Canada-Costa Rica Free Trade Agreement

Part Seven: Other Provisions

Chapter XIV: Exceptions

Article XIV.1 General Exceptions

For purposes of Part Two (Trade in Goods), Article XX of the GATT 1994 and its interpretative notes, or any equivalent provision of a successor agreement to which both Parties are party, are incorporated into and made part of this Agreement. The Parties understand that the measures referred to in Article XX(b) of the GATT 1994 include environmental measures necessary to protect human, animal or plant life or health, and that Article XX(g) of the GATT 1994 applies to measures relating to the conservation of living and non-living exhaustible natural resources.

Article XIV.2 National Security

Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed:

1. to require either Party to furnish or allow access to any information the disclosure of which it determines to be contrary to its essential security interests;

2. to prevent either Party from taking any actions that it considers necessary for the protection of its essential security interests:

3. to prevent either Party from taking action in pursuance of its obligations under the United Nations Charter for the maintenance of international peace and security.

Article XIV.3 Taxation

1. Except as set out in this Article and in Annex XIV.3.1, nothing in this Agreement shall apply to taxation measures.

2. Nothing in this Agreement shall affect the rights and obligations of either Party under any tax convention. In the event of any inconsistency between this Agreement and any such convention, that convention shall prevail to the extent of the inconsistency.

3. Notwithstanding paragraph 2:

Article XIV.4 Balance of Payments

1. Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to prevent a Party from adopting or maintaining measures that restrict transfers where the Party experiences serious balance of payments difficulties, or the threat thereof, and such restrictions are consistent with this Article.

2. As soon as practicable after a Party imposes a measure under this Article, the Party shall:

3. A measure adopted or maintained under this Article shall:

4. A Party may adopt or maintain a measure under this Article that gives priority to services that are essential to its economic program, provided that a Party may not impose a measure for the purpose of protecting a specific industry or sector unless the measure is consistent with paragraph 2(c) and with Article VIII(3) of the Articles of Agreement of the IMF.

5. Restrictions imposed on transfers:

Article XIV.5 Disclosure of Information

Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to require a Party to furnish or allow access to information the disclosure of which would impede law enforcement or would be contrary to the Party's law protecting personal privacy or the financial affairs and accounts of individual customers of financial institutions.

Article XIV.6 Cultural Industries

Measures affecting cultural industries are exempt from the provisions of this Agreement except as specifically provided for in Chapter III (National Treatment and Market Access of Goods) of this Agreement.

Article XIV.7 Definitions

For purposes of this Chapter:

cultural industries means persons engaged in any of the following activities:

1. the publication, distribution, or sale of books, magazines, periodicals or newspapers in print or machine readable form but not including the sole activity of printing or typesetting any of the foregoing;

2. the production, distribution, sale or exhibition of film or video recording;

3. the production, distribution, sale or exhibition of audio or video music recordings;

4. the publication, distribution or sale of music in print or machine readable form; or

5. radiocommunications in which the transmissions are intended for direct reception by the general public, and all radio, television and cable broadcasting undertakings and all satellite programming and broadcast network services.

international capital transactions means "international capital transactions" as defined under the Articles of Agreement of the IMF;

IMF means the International Monetary Fund;

payments for current international transactions means "payments for current international transactions" as defined under the Articles of Agreement of the IMF;

tax convention means a convention for the avoidance of double taxation or other international taxation agreement or arrangement;

taxation measures do not include:

1. a "customs duty" as defined in Article III.17 (Definitions); or

2. the measures listed in exceptions (b), (c) and (d) of that definition; and

transfers means international transactions and related international transfers and payments.

Annex XIV.3.1

Double Taxation

1. The Parties agree to conclude a bilateral double taxation agreement within a reasonable time after the date that this Agreement enters into force.

2. The Parties agree that upon conclusion of a bilateral double taxation agreement, they will agree to an exchange of letters setting out the relationship between the double taxation agreement and Article XIV.3 of the Agreement.

Date Modified:

Accord de libre-échange Canada-Costa Rica

Partie sept : Autres dispositions

Chapitre XIV : Exceptions

Article XIV.1 Exceptions générales

Aux fins de la Partie deux (Commerce des produits), l'article XX du GATT de 1994 et ses notes interprétatives, ou toute disposition équivalente d'un nouvel accord auquel les deux Parties auront adhéré, sont incorporés dans le présent accord et en font partie intégrante. Les Parties comprennent que les mesures visées au paragraphe XXb) du GATT de 1994 englobent les mesures environnementales nécessaires à la protection de la santé et de la vie des personnes et des animaux ou à la préservation des végétaux et que le paragraphe XXg) du GATT de 1994 s'applique aux mesures se rapportant à la conservation des ressources naturelles épuisables, biologiques et non biologiques.

Article XIV.2 Sécurité nationale

Aucune disposition du présent accord ne sera interprétée :

1. comme imposant à une Partie l'obligation de fournir des renseignements ou de donner accès à des renseignements dont la divulgation serait, à son avis, contraire aux intérêts essentiels de sa sécurité;

2. comme empêchant une Partie de prendre toutes mesures qu'elle estimera nécessaires à la protection des intérêts essentiels de sa sécurité :

3. comme empêchant une Partie de prendre des mesures en application de ses engagements au titre de la Charte des Nations Unies, en vue du maintien de la paix et de la sécurité internationales.

Article XIV.3 Fiscalité

1. Sauf pour ce qui est indiqué au présent article et à l'annexe XIV.3.1, aucune disposition du présent accord ne s'appliquera aux mesures fiscales.

2. Aucune disposition du présent accord n'affectera les droits et obligations d'une Partie en vertu d'une convention fiscale. En cas d'incompatibilité entre le présent accord et une telle convention, cette dernière prévaudra dans la mesure de l'incompatibilité.

3. Nonobstant le paragraphe 2 :

Article XIV.4 Balance des paiements

1. Aucune disposition du présent accord ne sera interprétée comme empêchant une Partie d'adopter ou de maintenir des mesures qui restreignent les transferts si cette Partie éprouve ou risque d'éprouver de graves difficultés de balance des paiements et si les restrictions appliquées sont compatibles avec le présent article.

2. Dès que cela sera matériellement possible après qu'elle aura appliqué une mesure aux termes du présent article, une Partie :

3. Une mesure adoptée ou maintenue aux termes du présent article :

4. Une Partie pourra adopter ou maintenir, en vertu du présent article, une mesure qui donne la priorité aux services qui sont essentiels à son programme économique, mais ne pourra le faire en vue de protéger une branche de production ou un secteur donné, à moins qu'il ne s'agisse d'une mesure conforme à l'alinéa (2)c) et au paragraphe VIII(3) des Statuts du FMI.

5. Les restrictions relatives aux transferts :

Article XIV.5  Divulgation de renseignements

Aucune disposition du présent accord ne sera interprétée comme exigeant d'une Partie qu'elle fournisse des renseignements ou qu'elle donne accès à des renseignements dont la divulgation ferait obstacle à l'application des lois ou serait contraire à sa législation visant la protection de la vie privée ou des affaires et des comptes financiers de clients d'institutions financières.

Article XIV.6  Industries culturelles

Les mesures touchant les industries culturelles sont soustraites à l'application du présent accord, sauf indication contraire du chapitre III (Traitement national et accès aux marchés pour les produits) du présent accord.

Article XIV.7  Définitions

Aux fins du présent chapitre :

convention fiscale s'entend d'une convention tendant à éviter les doubles impositions, ou de tout autre accord ou arrangement international en matière fiscale;

FMI s'entend du Fonds monétaire international;

industries culturelles s'entend des personnes qui se livrent à l'une quelconque des activités suivantes :

1. la publication, la distribution ou la vente de livres, de revues, de périodiques ou de journaux, sous forme imprimée ou exploitable par machine, à l'exclusion toutefois de la seule impression ou composition de ces publications;

2. la production, la distribution, la vente ou la présentation de films ou d'enregistrements vidéo;

3. la production, la distribution, la vente ou la présentation d'enregistrements de musique audio ou vidéo;

4. l'édition, la distribution ou la vente de compositions musicales sous forme imprimée ou exploitable par machine; ou

5. les radiocommunications dont les transmissions sont destinées à être captées directement par le grand public, et toutes les activités de radiodiffusion, de télédiffusion et de câblodistribution et tous les services des réseaux de programmation et de diffusion par satellite;

paiements au titre des transactions internationales courantes a le même sens que dans les Statuts du FMI;

taxes et mesures fiscales ne s'entendent pas :

1. du « droit de douane » défini à l'article III.17 (Définitions); ou

2. des mesures indiquées dans les exceptions (b), (c) et (d) de cette définition;

transactions en capital internationales a le même sens que dans les Statuts du FMI; et

transferts s'entend des transactions internationales et des transferts et paiements internationaux afférents.

Annexe XIV.3.1

Double imposition

1. Les Parties conviennent de conclure un accord bilatéral de double imposition dans un délai raisonnable après la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord.

2. Les Parties conviennent que, dès la conclusion de l'accord bilatéral de double imposition, elles s'entendront sur un échange de lettres établissant la corrélation entre ledit accord bilatéral de double imposition et l'article XIV.3 du présent accord.

Date de modification: