Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Chapter thirty: Final provisions

Article 30.1 – Integral parts of this Agreement

The protocols, annexes, declarations, joint declarations, understandings and footnotes to this Agreement constitute integral parts thereof.

Article 30.2 – Amendments

1. The Parties may agree, in writing, to amend this Agreement. An amendment shall enter into force after the Parties exchange written notifications certifying that they have completed their respective applicable internal requirements and procedures necessary for the entry into force of the amendment, or on the date agreed by the Parties.

2. Notwithstanding paragraph 1, the CETA Joint Committee may decide to amend the protocols and annexes of this Agreement. The Parties may approve the CETA Joint Committee's decision in accordance with their respective internal requirements and procedures necessary for the entry into force of the amendment. The decision shall enter into force on a date agreed by the Parties. This procedure shall not apply to amendments to Annexes I, II and III and to amendments to the annexes of Chapters Eight (Investment), Nine (Cross-Border Trade in Services), Ten (Temporary Entry and Stay of Natural Persons for Business Purposes) and Thirteen (Financial Services), except for Annex 10-A (List of Contact Points of the Member States of the European Union).

Article 30.3 – Preference utilisation

For a period of 10 years after the entry into force of this Agreement, the Parties shall exchange quarterly figures at the tariff line level for HS Chapters 1 through 97, on imports of goods from the other Party that are subject to MFN-applied tariff rates and tariff preferences under this Agreement. Unless the Parties decide otherwise, this period will be renewed for five years and may be subsequently extended by them.

Article 30.4 – Current account

The Parties shall authorise, in freely convertible currency and in accordance with Article VIII of the Articles of Agreement of the International Monetary Fund done at Bretton Woods on 22 July 1944, any payments and transfers on the current account of the balance of payments between the Parties.

Article 30.5 – Movement of capital

The Parties shall consult each other with a view to facilitating the movement of capital between them by continuing to implement their policies regarding the liberalisation of the capital and financial account, and by supporting a stable and secure framework for long term investment.

Article 30.6 – Private rights

1. Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed as conferring rights or imposing obligations on persons other than those created between the Parties under public international law, nor as permitting this Agreement to be directly invoked in the domestic legal systems of the Parties.

2. A Party shall not provide for a right of action under its domestic law against the other Party on the ground that a measure of the other Party is inconsistent with this Agreement.

Article 30.7 – Entry into force and provisional application

1. The Parties shall approve this Agreement in accordance with their respective internal requirements and procedures.

2. This Agreement shall enter into force on the first day of the second month following the date the Parties exchange written notifications certifying that they have completed their respective internal requirements and procedures or on such other date as the Parties may agree.

3.

  1. The Parties may provisionally apply this Agreement from the first day of the month following the date on which the Parties have notified each other that their respective internal requirements and procedures necessary for the provisional application of this Agreement have been completed or on such other date as the Parties may agree.
  2. If a Party intends not to provisionally apply a provision of this Agreement, it shall first notify the other Party of the provisions that it will not provisionally apply and shall offer to enter into consultations promptly. Within 30 days of the notification, the other Party may either object, in which case this Agreement shall not be provisionally applied, or provide its own notification of equivalent provisions of this Agreement, if any, that it does not intend to provisionally apply. If within 30 days of the second notification, an objection is made by the other Party, this Agreement shall not be provisionally applied.

The provisions that are not subject to a notification by a Party shall be provisionally applied by that Party from the first day of the month following the later notification, or on such other date as the Parties may agree, provided the Parties have exchanged notifications under subparagraph (a).

  1. A Party may terminate the provisional application of this Agreement by written notice to the other Party. Such termination shall take effect on the first day of the second month following that notification.
  2. If this Agreement, or certain provisions of this Agreement, is provisionally applied, the Parties shall understand the term "entry into force of this Agreement" as meaning the date of provisional application. The CETA Joint Committee and other bodies established under this Agreement may exercise their functions during the provisional application of this Agreement. Any decisions adopted in the exercise of their functions will cease to be effective if the provisional application of this Agreement is terminated under subparagraph (c).

4. Canada shall submit notifications under this Article to the General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union or its successor. The European Union shall submit notifications under this Article to Canada's Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development or its successor.

Article 30.8 – Termination, suspension or incorporation of other existing agreements

1. The agreements listed in Annex 30-A shall cease to have effect, and shall be replaced and superseded by this Agreement. Termination of the agreements listed in Annex 30-A shall take effect from the date of entry into force of this Agreement.

2. Notwithstanding paragraph 1, a claim may be submitted under an agreement listed in Annex 30-A in accordance with the rules and procedures established in the agreement if:

  1. the treatment that is object of the claim was accorded when the agreement was not terminated; and
  2. no more than three years have elapsed since the date of termination of the agreement.

3. The Agreement between the European Economic Community and Canada concerning Trade and Commerce in Alcoholic Beverages, done at Brussels on 28 February 1989, as amended, (the "1989 Alcoholic Beverages Agreement") and the Agreement between the European Community and Canada on Trade in Wines and Spirit Drinks, done at Niagara-on-the-Lake on 16 September 2003 (the "2003 Wines and Spirit Drinks Agreement") are incorporated into and made part of this Agreement, as amended by Annex 30-B.

4. The provisions of the 1989 Alcoholic Beverages Agreement or the 2003 Wines and Spirit Drinks Agreement, as amended and incorporated into this Agreement, prevail to the extent that there is an inconsistency between the provisions of those agreements and any other provision of this Agreement.

5. The Agreement on Mutual Recognition between the European Community and Canada (the "Agreement on Mutual Recognition"), done at London on 14 May 1998, shall be terminated from the date of entry into force of this Agreement. In the event of provisional application of Chapter Four (Technical Barriers to Trade) in accordance with Article 30.7.3(a), the Agreement on Mutual Recognition, as well as the rights and obligations derived therefrom, shall be suspended as of the date of provisional application. In the event the provisional application is terminated, the suspension of the Agreement on Mutual Recognition shall cease.

6. The Parties recognise the achievements that have been accomplished under the Agreement between the European Community and the Government of Canada on sanitary measures to protect public and animal health in respect of trade in live animals and animal products, done at Ottawa on 17 December 1998 (the "Veterinary Agreement") and confirm their intention to continue this work under this Agreement. The Veterinary Agreement shall be terminated from the date of entry into force of this Agreement. In the event of provisional application of Chapter Five (Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures) in accordance with Article 30.7.3(a), the Veterinary Agreement, as well as the rights and obligations derived therefrom, shall be suspended as of the date of provisional application. In the event the provisional application is terminated, the suspension of the Veterinary Agreement shall cease.

7. The definition of "entry into force of this Agreement" in Article 30.7.3(d) shall not apply to this Article.

Article 30.9 – Termination

1. A Party may denounce this Agreement by giving written notice of termination to the General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union and the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development of Canada, or their respective successors. This Agreement shall be terminated 180 days after the date of that notice. The Party giving a notice of termination shall also provide the CETA Joint Committee with a copy of the notice.

2. Notwithstanding paragraph 1, in the event that this Agreement is terminated, the provisions of Chapter Eight (Investment) shall continue to be effective for a period of 20 years after the date of termination of this Agreement in respect of investments made before that date.

Article 30.10 – Accession of new Member States of the European Union

1. The European Union shall notify Canada of any request made by a country to accede to the European Union.

2. During the negotiations between the European Union and the country seeking accession, the European Union shall:

  1. provide, upon the request of Canada, and to the extent possible, any information regarding any matter covered by this Agreement; and
  2. take into account any concerns expressed by Canada.

3. The European Union shall notify Canada of the entry into force of any accession to the European Union.

4. Sufficiently in advance of the date of accession of a country to the European Union, the CETA Joint Committee shall examine any effects of the accession on this Agreement and shall decide on any necessary adjustment or transition measures.

5. Any new Member State of the European Union shall accede to this Agreement from the date of its accession to the European Union by means of a clause to that effect in the act of accession to the European Union. If the act of accession to the European Union does not provide for the automatic accession of the European Union Member State to this Agreement, the European Union Member State concerned shall accede to this Agreement by depositing an act of accession to this Agreement with the General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union and the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development of Canada, or their respective successors.

Article 30.11 – Authentic texts

This Agreement is drawn up in duplicate in the Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish languages, each version being equally authentic.

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Chapitre trente : Dispositions finales

Article 30.1 – Parties intégrantes du présent accord

Les protocoles, annexes, déclarations, déclarations communes, mémorandums d'accord et notes de bas de page du présent accord en font partie intégrante.

Article 30.2 – Amendements

1. Les Parties peuvent convenir par écrit d'amender le présent accord. Un amendement entre en vigueur après l'échange de notifications écrites entre les Parties attestant qu'elles ont accompli leurs obligations et procédures internes applicables respectives qui sont nécessaires à l'entrée en vigueur de l'amendement, ou à la date convenue par les Parties.

2. Nonobstant le paragraphe 1, le Comité mixte de l'AECG peut décider d'amender les protocoles et annexes du présent accord. Les Parties peuvent approuver la décision du Comité mixte de l'AECG, conformément à leurs obligations et procédures internes respectives qui sont nécessaires à l'entrée en vigueur de l'amendement. La décision entre en vigueur à la date convenue par les Parties. Cette procédure ne s'applique pas aux amendements visant les annexes I, II et III ni aux amendements visant les annexes des chapitres Huit (Investissement), Neuf (Commerce transfrontières des services), Dix (Admission et séjour temporaires des personnes physiques à des fins professionnelles) et Treize (Services financiers), sauf l'annexe 10-A (Liste des points de contact des États membres de l'Union européenne).

Article 30.3 – Utilisation des préférences

Pour une période de 10 ans après l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord, les Parties échangent des données trimestrielles au niveau de la ligne tarifaire des chapitres 1 à 97 du SH pour ce qui est des importations de marchandises en provenance de l'autre Partie qui sont assujetties aux taux de droit NPF appliqués et aux préférences tarifaires au titre du présent accord. À moins que les Parties n'en décident autrement, cette période sera renouvelée pour une période de cinq ans et peut par la suite être prolongée par les Parties.

Article 30.4 – Compte des transactions courantes

Les Parties autorisent, dans une monnaie librement convertible et conformément à l'article VIII des Statuts du Fonds monétaire international, faits à Bretton Woods le 22 juillet 1944, tous les paiements et transferts effectués dans le compte des transactions courantes de la balance des paiements entre les Parties.

Article 30.5 – Mouvement des capitaux

Les Parties se consultent en vue de faciliter le mouvement des capitaux entre elles, en poursuivant la mise en œuvre de leurs politiques concernant la libéralisation des capitaux et des comptes financiers, et en favorisant un cadre stable et sûr pour l'investissement à long terme.

Article 30.6 – Droits privés

1. Aucune disposition du présent accord n'est interprétée comme conférant des droits ou imposant des obligations à des personnes autres que ceux créés entre les Parties en vertu du droit international public, ni comme permettant d'invoquer directement le présent accord dans les systèmes juridiques internes des Parties.

2. Une Partie ne prévoit pas dans son droit interne de droit d'action contre l'autre Partie au motif qu'une mesure de l'autre Partie est incompatible avec le présent accord.

Article 30.7 – Entrée en vigueur et application provisoire

1. Les Parties approuvent le présent accord selon leurs obligations et procédures internes respectives.

2. Le présent accord entre en vigueur le premier jour du deuxième mois suivant la date à laquelle les Parties échangent des notifications écrites attestant qu'elles ont accompli leurs obligations et procédures internes respectives ou à toute autre date convenue entre les Parties.

3.

  1. Les Parties peuvent appliquer provisoirement le présent accord à compter du premier jour du mois suivant la date à laquelle elles se sont notifié réciproquement l'accomplissement de leurs obligations et procédures internes respectives nécessaires à l'application provisoire du présent accord, ou à toute autre date convenue entre les Parties.
  2. La Partie qui a l'intention de ne pas appliquer provisoirement une disposition du présent accord notifie d'abord à l'autre Partie les dispositions qu'elle n'appliquera pas provisoirement et offre d'engager des consultations dans les moindres délais. Dans les 30 jours de la notification, l'autre Partie peut, soit s'y opposer, auquel cas le présent accord n'est pas appliqué provisoirement, soit présenter sa propre notification de dispositions équivalentes du présent accord, le cas échéant, qu'elle n'a pas l'intention d'appliquer provisoirement. Si, dans les 30 jours de la deuxième notification, une objection est formulée par l'autre Partie, le présent accord n'est pas appliqué provisoirement.

Les dispositions qui ne font pas l'objet d'une notification par une Partie sont provisoirement appliquées par cette Partie à compter du premier jour du mois suivant la dernière notification, ou à toute autre date convenue entre les Parties, à la condition que celles-ci aient échangé des notifications conformément à l'alinéa a).

  1. Une Partie peut mettre fin à l'application provisoire du présent accord par un avis écrit à l'autre Partie. L'application provisoire prend fin le premier jour du deuxième mois suivant cette notification.
  2. En cas d'application provisoire du présent accord ou de certaines de ses dispositions, les Parties comprennent que l'expression "entrée en vigueur du présent accord" s'entend de la date de l'application provisoire. Le Comité mixte de l'AECG et d'autres organes établis au titre du présent accord peuvent exercer leurs fonctions pendant l'application provisoire du présent accord. Toute décision adoptée dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions cessera d'avoir effet si l'application provisoire du présent accord prend fin en application de l'alinéa c).

4. Le Canada présente les notifications au titre du présent article au Secrétariat général du Conseil de l'Union européenne ou à son successeur. L'Union européenne présente les notifications au titre du présent article au ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement du Canada ou à son successeur.

Article 30.8 – Extinction, suspension ou incorporation d'autres accords existants

1. Les accords énumérés à l'annexe 30-A cessent d'être applicables et sont remplacés par le présent accord. L'extinction des accords énumérés à l'annexe 30-A prend effet à la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord.

2. Nonobstant le paragraphe 1, une plainte peut être présentée au titre d'un accord énuméré à l'annexe 30-A, conformément aux règles et aux procédures prévues par l'accord, aux conditions suivantes :

  1. le traitement faisant l'objet de la plainte a été accordé lorsque l'accord n'était pas  éteint;
  2. pas plus de trois années se sont écoulées depuis la date d'extinction de l'accord.

3. L'Accord entre la Communauté économique européenne et le Canada concernant le commerce des boissons alcooliques, fait à Bruxelles le 28 février 1989, tel que modifié (l'"Accord de 1989 sur les boissons alcooliques") et l'Accord entre la Communauté européenne et le Canada relatif au commerce des vins et des boissons spiritueuses, fait à Niagara-on-the-Lake le 16 septembre 2003 (l'"Accord de 2003 sur les vins et les boissons spiritueuses"), sont incorporés au présent accord et en font partie intégrante, tels qu'ils sont modifiés par l'annexe 30-B.

4. Les dispositions de l'Accord de 1989 sur les boissons alcooliques ou de l'Accord de 2003 sur les vins et les boissons spiritueuses, tels qu'ils sont modifiés et incorporés au présent accord, l'emportent dans la mesure où il y a incompatibilité entre les dispositions de ces accords et toute autre disposition du présent accord.

5. L'Accord de reconnaissance mutuelle entre la Communauté européenne et le Canada (l'"Accord de reconnaissance mutuelle"), fait à Londres le 14 mai 1998, s'éteint à la date de l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord. En cas d'application provisoire du chapitre Quatre (Obstacles techniques au commerce), conformément à l'article 30.7.3a), l'Accord de reconnaissance mutuelle ainsi que les droits et obligations en découlant sont suspendus à partir de la date de l'application provisoire. En cas de cessation de l'application provisoire, la suspension de l'Accord de reconnaissance mutuelle prend fin.

6. Les Parties reconnaissent les progrès réalisés au titre de l'Accord entre la Communauté européenne et le gouvernement du Canada relatif aux mesures sanitaires de protection de la santé publique et animale applicables au commerce d'animaux vivants et de produits animaux, fait à Ottawa le 17 décembre 1998 (l'"Accord vétérinaire"), et confirment leur intention de poursuivre leurs efforts en ce sens dans le cadre du présent accord. L'Accord vétérinaire s'éteint à la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord. En cas d'application provisoire du chapitre Cinq (Mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires), conformément à l'article 30.7.3a), l'Accord vétérinaire ainsi que les droits et obligations en découlant sont suspendus à partir de la date de l'application provisoire. En cas de cessation de l'application provisoire, la suspension de l'Accord vétérinaire prend fin.

7. La définition de l'expression "entrée en vigueur du présent accord" figurant à l'article 30.7.3d) ne s'applique pas au présent article.

Article 30.9 – Extinction

1. Une Partie peut dénoncer le présent accord en donnant un avis écrit d'extinction au Secrétariat général du Conseil de l'Union européenne et au ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement du Canada, ou à leurs successeurs respectifs. Le présent accord s'éteint 180 jours après la date de cet avis. La Partie qui donne un avis d'extinction fournit aussi une copie de l'avis au Comité mixte de l'AECG.

2. Nonobstant le paragraphe 1, dans l'éventualité de l'extinction du présent accord, les dispositions du chapitre Huit (Investissement) restent en vigueur pendant une durée de 20 ans après la date d'extinction du présent accord, en ce qui concerne les investissements effectués avant cette date.

Article 30.10 – Adhésion de nouveaux États membres de l'Union européenne

1. L'Union européenne notifie au Canada toute demande d'adhésion à l'Union européenne faite par un pays.

2. Durant les négociations entre l'Union européenne et le pays qui sollicite l'adhésion, l'Union européenne :

  1. fournit, à la demande du Canada et dans la mesure du possible, des informations sur toute question couverte par le présent accord;
  2. tient compte de toute préoccupation exprimée par le Canada.

3. L'Union européenne notifie au Canada l'entrée en vigueur de toute adhésion à l'Union européenne.

4. Dans un délai suffisant avant la date d'adhésion d'un pays à l'Union européenne, le Comité mixte de l'AECG examine les effets de cette adhésion sur le présent accord et décide de tout ajustement ou de toute mesure de transition nécessaires.

5. Tout nouvel État membre de l'Union européenne adhère au présent accord à compter de la date de son adhésion à l'Union européenne au moyen d'une clause à cet effet dans l'acte d'adhésion à l'Union européenne. Si l'acte d'adhésion à l'Union européenne ne prévoit pas l'adhésion automatique de l'État membre de l'Union européenne au présent accord, l'État membre de l'Union européenne concerné adhère au présent accord en déposant un acte d'adhésion au présent accord auprès du Secrétariat général du Conseil de l'Union européenne et du ministre des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement du Canada ou de leurs successeurs respectifs.

Article 30.11 – Textes faisant foi

Le présent accord est rédigé en double exemplaire, en langues allemande, anglaise, bulgare, croate, danoise, espagnole, estonienne, finnoise, française, grecque, hongroise, italienne, lettone, lituanienne, maltaise, néerlandaise, polonaise, portugaise, roumaine, slovaque, slovène, suédoise et tchèque, chaque version linguistique faisant également foi.

Date de modification: