North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) - Rules of Origin

What are the NAFTA rules of origin?

Each NAFTA country retains its external tariffs vis-à-vis non-members' goods and levies a lower tariff on the goods "originating" from the other NAFTA members. Rules of origin provide the basis for customs officials to make determinations about which goods are entitled preferential tariff treatment under the NAFTA. Negotiators of the agreement sought to make the NAFTA's rules of origin very clear so as to provide certainty and predictability to producers, exporters and importers. They also sought to ensure that the NAFTA's benefits are not extended to goods exported from non-NAFTA countries which have undergone only minimal processing in North America. The NAFTA rules of origin are included in Chapter Four of the Agreement. The product-specific rules of origin for NAFTA are contained in Annex 401. For more information on the NAFTA rules and origin and customs procedures, please refer to the Guide to Importing and Exporting in Canada.

Amendments

The product-specific rules of origin of the NAFTA are periodically amended to reflect changes in industry production practices and sourcing patterns as well as to ensure their consistency following periodic amendments to the World Customs Organizations’ Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System (HS).

For information on the following documents, please visit the Library and Archives Canada search page and type "NAFTA Rules of Origin".


The Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada assumes no responsibility for the accuracy, completeness or timeliness of the information on this site or the consequences of its use. The treaty data on this site has been prepared for convenience of reference only.

Any errors, omissions or anomalies on this site may be brought to the attention of the Tariffs and Goods Market Access Division (TPG) .

Most of the treaties in force for Canada are published in the Canada Treaty Series (CTS), available at many public libraries, or from bookstores dealing in government publications, or directly from the Canadian Government Publications website.

Date Modified:

Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA) - Règles d’origine

Le 30 septembre 2018, les États-Unis, le Mexique et le Canada ont annoncé l'achèvement des négociations sur le nouveau Accord États-Unis-Mexique-Canada (AEUMC).

Que sont les règles d'origine dans le cadre de l'ALENA?

Chacun des pays membres de l'ALENA maintient ses tarifs extérieurs pour les produits importés de pays non membres et impose des tarifs inférieurs pour les produits « originaires » des autres pays membres. Les douaniers utilisent les règles d'origine pour déterminer les produits qui mériteront un tarif préférentiel en vertu de l'ALENA. Les négociateurs de l'Accord se sont attachés à établir des règles d'origine très claires afin que les producteurs, les exportateurs et les importateurs sachent exactement à quoi s'attendre. Ils ont également voulu éviter que les avantages de l'ALENA ne s'étendent à des produits en provenance de pays non membres qui n'auraient subi que des transformations mineures en Amérique du Nord. Le chapitre 4 de l'ALENA contient les règles d'origine. Les règles d'origine spécifiques de l'ALENA se retrouvent dans l'annexe 401. Pour plus d’informations sur les règles d’origines et les procédures douanières de l’ALENA, veuillez consulter le Guide sur l'importation et exportation au Canada.

Modifications

Les règles d’origine spécifiques de l’ALÉNA sont modifiées périodiquement pour mieux refléter les changements dans les méthodes de production et d'approvisionnement ainsi que pour être en accord avec les changements périodiques au Système harmonisé de désignation et de codification des marchandises (SH) du Organisation Mondiale des Douanes.

Pour de l’information sur les documents ci-dessous, veuillez visiter le site de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada et inscrire « Règles d'origine de l'ALENA » dans le moteur de recherche.


Le ministère des Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada décline toute responsabilité quant à l'exactitude, à l'exhaustivité ou à l'actualité du contenu du site ou aux conséquences de son utilisation. Les données sur les traités que l'on retrouve dans ce site sont présentées à titre de référence seulement.

Toute erreur, omission ou anomalie relevée dans ce site peut être signalée à la Direction des droits de douane et de l’accès aux marchés des marchandises (TPG).

La plupart des traités en vigueur qui concernent le Canada sont publiés dans le recueil des traités du Canada (RTC). On peut les consulter dans la plupart des bibliothèques publiques ou se les procurer dans les librairies qui tiennent les publications officielles ou encore le site Web des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada.

Date de modification: