Canada and Bhutan relations

The Government of Canada established formal diplomatic relations with Bhutan in 2003. The Government of the Kingdom of Bhutan (Bhutan) has diplomatic relations with only 52 countries (in addition to the European Union); Canada and Japan are the only G7 members on this list. Bhutan became a member of the United Nations in 1971. Official bilateral interaction is coordinated through the Canadian High Commission in New Delhi and the Bhutanese Mission to the United Nations in New York.

In 1998, the fourth king of Bhutan launched the country on the path to a constitutional democracy. Then King Jigme Singye Wangchuck transferred most of his administrative powers to the Council of Cabinet Ministers and abdicated the throne in favour of his son. King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wanghuck was crowned the fifth monarch of Bhutan in 2008. The country’s first written constitution was adopted at the first session of parliament that year, signalling the formal transition of Bhutan from an absolute monarchy to a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary democracy. Bhutan’s second parliamentary election was held in 2013. The People’s Democratic Party won a two-thirds majority. The country’s third elections will be held in 2018.

Strong people-to-people ties and a history of close collaboration in the education sector strengthen Canada and Bhutan’s relationship. In 1963, a Canadian Jesuit priest, Father William Mackey, travelled to Bhutan at the request of the Royal Bhutanese Government to establish a secular secondary school system for the country. Since then, over 50 Canadians have taught in Bhutanese schools and more than 250 Bhutanese educators have studied in over ten Canadian institutions. The King of Bhutan, Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck was awarded an honourary doctorate from the University of New Brunswick in 2005.

Though Bhutan's economy is one of the world's smallest, it has grown in recent years and is based on:

Canada and Bhutan enjoy a modest commercial relationship, focussed primarily on the education sector.

A Canadian Cooperation Office based in the capital Thimpu managed a bilateral development program from 1992 to 2008. Canada continues to provide both bilateral and multilateral assistance to Bhutan through a variety of channels.

Refugee resettlement

Bhutanese refugees of ethnic Nepalese descent have been living in seven camps in eastern Nepal since the early 1990s. Canada is part of a group of eight countries which includes:

which are taking steps to address this long-standing situation by resettling some of these refugees.

In May 2007, the Government of Canada announced that it would resettle up to 5,000 Bhutanese refugees. In June 2012, the Government announced that it would resettle up to 500 more refugees with family connections in Canada. Plans to resettle up to 1,000 more Bhutanese refugees were announced in March 2013. In total, Canada has resettled approximately 6,500 Bhutanese refugees who have been living for nearly two decades in camps run by the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR).

Resettlement efforts are ongoing. These countries’ efforts, as well as the Government of Nepal’s and the UNHCR’s, has reduced the number of refugee camps from seven to two.

Refugees have settled into more than 21 communities across Canada.

Date Modified:

Relations entre le Canada et le Bhoutan

Le gouvernement du Canada a établi des relations diplomatiques officielles avec le Bhoutan en 2003. D’ailleurs, le gouvernement du Royaume du Bhoutan (Bhoutan) n’entretient des relations diplomatiques qu’avec 52 pays (en plus de l’Union européenne); le Canada et le Japon sont les seuls membres du G7 qui figurent sur cette liste. Le pays est devenu membre des Nations Unies en 1971. Les interactions bilatérales officielles sont coordonnées par le haut-commissariat du Canada au New Delhi et la mission du Bhoutan auprès des Nations Unies à New York.

En 1998, le quatrième roi du Bhoutan a lancé le pays sur la voie de la démocratie constitutionnelle. Ensuite, le roi Jigme Singye Wangchuck a transféré la plupart de ses pouvoirs administratifs au Conseil des ministres du Cabinet et a abdiqué en faveur de son fils. Le roi Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wanghuck a été couronné le cinquième monarque du Bhoutan en 2008. La première constitution écrite du pays a été adoptée lors de la première séance du Parlement cette année-là, marquant ainsi la transition officielle du Bhoutan d’une monarchie absolue à une monarchie constitutionnelle et à une démocratie parlementaire. Les deuxièmes élections parlementaires du Bhoutan ont eu lieu en 2013 et le Parti démocratique populaire a remporté une majorité des deux tiers. C’est en 2018 qu’auront lieu les troisièmes élections du pays.

Les relations entre le Canada et le Bhoutan sont renforcées par des liens interpersonnels solides et des antécédents d’étroite collaboration dans le secteur de l’éducation. En 1963, un jésuite canadien, le père William Mackey, s’est rendu au Bhoutan à la demande du gouvernement bhoutanais pour y mettre en place un système d’études secondaires laïc. Depuis ce temps, plus de 50 Canadiens ont enseigné dans des écoles bhoutanaises et plus de 250 enseignants bhoutanais ont étudié dans une dizaine d’établissements canadiens. De plus, le roi du Bhoutan, Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck, s’est vu remettre un doctorat honorifique de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick en 2005.

Bien que l’économie du Bhoutan soit l’une des plus petites du monde, au cours des dernières années, elle a connu une croissance fondée sur :

Le Canada et le Bhoutan entretiennent des relations commerciales modestes, principalement axées sur le secteur de l’éducation.

Un bureau canadien de coopération installé dans la capitale Thimpu a géré un programme bilatéral d’aide au développement de 1992 à 2008. Le Canada continue de fournir tant une aide bilatérale qu’une aide multilatérale au pays par l’entremise de différents mécanismes.

Réinstallation des réfugiés

Des réfugiés bhoutanais d’origine népalaise vivent dans sept camps de l’est du Népal depuis le début des années 1990. Le Canada fait partie d’un groupe de huit pays :

qui réinstallent certains des réfugiés pour mettre fin à cette situation qui dure depuis longtemps.

En mai 2007, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé qu’il réinstallerait jusqu’à 5 000 réfugiés bhoutanais. En juin 2012, le gouvernement a annoncé la réinstallation d’au plus 500 réfugiés supplémentaires ayant des liens familiaux au Canada. Il a aussi annoncé des plans en vue de réinstaller jusqu’à 1 000 réfugiés bhoutanais de plus en mars 2013. Au total, le Canada a réinstallé environ 6 500 réfugiés bhoutanais qui vivaient depuis près de 20 ans dans des camps dirigés par le Haut-commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés (HCR).

Les initiatives de réinstallation se poursuivent. Grâce aux efforts déployés par ces pays, le gouvernement du Népal et l'HCR, le nombre de camps de réfugiés est passé de sept à deux.

Les réfugiés se sont installés dans plus de 21 collectivités dans l’ensemble du Canada.

Date de modification: