North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)

Part Seven: Administrative and Institutional Provisions

Chapter Eighteen: Publication, Notification and Administration of Laws

Article 1801: Contact Points

Each Party shall designate a contact point to facilitate communications between the Parties on any matter covered by this Agreement. On the request of another Party, the contact point shall identify the office or official responsible for the matter and assist, as necessary, in facilitating communication with the requesting Party.

Article 1802: Publication

1. Each Party shall ensure that its laws, regulations, procedures and administrative rulings of general application respecting any matter covered by this Agreement are promptly published or otherwise made available in such a manner as to enable interested persons and Parties to become acquainted with them.

2. To the extent possible, each Party shall:

Article 1803: Notification and Provision of Information

1. To the maximum extent possible, each Party shall notify any other Party with an interest in the matter of any proposed or actual measure that the Party considers might materially affect the operation of this Agreement or otherwise substantially affect that other Party's interests under this Agreement.

2. On request of another Party, a Party shall promptly provide information and respond to questions pertaining to any actual or proposed measure, whether or not that other Party has been previously notified of that measure.

3. Any notification or information provided under this Article shall be without prejudice as to whether the measure is consistent with this Agreement.

Article 1804: Administrative Proceedings

With a view to administering in a consistent, impartial and reasonable manner all measures of general application affecting matters covered by this Agreement, each Party shall ensure that in its administrative proceedings applying measures referred to in Article 1802 to particular persons, goods or services of another Party in specific cases that:

(a) wherever possible, persons of another Party that are directly affected by a proceeding are provided reasonable notice, in accordance with domestic procedures, when a proceeding is initiated, including a description of the nature of the proceeding, a statement of the legal authority under which the proceeding is initiated and a general description of any issues in controversy;

(b) such persons are afforded a reasonable opportunity to present facts and arguments in support of their positions prior to any final administrative action, when time, the nature of the proceeding and the public interest permit; and

(c) its procedures are in accordance with domestic law.

Article 1805: Review and Appeal

1. Each Party shall establish or maintain judicial, quasi-judicial or administrative tribunals or procedures for the purpose of the prompt review and, where warranted, correction of final administrative actions regarding matters covered by this Agreement. Such tribunals shall be impartial and independent of the office or authority entrusted with administrative enforcement and shall not have any substantial interest in the outcome of the matter.

2. Each Party shall ensure that, in any such tribunals or procedures, the parties to the proceeding are provided with the right to:

3. Each Party shall ensure, subject to appeal or further review as provided in its domestic law, that such decisions shall be implemented by, and shall govern the practice of, the offices or authorities with respect to the administrative action at issue.

Article 1806: Definitions

For purposes of this Chapter:

administrative ruling of general application means an administrative ruling or interpretation that applies to all persons and fact situations that fall generally within its ambit and that establishes a norm of conduct but does not include:

Date Modified:

Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA)

Partie VII : Dispositions administratives et institutionnelles

Chapitre 18 : Publication, notification et application des lois

Article 1801 : Points de contact

Chacune des Parties désignera un point de contact pour faciliter les communications entre les Parties concernant toute question visée par le présent accord. Le point de contact indiquera à la Partie qui lui en fait la demande quel bureau ou quel officiel est chargé de la question visée et, selon qu'il sera nécessaire, facilitera la communication avec la Partie requérante.

Article 1802 : Publication

1. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte que ses lois, règlements, procédures et décisions administratives d'application générale concernant toute question visée par le présent accord soient publiés ou rendus publics d'une autre manière dans les moindres délais pour permettre aux Parties et aux personnes intéressées d'en prendre connaissance.

2. Dans la mesure du possible, chacune des Parties

Article 1803 : Notification et information

1. Dans toute la mesure du possible, chacune des Parties notifiera à toute autre Partie intéressée toute mesure qu'elle adopte ou envisage d'adopter et dont elle estime qu'elle pourrait affecter sensiblement le fonctionnement du présent accord ou, d'une autre manière, affecter substantiellement les intérêts de cette autre Partie au titre du présent accord.

2. Chacune des Parties, à la demande d'une autre Partie, fournira dans les moindres délais des renseignements et des éclaircissements sur toute mesure qu'elle adopte ou envisage d'adopter, que cette autre Partie ait ou non préalablement reçu notification de cette mesure.

3. Toute notification ou communication d'information en vertu du présent article ne préjugera aucunement la question de savoir si la mesure en cause est compatible avec le présent accord.

Article 1804 : Procédures administratives

Aux fins d'administrer d'une manière cohérente, impartiale et raisonnable toutes les mesures d'application générale affectant les questions visées par le présent accord, chacune des Parties, dans ses procédures administratives appliquant des mesures visées à l'article 1802 à des personnes, des produits ou des services d'une autre Partie dans des cas particuliers, fera en sorte

Article 1805 : Examen et appel

1. Chacune des Parties instituera ou maintiendra des tribunaux ou des instances judiciaires, quasi judiciaires ou administratifs afin que soient examinées et, lorsque cela sera justifié, corrigées dans les moindres délais les décisions administratives finales relatives à des questions visées par le présent accord. Lesdits tribunaux ou instances seront impartiaux et indépendants du bureau ou de l'organisme chargé de l'application des prescriptions administratives, et ils n'auront aucun intérêt substantiel dans l'issue de la question en litige.

2. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte que, dans lesdits tribunaux ou instances, les parties à la procédure bénéficient

3. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte que, sous réserve d'appel ou de réexamen conformément à sa législation intérieure, lesdites décisions soient appliquées par les bureaux ou les organismes et en régissent la pratique au regard de la décision administrative en cause.

Article 1806 : Définitions

Aux fins du présent chapitre :

décision administrative d'application générale s'entend d'une décision ou d'une interprétation administrative qui s'applique à toutes les personnes et situations de fait généralement visées par elle et qui établit une norme de conduite, mais à l'exclusion

Date de modification: