Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement

Chapter VI: Emergency Action

Article VI.1 Article XIX of the GATT 1994 and the Agreement on Safeguards of the WTO.

Each Party retains its rights and obligations under Article XIX of the GATT 1994 and the Agreement on Safeguards of the WTO Agreement and any successor agreements.

Article VI.2 Bilateral Actions

1. Subject to paragraphs 2 through 4, and during the transition period only, if a good originating in the territory of a Party, as a result of the reduction or elimination of a duty provided for in this Agreement, is being imported into the territory of the other Party in such increased quantities and under such conditions that the imports of the good from that Party alone constitute a substantial cause of serious injury, or threat thereof, to a domestic industry producing a like or directly competitive good, the Party into whose territory the good is being imported may, to the minimum extent necessary to remedy or prevent the injury:

2. The following conditions and limitations shall apply to a proceeding that may result in emergency action under paragraph 1:

3. A Party may take a bilateral emergency action after the expiration of the transition period to deal with cases of serious injury, or threat thereof, to a domestic industry arising from the operation of this Agreement only with the consent of the other Party.

4. The Party taking an action under this Article shall provide to the other Party mutually agreed trade liberalizing compensation in the form of concessions having substantially equivalent trade effects or equivalent to the value of the additional duties expected to result from the action. If the Parties are unable to agree on compensation, the Party against whose good the action is taken may take tariff action having trade effects substantially equivalent to the action taken under this Article. The Party taking the tariff action shall apply the action only for the minimum period necessary to achieve the substantially equivalent effects.

5. This Article does not apply to emergency actions respecting goods covered byAnnex III.1 (Textile and Apparel Goods).

Article VI.3 Administration of Emergency Action Proceedings

1. Each Party shall ensure the consistent, impartial and reasonable administration of its laws, regulations, decisions and rulings governing all emergency action proceedings.

2. Each Party shall entrust determinations of serious injury, or threat thereof, in emergency action proceedings to a competent investigating authority, subject to review by judicial or administrative tribunals, to the extent provided by domestic law. Negative injury determinations shall not be subject to modification, except by such review.The competent investigating authority empowered under domestic law to conduct such proceedings should be provided with the necessary resources to enable it to fulfill its duties.

3. Each Party shall adopt or maintain equitable, timely, transparent and effective procedures for emergency action proceedings, in accordance with the requirements set out in Annex VI.3 (Administration of Emergency Action Proceedings).

4. This Article does not apply to emergency actions taken under Annex III.1 (Textile and Apparel Goods).

Article VI.4 Dispute Settlement in Emergency Action Matters

Neither Party may request the establishment of an arbitral panel under Article XIII.8 (Establishment of an Arbitral Panel) regarding any proposed emergency action.

Article VI.5 Definitions

For purposes of this Chapter:

competent investigating authority means the "competent investigating authority" of a Party as defined in Annex VI.5;

contribute importantly means an important cause, but not necessarily the most important cause;

domestic industry means the producers as a whole of the like or directly competitive good operating in the territory of a Party or those whose collective output of the like or directly competitive good constitutes a major proportion of the total domestic production of those goods;

emergency action does not include any emergency action pursuant to a proceeding instituted prior to the entry into force of this Agreement;

good originating in the territory of a Party means an originating good;

serious injury means a significant overall impairment of a domestic industry;

threat of serious injury means serious injury that, on the basis of facts and not merely on allegation, conjecture or remote possibility, is clearly imminent; and

transition period means the 7 year period beginning on the entry into force of this Agreement, except where, in the case of Costa Rica, the tariff elimination for the good against which the action is taken occurs over a longer period of time, in which case the transition period shall be the period of the staged tariff elimination for that good.

Annex VI.3

Administration of Emergency Action Proceedings

Institution of a Proceeding

1. An emergency action proceeding may be instituted by a petition or complaint by entities specified in domestic law. The entity filing the petition or complaint shall demonstrate that it is representative of the domestic industry producing a good like or directly competitive with the imported good.

2. A Party may institute a proceeding on its own motion or request the competent investigating authority to conduct a proceeding.

3. Except as provided in this Annex, the time periods applicable to these proceedings will be those established by the domestic law of each Party.

Contents of a Petition or Complaint

1. Where the basis for an investigation is a petition or complaint filed by an entity representative of a domestic industry, the petitioning entity shall, in its petition or complaint, provide the following information to the extent that such information is publicly available from governmental or other sources, or best estimates and the basis therefor if such information is not available:

2. Petitions or complaints, except to the extent that they contain confidential business information, shall promptly be made available for public inspection on being filed.

Notice Requirement

1. On instituting an emergency action proceeding, the competent investigating authority shall publish notice of the institution of the proceeding in the official journal of the Party. The notice shall identify the petitioner or other requester, the imported good that is the subject of the proceeding and its tariff subheading, the nature and timing of the determination to be made, the time and place of the public hearing, dates of deadlines for filing briefs, statements and other documents, the place at which the petition and any other documents filed in the course of the proceeding may be inspected, and the name, address and telephone number of the office to be contacted for more information.

2. With respect to an emergency action proceeding instituted on the basis of a petition or complaint filed by an entity asserting that it is representative of the domestic industry, the competent investigating authority shall not publish the notice required by paragraph 5 without first assessing carefully that the petition or complaint meets the requirements of paragraph 3, including representativeness.

Public Hearing

1. In the course of each proceeding, the competent investigating authority shall:

Confidential Information

1. The competent investigating authority shall adopt or maintain procedures for the treatment of confidential information, protected under domestic law, that is provided in the course of a proceeding, including a requirement that interested parties and consumer associations providing such information furnish non-confidential written summaries thereof, or where they indicate that the information cannot be summarized, the reasons why a summary cannot be provided.

Evidence of Injury and Causation

1. In conducting its proceeding the competent investigating authority shall gather, to the best of its ability, all relevant information appropriate to the determination it must make. It shall evaluate all relevant factors of an objective and quantifiable nature having a bearing on the situation of that industry, including the rate and amount of the increase in imports of the good concerned, the share of the domestic market taken by increased imports, and changes in the level of sales, production, productivity, capacity utilization, profits and losses, and employment. In making its determination, the competent investigating authority may also consider other economic factors, such as changes in prices and inventories, and the ability of firms in the industry to generate capital.

2. The competent investigating authority shall not make an affirmative injury determination unless its investigation demonstrates, on the basis of objective evidence, the existence of a clear causal link between increased imports of the good concerned and serious injury, or threat thereof. Where factors other than increased imports are causing injury to the domestic industry at the same time, such injury shall not be attributed to increased imports.

Deliberation and Report

1. The competent investigating authority, before making an affirmative determination in an emergency action proceeding, shall allow sufficient time to gather and consider the relevant information, hold a public hearing and provide an opportunity for all interested parties and consumer associations to prepare and submit their views.

2. The competent investigating authority shall publish promptly a report, including a summary thereof in the official journal of the Party, setting out its findings and reasoned conclusions on all pertinent issues of law and fact. The report shall describe the imported good and its tariff item number, the standard applied and the finding made. The statement of reasons shall set out the basis for the determination, including a description of:

3. In its report, the competent investigating authority shall not disclose any confidential information provided pursuant to any undertaking concerning confidential information that may have been made in the course of the proceedings.

Annex VI.5

Country-Specific Definitions

For purposes of this Chapter:

competent investigating authority means:

1. in the case of Canada, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal, or its successor; and

2. in the case of Costa Rica, such body as may be established under that country's legislation.

Date Modified:

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica

Chapitre VI : Mesures d'urgence

Article VI.1 Article XIX du GATT de 1994 et de l'Accord sur les sauvegardes de l'OMC

Chacune des Parties conserve les droits et obligations résultant pour elle de l'article XIX du GATT de 1994 et de l'Accord sur les sauvegardes de l'OMC et de tout autre accord destiné à les remplacer.

Article VI.2 Mesures bilatérales

1. Sous réserve des paragraphes 2 à 4, et pendant la période de transition seulement, si, par suite de la réduction ou de l'élimination d'un droit prévu aux termes du présent accord, un produit originaire du territoire d'une Partie est importé sur le territoire de l'autre Partie en quantités tellement accrues et à des conditions telles que les importations du produit depuis la Partie exportatrice constituent à elles seules une cause importante de préjudice grave, ou de menace de préjudice grave, à une branche de production nationale qui produit un produit similaire ou directement concurrent, la Partie sur le territoire de laquelle le produit est importé pourra, dans la mesure minimale nécessaire pour réparer ou empêcher le préjudice :

2. Les conditions et limitations suivantes s'appliqueront à toute procédure pouvant entraîner l'adoption d'une mesure d'urgence en vertu du paragraphe 1 :

1. Une Partie pourra, après la période de transition, et en cas de préjudice grave, ou de menace de préjudice grave, à une branche de production nationale par suite de l'application du présent accord, adopter une mesure d'urgence bilatérale à l'égard d'un produit de l'autre Partie, mais seulement avec le consentement de cette Partie.

2. La Partie qui adopte une mesure d'urgence en vertu du présent article accordera à l'autre Partie une compensation mutuellement convenue ayant pour effet de libéraliser le commerce. Cette compensation prendra la forme de concessions ayant des effets commerciaux substantiellement équivalents ou correspondant à la valeur des droits de douane additionnels censés résulter de la mesure. Si les Parties ne peuvent s'entendre sur la compensation, la Partie dont le produit est visé pourra prendre une mesure tarifaire ayant des effets commerciaux équivalant substantiellement à ceux de la mesure adoptée en vertu du présent article, mais ne pourra l'appliquer que durant la période minimale nécessaire pour obtenir lesdits effets.

3. Le présent article ne s'applique pas aux mesures d'urgence concernant les produits visés par l'annexe III.1 (Produits textiles et vêtements)

Article VI.3 Administration des procédures relatives aux mesures d'urgence

1. Chacune des Parties veillera à l'application uniforme, impartiale et raisonnable de ses lois, règlements, dispositions et décisions régissant les procédures relatives à l'adoption d'une mesure d'urgence.

2. S'agissant de l'adoption d'une mesure d'urgence, chacune des Parties confiera à un organisme d'enquête compétent la détermination de l'existence d'un préjudice grave, ou d'une menace de préjudice grave. Les décisions de cet organisme pourront être soumises à l'examen de tribunaux judiciaires ou administratifs, dans la mesure prévue par la législation intérieure. Les déterminations négatives de préjudice ne pourront être modifiées, si ce n'est à la suite d'un tel examen. Les organismes d'enquête compétents habilités par la législation intérieure à mener les procédures relatives à l'adoption d'une mesure d'urgence devraient se voir accorder les ressources nécessaires pour leur permettre de s'acquitter de leurs fonctions.

3. Chacune des Parties adoptera ou maintiendra des modalités équitables, rapides, transparentes et efficaces pour les procédures relatives à l'adoption d'une mesure d'urgence, conformément aux conditions énoncées dans l'annexe VI.3

4. Le présent article ne s'applique pas aux mesures d'urgence adoptées en vertu de l'annexe III.1 (Produits textiles et vêtements).

Article VI.4 Règlement des différends dans les affaires relatives aux mesures d'urgence

Aucune des Parties ne pourra demander l'institution d'un groupe spécial arbitral en vertu de l'article XIII.8 (Institution d'un groupe spécial arbitral) à l'égard d'une mesure d'urgence envisagée.

Article VI.5 Définitions

Aux fins du présent chapitre :

branche de production nationale s'entend de l'ensemble des producteurs du produit similaire ou directement concurrent dont les activités s'exercent sur le territoire d'une Partie; ou des producteurs dont la production collective du produit similaire ou directement concurrent représente un pourcentage important de la production nationale totale de ce produit;

contribuer de manière importante s'entend de ce qui constitue une cause importante, mais pas nécessairement la plus importante;

menace de préjudice grave s'entend de l'imminence manifeste d'un préjudice grave, établie d'après des faits et non d'après de simples allégations, conjectures ou lointaines possibilités;

mesure d'urgence ne comprend pas une mesure d'urgence adoptée conformément à une procédure engagée avant la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord;

organisme d'enquête compétent d'une Partie a le même sens qu'à l'annexe VI.5;

période de transition s'entend de la période de 7 ans à compter de l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord, si ce n'est que, dans le cas du Costa Rica, lorsque l'élimination du droit de douane applicable au produit faisant l'objet de la mesure s'effectue sur une période plus longue, la période de transition sera la période d'élimination progressive prévue pour le produit en question;

préjudice grave s'entend d'une dégradation générale notable d'une branche de production nationale; et produit originaire du territoire d'une Partie s'entend d'un produit originaire.

Annexe VI.3

Administration des procédures relatives aux mesures d'urgence

Engagement d'une procédure

1. Une procédure relative à l'adoption d'une mesure d'urgence pourra être engagée par voie de requête ou de plainte déposée par une entité habilitée en vertu de la législation intérieure. L'entité qui dépose la requête ou la plainte devra démontrer qu'elle est représentative de la branche de production nationale qui produit un produit similaire au produit importé ou un produit directement concurrent.

2. Une Partie pourra engager une procédure de sa propre initiative, ou demander à l'organisme d'enquête compétent de s'en charger.

3. Sous réserve des dispositions de la présente annexe, les délais applicables à ces procédures seront ceux que prévoit la législation intérieure de chacune des Parties.

Contenu d'une requête ou d'une plainte

1. Lorsqu'une enquête est ouverte par suite d'une requête ou d'une plainte déposée par une entité représentative d'une branche de production nationale, l'entité devra, dans sa requête ou sa plainte, fournir les renseignements suivants, dans la mesure où le public peut obtenir ceux-ci de sources gouvernementales ou autres, ou les meilleures données estimatives ainsi que leur base de calcul si ces renseignements ne sont pas disponibles :

2. Les requêtes ou plaintes seront rendues publiques dans les moindres délais après leur dépôt, sauf dans la mesure où elles contiennent des renseignements commerciaux confidentiels.

Publication d'avis

1. Dès l'engagement d'une procédure relative à l'adoption d'une mesure d'urgence, l'organisme d'enquête compétent en publiera avis au journal officiel de la Partie. L'avis indiquera le nom du requérant ou autre demandeur, le produit importé visé par la procédure ainsi que sa sous-position tarifaire, la nature de la détermination à faire et le délai alloué à cette fin, la date et le lieu de l'audience publique, les délais pour la présentation des mémoires, exposés et autres documents, l'endroit où la requête et les autres documents déposés au cours de la procédure peuvent être examinés, et le nom, l'adresse et le numéro de téléphone du bureau où des renseignements complémentaires peuvent être obtenus.

2. Lorsqu'une procédure relative à l'adoption d'une mesure d'urgence est engagée par suite d'une requête ou d'une plainte déposée par une entité se prétendant représentative de la branche de production nationale concernée, l'organisme d'enquête compétent ne fera pas la publication d'avis requise par le paragraphe 5 avant de s'être d'abord assuré que la requête ou la plainte satisfait aux conditions du paragraphe 3, notamment en matière de représentativité.

Audience publique

1. Pour chaque procédure, l'organisme d'enquête compétent devra :

Renseignements confidentiels

1. L'organisme d'enquête compétent devra adopter ou maintenir des procédures relatives au traitement des renseignements confidentiels, protégés en vertu de la législation intérieure, qui sont fournis au cours d'une procédure; il exigera notamment que les parties intéressées et les associations de consommateurs qui fournissent ces renseignements en donnent par écrit des résumés non confidentiels ou, si elles indiquent qu'il n'est pas possible de résumer les renseignements, qu'elles en donnent les raisons.

Preuve de préjudice et de causalité

1. Dans la conduite de la procédure, l'organisme d'enquête compétent recueillera, du mieux qu'il le pourra, tous les renseignements se rapportant à la détermination à faire. Il évaluera tous les facteurs pertinents de nature objective et quantifiable qui se rapportent à l'état de la branche de production visée, y compris le coefficient et le niveau d'accroissement des importations du produit en cause, la part du marché national absorbée par l'augmentation des importations, et l'évolution du niveau des ventes, de la production, de la productivité, de l'utilisation de la capacité, des profits et pertes, et de l'emploi. Dans sa détermination, l'organisme d'enquête compétent pourra aussi tenir compte d'autres facteurs économiques, tels que l'évolution des prix et des stocks, et l'aptitude des entreprises de la branche de production à générer du capital.

2. L'organisme d'enquête compétent ne fera une détermination positive de préjudice que si l'enquête démontre, sur la base de preuves objectives, l'existence d'un lien de causalité manifeste entre l'augmentation des importations du produit en cause et le préjudice grave ou la menace de préjudice grave. Lorsque des facteurs autres que l'augmentation des importations causent eux aussi un préjudice à la branche de production nationale, le préjudice en question ne pourra être attribué à l'augmentation des importations.

Délibérations et rapport

1. L'organisme d'enquête compétent devra, avant de faire une détermination positive dans une procédure relative à l'adoption d'une mesure d'urgence, prévoir un délai suffisant pour recueillir et examiner les renseignements pertinents, tenir une audience publique et donner la possibilité à toutes les parties et associations de consommateurs intéressées de préparer et de présenter leurs arguments.

2. L'organisme d'enquête compétent publiera dans les moindres délais un rapport dans lequel il exposera ses constatations et ses conclusions, dûment motivées, sur tous les points pertinents de droit et de fait, et fera paraître un résumé de ce rapport au journal officiel de la Partie. Le rapport fera état du produit importé et de son numéro tarifaire, de la norme qu'il aura appliquée et de la constatation qu'il aura faite. Il indiquera les motifs de la détermination, ainsi que les points suivants :

3. L'organisme d'enquête compétent ne divulguera dans son rapport aucun renseignement confidentiel qui lui aura été fourni aux termes de tout engagement de non-divulgation souscrit au cours de la procédure.

Annexe VI.5

Définitions propres à chaque pays

Aux fins du présent chapitre :

organisme d'enquête compétent s'entend :

1. dans le cas du Canada, du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur ou de l'organisme qui lui aura succédé; et

2. dans le cas du Costa Rica, de l'organe qui sera établi en vertu de la législation de ce pays.

Date de modification: