Canada and the African Development Bank

Created in 1964, the African Development Bank's (AfDB) mission is to help reduce poverty, improve living conditions for Africans and mobilize resources for Africa's economic and social development in order to support the poorest region of the world.

The AfDB has 80 country members, with Canada becoming a member in 1982. Canada holds a permanent seat on the 20-member AfDB Board of Directors and is the fourth largest non-African shareholder to the Bank. Canada also has a seat on the 14-member Board of Directors of the AfDB's African Development Fund (ADF). The ADF provides low interest loans and grants to support the poorest and most vulnerable African countries.

Canada’s support for the African Development Bank

In September 2014, Canada renewed its support to the African Development Fund (ADF), announcing a contribution of $309.3 million over three years (2014-2016), to contribute to economic and social development in the least developed African countries.

Canada also contributes to several thematic multi-donor funds managed by the AfDB, including in the infrastructure and water sectors:

Achievements

Between 2011 and 2013, with the support of Canada and other international donors, the AfDB has helped:

Related Links

Date Modified:

Le Canada et la Banque africaine de développement

Établie en 1964, la Banque africaine de développement (BAfD) a pour mission de contribuer à la réduction de la pauvreté, à l’amélioration des conditions de vie des Africains et à la mobilisation des ressources pour le développement économique et social de l’Afrique, et ce, dans le but de soutenir la région la plus pauvre du monde.

La BAfD compte 80 pays membres. Le Canada, qui y a adhéré en 1982, se classe au quatrième rang des actionnaires non africains. Il détient l’un des sièges permanents parmi les 20 sièges au Conseil d’administration de la BAfD, ainsi qu’un siège permanent au Conseil d’administration du Fonds africain de développement (FAfD) de la BAfD, qui en compte 14. La BAfD consent des prêts à faible taux d’intérêt et des subventions pour soutenir les pays les plus pauvres et les plus vulnérables de l’Afrique.

Le soutien du Canada à la la Banque africaine de développement

En septembre 2014, le Canada a renouvelé son soutien au FAfD et annoncé une contribution de 309,3 millions de dollars sur trois ans (2014-2016), afin de contribuer au développement économique et social des pays africains les moins développés.

Par l’entremise d'Affaires mondiales Canada, le Canada contribue également à plusieurs fonds thématiques multidonateurs gérés par la BAfD, notamment dans les secteurs de l’eau et des infrastructures :

Réalisations

Entre 2011 et 2013, grâce au soutien du Canada et d’autres donateurs internationaux, la BAfD a permis :

Liens connexes

 

Date de modification: