Guidance on Eligible Costs for Development Initiatives

The information on this page does not apply to bids under Request for Proposals processes, nor proposals submitted to the International Humanitarian Assistance Program which have specific requirements and instructions related to cost elements and budgets.

Please use the reference from the contribution agreement template below as guidance when completing the budget information in an application for funding.

The eligible cost annex describes the most common eligible direct cost elements, such as salary costs and travel, used for the budget template. Please keep in mind, however, that eligible direct costs depend on the exact nature of the project. Any of the cost elements described in the annex might be legitimate for one project, however in another project, some expenses could be deemed non-essential to obtain expected results and would therefore be ineligible for reimbursement.

You will see a list of ineligible cost elements at the end of the annex. Specific calls for proposals may further qualify eligible and ineligible cost elements.

When you are drafting the budget for your initiative, link each activity of the project with its eligible direct cost elements and then transfer the totals of direct cost elements to the template.

Should funding be approved for the initiative, budget details and eligible costs will be finalized in the funding agreement.

Please note:

Eligible cost annex from the funding agreement template:

1. Eligible Direct Cost Elements

As a general rule, to be eligible for reimbursement, costs must be reasonable, directly and clearly related to the Project and agreed to in the agreement’s budget.

1.1 Remuneration - Organization's Employees

1.2 Remuneration - Local Employees

1.3 Annual Direct Salary Increases

The salaries paid by the Organization to its Employees and Local Employees may be increased in accordance with the the Department Policy on Annual Fee and Salary Increases Under Multi-Year Service Contracts and Contribution Agreements for the Delivery of International Development Assistance. The Organization shall notify the Department of expected salary increases, if any, by providing the details of such increases in its Annual Work Plan or other written document. The Department shall approve in writing any salary increase prior to their reimbursement.

1.4 Fees - Subcontractors with an Arm’s Length Relationship with the Organization

1.5 Allocated Travel Time

1.6 Reimbursable Costs

The actual and reasonable costs directly related to the implementation of the Project, such as:

1.7 Allowance for Indirect/Overhead Costs

As compensation for the Organization's indirect/overhead costs of the Project, an allowance may be provided for the period covered in accordance with the Overhead Compensation Policy for the International Development Assistance Program’s Contribution Agreements with Canadian Organizations. For non-Canadian organizations, the overhead compensation rate(s) will be negotiated on a case-by-case basis.

1.8 Project Costs not Eligible for the Overhead

1.9 Exclusion of Organization's Profit

The Organization shall not include profit, directly or indirectly, in the calculation of remuneration or fees or in any other of the costs detailed in the Project Budget, except, but subject to sub-Article 1.4 of this Part, when the profit is included in a Sub-agreement or Subcontract deemed acceptable by the Department with Subcontractor(s) that are a for-profit entity into which the Organization does not hold any direct or indirect interest, and the Organization and the Subcontractor(s) have an Arm's Length Relationship as defined in the General Terms and Conditions.

1.10 Applicable Taxes

The Organization shall ensure that all costs for the implementation of the Project include, where applicable, all taxes that the Organization shall pay on all goods and services, less any credits or reimbursements to which the Organization is entitled.

2. Ineligible Cost Elements

Costs that are considered as ineligible under the Project include, but are not limited to the following:

Date Modified:

Directives concernant les éléments de coût admissibles pour les projets de développement

L’information contenue dans cette page ne s’applique pas aux soumissions présentées en réponse à un processus de demande de propositions ni à celles présentées en vertu du programme Assistance humanitaire internationale, lesquels ont des exigences et des instructions spécifiques relativement aux éléments de coût et aux budgets.

Veuillez vous référer à l’information ci-dessous au moment de fournir les renseignements de nature budgétaire dans une demande de financement.

L’annexe sur les éléments de coût admissibles décrit les éléments de coût direct admissibles les plus courants, comme les salaires et les frais de déplacement, à inscrire dans le modèle de budget. Toutefois, n’oubliez pas que les éléments de coût direct admissibles dépendent de la nature du projet. Pour un projet donné, tous les éléments de coût décrits dans l’annexe peuvent être admissibles à un remboursement. Par contre, dans un autre projet, certains des éléments de coût pourraient être considérés comme étant non essentiels à l’atteinte des résultats escomptés et ne seraient donc pas admissibles à un remboursement.

Vous pouvez consulter la liste des éléments de coût non admissibles à la fin de l’annexe. Des demandes de propositions particulières pourraient prévoir d’autres éléments de coût admissibles et non admissibles.

Au moment de préparer le budget de votre projet, faites correspondre chaque activité du projet à ses éléments de coût direct admissibles, puis transférez les totaux des éléments de coût direct dans le modèle de budget.

Si le financement du projet est approuvé, les détails et les éléments de coût admissibles du budget seront finalisés dans l’accord de financement.

Veuillez noter que :

Annexe des coûts admissibles tirée du modèle d’accord de financement :

1. Éléments de coûts admissibles

De manière générale, pour être admissibles au remboursement, les coûts doivent être raisonnables,  directement liés à la mise en œuvre du Projet et approuvés au budget de l’accord de contribution

1.1 Rémunération – employés de l’Organisation

1.2 Rémunération – Employés locaux

1.3 Augmentations annuelles du salaire direct

Les salaires versés par l’Organisation à ses Employés et aux Employés locaux peuvent être augmentés conformément à la Politique sur les augmentations annuelles des honoraires et des salaires pour les marchés de services et les accords de contribution pluriannuels pour l’acheminement de l’aide au développement international. L’Organisation soumet au Ministère le détail de ces augmentations dans son plan de travail annuel ou autre document. Les  augmentations salariales doivent être approuvées par écrit par le Ministère avant tout remboursement.

1.4 Honoraires – Sous-traitants ayant une relation sans lien de dépendance avec l’Organisation

1.5 Temps de déplacement alloué

1.6 Dépenses remboursables

Les dépenses réelles et raisonnables liées directement à la réalisation du Projet, notamment :

1.7 Indemnité pour les coûts indirects et les frais généraux

Pour compenser les coûts indirects et les frais généraux payés par l’Organisation pour le Projet, une indemnité pourrait être versée pour la période visée, conformément à la Politique de compensation de frais généraux touchant les accords de contribution conclus avec des organisations canadiennes en vertu du Programme d’aide au développement international. Pour les organisations qui ne sont pas canadiennes, l’indemnité pour les coûts indirects sera négociée au cas par cas.

1.8 Coûts du Projet non admissibles dans le cadre de la compensation de frais généraux

1.9 Exclusion des profits de l’Organisation

L’Organisation ne peut, directement ou indirectement, inclure de profit dans le calcul de la rémunération ni des honoraires, ni dans aucun des autres coûts détaillés dans le budget du Projet, sauf, sous réserve de l’article 1.4 de la présente partie, dans les cas où ce profit est inclus dans un Sous-accord ou un Sous-contrat de sous-traitance jugé acceptable par du Ministère et conclu avec une entité à but lucratif dans laquelle l’Organisation ne possède aucun intérêt direct ou indirect, et où il n’existe pas de lien de dépendance, en vertu des Modalités générales, entre l’Organisation et le ou les Sous-traitants.

1.10 Taxes applicables

L’Organisation s’assure que tous les coûts de mise en œuvre du Projet incluent, le cas échéant, toutes les taxes qu’elle doit payer sur les biens et services, moins les crédits et remboursements auxquels elle est admissible.

2. Éléments de coûts non admissibles

Dans le cadre du Projet, les coûts non admissibles incluent notamment les suivants :

Date de modification: