Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement

Part Four: Trade Facilitation

Chapter IX: Trade Facilitation and Additional Provisions

Section I-Trade Facilitation

Article IX.1 Objectives and Principles

1. With the objectives of facilitating trade under this Agreement and cooperating in pursuing trade facilitation initiatives on a multilateral and hemispheric basis, Canada and Costa Rica agree to administer their import and export processes for goods traded under this Agreement on the basis that:

Article IX.2 Specific Obligations

1. The Parties confirm their rights and obligations underArticle VIII (Fees and Formalities Connected with Importation and Exportation) and Article X (Publication and Administration of Trade Regulations) of the GATT 1994 and any successor agreements.

2. The Parties shall release goods promptly, particularly those which are unrestricted or uncontrolled. Subject to Article IX.2.3, they shall provide a basic option of:

3. The Parties recognize that, for certain goods or under certain circumstances, such as goods subject to quota or to health-related or public safety requirements, releasing the goods may require the submission of more extensive information, before or at the time of arrival of the goods, to allow the authorities to examine the goods for release.

4. The Parties shall facilitate and simplify the process and procedures for the release of low-risk merchandise, and shall improve controls on the release of high-risk merchandise. For these purposes, the Parties shall base their examination and release procedures and their post-entry verification procedures on risk assessment principles, rather than examining each and every shipment offered for entry in a comprehensive manner for compliance with all import requirements. This shall not preclude the Parties from conducting quality control and compliance reviews which may require more extensive examinations.

5. The Parties shall ensure that the procedures and activities of various agencies whose requirements on the import or export of goods are maintained, either by themselves or on their behalf by customs, are coordinated to facilitate trade. In this connection, each Party shall take steps to harmonize the data requirements of such agencies with the objective of allowing importers and exporters to present all required data to only one border agency.

6. In their procedures for the clearance of express consignments, the Parties shall apply the World Customs Organization Principles on Express Consignment.

7. The Parties shall introduce or maintain simplified clearance procedures for the entry of goods which are low in value and for which the revenue associated with such imports is not considered significant by the Party maintaining such expedited procedures.

8. The Parties shall work to achieve common processes and simplification of the information necessary for the release of goods, applying, when appropriate, existing international standards. With this objective, the Parties shall establish a means of providing for the electronic exchange of information between customs administrations and the trading community for the purpose of encouraging rapid release procedures. For purposes of this Article, the Parties shall use formats based on international standards for the electronic exchange of information, and shall also take into account the World Customs Organization Recommendations "Concerning the Use of UN/EDIFACT Rules for Electronic Data Interchange" and "Concerning the Use of Codes for the Representation of Data Elements". This shall not preclude the use of additional electronic data transmission standards.

9. The Parties, through their customs administrations, shall establish formal consultation mechanisms with their trade and business communities to promote greater cooperation and the exchange of electronic information.

10. The Parties shall issue written rulings in advance of an importation in response to a written request by an importer, exporter or its representative. Rulings shall be issued for tariff classification, applicable rate of duty, any tax applicable upon importation, or whether goods are considered to be originating goods and entitled to tariff preferences under this Agreement. The rulings shall be as detailed as the nature of the request and the details provided by the person requesting the ruling permits. When a Party determines that a request for an advance ruling is incomplete, it may request additional information, including, where appropriate, a sample of the goods or materials in question from the person requesting the ruling. The advance ruling shall be binding upon the customs administration that issued the ruling at the time the goods are actually imported provided that the facts and circumstances that were the basis for the issuance of the advance ruling remain in effect. The customs administration of a Party may modify or revoke such a ruling at any time but only after notification to the person that requested the ruling and without retroactive application. The Parties may modify or revoke such rulings without notification and with retroactive application in circumstances where inaccurate or false information has been provided.

11. The Parties shall ensure that any administrative action or official decision taken in respect of the import or export of goods is reviewable promptly by judicial, arbitral or administrative tribunals or procedures, independent of the authority issuing the decision, which has the competence to maintain,modify or reverse the determination, in accordance with the law of each Party. The Parties shall provide for an administrative level of appeal or review, independent of the official or, where applicable, the office responsible for the original action or decision, before requiring a person to seek redress at a more formal or judicial level.

12. The Parties shall promptly publish or otherwise make available, including through electronic means, all their laws, regulations, judicial decisions and administrative rulings or policies of general application relating to their requirements for imported or exported goods. They shall also make available notices of an administrative nature, such as general agency requirements and entry procedures, hours of operation and points of contacts for information enquiries.

13. Each Party shall, in accordance with their laws, treat as strictly confidential all business information that is by its nature confidential or that is provided on a confidential basis.

Article IX.3 Cooperation

1. The Parties recognize that technical cooperation is fundamental to facilitating compliance with the obligations set forth in this Agreement and for reaching a better degree of trade facilitation.

2. The Parties, through their customs administrations, agree to develop a technical cooperation program under such mutually agreed terms as the scope, timing and cost of cooperative measures, in customs-related areas such as, inter alia:

3. The Parties shall cooperate in the development of effective mechanisms for communicating with the trade and business communities.

Article IX.4 Future Work Program

1. With the objective of developing further steps to facilitate trade under this Agreement, the Parties establish the following work program:

2. The Parties may periodically review the work program referred to in this Article for the purpose of agreeing upon new cooperation actions that might be needed to promote application of the trade facilitation obligations and principles, including new measures that might be agreed upon by the Parties.

3. Through the Parties' respective customs administrations and other border-related authorities as appropriate, the Parties will review relevant international initiatives on trade facilitation, including the Compendium of Trade Facilitation Recommendations, developed by the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development and the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe, to identify areas where further joint action would facilitate trade between the Parties and promote shared multilateral objectives.

Section II-Additional Provisions

Article IX.5 Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures

1. The Parties reaffirm their rights and obligations under the WTO Agreement on the Application of Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures.

2. The Parties agree to use the WTO dispute settlement procedures for any formal disputes regarding sanitary and phytosanitary (SPS) measures.

3. Recognizing the benefits from a bilateral program of technical and institutional cooperation, a Committee on Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures, comprising representatives of each Party who have responsibilities for sanitary and phytosanitary matters, is hereby established. This Committee would provide a regular forum for consultations and co-operation to:

4. The Committee may consider the following:

5. The Committee will meet as required, normally on an annual basis, and report on its activities and work plans to the Coordinators.

Article IX.6 Standards including Metrology

1. The Parties affirm their rights and obligations under the WTO Agreement on Technical Barriers to Trade (TBT Agreement), part of Annex 1A of the WTO Agreement.

2. The Parties shall use the relevant dispute settlement provisions of the WTO Agreement for any formal disputes related to their rights and obligations under the WTO TBT Agreement.

3. The Parties shall develop programs for technical cooperation aimed at achieving full and effective compliance with the obligations set forth in the WTO TBT Agreement. To this end, the Parties shall encourage their competent authorities in the area of standards, including metrology, to undertake the following activities for the purpose of strengthening processes and systems in this field:

4. The Parties shall include bilateral cooperation and coordination issues related to standards, including metrology, on the agenda of the Coordinators on a regular basis.

Article IX.7 Government Procurement

1. The Parties agree to cooperate with the aim of achieving further liberalisation of public procurement markets and greater transparency in public procurement.

2. The Parties recognize that technical cooperation can contribute to achieving these aims and agree to cooperate in exploring potential approaches to such technical cooperation through existing mechanisms, particularly with respect to the application of information technology to government procurement.

3. The Parties shall, within 3 years after the entry into force of this Agreement, meet to review this Article.

Date Modified:

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica

Partie quatre : Facilitation du commerce

Chapitre IX : Facilitation du commerce et dispositions additionnelles

Section I-Facilitation du commerce

Article IX.1 Objectifs et principes

1. En vue de faciliter le commerce conformément au présent accord et de coopérer à la mise en place dinitiatives de facilitation du commerce à léchelle multilatérale et hémisphérique, le Canada et le Costa Rica sont convenus dadministrer leurs processus dimportation et dexportation des produits visés par le présent accord selon les modalités suivantes :

Article IX.2 Obligations particulières

1. Les Parties confirment leurs droits et obligations visés à larticle VIII (redevances et formalités se rapportant à limportation et à lexportation) et à larticle X (publication et application des règlements relatifs au commerce) du GATT de 1994 et découlant de tout accord destiné à le remplacer.

2. Les Parties dédouaneront les produits promptement, en particulier ceux qui sont exempts de restriction ou de contrôle. Sous réserve de larticle IX.2.3, elles prévoiront une option de base :

3. Les Parties reconnaissent que, pour certains produits ou dans certaines situations, par exemple les produits contingentés ou assujettis à des prescriptions sanitaires, ou des exigences liées à la sécurité publique, le dédouanement peut exiger la présentation d'une information plus détaillée, avant l'arrivée des produits ou au moment de leur l'arrivée, pour permettre aux autorités d'examiner les produits.

4. Les Parties faciliteront et simplifieront le processus et les procédures de dédouanement des marchandises à faible risque, et elles amélioreront les contrôles au dédouanement des marchandises à risque élevé. À ces fins, les Parties fonderont les procédures d'examen et de dédouanement ainsi que les procédures de vérification après l'entrée sur les principes d'évaluation des risques, plutôt que d'examiner chaque expédition à l'entrée de manière minutieuse afin de vérifier l'observation de toutes les prescriptions relatives à l'importation. Les Parties ne seront toutefois pas empêchées de procéder à des contrôles de qualité et de conformité pouvant exiger des examens plus détaillés.

5. Les Parties s'assureront que les procédures et activités des divers organismes dont les prescriptions relatives à l'importation et à l'exportation de produits sont contrôlées par eux-mêmes ou en leur nom par les douanes sont coordonnées de manière à faciliter le commerce. Sous ce rapport, chaque Partie prendra des mesures pour harmoniser les exigences relatives aux données de tous ces organismes, afin que les importateurs et exportateurs puissent présenter toutes les données exigées à une seule autorité frontalière.

6. Dans leurs procédures de dédouanement des envois express, les Parties appliqueront les principes contenus dans les Directives sur le dédouanement des envois express de l'Organisation mondiale des douanes.

7. Les Parties introduiront ou maintiendront des procédures simplifiées pour l'entrée de produits de faible valeur lorsque la Partie qui maintient de telles formalités de dédouanement accéléré estime que ces produits ne rapportent que de modiques recettes douanières.

8. Les Parties s'efforceront d'élaborer des processus communs et de simplifier l'information nécessaire au dédouanement des produits, en appliquant, si cela convient, les normes internationales existantes. À cette fin, les Parties établiront un moyen d'échange électronique des données entre les administrations douanières et la communauté commerçante en vue d'encourager le dédouanement accéléré. Aux fins du présent article, les Parties utiliseront des formats basés sur les normes internationales d'échange de données informatisé et tiendront compte de la recommandation de l'Organisation mondiale des douanes «concernant l'utilisation des règles de syntaxe EDIFACT/ONU pour les échanges électroniques de données» et de celle «relative à l'utilisation de codes pour la représentation des éléments d'information». Elles ne seront pas empêchées d'utiliser des normes de transmission électronique additionnelles.

9. Les Parties, par l'entremise de leur administration douanière, établiront des mécanismes de consultation officiels avec les communautés commerçantes et le milieu des affaires afin de promouvoir une coopération accrue et l'échange de données informatisé.

10. Les Parties recourront à des décisions rendues par écrit avant l'importation sur demande écrite d'un importateur, d'un exportateur ou de son représentant. Ces décisions porteront sur la classification tarifaire, les taux de droit de douane, les taxes applicables à l'importation ou la question de savoir si les produits sont tenus pour des produits originaires et sont admissibles au traitement tarifaire préférentiel conformément au présent accord. Les décisions seront aussi détaillées que la nature de la demande et les détails fournis par la personne qui demande la décision le permettent. Quand une Partie juge que la demande de décision anticipée est incomplète, elle peut demander à la personne qui demande la décision des renseignements complémentaires, y compris, si cela convient, un échantillon des produits ou matières en question. La décision anticipée lie l'administration douanière qui a rendu la décision au moment où les produits sont importés, à la condition que les faits et circonstances à la base de la décision anticipée continuent d'exister. L'administration douanière d'une Partie peut modifier ou annuler cette décision à tout moment mais seulement après notification à la personne qui a demandé la décision, et ce sans effet rétroactif. Les Parties peuvent modifier ou annuler de telles décisions sans notification et avec effet rétroactif dans les cas où des renseignements inexacts ou faux ont été donnés.

11. Les Parties s'assureront que toute mesure administrative ou décision officielle relative à l'importation ou à l'exportation de produits est susceptible d'appel à bref délai devant un tribunal ou en vertu d'une procédure judiciaires, arbitraux ou administratifs, indépendants de l'autorité ayant rendu la décision et qui sont compétents pour confirmer, modifier ou infirmer la décision en conformité avec les lois de chaque Partie. Les Parties prévoiront la possibilité pour toute personne de recourir à une procédure d'appel ou de révision administrative, indépendante du fonctionnaire ou, le cas échéant, de l'office qui a pris la mesure ou décision initiale, avant d'être obligée de demander réparation à un palier judiciaire ou plus formaliste.

12. Les Parties publieront ou rendront disponibles promptement, y compris par des moyens électroniques, leurs lois, règlements, décisions judiciaires et décisions administratives, ou politiques d'application générale concernant leurs exigences relatives aux produits importés ou exportés. Elles rendront disponibles également les avis de nature administrative, tels que les prescriptions générales des autorités et les formalités d'entrée, les heures d'ouverture et les points de contact pour les demandes de renseignements.

13. Les Parties préserveront, en conformité avec leur législation, le caractère confidentiel de tous renseignements commerciaux qui sont de nature confidentielle ou qui sont fournis confidentiellement.

Article IX.3 Coopération

1. Les Parties reconnaissent que la coopération technique est fondamentale pour la facilitation de la conformité aux obligations énoncées dans le présent accord et pour le rehaussement de la facilitation du commerce.

2. Les Parties, par l'entremise de leur administration douanière, s'engagent à mettre en place un programme de coopération technique sur des aspects convenus tels la portée, les modalités de temps et le coût des mesures de coopération dans des domaines liés aux douanes, notamment :

3. Les Parties coopéreront pour l'élaboration de mécanismes efficaces de communication avec les communautés commerçantes et le milieu des affaires.

Article IX.4 Programme de travail

1. En vue de la mise en place d'autres mesures visant à faciliter le commerce conformément au présent accord, les Parties établissent le programme de travail suivant :

2. Les Parties peuvent réviser périodiquement le programme de travail visé au présent article afin de convenir d'autres initiatives de coopération qui pourraient être nécessaires pour favoriser l'application des obligations et principes en matière de facilitation du commerce, dont de nouvelles mesures qu'elles pourront arrêter.

3. Par l'entremise de leur administration douanière, et d'autres autorités frontalières, si cela convient, les Parties réexaminent les initiatives internationales pertinentes concernant la facilitation du commerce, dont le Recueil des recommandations sur la facilitation du commerce établi par la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le commerce et le développement et la Commission économique des Nations Unies pour l'Europe, pour cerner les éléments au sujet desquels une action conjointe faciliterait le commerce entre les Parties et favoriserait l'atteinte des objectifs multilatéraux communs.

Section II-Dispositions additionnelles

Article IX.5 Mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires

1. Les Parties réaffirment les droits et les obligations qui découlent pour elles de l'Accord sur l'application des mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC).

2. Les Parties conviennent de recourir aux procédures de règlement des différends de l'OMC pour tout différend concernant les mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires (SP).

3. Vu les avantages que présente un programme bilatéral de coopération technique et institutionnelle, un Comité sur les mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires est institué, composé de représentants de chacune des Parties ayant des responsabilités en ce domaine. Ce Comité servira de cadre normal aux activités de consultation et de coopération visant à :

4. Ce Comité pourrait s'intéresser aux questions suivantes :

5. Le Comité se réunira selon les besoins, normalement une fois l'an, et fera rapport de ses activités et de son programme de travail aux coordonnateurs.

Article IX.6 Normes, y incluant la métrologie

1. Les Parties réaffirment les droits et les obligations qui découlent pour elles de l'Accord sur les obstacles techniques au commerce (OTC) de l'OMC, lequel Accord sur les OTC fait partie de l'annexe 1A de l'Accord sur l'OMC.

2. Les Parties doivent recourir aux dispositions relatives au règlement des différends pertinentes de l'Accord sur l'OMC pour tout différend formel qui se présente à l'égard des droits et des obligations qui découlent pour elles de l'Accord sur les OTC de l'OMC.

3. Les Parties élaboreront des programmes de coopération technique visant à lexécution intégrale et effective des obligations énoncées dans lAccord sur les obstacles techniques au commerce de lOMC. À cette fin, les Parties encourageront leurs autorités compétentes en matière de normes, y compris en matière de métrologie, à entreprendre les activités qui suivent en vue de renforcer les processus et systèmes dans ce domaine :

4. Les Parties inscriront régulièrement les questions de coopération et de coordination bilatérales en matière de normes, y compris en matière de métrologie, à lordre du jour des Coordonnateurs.

Article IX.7 Marchés publics

1. Les Parties conviennent de coopérer dans le but de poursuivre la libéralisation des marchés publics et d'accroître leur transparence.

2. Les Parties reconnaissent que la coopération technique peut contribuer à l'atteinte de ces objectifs, et elles conviennent de coopérer à l'exploration des modalités de cette coopération dans le cadre des mécanismes existants, particulièrement en ce qui concerne l'application de la technologie de l'information aux marchés publics.

3. Dans les 3 ans suivant l'entrée en vigueur du présent Accord, les Parties seréuniront pour réexaminer le présent article.

Date de modification: