Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement

Part Three: Services and Investment

Chapter VIII: Services and Investment

Article VIII.1 General provisions

1. The Parties recognise the increasing importance of trade in services and investment in their economies. In their efforts to gradually develop and broaden their relations, the Parties will co-operate in the WTO and plurilateral fora, with the aim of creating the most favourable conditions for achieving further liberalisation and additional mutual opening of markets for trade in services and investment.

2. With a view to developing and deepening their relations under this Agreement, the Parties agree that within 3 years of the date of entry into force, they will review developments related to trade in services and investment, and consider the need for further disciplines in these areas.

3. Upon request of either Party, the other Party shall endeavour to provide information on measures that may have an impact on trade in services and investment.

Article VIII.2 Investment

The Parties note the existence of the Agreement between the Government of Canada and the Government of Costa Rica for the Promotion and Protection of Investments, signed in San José, Costa Rica, on March 18, 1998 (APPI).

Article VIII.3 Services

1. The Parties herein recognize the importance of their rights and obligations assumed in the General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS).

2.

Date Modified:

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica

Partie trois : Services et investissement

Chapitre VIII : Services et investissement

Article VIII.1 Dispositions générales

1. Les Parties reconnaissent l'importance croissante du commerce des services et de l'investissement dans leurs économies. Dans leurs efforts pour développer et élargir progressivement leurs relations, les Parties coopéreront dans le cadre de l'OMC et des instances plurilatérales, dans le but de créer les conditions les plus favorables à la poursuite de la libéralisation et de l'ouverture réciproque des marchés en ce qui concerne le commerce des services et l'investissement.

2. En vue de développer et d'approfondir leurs relations dans le cadre du présent Accord, les Parties conviennent d'examiner, dans les 3 ans suivant la date de son entrée en vigueur, l'évolution du commerce des services et de l'investissement, et d'examiner la nécessité d'élaborer de nouvelles disciplines dans ces secteurs.

3. Sur demande d'une des Parties, l'autre Partie s'efforcera de fournir des renseignements sur les mesures susceptibles d'influer sur le commerce des services et l'investissement.

Article VIII.2 Investissement

Les Parties notent l'existence de l'Accord entre le gouvernement de la République du Costa Rica et le gouvernement du Canada pour l'encouragement et la protection des investissements, signé à San José, Costa-Rica, le 18 mars 1998 (AEPI).

Article VIII.3 Services

1. Les Parties reconnaissent l'importance des droits et obligations qui découlent pour elles de l'Accord général sur le commerce des services (AGCS).

2.

Date de modification: