Results-Based Management Tip Sheet 2.3 – Questions and Approaches for Theory of Change Clarification and Refinement

PDF Version (460 KB)

This tip sheet is a companion to the Results-Based Management for International Assistance Programming at Global Affairs Canada: A How-to Guide. It expands on the discussion of the theory of change, the logic model and the performance measurement framework in the How-to Guide and provides a reference tool that you can use in your day-to-day work.

This tip sheet provides questions, approaches and language that implementers and Global Affairs Canada staff can use to clarify and refine a theory of change, logic model and performance measurement framework.

Asking the following questions is one of the best ways to bring clarity to an unclear theory of change, logic model or performance measurement framework. In addition to questions, you can also take notes, draw pictures and post sticky notes on a wall to help establish clear, logical steps of an initial theory of change, which can then be developed into a logic model.

The Theory of Change:

Ultimate outcome:

Intermediate outcomes:

Immediate outcomes:

Outputs:

Activities:

Other approaches for clarifying or refining the Theory of Change

Sometimes there is a discrepancy between what the design team wants to achieve (the change described in the outcome) and what they will be using (the indicator) to measure the change.

When you find a discrepancy, the following questions can help:

Depending on the answers to these questions, the indicator or the outcome statement—and perhaps even the theory of change—may need to be rethought.


Updated: July 2017
These tools will be updated annually as required. Enquiries or feedback on this tip sheet should be directed to: Results-Based Management Centre of Excellence, Operational Direction and Coherence, International Assistance Operations Bureau, Global Affairs Canada
Email: gar.rbm@international.gc.ca

Date Modified:

Fiche-conseil en gestion axée sur les résultats no 2.3 – Questions et approches pour clarifier et perfectionner la théorie du changement

Version PDF (665 Ko)

La présente fiche-conseil accompagne Les outils de la Gestion axée sur les résultats d'Affaires mondiales Canada : Guide pratique. Cet outil approfondit la discussion du Guide sur la théorie du changement, le modèle logique et le cadre de mesure du rendement, et offre un outil de référence que vous pouvez dans votre travail de tous les jours.

La présente fiche-conseil fournit des questions, des approches et des formulations que les exécutants et les membres du personnel d’Affaires mondiales Canada peuvent utiliser afin de préciser et de peaufiner les modèles logiques et les cadres de mesure du rendement, pour eux-mêmes comme pour leurs collègues.

Poser les questions qui suivent est l’une des meilleures façons de clarifier une théorie du changement, un modèle logique ou un cadre de mesure du rendement ambigu. En plus des questions, il est également possible de prendre des notes, de faire des dessins et d’afficher des feuillets autoadhésifs au mur afin d’établir des étapes nettes et logiques d’une théorie du changement initiale, qui pourra être ensuite convertie en modèle logique.

La théorie du changement 

Résultat ultime 

Résultats intermédiaires 

Résultats immédiats 

Extrants 

Activités

Autres approches pour clarifier ou parfaire la théorie du changement

Il y a parfois un décalage entre ce que l’équipe de conception du projet veut atteindre (le changement décrit dans le résultat) et ce qu’elle utilisera (l’indicateur) pour mesurer le changement.

Lorsque vous découvrez un tel décalage, les questions suivantes peuvent vous aider :

Selon les réponses que vous donnerez à ces questions, l’indicateur ou l’énoncé de résultat – et peut-être même la théorie du changement – pourrait devoir être modifié.


Dernière mise à jour : juillet 2017
Ces outils seront mis à jour périodiquement au besoin. Toute question ou commentaire sur la présente fiche-conseil doit être acheminé au : Centre d’excellence de la gestion axée sur les résultats, Direction et cohérence des opérations, Bureau des opérations d’aide internationale, Affaires mondiales Canada
Courriel : gar.rbm@international.gc.ca

Date de modification: