North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)

Part Five: Investment, Services and Related Matters

Chapter Fifteen: Competition Policy, Monopolies and State Enterprises

Article 1501: Competition Law

1. Each Party shall adopt or maintain measures to proscribe anticompetitive business conduct and take appropriate action with respect thereto, recognizing that such measures will enhance the fulfillment of the objectives of this Agreement. To this end the Parties shall consult from time to time about the effectiveness of measures undertaken by each Party.

2. Each Party recognizes the importance of cooperation and coordination among their authorities to further effective competition law enforcement in the free trade area. The Parties shall cooperate on issues of competition law enforcement policy, including mutual legal assistance, notification, consultation and exchange of information relating to the enforcement of competition laws and policies in the free trade area.

3. No Party may have recourse to dispute settlement under this Agreement for any matter arising under this Article.

Article 1502: Monopolies and State Enterprises

1. Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to prevent a Party from designating a monopoly.

2. Where a Party intends to designate a monopoly and the designation may affect the interests of persons of another Party, the Party shall:

3. Each Party shall ensure, through regulatory control, administrative supervision or the application of other measures, that any privately owned monopoly that it designates and any government monopoly that it maintains or designates:

4. Paragraph 3 does not apply to procurement by governmental agencies of goods or services for governmental purposes and not with a view to commercial resale or with a view to use in the production of goods or the provision of services for commercial sale.

5. For purposes of this Article "maintain" means designate prior to the date of entry into force of this Agreement and existing on January 1, 1994.

Article 1503: State Enterprises

1. Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to prevent a Party from maintaining or establishing a state enterprise.

2. Each Party shall ensure, through regulatory control, administrative supervision or the application of other measures, that any state enterprise that it maintains or establishes acts in a manner that is not inconsistent with the Party's obligations under Chapters Eleven (Investment) and Fourteen (Financial Services) wherever such enterprise exercises any regulatory, administrative or other governmental authority that the Party has delegated to it, such as the power to expropriate, grant licenses, approve commercial transactions or impose quotas, fees or other charges.

3. Each Party shall ensure that any state enterprise that it maintains or establishes accords non-discriminatory treatment in the sale of its goods or services to investments in the Party's territory of investors of another Party.

Article 1504: Working Group on Trade and Competition

The Commission shall establish a Working Group on Trade and Competition, comprising representatives of each Party, to report, and to make recommendations on further work as appropriate, to the Commission within five years of the date of entry into force of this Agreement on relevant issues concerning the relationship between competition laws and policies and trade in the free trade area.

Article 1505: Definitions

For purposes of this Chapter:

designate means to establish, designate or authorize, or to expand the scope of a monopoly to cover an additional good or service, after the date of entry into force of this Agreement;

discriminatory provision includes treating:

in like circumstances;

government monopoly means a monopoly that is owned, or controlled through ownership interests, by the federal government of a Party or by another such monopoly;

in accordance with commercial considerations means consistent with normal business practices of privately held enterprises in the relevant business or industry;

market means the geographic and commercial market for a good or service;

monopoly means an entity, including a consortium or government agency, that in any relevant market in the territory of a Party is designated as the sole provider or purchaser of a good or service, but does not include an entity that has been granted an exclusive intellectual property right solely by reason of such grant;

non-discriminatory treatment means the better of national treatment and most favored nation treatment, as set out in the relevant provisions of this Agreement; and

state enterprise means, except as set out in Annex 1505, an enterprise owned, or controlled through ownership interests, by a Party.

Annex 1505: Country-Specific Definitions of State Enterprises

For purposes of Article 1503(3), "state enterprise":

Date Modified:

Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA)

Partie V : Investissement, services et questions connexes

Chapitre 15 : Politique de concurrence, monopoles et entreprises d'État

Article 1501 : Lois sur la concurrence

1. Chacune des Parties adoptera ou maintiendra des mesures prohibant les comportements anticoncurrentiels et exercera toute action appropriée à cet égard, reconnaissant que de telles mesures favoriseront l'atteinte des objectifs du présent accord. À cette fin, les Parties se consulteront de temps à autre sur l'efficacité des mesures qu'elles auront entreprises.

2. Les Parties reconnaissent l'importance de la coopération et de la coordination entre leurs autorités pour l'application efficace des lois sur la concurrence dans la zone de libre-échange. Les Parties coopéreront dans le domaine de l'application des lois sur la concurrence, y compris l'entraide juridique, la notification, la consultation et l'échange d'informations concernant l'application des lois et des politiques en matière de concurrence dans la zone de libre-échange.

3. Aucune des Parties ne pourra recourir au mécanisme de règlement des différends prévu par le présent accord pour l'une quelconque des questions concernant le présent article.

Article 1502 : Monopoles et entreprises d'État

1. Aucune disposition du présent accord ne sera interprétée comme empêchant une Partie de désigner un monopole.

2. Lorsqu'une Partie a l'intention de désigner un monopole et que cette désignation risque d'affecter les intérêts de personnes d'une autre Partie, la Partie

3. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte, par l'application d'un contrôle réglementaire, d'une surveillance administrative ou d'autres mesures, que tout monopole privé désigné par elle, ou monopole public maintenu ou désigné par elle :

4. Le paragraphe 3 ne s'applique pas aux achats de produits ou de services effectués par des organismes gouvernementaux à des fins gouvernementales plutôt que pour la revente ou pour l'utilisation dans la production de produits ou dans la fourniture de services destinés à la vente.

5. Aux fins du présent article, «maintenir» s'applique à toute entité désignée avant l'entrée en vigueur du présent accord et existante au 1er janvier 1994.

Article 1503 : Entreprises d'État

1. Aucune disposition du présent accord ne sera interprétée comme empêchant une Partie de maintenir ou d'établir une entreprise d'État.

2. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte, par l'application d'un contrôle réglementaire, d'une surveillance administrative ou d'autres mesures, que toute entreprise d'État qu'elle maintient ou établit, agisse d'une manière qui ne soit pas incompatible avec les obligations de la Partie aux termes des chapitres 11 (Investissement) et 14 (Services financiers) dans l'exercice de pouvoirs réglementaires, administratifs ou autres pouvoirs gouvernementaux délégués par la Partie, et notamment le pouvoir d'exproprier, d'accorder des licences, d'approuver des opérations commerciales ou d'imposer des contingents, des droits ou d'autres redevances.

3. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte qu'une entreprise d'État qu'elle maintient ou établit accorde, dans la vente de ses produits ou services, un traitement non discriminatoire aux investissements effectués sur le territoire de la Partie dont elle relève par des investisseurs d'une autre Partie.

Article 1504 : Groupe de travail sur le commerce et la concurrence

La Commission constituera un groupe de travail sur le commerce et la concurrence, qui sera composé de représentants de chacune des Parties. Le Groupe devra, dans les cinq ans suivant la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord, rendre compte à la Commission et formuler des recommandations sur les travaux supplémentaires qui pourront être appropriés, concernant les rapports entre les lois et politiques en matière de concurrence et le commerce dans la zone de libre-échange.

Article 1505 : Définitions

Aux fins du présent chapitre :

désigner signifie établir, désigner ou autoriser un monopole, ou étendre un monopole à un produit ou un service additionnel, après la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord;

en fonction de considérations commerciales signifie d'une manière conforme aux pratiques commerciales normales des entreprises privées de l'industrie ou de la branche de production pertinente;

entreprise d'État désigne, sauf pour ce qui est indiqué à l'annexe 1505, une entreprise possédée, ou contrôlée au moyen d'une participation au capital, par une Partie;

fourniture discriminatoire s'entend de la fourniture d'un produit ou d'un service d'une façon

dans des circonstances analogues;

marché désigne le marché géographique et commercial d'un produit ou d'un service;

monopole désigne une entité, notamment un consortium ou un organisme gouvernemental, qui, sur un marché pertinent du territoire d'une Partie, est désignée comme le seul fournisseur ou le seul acheteur d'un produit ou d'un service, mais n'englobe pas une entité à laquelle a été octroyé un droit de propriété intellectuelle exclusif du seul fait de cet octroi;

monopole public désigne un monopole qui est possédé, ou contrôlé au moyen d'une participation au capital, par le gouvernement central d'une Partie ou par un autre monopole semblable; et

traitement non discriminatoire désigne le plus favorable du traitement national ou du traitement de la nation la plus favorisée, selon qu'il est établi dans les dispositions pertinentes du présent accord.

Annexe 1505 : Définition d'« entreprise d'État » propre à chaque pays

Aux fins du paragraphe 1503(3), « entreprise d'État » :

Date de modification: