North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)

Part Eight: Other Provisions

Chapter Twenty-One: Exceptions

Article 2101 : General Exceptions

1. For purposes of:

GATT Article XX and its interpretative notes, or any equivalent provision of a successor agreement to which all Parties are party, are incorporated into and made part of this Agreement.

The Parties understand that the measures referred to in GATT Article XX(b) include environmental measures necessary to protect human, animal or plant life or health, and that GATT Article XX(g) applies to measures relating to the conservation of living and non-living exhaustible natural resources.

2. Provided that such measures are not applied in a manner that would constitute a means of arbitrary or unjustifiable discrimination between countries where the same conditions prevail or a disguised restriction on trade between the Parties, nothing in:

shall be construed to prevent the adoption or enforcement by any Party of measures necessary to secure compliance with laws or regulations that are not inconsistent with the provisions of this Agreement, including those relating to health and safety and consumer protection.

Article 2102: National Security

1. Subject to Articles 607 (Energy - National Security Measures) and 1018 (Government Procurement Exceptions), nothing in this Agreement shall be construed:

Article 2103: Taxation

1. Except as set out in this Article, nothing in this Agreement shall apply to taxation measures.

2. Nothing in this Agreement shall affect the rights and obligations of any Party under any tax convention. In the event of any inconsistency between this Agreement and any such convention, that convention shall prevail to the extent of the inconsistency.

3. Notwithstanding paragraph 2:

4. Subject to paragraph 2:

5. Subject to paragraph 2 and without prejudice to the rights and obligations of the Parties under paragraph 3, Article 1106(3), (4) and (5) (Investment - Performance Requirements) shall apply to taxation measures.

6. Article 1110 (Expropriation and Compensation) shall apply to taxation measures except that no investor may invoke that Article as the basis for a claim under Article 1116 (Claim by an Investor of a Party on its Own Behalf) or 1117 (Claim by an Investor of a Party on Behalf of an Enterprise), where it has been determined pursuant to this paragraph that the measure is not an expropriation. The investor shall refer the issue of whether the measure is not an expropriation for a determination to the appropriate competent authorities set out in Annex 2103.6 at the time that it gives notice under Article 1119 (Notice of Intent to Submit a Claim to Arbitration). If the competent authorities do not agree to consider the issue or, having agreed to consider it, fail to agree that the measure is not an expropriation within a period of six months of such referral, the investor may submit its claim to arbitration under Article 1120 (Submission of a Claim to Arbitration).

Article 2104: Balance of Payments

1. Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to prevent a Party from adopting or maintaining measures that restrict transfers where the Party experiences serious balance of payments difficulties, or the threat thereof, and such restrictions are consistent with paragraphs 2 through 4 and are:

General Rules

2. As soon as practicable after a Party imposes a measure under this Article, the Party shall:

3. A measure adopted or maintained under this Article shall:

4. A Party may adopt or maintain a measure under this Article that gives priority to services that are essential to its economic program, provided that a Party may not impose a measure for the purpose of protecting a specific industry or sector unless the measure is consistent with paragraph 2(c) and with Article VIII(3) of the Articles of Agreement of the IMF.

Restrictions on Transfers Other than Cross-Border Trade in Financial Services

5. Restrictions imposed on transfers, other than on cross border trade in financial services:

Restrictions on Cross-Border Trade in Financial Services

6. A Party imposing a restriction on Cross-Border trade in financial services:

7. In consultations under paragraph 6(b), the Parties shall:

Article 2105: Disclosure of Information

Nothing in this Agreement shall be construed to require a Party to furnish or allow access to information the disclosure of which would impede law enforcement or would be contrary to the Party's law protecting personal privacy or the financial affairs and accounts of individual customers of financial institutions.

Article 2106: Cultural Industries

Annex 2106 applies to the Parties specified in that Annex with respect to cultural industries.

Article 2107: Definitions

For purposes of this Chapter:

cultural industries means persons engaged in any of the following activities:

international capital transactions means "international capital transactions" as defined under the Articles of Agreement of the IMF;

IMF means the International Monetary Fund;

payments for current international transactions means "payments for current international transactions" as defined under the Articles of Agreement of the IMF;

tax convention means a convention for the avoidance of double taxation or other international taxation agreement or arrangement;

taxes and taxation measures do not include:

transfers means international transactions and related international transfers and payments.

Annex 2103.4

Specific Taxation Measures

1. For purposes of Article 2103(4)(a) and (b), the listed tax is the asset tax under the Asset Tax Law ("Ley del Impuesto al Activo") of Mexico.

2. For purposes of Article 2103(4)(h), the listed tax is any excise tax on insurance premiums adopted by Mexico to the extent that such tax would, if levied by Canada or the United States, be covered by Article 2103(4)(d), (e) or (f).

Annex 2103.6

Competent Authorities

For purposes of this Chapter:

competent authority means

Annex 2106

Cultural Industries

Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement, as between Canada and the United States, any measure adopted or maintained with respect to cultural industries, except as specifically provided in Article 302 (Market Access - Tariff Elimination), and any measure of equivalent commercial effect taken in response, shall be governed under this Agreement exclusively in accordance with the provisions of the Canada - United States Free Trade Agreement . The rights and obligations between Canada and any other Party with respect to such measures shall be identical to those applying between Canada and the United States.

Date Modified:

Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA)

Partie VIII : Autres dispositions

Chapitre 21 : Exceptions

Article 2101 : Exceptions générales

1. Aux fins

l'article XX de l'Accord général et ses notes interprétatives, ou toute disposition équivalente d'un accord qui lui aura succédé et auquel toutes les Parties auront adhéré, sont incorporés au présent accord et en font partie intégrante. Les Parties comprennent que les mesures visées au paragraphe XXb) de l'Accord général englobent les mesures de protection de l'environnement nécessaires à la protection de la santé et de la vie des personnes et des animaux ou à la préservation des végétaux et que le paragraphe XXg) s'applique aux mesures se rapportant à la conservation des ressources naturelles épuisables, biologiques et non biologiques.

2. À condition que ces mesures ne soient pas appliquées de façon à constituer soit un moyen de discrimination arbitraire ou injustifié entre des pays où les mêmes conditions existent, soit une restriction déguisée au commerce entre les Parties, aucune disposition

ne sera interprétée comme empêchant l'adoption ou l'application par toute Partie des mesures nécessaires pour assurer l'application des lois et règlements qui ne sont pas incompatibles avec les dispositions du présent accord, et notamment des lois et règlements qui ont trait à la santé, à la sécurité et à la protection des consommateurs.

Article 2102 : Sécurité nationale

1. Sous réserve des articles 607 (Énergie - Mesures de sécurité nationale) et 1018 (Marchés publics - Exceptions), aucune disposition du présent accord ne sera interprétée

Article 2103 : Fiscalité

1. Sauf pour ce qui est indiqué au présent article, aucune disposition du présent accord ne s'appliquera aux mesures fiscales.

2. Aucune disposition du présent accord n'affectera les droits et obligations d'une Partie en vertu d'une convention fiscale. En cas d'incompatibilité entre le présent accord et une telle convention, cette dernière prévaudra dans la mesure de l'incompatibilité.

3. Nonobstant le paragraphe 2,

4. Sous réserve du paragraphe 2,

5. Sous réserve du paragraphe 2 et sans préjudice des droits et des obligations des Parties aux termes du paragraphe 3, les paragraphes 1106 (3), (4) et (5) (Prescriptions de résultats) s'appliqueront aux mesures fiscales.

6. L'article 1110 (Expropriation et indemnisation) s'appliquera aux mesures fiscales, si ce n'est qu'aucun investisseur ne pourra invoquer ledit article à l'appui d'une plainte déposée au titre des articles 1116 (Plainte déposée par un investisseur d'une Partie en son nom propre) ou 1117 (Plainte déposée par un investisseur d'une Partie au nom d'une entreprise), lorsqu'il aura été déterminé aux termes du présent paragraphe que la mesure en cause n'est pas une expropriation. L'investisseur renverra pour détermination aux autorités compétentes appropriées visées à l'annexe 2103.6, au moment où il donnera notification aux termes de l'article 1119 (Notification de l'intention de soumettre une plainte à l'arbitrage), la question de savoir si ladite mesure n'est pas une expropriation. Si les autorités compétentes refusent d'examiner la question ou, ayant accepté de le faire, ne parviennent pas, dans les six mois suivant le renvoi, à déterminer que la mesure n'est pas une expropriation, l'investisseur pourra soumettre sa demande à l'arbitrage en vertu de l'article 1120 (Soumission d'une plainte à l'arbitrage).

Article 2104 : Balance des paiements

1. Aucune disposition du présent accord ne pourra être interprétée comme empêchant une Partie d'adopter ou de maintenir des mesures qui restreignent les transferts si cette Partie éprouve ou risque d'éprouver de graves difficultés de balance des paiements et si les restrictions appliquées sont conformes aux paragraphes 2 à 4 inclusivement et

Règles générales

2. Dès que cela sera matériellement possible après qu'elle aura appliqué une mesure aux termes du présent article, une Partie

3. Une mesure adoptée ou maintenue aux termes du présent article

4. Une Partie pourra adopter ou maintenir, en vertu du présent article, une mesure qui donne la priorité aux services qui sont essentiels à son programme économique, mais ne pourra le faire en vue de protéger une branche de production ou un secteur donné, à moins qu'il ne s'agisse d'une mesure conforme à l'alinéa (2)c) et au paragraphe VIII(3) des Statuts du FMI.

Restrictions relatives aux transferts dans des secteurs autres que le commerce transfrontières des services financiers

5. Les restrictions relatives aux transferts dans des secteurs autres que le commerce transfrontières des services financiers,

Restrictions relatives au commerce transfrontières des services financiers

6. Une Partie qui applique des restrictions au commerce transfrontières des services financiers :

7. Lorsqu'elles se consulteront en vertu de l'alinéa (6)b), les Parties

Article 2105 : Divulgation de renseignements

Aucune disposition du présent accord ne pourra être interprétée comme exigeant d'une Partie qu'elle fournisse des renseignements ou qu'elle donne accès à des renseignements dont la divulgation ferait obstacle à l'application des lois ou serait contraire à sa législation visant la protection de la vie privée ou des affaires et des comptes financiers de clients d'institutions financières.

Article 2106 : Industries culturelles

L'annexe 2106 s'applique aux Parties qui y sont visées pour ce qui concerne les industries culturelles.

Article 2107: Définitions

Aux fins du présent chapitre :

convention fiscale désigne une convention visant à éviter les doubles impositions, ou tout autre accord ou arrangement international en matière fiscale;

FMI désigne le Fonds monétaire international;

industries culturelles désigne les personnes qui se livrent à l'une ou l'autre des activités suivantes :

paiements au titre des transactions internationales courantes a le même sens que dans les Statuts du FMI;

taxes et mesures fiscales ne s'entendent pas

transactions en capital internationales a le même sens que dans les Statuts du FMI; et

transferts désigne les transactions internationales et les transferts et paiements internationaux afférents.

Annexe 2103.4

Mesures fiscales particulières

1. Aux fins des alinéas 2103(4)a) et b), l'impôt visé est l'impôt sur les actifs aux termes de la Loi sur l'imposition des actifs (Ley del Impuesto al Activo) du Mexique.

2. Aux fins de l'alinéa 2103(4)h), la taxe visée est toute taxe d'accise sur les primes d'assurance adoptée par le Mexique dans la mesure où une telle taxe serait visée par les alinéas 2103(4)d), e) ou f) si elle était imposée par le Canada ou par les États-Unis.

Annexe 2103.6

Autorités compétentes

Aux fins du présent chapitre, autorité compétente désigne

Annexe 2106

Industries culturelles

Nonobstant toute autre disposition du présent accord, et s'agissant du Canada et des États-Unis, toute mesure adoptée ou maintenue en ce qui a trait aux industries culturelles, sauf disposition expresse de l'article 302 (Accès aux marchés - Élimination des droits de douane), et toute mesure d'effet commercial équivalent adoptée en réaction, seront régies dans le cadre du présent Accord exclusivement par les dispositions de l'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Les droits et obligations s'appliquant entre le Canada et toute autre Partie relativement à ces mesures seront identiques aux droits et obligations s'appliquant entre le Canada et les États-Unis.

Date de modification: