Guatemala: Green and Inclusive Economic Growth for Indigenous Women and Youth

Deadline for submitting a proposal for this call was June 9, 2017.

Error Alert: Please note that there was an error in the first sentence of the English version of the call for proposals. The duration of proposed projects must be five years, and not up to five years. The English sentence has been corrected accordingly. The French version is accurate.

The total amount of funding available under the “Guatemala: Green and Inclusive Economic Growth for Indigenous Women and Youth” call for proposals is $12.75 million Canadian dollars for projects with a duration of five years. Global Affairs Canada may fund any number of proposals, or none, up to the maximum funding available.

You must submit your proposal to this call through the online portal Partners@International. Global Affairs Canada will not accept any late submissions or submissions submitted outside the portal. Be sure to review the instructions in How to apply for funding through a call for proposals before beginning your application.

Objective

Under this call, your project proposal must contribute to the achievement of this ultimate outcome:

Your project proposal must also contribute to the achievement of two or three intermediate outcomes, including at least one of the following intermediate outcomes:

You must not alter the ultimate outcome statement or the selected intermediate outcome statement.

If your proposal is selected, Global Affairs Canada will ask you to include an indicator linked to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals in the performance measurement framework, to be completed when designing the project implementation plan. Global Affairs Canada will work in collaboration with organizations whose proposals have been selected to define this indicator, which will be used to measure the achievement of the final outcome.

Proposals must also meet gender equality and green economic growth objectives.

Gender equality: Priority will be given to proposals that fully integrate gender equality issues in their design. This means that gender equality issues raised in the gender comparative analysis will be integrated in the theory of change and are addressed specifically through concrete activities, resources, outcomes and indicators.

Proposals must also clearly indicate how:

Green economic growth and climate change: This call for proposals seeks to foster green economic growth by promoting sustainable environmental practices, such as the responsible use of natural resources, protection of ecosystems, promotion of low-carbon-emission economic activities, efficient use of energy, use of clean and/or renewable energy sources, management of waste and effluent, smart farming practices adapted to the climate, sustainable water and soil management, and strengthening communities’ capacities for resilience in adapting to climate change. These examples are provided solely as an illustration; proposals may include other sustainable practices that also meet the challenges linked to green economic growth. Proposed projects must also present an analysis of the potential impact of climate change on the populations and areas targeted by the project and, where applicable, propose measures to reinforce capacity for adaptation.

Definitions:
By “economic empowerment,” Global Affairs Canada means increased access for persons to financial resources and better economic perspectives, including jobs, financial education, financial services, property and other productive assets, acquisition of skills and market information. See also the guidance note on Women's Economic Empowerment.

By “youth,” Global Affairs Canada means any person between 18 and 30 years old.

By “innovative business practices,” Global Affairs Canada means the use of new methods, whether for business models, strategic practices, technologies, behavioural insights or marketing strategies for products and services, that benefit and empower the poor in developing countries while being adapted to the local context.

By “clean and sustainable business practices,” Global Affairs Canada means the incorporation of social and environmental responsibility to strive toward a minimal negative impact on people and the local and global environment. This specifically includes, but is not limited to, integrating sustainability in business decisions, using environmentally friendly products or services to replace non-environmentally friendly versions, and addressing quality of life issues in the local community.

By “small-scale enterprises,” Global Affairs Canada means micro, small and mid-sized enterprises (MSME), as defined by Guatemala’s Ministry of the Economy, whether in the agriculture sector or not.

By “decent jobs,” Global Affairs Canada means the productive work of women and men in conditions of freedom, equity, safety, security and human dignity, as defined by the International Labour Organization.

Organization eligibility

Global Affairs Canada will not pre-assess or comment on the eligibility of specific potential applicants. Carefully review the following eligibility screening requirements that Global Affairs Canada will use on submitted application packages for this particular call. To be eligible, you must be able to respond to each requirement and, where stipulated, provide supporting documentation:

If you are unable to respond to any of the above requirements, your organization is not eligible to apply under this particular call.

Consortium: An eligible Canadian organization may choose to form a consortium with other Canadian and/or non-Canadian organizations, as well as with members of civil society, academia and the private sector. The Canadian organization must be the lead partner in the consortium and must meet all the eligibility criteria. The other members of the consortium are only required to submit proof of their legal status in the country where they are registered.

Private-sector organizations: Private-sector organizations may submit an application if they meet the eligibility criteria, or they may decide to join a consortium. Organizations may not generate profits from implementation of a project funded by Global Affairs Canada.

Number of proposals: An organization may only submit a single proposal, whether individually or as lead partner in a consortium. However, there is no limit to the number of applications in which an organization that is not the lead partner in a consortium may participate. However, this organization must have the ability to simultaneously carry out the work in all the proposals in which it is a participant, in the event all these proposals should be accepted.

Project idea conformity

Carefully review the parameters of this call and judge whether your project idea will fit. You must be able to answer “yes” to all of the following statements in order for your application to be considered for funding under this call:

If your proposed project does not conform to the above statements, it will not be assessed because it cannot be considered for funding under this call.

Available resources

There are a number of resources available online to help you develop your application package. Global Affairs Canada strongly encourages you to read all of the following tools and guidance before beginning your application process. Failure to meet the mandatory requirements, minimum standards and deadlines detailed therein will result in your application package not being considered for funding.

How to submit your application package

In order to be considered in this call, you must submit your completed application package through the online portal Partners@International by June 9, 2017, before 4 p.m. Eastern Time (UTC-4).
Your application package must include all of the following documents:

Questions

The deadline to submit questions concerning this call for proposals was May 19, 2017. Global Affairs Canada will not respond to questions on specific organizational circumstances or on specific project proposals. Answers will appear on the “Guatemala: Green and Inclusive Economic Growth for Indigenous Women and Youth” Questions and answers page.

Date Modified:

Guatemala : Croissance économique verte et inclusive favorisant les femmes et les jeunes autochtones

La date limite pour soumettre une proposition pour cet appel était le 9 juin 2017.

Alerte – Erreur : Veuillez noter qu’une erreur s’est produite dans la première phrase de la version anglaise de l’appel de propositions. La durée des projets proposés doit être de cinq ans, et non jusqu’à cinq ans. La phrase en anglais a été corrigée en conséquence. La version française est exacte.

Le financement total disponible au titre du présent appel de propositions « Guatemala : Croissance économique verte et inclusive favorisant les femmes et les jeunes autochtones » est de 12,75 millions de dollars canadiens pour des projets d’une durée de 5 ans. Affaires mondiales Canada peut financer n’importe quel nombre de propositions, jusqu’à concurrence du financement maximal disponible, ou n’en retenir aucune.

Vous devez soumettre votre proposition pour cet appel par l’entremise du portail Partenaires@International. Affaires mondiales Canada n’acceptera aucune proposition reçue après cette date ni hors du portail. Assurez-vous de passer en revue les instructions du document « Comment présenter une demande de financement au moyen d’un appel de propositions » avant de remplir votre demande.

Objectifs

Aux fins du présent appel, votre proposition de projet doit contribuer à l’atteinte du résultat ultime suivant :

Votre proposition de projet doit aussi contribuer à l’atteinte de deux ou trois résultats intermédiaires, dont au moins l’un des deux résultats intermédiaires suivants :

Vous ne devez pas modifier l’énoncé du résultat ultime ni l’énoncé du résultat intermédiaire choisi.

Si votre proposition est retenue, Affaires mondiales Canada vous demandera d’inclure un indicateur lié aux Objectifs de développement durable des Nations Unies dans le cadre de mesure du rendement qui devra être complété lors de la conception du plan de mise en œuvre du projet. Affaires mondiales Canada travaillera en collaboration avec les organisations dont les propositions auront été retenues afin de définir cet indicateur, lequel servira à mesurer l’atteinte du résultat ultime.

Les propositions doivent également répondre aux objectifs en matière d’égalité entre les sexes et de croissance économique verte.

Égalité entre les sexes : La priorité sera accordée aux propositions dont la conception intègre pleinement les enjeux liés à l’égalité entre les sexes. Cela signifie que les questions relatives à l’égalité entre les sexes déterminées lors de l’analyse comparative entre les sexes auront été intégrées dans la théorie du changement et, de façon plus précise, dans les activités, les ressources, les résultats et les indicateurs proposés.

Les propositions devront également indiquer clairement comment :

Croissance économique verte et changements climatiques : Le présent appel entend favoriser une croissance économique verte par la promotion de pratiques environnementales durables, par exemple l’utilisation responsable des ressources naturelles, la protection des écosystèmes, la promotion d’activités économiques à faibles émissions de carbone, l’utilisation efficace de l’énergie et l’emploi de sources propres et/ou renouvelables, la gestion des déchets et des effluents, des pratiques agricoles intelligentes adaptées au climat, la gestion durable de l’eau et des sols, et le renforcement des capacités de résilience des communautés face aux changements climatiques. Ces exemples sont donnés à titre indicatif seulement; les propositions peuvent inclure d’autres pratiques durables qui répondent également aux défis liés à la croissance économique verte. Les projets proposés doivent aussi présenter une analyse des impacts éventuels des changements climatiques sur les populations et les secteurs visés, et le cas échéant, proposer des mesures pour renforcer les capacités d’adaptation.

Définitions :
Par « autonomisation économique », Affaires mondiales Canada entend l’accroissement de l’accès des personnes aux ressources financières et à de meilleures perspectives économiques, ce qui comprend entre autres l’emploi, l’éducation financière, les services financiers, la propriété et les autres biens de production, l’acquisition de compétences et l’information sur les marchés. Voir aussi la note d’orientation sur l’autonomisation économique des femmes.

Par « jeunes », Affaires mondiales Canada entend toute personne de 18 à 30 ans.

Par « pratiques d’affaires novatrices », Affaires mondiales Canada entend l’utilisation de méthodes nouvelles, qu’il s’agisse de modèles d’affaires, de pratiques stratégiques, de technologies, de renseignements comportementaux ou de stratégie de commercialisation de produits et de services, qui contribuent au renforcement des capacités des plus pauvres dans les pays en développement et qui leur sont profitables, tout en étant adaptées au contexte local.

Par « pratiques d’affaires propres et durables », Affaires mondiales Canada entend la prise en considération de la responsabilité sociale et environnementale afin de minimiser les répercussions négatives sur les personnes et l’environnement local et en général. Cela comprend notamment, mais non exclusivement, l’attention accordée à la notion de durabilité dans les décisions commerciales, l’utilisation de produits ou de services respectueux de l’environnement et la prise en compte des questions liées à la qualité de vie des collectivités locales.

Par « entreprises de petite envergure », Affaires mondiales Canada entend les micros, petites et moyennes entreprises (MPME), conformément à la définition du ministère de l’Économie du Guatemala. Ces entreprises peuvent être agricoles ou non.

Par « emplois décents », Affaires mondiales Canada entend le travail productif des femmes et des hommes dans des conditions de liberté, d’équité, de sécurité et de dignité humaine, selon la définition de l’Organisation internationale du travail.

Admissibilité de l’organisation

Affaires mondiales Canada n’effectuera pas d’évaluation préalable et ne formulera pas de commentaires sur l’admissibilité de possibles demandeurs en particulier. Veuillez examiner soigneusement les critères d’admissibilité qu’Affaires mondiales Canada utilisera pour trier les demandes reçues au titre du présent appel. Pour être admissible, vous devez respecter chacune des exigences et fournir tous les documents à l’appui, si indiqué :

Si vous ne pouvez pas respecter l’une des exigences ci-dessus, votre organisation n’est pas admissible pour présenter une demande au titre du présent appel.

Consortium : Une organisation canadienne admissible peut former un consortium avec d’autres organisations canadiennes ou non canadiennes, ainsi qu’avec des membres de la société civile, du milieu universitaire et du secteur privé. L’organisation canadienne doit être le partenaire principal du consortium et elle doit répondre à tous les critères d’admissibilité. Les autres membres du consortium sont seulement tenus de fournir une preuve de leur statut juridique dans le pays où ils sont enregistrés.

Organisations du secteur privé : Les organisations du secteur privé peuvent soumettre une demande si elles satisfont aux critères d’admissibilité, ou elles peuvent décider de se joindre à un consortium. Les organisations ne peuvent générer de profits avec la mise en œuvre d’un projet financé par Affaires mondiales Canada.

Nombre de propositions : Une organisation ne peut présenter qu’une seule proposition, soit à titre individuel ou à titre de partenaire principal d’un consortium. Par contre, il n’y a pas de limite au nombre de demandes auxquelles peut participer une organisation qui n’est pas le partenaire principal d’un consortium. Cette organisation doit toutefois avoir la capacité d’exécuter, de manière simultanée, le travail dans toutes les propositions auxquelles elle participe, advenant le cas où toutes ces propositions seraient acceptées.

Admissibilité de la proposition

Examinez attentivement les paramètres du présent appel et déterminez si votre idée de projet y répond. Vous devez être en mesure de répondre par l’affirmative à tous les énoncés ci-dessous pour que votre demande soit étudiée en vue d’un éventuel financement au titre du présent appel :

Si le projet que vous proposez ne respecte pas les énoncés ci-dessus, il ne sera pas évalué, car il ne peut être pris en considération pour du financement au titre du présent appel de propositions.

Ressources disponibles

Un certain nombre de ressources en ligne vous aideront à préparer votre demande. Affaires mondiales Canada vous encourage fortement à lire tous les outils et les guides suivants avant de commencer à préparer votre demande. Si vous ne respectez pas les exigences obligatoires, les normes minimales et les échéanciers détaillés dans le présent document, votre dossier de demande ne sera pas admissible à du financement.

Comment présenter votre dossier de demande

Afin que votre demande soit prise en considération pour le présent appel de propositions, vous devez envoyer votre dossier complet à Partenaires@International au plus tard le 9 juin 2017 avant 16 h, heure avancée de l’Est (UTC-4).

Votre dossier de demande doit comprendre tous les documents suivants :

Questions

La date limite pour soumettre des questions concernant cet appel de propositions était le 19 mai 2017. Affaires mondiales Canada ne répondra pas aux questions sur les circonstances particulières d’une organisation ou sur des propositions de projet spécifiques. Les réponses seront affichées sur la page Questions et réponses de l’appel « Guatemala : Croissance économique verte et inclusive favorisant les femmes et les jeunes autochtones ».

Date de modification: