une mesure fiscale non conforme existante qui n'est pas visée par ailleurs aux paragraphes 1, 2 et 4a) à e), au maintien ou au prompt renouvellement d'une telle mesure, ou à la modification d'une telle mesure, à condition que la modification ne diminue pas la conformité de la mesure aux dispositions du présent accord, telle qu'elle existait immédiatement avant la modification.

5. Il est entendu que le fait qu'une mesure fiscale constitue une modification importante d'une mesure fiscale existante, qu'elle prenne effet au moment même de son annonce, qu'elle clarifie l'application prévue d'une mesure fiscale existante ou qu'elle ait une incidence inattendue sur un investisseur ou un investissement visé ne constitue pas, en soi, une violation de l'article 8.10 (Traitement des investisseurs et des investissements visés).

6. Les articles 8.7 (Traitement de la nation la plus favorisée), 9.5 (Traitement de la nation la plus favorisée) et 13.4 (Traitement de la nation la plus favorisée) ne s'appliquent pas à un avantage accordé par une Partie au titre d'une convention fiscale.

7.

  1. Lorsqu'un investisseur présente, en conformité avec l'article 8.19 (Consultations), une demande de consultations dans laquelle il allègue qu'une mesure fiscale viole une obligation prévue à la section C (Traitement non discriminatoire) ou à la section D (Protection des investissements) du chapitre Huit (Investissement), le défendeur peut soumettre la question pour consultation et détermination conjointe des Parties afin de savoir :
    1. si la mesure est une mesure fiscale,
    2. si la mesure, lorsqu'il est constaté qu'il s'agit d'une mesure fiscale, viole une obligation prévue à la section C (Traitement non discriminatoire) ou à la section D (Protection des investissements) du chapitre Huit (Investissement),
    3. s'il y a incompatibilité entre les obligations du présent accord dont la violation est alléguée et les obligations prévues par une convention fiscale.
  2. Une question doit être soumise en application de l'alinéa a) au plus tard à la date que le Tribunal fixe au défendeur pour déposer son contre‑mémoire. Lorsque le défendeur soumet une question, les délais ou les procédures précisés à la section F (Règlement des différends relatifs aux investissements entre investisseurs et États) du chapitre Huit (Investissement) sont suspendus. Si les Parties ne conviennent pas d'examiner la question dans les 180 jours suivant la date à laquelle elle a été soumise, ou si elles ne parviennent pas à faire une détermination conjointe durant cette période, la suspension des délais ou des procédures cesse de s'appliquer et l'investisseur peut présenter sa plainte.
  3. La détermination conjointe faite par les Parties en application de l'alinéa a) lie le Tribunal.
  4. Chaque Partie fait en sorte que sa délégation chargée des consultations à tenir en application de l'alinéa a) soit composée de personnes ayant des connaissances spécialisées sur les questions visées par le présent article, y compris de représentants des autorités fiscales compétentes de chaque Partie. Dans le cas du Canada, il s'agit de fonctionnaires du ministère des Finances Canada.

8. Il est entendu que :

  1. mesure fiscale d'une Partie désigne une mesure fiscale adoptée par tout niveau de gouvernement d'une Partie;
  2. résident d'une Partie, s'agissant des mesures d'un gouvernement infranational, désigne soit un résident de cette juridiction infranationale soit un résident de la Partie dont il fait partie.

Article 28.8 – Divulgation de renseignements

1. Le présent accord n'a pas pour effet d'obliger une Partie à fournir des renseignements, ou à permettre l'accès à des renseignements, dont la divulgation ferait obstacle à l'application des lois ou dont la divulgation est interdite ou limitée selon son droit.

2. Dans le cadre d'une procédure de règlement des différends engagée au titre du présent accord :

  1. une Partie n'est pas tenue de fournir des renseignements protégés par ses lois sur la concurrence, ou d'en permettre l'accès;
  2. une autorité en matière de concurrence d'une Partie n'est pas tenue de fournir des renseignements privilégiés ou autrement protégés contre la divulgation, ou d'en permettre l'accès.

Article 28.9 – Exceptions applicables à la culture

Les parties rappellent les exceptions applicables à la culture établies dans les dispositions pertinentes des chapitres Sept (Subventions), Huit (Investissement), Neuf (Commerce transfrontières des services), Douze (Réglementation intérieure) et Dix-neuf (Marchés publics).

Article 28.10 – Dérogations de l'OMC

Les Parties conviennent que, dans les cas où un droit ou une obligation du présent accord fait double emploi avec un droit ou une obligation prévus par l'Accord sur l'OMC, une mesure qui est conforme à une décision par laquelle l'OMC a accordé une dérogation en application de l'article IX de l'Accord sur l'OMC est réputée être également conforme à la disposition du présent accord qui fait double emploi.

Date de modification: