Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Annex 30

Annex 30-A – List of bilateral investment treaties between Canada and member states of the European Union

Agreement between the Government of the Republic of Croatia and the Government of Canada for the Promotion and Protection of Investments, done at Ottawa on 3 February 1997.

Agreement between the Czech Republic and Canada for the Promotion and Protection of Investments, done at Prague on 6 May 2009.

Agreement between the Government of the Republic of Hungary and the Government of Canada for the Promotion and Reciprocal Protection of Investments, done at Ottawa on 3 October 1991.

Agreement between the Government of the Republic of Latvia and the Government of Canada for the Promotion and Protection of Investments, done at Riga on 5 May 2009.

Exchange of Notes between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Republic of Malta Constituting an Agreement Relating to Foreign Investment Insurance, done at Valletta on 24 May 1982.

Agreement between the Government of the Republic of Poland and the Government of Canada for the Promotion and Reciprocal Protection of Investments, done at Warsaw on 6 April 1990.

Agreement between the Government of Romania and the Government of Canada for the Promotion and Reciprocal Protection of Investments, done at Bucharest on 8 May 2009.

Agreement between the Slovak Republic and Canada for the Promotion and Protection of Investments, done at Bratislava on 20 July 2010.

Annex 30-B – Amendments to the 1989 alcoholic beverages agreement and the 2003 wines and spirit drinks agreement

Section A

Article 1 of the 1989 Alcoholic Beverages Agreement, as amended by Annex VIII to the 2003 Wines and Spirit Drinks Agreement, shall have the following definition added:

""competent authority" means a government or commission, board or other governmental agency of a Party that is authorised by law to control the sale of wines and distilled spirits.".

Section B

Article 2.2(b) of the 1989 Alcoholic Beverages Agreement, as amended by Annex VIII to the 2003 Wines and Spirit Drinks Agreement, is replaced with:

"(b) requiring off site private wine store outlets in Ontario and British Columbia to sell only wines produced by Canadian wineries. The number of these off site private wine store outlets authorised to sell only wines produced by Canadian wineries in these provinces shall not exceed 292 in Ontario and 60 in British Columbia.".

Section C

Article 4 of the 1989 Alcoholic Beverages Agreement, as amended by Annex VIII to the 2003 Wines and Spirit Drinks Agreement, is replaced with:

"Article 4 – Commercial Treatment

1. Competent authorities shall, in exercising their responsibilities for the purchase, distribution and retail sale of products of the other Party, adhere to the provisions of GATT Article XVII concerning State trading enterprises, in particular to make any such decisions solely in accordance with commercial considerations and shall afford the enterprises of the other Party adequate opportunity, in accordance with customary business practice, to compete for participation in such purchases.

2. Each Party shall take all possible measures to ensure that an enterprise that has been granted a monopoly in the trade and sale of wines and spirit drinks within its territory does not use its monopoly position to engage, either directly or indirectly, including through its dealings with its parent, subsidiaries or other enterprises with common ownership, in the sale of wine and spirit drinks in a market outside the territory where the enterprise has a monopoly position that causes an anti-competitive effect causing an appreciable restriction of competition in that market.".

Section D

Article 4a of the 1989 Alcoholic Beverages Agreement, as amended by Annex VIII to the 2003 Wines and Spirit Drinks Agreement, is replaced with:

"4a – Pricing

1. Competent authorities of the Parties shall ensure that any mark-up, cost of service or other pricing measure is non-discriminatory, applies to all retail sales and is in conformity with Article 2.

2. A cost of service differential may be applied to products of the other Party only in so far as it is no greater than the additional costs necessarily associated with the marketing of products of the other Party, taking into account additional costs resulting from, inter alia, delivery methods and frequency.

3. Each Party shall ensure that a cost of service is not applied to a product of the other Party on the basis of the value of the product.

4. The cost of service differential shall be justified in line with standard accounting procedures by independent auditors on the basis of an audit completed on the request of the other Party within one year of the entry into force of the 2003 Wines and Spirit Drinks Agreement and thereafter on request of that Party at intervals of not less than four years. The audits shall be made available to either Party within one year of a request being made.

5. Competent authorities shall update cost of service differential charges, as required, to reflect the commitment made in subparagraph 4a(2).

6. Competent authorities shall make available applicable cost of service differential charges through publicly accessible means, such as their official website.

7. Competent authorities shall establish a contact point for questions and concerns originating from the other Party with respect to cost of service differential charges. A Party will respond to a request from the other Party in writing within 60 days of the receipt of the request.".

Section E

The 1989 Alcoholic Beverages Agreement, as amended by Annex VIII to the 2003 Wines and Spirit Drinks Agreement, is modified by adding Article 4b:

"Article 4b – Blending Requirements

Neither Party may adopt or maintain any measure requiring that distilled spirits imported from the territory of the other Party for bottling be blended with any distilled spirits of the importing Party.".

Section F

The 2003 Wines and Spirit Drinks Agreement shall be amended as follows:

  1. Article 27.3 (Joint Committee), first indent, is replaced with "adopting amendments to the Annexes of this Agreement by means of a decision by the Joint Committee.".
  2. Title VIII (Dispute settlement) is deleted;
  3. The last two sentences of Article 8.1 (Objection procedure) are replaced with "A Contracting Party may seek consultations as provided under Article 29.4 (Consultations) of the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement ("CETA"). If the consultations fail to resolve the matter, a Contracting Party may notify, in writing, the other Contracting Party of its decision to refer the issue to arbitration under Articles 29.6 through 29.10 of CETA.".
  4. The introductory wording (chapeau) of Article 9.2 (Modification of Annex I), is replaced with: "By way of derogation from paragraph 1, if a Contracting Party has invoked the objection procedure provided for in Article 8 (Objection procedure), the Contracting Parties shall act in accordance with the outcome of the consultations, unless the matter is referred to the arbitration procedure under Articles 29.6 through 29.10 of CETA, in which case:".
  5. A third paragraph is added to Article 9 (Modification of Annex I): "3. When Articles 29.6 through 29.10 of CETA are applied in the course of the procedure referred to in paragraph 2, they shall apply mutatis mutandis.".

Annex 30-C – Joint declaration on wines and spirits

The Parties acknowledge the effort and progress that has been made on Wines and Spirits in the context of the negotiations of this Agreement. These efforts have led to mutually agreed solutions on a number of issues of high importance.

The Parties agree to discuss through the appropriate mechanisms, without delay and in view to find mutually agreed solutions, any other issue of concern related to Wines and Spirits, and notably the desire of the European Union to seek the elimination of the differentiation of provincial mark-ups applied on domestic wines and wines bottled in Canada in private wine outlets.

At the end of the fifth year following the entry into force of this Agreement, the Parties agree to review the progress made on the elimination of the differentiation referred to in the previous paragraph, based on the examination of all developments in the sector, including the consequences of any granting to third countries of a more favourable treatment in the framework of other trade negotiations involving Canada.

Annex 30-D – Joint declaration of the parties on countries that have established a customs union with the European Union

1. The European Union recalls the obligations of the countries that have established a customs union with the European Union to align their trade regime to that of the European Union, and for certain of them, to conclude preferential agreements with countries that have preferential agreements with the European Union.

2. In this context, Canada shall endeavour to start negotiations with the countries which,

  1. have established a customs union with the European Union, and
  2. whose goods do not benefit from the tariff concessions under this Agreement,

with a view to conclude a comprehensive bilateral agreement establishing a free trade area in accordance with the relevant WTO Agreement provisions on goods and services, provided that those countries agree to negotiate an ambitious and comprehensive agreement comparable to this Agreement in scope and ambition. Canada shall endeavour to start negotiations as soon as possible with a view to have such an agreement enter into force as soon as possible after the entry into force of this Agreement.

________________

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Annexe 30

Annexe 30-A – Liste des traités d'investissement bilatéraux entre le Canada et des états membres de l'Union européenne

Accord entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la République de Croatie pour l'encouragement et la protection des investissements, fait à Ottawa, le 3 février 1997.

Accord entre le Canada et la République tchèque concernant la promotion et la protection des investissements, fait à Prague, le 6 mai 2009.

Accord entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la République de Hongrie sur l'encouragement et la protection réciproque des investissements, fait à Ottawa, le 3 octobre 1991.

Accord entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la République de Lettonie concernant la promotion et la protection des investissements, fait à Riga, le 5 mai 2009.

Échange de notes entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la République de Malte constituant un accord relatif à l'assurance-investissement à l'étranger, fait à La Valette, le 24 mai 1982.

Accord entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la République de Pologne sur l'encouragement et la protection des investissements, fait à Varsovie, le 6 avril 1990.

Accord entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de Roumanie concernant la promotion et la protection réciproque des investissements, fait à Bucarest, le 8 mai 2009.

Accord entre le Canada et la République slovaque concernant la promotion et la protection des investissements, fait à Bratislava, le 20 juillet 2010.

Annexe 30-B – Modifications apportées à l'accord de 1989 sur les boissons alcooliques et à l'accord de 2003 sur les vins et les boissons spiritueuses

Section A

La définition suivante est ajoutée à l'article 1 de l'Accord de 1989 sur les boissons alcooliques, tel qu'il est modifié par l'annexe VIII de l'Accord de 2003 sur les vins et les boissons spiritueuses :

"" autorité compétente" s'entend d'un gouvernement ou d'une commission, d'une régie ou d'un autre organisme gouvernemental d'une Partie qui est autorisé en vertu de la loi à contrôler la vente de vins et spiritueux."

Section B

L'article 2.2b) de l'Accord de 1989 sur les boissons alcooliques, tel qu'il est modifié par l'annexe VIII de l'Accord de 2003 sur les vins et les boissons spiritueuses, est remplacé par :

"b) exiger des commerces privés de vin hors site en Ontario et en Colombie-Britannique qu'ils ne vendent que des vins fabriqués dans des établissements vinicoles canadiens. Le nombre de ces commerces privés de vin hors site autorisés à vendre uniquement des vins fabriqués dans des établissements vinicoles canadiens dans ces provinces ne dépasse pas 292 en Ontario et 60 en Colombie-Britannique."

Section C

L'article 4 de l'Accord de 1989 sur les boissons alcooliques, tel qu'il est modifié par l'annexe VIII de l'Accord de 2003 sur les vins et les boissons spiritueuses, est remplacé par :

"Article 4 – Traitement commercial

1. Dans l'exercice de leurs tâches en matière d'achat, de distribution et de vente au détail de produits de l'autre Partie, les autorités compétentes se conforment aux dispositions de l'article XVII du GATT concernant les entreprises commerciales d'État, en particulier en ne prenant de décision en cette matière qu'en s'inspirant de considérations d'ordre commercial et en donnant aux entreprises de l'autre Partie une possibilité adéquate de participer à ces achats dans des conditions de libre concurrence et conformément aux usages commerciaux ordinaires.

2. Chaque Partie prend toutes les mesures possibles pour faire en sorte qu'une entreprise qui s'est vu accorder le monopole du commerce et de la vente de vins et de boissons spiritueuses sur son territoire n'utilise pas sa situation de monopole pour se livrer, directement ou indirectement, y compris à la faveur de ses rapports avec sa société mère, une filiale ou une autre entreprise détenue conjointement, à la vente de vins et de boissons spiritueuses sur un marché à l'extérieur du territoire où l'entreprise se trouve en situation de monopole qui a un effet anticoncurrentiel nuisant sensiblement à la concurrence sur ce marché."

Section D

L'article 4a de l'Accord de 1989 sur les boissons alcooliques, tel qu'il est modifié par l'annexe VIII de l'Accord de 2003 sur les vins et les boissons spiritueuses, est remplacé par :

"4a – Établissement des prix

1. Les autorités compétentes des Parties font en sorte que toute majoration, tous frais de service ou toute autre règle de prix soient non discriminatoires, s'appliquent à toutes les ventes au détail et soient conformes à l'article 2.

2. Un écart des frais de service ne peut s'appliquer à un produit de l'autre Partie que dans la mesure où il ne dépasse pas les frais de service additionnels nécessairement associés à la commercialisation des produits de l'autre Partie, compte tenu des frais additionnels résultant, entre autres, du mode et de la fréquence de livraison.

3. Chaque Partie fait en sorte que les frais de service ne soient pas appliqués aux produits de l'autre Partie en fonction de la valeur du produit.

4. Un écart des frais de service est justifié conformément aux procédures comptables normalisées appliquées par des vérificateurs indépendants lors d'un audit effectué sur demande de l'autre Partie dans un délai d'un an suivant l'entrée en vigueur de l'Accord de 2003 sur les vins et les boissons spiritueuses et, par la suite, sur demande de cette Partie, à des intervalles non inférieurs à quatre ans. Les audits sont mis à la disposition de l'une ou l'autre des Parties dans un délai d'un an suivant la formulation de la demande.

5. Les autorités compétentes mettent à jour les frais liés aux écarts des frais de service, au besoin, afin de refléter l'engagement prévu au sous-paragraphe 4a(2).

6. Les autorités compétentes rendent accessibles les frais liés aux écarts des frais de service applicables par des moyens à la disposition du public, par exemple sur leur site Web officiel.

7. Les autorités compétentes établissent un point de contact pour répondre aux questions et aux préoccupations de l'autre Partie au sujet des frais liés aux écarts des frais de service. Une Partie répondra à la demande d'une autre Partie par écrit dans les 60 jours de la réception de la demande."

Section E

L'Accord de 1989 sur les boissons alcooliques, tel qu'il est modifié par l'annexe VIII de l'Accord de 2003 sur les vins et les boissons spiritueuses, est modifié par l'ajout de l'article 4b :

"Article 4b – Exigences en matière de mélanges

Aucune des Parties ne peut adopter ni maintenir une mesure exigeant que les spiritueux importés du territoire de l'autre Partie à des fins d'embouteillage soient mélangés à des spiritueux de la Partie importatrice."

Section F

L'Accord de 2003 sur les vins et les boissons spiritueuses est ainsi modifié :

  1. Le premier tiret de l'article 27.3 (Comité mixte) est remplacé par : "adopter les modifications à apporter aux annexes du présent accord par voie de décision du Comité mixte".
  2. Le titre VIII (Règlement des litiges) est supprimé.
  3. Les deux dernières phrases de l'article 8.1 (Procédure d'opposition) sont remplacées par "Une partie contractante peut demander à engager des consultations au titre de l'article 29.4 (Consultations) de l'Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l'Union européenne (AECG). En cas d'échec des consultations, une partie contractante peut notifier par écrit à l'autre partie contractante sa décision de soumettre l'affaire à la procédure d'arbitrage visée aux articles 29.6 à 29.10 de l'AECG."
  4. Le chapeau de l'article 9.2 (Modification de l'annexe I) est remplacé par : "Par dérogation au paragraphe 1, lorsqu'une partie contractante a demandé l'application de la procédure d'opposition prévue à l'article 8 (Procédure d'opposition), les parties contractantes sont tenues d'agir conformément aux résultats des consultations, à moins que l'affaire n'ait été soumise à la procédure d'arbitrage visée aux articles 29.6 à 29.10 de l'AECG, auquel cas :"
  5. Un paragraphe 3 est ajouté à l'Article 9 (Modification de l'annexe I) : "3. Les articles 29.6 à 29.10 de l'AECG, lorsqu'ils sont appliqués dans le cadre de la procédure dont il est question au paragraphe 2, s'appliquent avec les adaptations nécessaires." 

Annexe 30-C – Déclaration commune sur les vins et les boissons spiritueuses

Les Parties reconnaissent les efforts déployés et le progrès accompli dans le dossier des vins et des boissons spiritueuses dans le cadre des négociations du présent accord. Ces efforts ont permis d'arriver à des solutions mutuellement convenues à l'égard d'un certain nombre d'enjeux de grande importance.

Les Parties s'entendent pour discuter, par la voie des mécanismes appropriés, sans délai et en vue d'arriver à des solutions mutuellement convenues, de tout autre problème qui les préoccupe en ce qui concerne les vins et les boissons spiritueuses, et notamment la volonté de l'Union européenne d'obtenir l'élimination des différences entre les majorations provinciales sur les vins nationaux et les vins embouteillés au Canada appliquées par des commerces de vin privés.

À la fin de la cinquième année suivant l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord, les Parties conviennent d'examiner les progrès réalisés en ce qui concerne l'élimination des différences mentionnées au paragraphe précédent en se penchant sur tous les éléments nouveaux dans le secteur, y compris les effets de tout octroi d'un traitement plus favorable à des pays tiers dans le cadre d'autres négociations commerciales auxquelles le Canada prend part.

Annexe 30-D – Déclaration commune des parties sur les pays qui ont établi une union douanière avec l'union européenne

1. L'Union européenne rappelle que les pays qui ont établi avec elle une union douanière ont l'obligation d'aligner leur régime commercial sur celui de l'Union européenne, et pour certains de ces pays, de conclure des accords préférentiels avec les pays qui en ont conclu avec l'Union européenne.

2. Dans ce contexte, le Canada s'efforce d'entamer des négociations avec les pays :

  1. qui ont établi une union douanière avec l'Union européenne; et
  2. dont les marchandises ne bénéficient pas de concessions tarifaires au titre du présent accord,

en vue de conclure un accord bilatéral global établissant une zone de libre-échange conformément aux dispositions pertinentes de l'Accord sur l'OMC relatives aux marchandises et aux services, pourvu que ces pays acceptent de négocier un accord ambitieux et global comparable au présent accord dans son champ d'application et son ambition. Le Canada s'efforce d'entamer des négociations dans les meilleurs délais de manière à ce qu'un tel accord entre en vigueur dès que possible après l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord.

________________

Date de modification: