Text of the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement – Preamble

COMPREHENSIVE ECONOMIC AND TRADE AGREEMENT (CETA)
BETWEEN CANADA, OF THE ONE PART,
AND THE EUROPEAN UNION AND ITS MEMBER STATES, OF THE OTHER PART

CANADA, of the one part, and THE EUROPEAN UNION, THE KINGDOM OF BELGIUM, THE REPUBLIC OF BULGARIA, THE CZECH REPUBLIC, THE KINGDOM OF DENMARK, THE FEDERAL REPUBLIC OF GERMANY, THE REPUBLIC OF ESTONIA, IRELAND, THE HELLENIC REPUBLIC, THE KINGDOM OF SPAIN, THE FRENCH REPUBLIC, THE REPUBLIC OF CROATIA, THE ITALIAN REPUBLIC, THE REPUBLIC OF CYPRUS, THE REPUBLIC OF LATVIA, THE REPUBLIC OF LITHUANIA, THE GRAND DUCHY OF LUXEMBOURG, HUNGARY, THE REPUBLIC OF MALTA, THE KINGDOM OF THE NETHERLANDS, THE REPUBLIC OF AUSTRIA, THE REPUBLIC OF POLAND, THE PORTUGUESE REPUBLIC, ROMANIA, THE REPUBLIC OF SLOVENIA, THE SLOVAK REPUBLIC, THE REPUBLIC OF FINLAND, THE KINGDOM OF SWEDEN, and THE UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND, of the other part, hereafter jointly referred to as the "Parties", resolve to:

FURTHER strengthen their close economic relationship and build upon their respective rights and obligations under the Marrakesh Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization, done on 15 April 1994, and other multilateral and bilateral instruments of cooperation;

CREATE an expanded and secure market for their goods and services through the reduction or elimination of barriers to trade and investment;

ESTABLISH clear, transparent, predictable and mutually‑advantageous rules to govern their trade and investment;

AND,

REAFFIRMING their strong attachment to democracy and to fundamental rights as laid down in The Universal Declaration of Human Rights, done at Paris on 10 December 1948, and sharing the view that the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction poses a major threat to international security;

RECOGNISING the importance of international security, democracy, human rights and the rule of law for the development of international trade and economic cooperation;

RECOGNISING that the provisions of this Agreement preserve the right of the Parties to regulate within their territories and the Parties' flexibility to achieve legitimate policy objectives, such as public health, safety, environment, public morals and the promotion and protection of cultural diversity;

AFFIRMING their commitments as parties to the UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions, done at Paris on 20 October 2005, and recognising that states have the right to preserve, develop and implement their cultural policies, to support their cultural industries for the purpose of strengthening the diversity of cultural expressions, and to preserve their cultural identity, including through the use of regulatory measures and financial support;

RECOGNISING that the provisions of this Agreement protect investments and investors with respect to their investments, and are intended to stimulate mutually‑beneficial business activity, without undermining the right of the Parties to regulate in the public interest within their territories;

REAFFIRMING their commitment to promote sustainable development and the development of international trade in such a way as to contribute to sustainable development in its economic, social and environmental dimensions;

ENCOURAGING enterprises operating within their territory or subject to their jurisdiction to respect internationally recognised guidelines and principles of corporate social responsibility, including the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises, and to pursue best practices of responsible business conduct;

IMPLEMENTING this Agreement in a manner consistent with the enforcement of their respective labour and environmental laws and that enhances their levels of labour and environmental protection, and building upon their international commitments on labour and environmental matters;

RECOGNISING the strong link between innovation and trade, and the importance of innovation to future economic growth, and affirming their commitment to encourage the expansion of cooperation in the area of innovation, as well as the related areas of research and development and science and technology, and to promote the involvement of relevant public and private sector entities;

HAVE AGREED AS FOLLOWS:

Date Modified:

Texte de l'Accord économique et commercial global – Préambule

ACCORD ÉCONOMIQUE ET COMMERCIAL GLOBAL (AECG)
ENTRE LE CANADA, D'UNE PART,
ET L'UNION EUROPÉENNE ET SES ÉTATS MEMBRES, D'AUTRE PART

LE CANADA, d'une part, et L'UNION EUROPÉENNE, LE ROYAUME DE BELGIQUE, LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE BULGARIE, LA RÉPUBLIQUE TCHÈQUE, LE ROYAUME DE DANEMARK, LA RÉPUBLIQUE FÉDÉRALE D'ALLEMAGNE, LA RÉPUBLIQUE D'ESTONIE, L'IRLANDE, LA RÉPUBLIQUE HELLÉNIQUE, LE ROYAUME D'ESPAGNE, LA RÉPUBLIQUE FRANÇAISE, LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE CROATIE, LA RÉPUBLIQUE ITALIENNE, LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE CHYPRE, LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE LETTONIE, LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE LITUANIE, LE GRAND-DUCHÉ DE LUXEMBOURG, LA HONGRIE, LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE MALTE, LE ROYAUME DES PAYS-BAS, LA RÉPUBLIQUE D'AUTRICHE, LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE POLOGNE, LA RÉPUBLIQUE PORTUGAISE, LA ROUMANIE, LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE SLOVÉNIE, LA RÉPUBLIQUE SLOVAQUE, LA RÉPUBLIQUE DE FINLANDE, LE ROYAUME DE SUÈDE, et LE ROYAUME‑UNI DE GRANDE-BRETAGNE ET D'IRLANDE DU NORD, d'autre part, ci‑après collectivement dénommés "les Parties", ayant résolu :

DE RESSERRER DAVANTAGE leurs liens économiques étroits et de prendre appui sur leurs droits et obligations respectifs au titre de l'Accord de Marrakech instituant l'Organisation mondiale du commerce, fait le 15 avril 1994, et d'autres instruments multilatéraux et bilatéraux de coopération;

DE CRÉER un marché élargi et sûr pour leurs marchandises et services par la réduction ou l'élimination d'obstacles au commerce et à l'investissement;

D'ÉTABLIR des règles claires, transparentes, prévisibles et mutuellement avantageuses pour régir leurs échanges commerciaux et leurs investissements;

ET,

RÉAFFIRMANT leur profond attachement à la démocratie et aux droits fondamentaux énoncés dans la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme, faite à Paris le 10 décembre 1948, et étant d'avis que la prolifération des armes de destruction massive constitue une grave menace pour la sécurité internationale;

RECONNAISSANT l'importance de la sécurité internationale, de la démocratie, des droits de l'homme et de la primauté du droit en vue du développement du commerce international et de la coopération économique;

RECONNAISSANT que les dispositions du présent accord maintiennent pour les Parties leur droit de fixer des règles sur leurs territoires et la latitude dont elles ont besoin pour réaliser des objectifs légitimes en matière de politique, tels que ceux visant la santé publique, la sécurité, l'environnement et la moralité publique ainsi que la promotion et la protection de la diversité culturelle;

AFFIRMANT leurs engagements en tant que parties à la Convention sur la protection et la promotion de la diversité des expressions culturelles de l'UNESCO, faite à Paris le 20 octobre 2005, et reconnaissant que les États ont le droit de maintenir, d'établir et de mettre en œuvre leurs politiques culturelles, de soutenir leurs industries culturelles dans le but de renforcer la diversité des expressions culturelles, et de préserver leur identité culturelle, y compris par le recours à des mesures de réglementation et à un soutien financier;

RECONNAISSANT que les dispositions du présent accord protègent les investissements ainsi que les investisseurs en ce qui concerne leurs investissements et visent à stimuler des activités commerciales mutuellement avantageuses, sans porter atteinte au droit des Parties de fixer des règles sur leurs territoires dans l'intérêt public;

RÉAFFIRMANT leur engagement à promouvoir le développement durable et le développement du commerce international de manière à contribuer aux dimensions économique, sociale et environnementale du développement durable;

ENCOURAGEANT les entreprises qui exercent des activités sur leur territoire ou qui relèvent de leur juridiction à respecter les lignes directrices et principes internationalement reconnus en matière de responsabilité sociale des entreprises, y compris les Principes directeurs de l'OCDE à l'intention des entreprises multinationales, et à adopter des pratiques exemplaires en matière de conduite responsable des entreprises;

METTANT EN ŒUVRE le présent accord d'une manière qui est conforme à l'application de leur législation respective en matière de travail et d'environnement et qui renforce leurs niveaux de protection du travail et de l'environnement, en s'appuyant sur leurs engagements internationaux dans les domaines du travail et de l'environnement;

RECONNAISSANT le lien solide qui existe entre l'innovation et le commerce, et l'importance de l'innovation pour la croissance économique future, et affirmant leur engagement à favoriser une coopération plus poussée dans le domaine de l'innovation et dans des domaines connexes de la recherche et du développement ainsi que de la science et de la technologie, et à promouvoir la participation des entités concernées des secteurs public et privé;

SONT CONVENUS DE CE QUI SUIT :

Date de modification: