About the premier forum for international economic cooperation

Origin of the G20

Established in the wake of the Asian financial crisis of the late 1990s, the Group of 20 (G20) consisted at the beginning of finance ministers and central bank governors of advanced and emerging economies. They would meet once a year to better ensure the stability of financial markets and to promote economic cooperation.

Leaders’ summits

The first meeting of G20 leaders took place in 2008, in Washington, D.C., at the onset of the global financial crisis. There, leaders agreed to an action plan to stabilize the global economy and prevent future crises.

Leaders met a second time in London on April 1-2, 2009. Their reunion was marked by the announcement of a historic pledge of US$1.1 trillion to restore credit, growth and jobs in the world economy.

Following up on the measures taken in London, G20 leaders met for a third time that same year in Pittsburgh. That summit established the G20 as the premier forum for our international economic cooperation, and helped increase the voice of emerging economies in the international financial institutions.

How the G20 works

Summit hosts are responsible for preparing leaders’ summits and for organizing the series of preparatory meetings that advance G20 work throughout the year.

The G20 has no permanent secretariat, and much of the preparation for the summit is completed by G20 leader’s personal representatives, known as “sherpas”. Sherpas maintain contact with each other over the course of the year to discuss agenda items for the summit and coordinate the work of the G20.

Working groups

Working groups and experts groups are established when needed to support the work of leaders, finance ministers, central bank governors and sherpas.

Working groups and experts groups are generally co-chaired by one advanced and one emerging economy. In 2010, Canada and India co-chaired the working group on the G20 framework for strong, sustainable, and balanced growth.

Working groups and experts groups currently exist in the following areas:

Involvement of other organizations

The G20’s work is supported by experts from international organizations such as the World Bank, the IMF, the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, the International Labour Organization, the World Trade Organization and the United Nations.

The G20 also works with the Financial Stability Board to address vulnerabilities, to develop and implement strong regulatory, supervisory and other policies in the interest of financial stability, and to monitor and report on progress in strengthening financial regulation.

G20 declarations and documents


G20 summit documents

G20 ministerial documents


2014 and earlier

The information identified on these pages is provided for reference, research or record-keeping purposes. It is not subject to Government of Canada web standards and has not been altered or updated since it was published. The documents have been archived via the Library and Archives Canada.

Note: Some of the information on this Web page has been provided by external sources. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.


One can access information about Canada's relations with G20 partners by selecting country from the list below:

Date modified:

Le Canada et le G20

Origine du G20

Le Groupe des 20 (G20) a été créé dans la foulée de la crise financière asiatique à la fin des années 1990 et réunissait à l’origine les ministres des Finances et les gouverneurs des banques centrales des économies avancées et émergentes. Ils ont convenu qu’ils se rencontreraient une fois par année afin de mieux assurer la stabilité des marchés financiers et de promouvoir la coopération économique.

Sommets des dirigeants du G20

Le premier sommet des dirigeants du G20 s’est tenu à Washington, en 2008, au début de la crise financière mondiale. Lors de cette rencontre, les dirigeants ont convenu d’un Plan d’action visant à stabiliser l’économie mondiale et à prévenir d’autres crises éventuelles.

Les dirigeants se sont réunis une seconde fois à Londres, les 1er et 2 avril 2009 où ils ont annoncé une contribution sans précédent de 1,1 billion $US afin de rétablir le crédit, la croissance et les emplois dans l’économie mondiale.

Pour donner suite aux mesures adoptées à Londres, les dirigeants du G20 se sont réunis une troisième fois, à Pittsburgh. Le sommet de Pittsburgh a permis au G20 d’acquérir le titre de principale enceinte pour notre coopération économique internationale, et de porte-voix des  économies émergentes au sein des institutions financières internationales.

Fonctionnement du G20

Les pays hôtes sont responsables de l’organisation des sommets des dirigeants ainsi que des séries de réunions préparatoires qui font progresser les initiatives du G20 au cours de l’année.

Le G20 n’a pas de secrétariat permanent et ce sont les représentants personnels des dirigeants du G20, les « sherpas », qui sont chargés d’une grande partie de la préparation du sommet. Les sherpas demeurent en contact tout au long de l’année afin de discuter des questions à l’ordre du jour du sommet et de coordonner les travaux du G20.

Groupes de travail

Les groupes de travail et les groupes d’experts sont mis sur pied lorsque le besoin s’en fait sentir afin d’appuyer les travaux des dirigeants, des ministres des Finances, des gouverneurs des banques centrales ainsi que des sherpas.

Habituellement, les groupes de travail et les groupes d’experts sont coprésidés par une économie avancée et une économie émergente. En 2010, le Canada et l’Inde ont assuré la coprésidence du groupe de travail sur le Cadre du G20 pour une croissance forte, durable et équilibrée.

Il existe actuellement des groupes de travail et des groupes d’experts dans les domaines suivants :

Participation d’autres organisations

Les travaux du G20 sont soutenus par des organisations internationales telles que la Banque mondiale, le Fonds monétaire international, l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques, l’Organisation internationale du travail, l’Organisation mondiale du commerce et les Nations Unies.

Le G20 travaille aussi avec le Conseil de stabilité financière pour réduire les vulnérabilités, pour élaborer et mettre en œuvre des politiques solides de réglementation et de surveillance ou d’autre nature, ainsi que pour assurer le suivi des progrès en ce qui concerne le renforcement de la réglementation financière et en faire rapport.

Déclarations et documents du G20

2016

Documents des sommets du G20

Documents ministériels du G20

2015

Documents des sommets du G20

Documents ministériels du G20

2014 et années antérieures

L’information relevée sur ces pages est fournie à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la publication.

Note : Une partie des informations de cette page Web provient de sources externes. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

Adhésion

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les relations entre le Canada et ses partenaires du G20, veuillez sélectionner l'un des pays à partir de la liste ci-dessous :

Date de modification: