Canada and Bangladesh relations

Canada established diplomatic relations with Bangladesh in 1972.

In Bangladesh, Canada is represented by the High Commission of Canada in Bangladesh, Dhaka.

In Canada, Bangladesh is represented by the High Commission for Bangladesh in Ottawa.

Bilateral relations

Built upon shared values of democracy and pluralism, Canada’s relations with Bangladesh are focused on:

Bilateral and multilateral cooperation

People-to-people links between Canada and Bangladesh are expanding. The Bangladeshi-Canadian community is estimated at over 100,000 and continues to make significant contributions to Canadian prosperity and to the multi-cultural fabric of Canada.

Canada and Bangladesh share a number of multilateral interests including trade liberalization through the World Trade Organization and support for international peacekeeping. Canada and Bangladesh also enjoy close ties as members of the United Nations and the Commonwealth.

Trade and investment

Canada’s commercial relationship with Bangladesh has grown dramatically over the last 12 years. The value of bilateral merchandise trade has more than tripled from $600.5 million in 2004 to over $2.4 billion Canadian dollars in 2016. During this period, Canadian merchandise exports to Bangladesh have increased over sixfold. Canadian merchandise exports to Bangladesh were $768 million in 2016, of which 83% was agriculture items. Canadian merchandise imports from Bangladesh were nearly $1.6 billion in 2016.

Canada’s main exports to Bangladesh include:

Bangladesh is Canada’s third largest pulse export market (e.g. dry peas, lentils, chickpeas), and a major market for high quality wheat. In addition, several flagship Canadian companies from the aerospace, information and communication technology sectors are active in Bangladesh market and pursuing new business opportunities.

Canada has supplied Bangladesh with one million tons of potash since independence in 1971. The Canadian Commercial Corporation, Government of Canada signed the first government to government agreement with the Government of Bangladesh in April 2014 to export high quality potash fertilizer to Bangladesh.

In August 2013, Canada and Bangladesh concluded negotiations of a first-time bilateral air transport agreement, in Ottawa. Both countries agreed to apply the agreement on an administrative basis immediately. Carriers from both Canada and Bangladesh can now launch new services.

Canada’s main merchandise imports from Bangladesh included:

Canada is a bright spot for Bangladeshi apparel, with garments and textile products making up the bulk of Canada’s merchandise imports from Bangladesh. Bangladesh has enjoyed duty-free market access to Canada since 2003. Potential trading opportunities for Bangladesh to explore include:

Bangladesh started exporting pharmaceutical products to Canada in 2017.

Date Modified:

Relations entre le Canada et le Bangladesh

Le Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques avec le Bangladesh en 1972.

Au Bangladesh, le Canada est représenté par le haut-commissariat du Canada au Bangladesh, à Dhaka.

Au Canada, le Bangladesh est représenté par le haut-commissariat du Bangladesh à Ottawa.

Relations bilatérales

Bâties sur des valeurs partagées de démocratie et de pluralisme, les relations du Canada avec le Bangladesh sont centrées autour :

Les relations interpersonnelles entre le Canada et le Bangladesh sont en expansion. La communauté banglado-canadienne est estimée à plus de 100 000 personnes et continue d'apporter des contributions importantes à la prospérité canadienne et au tissu multiculturel du Canada.

Le Canada et le Bangladesh partagent un certain nombre d'intérêts multilatéraux, notamment la libéralisation du commerce par l'intermédiaire de l'Organisation Mondiale du Commerce et le soutien au maintien de la paix internationale. Le Canada et le Bangladesh entretiennent également des liens étroits avec les Nations Unies et le Commonwealth.

Commerce et investissement

Les relations commerciales du Canada avec le Bangladesh ont connu une croissance spectaculaire au cours des 12 dernières années. Le volume du commerce bilatéral de marchandises a plus que triplé, passant de 600,5 millions de dollars en 2004 à plus de 2,4 milliards de dollars canadiens en 2016. Au cours de cette période, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers le Bangladesh ont été multipliées par plus de six. Les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers le Bangladesh se sont élevées à 768 millions de dollars en 2016, dont 83% étaient des produits agricoles. Les importations canadiennes de marchandises en provenance du Bangladesh ont atteint près de 1,6  milliard de dollars en 2016.

Les principales exportations du Canada vers le Bangladesh se composent de:

Le Bangladesh est le troisième marché d'exportation de légumineuses du Canada (p. ex. pois secs, lentilles, pois chiches) et un marché important pour le blé de haute qualité. De plus, plusieurs entreprises canadiennes phares des secteurs de l'aérospatiale, des technologies de l'information et des communications sont actives sur le marché du Bangladesh et recherchent de nouvelles possibilités d'affaires.

Le Canada a fourni au Bangladesh un million de tonnes de potasse depuis l'indépendance en 1971. En avril 2014, la Corporation Commerciale Canadienne, gouvernement du Canada, a signé le premier accord de gouvernement à gouvernement avec le gouvernement du Bangladesh pour exporter de l'engrais potassique de haute qualité au Bangladesh.

En août 2013, le Canada et le Bangladesh ont conclu à Ottawa les négociations du tout premier accord bilatéral sur le transport aérien. Les deux pays ont convenu d'appliquer immédiatement l'accord sur une base administrative. Les transporteurs tant canadiens que bangladais peuvent maintenant lancer de nouveaux services.

Les principales importations de marchandises du Canada en provenance du Bangladesh sont composées de:

Le Canada est une destination de choix pour le prêt-à-porter bangladais, les vêtements et les produits textiles constituant la majeure partie des importations de marchandises du Canada en provenance du Bangladesh. Le Bangladesh bénéficie depuis 2003 d'un accès au marché canadien en franchise de droits. Les ouvertures commerciales potentielles pour le Bangladesh sont les suivantes:

Le Bangladesh a commencé à exporter en 2017 des produits pharmaceutiques vers le Canada.

Date de modification: