Canada and the Asian Development Bank

The Asian Development Bank (ADB) is a development financial institution that works to reduce poverty in the Asia Pacific region. The ADP works to increase inclusive and sustainable economic growth and regional cooperation in one of the poorest regions in the world. The ADB has 67 members, 48 of which are located in the Asia Pacific.

Established in 1966, the ADB provides loans, technical assistance and grants to member countries. It is the third largest provider of development finance in the region.

Canada’s support for the Asian Development Bank

Canada is one of twelve members of the ADB Board of Directors. Our role here is to promote development efforts and Canada’s interests in the region. Our work with ADB aligns with Canada’s development priorities.

Since joining ADB in 1966, Canada has contributed a total of US$7.7 billion (as of December 31, 2015) to the ADB’s institutional funding. Canada has also provided US$1.5 billion in support to Special Funds.

Special funds include the Asian Development Fund (ADF), the ADB’s concessional window for its poorest member countries, as well as various trust funds in areas such as climate change, clean energy, public-private partnerships, infrastructure and regional connectivity, gender equality, governance, results-based management, disaster risk management and malaria and other communicable diseases prevention. For instance:

Since Canada joined the ADB, Canadian companies and consultants have been awarded US$859 million in procurement contracts (as of December 31, 2015).

Achievements

With an increase in funding in 2015, the ADB provided US$27.17 billion to member countries through loans, grants, technical assistance and project co-financing.

In 2015, the ADB has helped its developing member countries to achieve specific development results, including:

Related links

Date Modified:

Le Canada et la Banque asiatique de développement

La Banque asiatique de développement (BAD) est une institution financière de développement qui s’emploie à réduire la pauvreté dans la région Asie- Pacifique. La BAD travaille à améliorer la croissance économique inclusive et durable et la coopération régionale dans une des régions les plus pauvres du monde. La BAD compte 67 pays membres, dont 48 sont situés en Asie-Pacifique.

Fondée en 1966, la BAD offre des prêts, de l’assistance technique et des subventions aux pays membres. Elle est le troisième plus grand fournisseur mondial de financement du développement dans la région.

Appui du Canada à la Banque asiatique de développement

Le Canada est l’un des douze membres du conseil d’administration de la BAD. Notre rôle consiste à favoriser les efforts de développement et les intérêts du Canada dans la région. Notre travail avec la BAD est conforme aux priorités du Canada en matière de développement.

Depuis qu’il s’est joint à la BAD en 1966, le Canada a fourni une contribution totale de 7,7 milliards de dollars américains (en date du 31 décembre 2015) au financement institutionnel de la BAD. Le Canada a aussi contribué plus de 1,5 milliard de dollars américains en appui aux Fonds spéciaux.

Les Fonds spéciaux comprennent le Fonds asiatique de développement (FAD), le guichet concessionnel de la BAD pour ses pays membres les plus pauvres, ainsi que divers fonds fiduciaires dans des domaines tels que les changements climatiques, les énergies propres, les partenariats public-privé, les infrastructures et la connectivité régionale, l’égalité entre les sexes, la gouvernance, la gestion fondée sur les résultats, la gestion du risque, et la prévention de la malaria et d’autres maladies transmissibles. Par exemple:

Depuis que le Canada s’est joint à la BAD, les entreprises et consultants canadiens ont reçu, en contrats d’approvisionnement, un montant s’élevant à 859 millions de dollars américains (en date du 31 décembre 2015).

Réalisations

Grâce à une hausse de son financement en 2015, la BAD a versé 27,17 milliards de dollars américains aux pays membres sous la forme de prêts, subventions, assistance technique et cofinancement de projets.

En 2015, la BAD a aidé ses pays membres en développement à obtenir des résultats spécifiques de développement notamment en : 

Liens connexes

Date de modification: