Canada and the Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research

The Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR) is a global partnership that unites organizations engaged in research for a food secure future. It works with partners to reduce rural poverty, increase food security, improve human health and nutrition, and ensure more sustainable management of natural resources. It is the world's largest international agricultural research organization, with 15 international research centres spread around the world working in more than 100 countries.

Canada is one of the founding members of the CGIAR and has been a strong supporter since 1971. Canada recognizes that agricultural research is critical to addressing hunger and poverty in developing countries. Canada is one of the top donors to the CGIAR and a member of the CGIAR Fund Council.

Canada’s support for CGIAR

Between 1995 and 2012, Canada supported the CGIAR-Canada Linkage Fund, which provided annual grants for research projects jointly carried out by Canadian and CGIAR researchers. The linkage fund enabled 16 universities from across Canada to partner with 15 CGIAR research centres on projects aimed at helping solve the global problems of food and nutrition insecurity.

In October 2009, Canada announced it would contribute $32.5 million over three years in new funds to support two CGIAR programs that focus on micronutrient deficiencies and climate change using knowledge, technology and resources to solve related problems.

Achievements

Over a period of 40 years, the CGIAR system, with the support of Canada and other donors, has:

Related links

Date Modified:

Le Canada et le Groupe consultatif pour la recherche agricole internationale

Le Groupe consultatif pour la recherche agricole internationale (GCRAI) est un partenariat mondial de recherche agricole pour un futur sans faim. Le GCRAI travaille afin de réduire la pauvreté rurale, d'accroître la sécurité alimentaire, d'améliorer la santé humaine et la nutrition et d'assurer une gestion plus durable des ressources naturelles. Il s'agit de la plus grande organisation de recherche agricole au monde; elle compte 15 centres de recherche internationaux et ses membres travaillent dans plus de 100 pays.

Le Canada fait partie des membres fondateurs du GCRAI et soutient activement ses activités depuis 1971. Le Canada reconnaît que la recherche agricole est essentielle à la lutte contre la faim et la pauvreté dans les pays en développement. Le Canada se classe parmi ses principaux donateurs et siège au Conseil du Fonds du GCRAI (en anglais).

Le soutien du Canada au GCRAI

Entre 1995 et 2012, le Canada a soutenu le Fonds de liaison GCRAI — Canada, qui fournissait des subventions annuelles aux projets de recherches menés conjointement par les chercheurs du GCIAR et les chercheurs canadiens. Le Fonds de liaison a permis à 16 universités canadiennes de travailler en partenariat avec 15 centres du GCRAI sur des projets visant à régler des problèmes mondiaux d'insécurité alimentaire et de nutrition.

En octobre 2009, le Canada a annoncé qu'elle accorderait 32,5 millions de dollars sur trois ans en nouveaux fonds pour soutenir deux programmes du GCRAI. Ces programmes portent sur les carences en micronutriments et les changements climatiques et visent à résoudre les problèmes connexes à l'aide de connaissances, de technologies et de ressources. Ces fonds permettent, en partie, de respecter l'engagement pris par le Canada lors du G-8 en 2009 dans le cadre de l'Initiative de L'Aquila pour la sécurité alimentaire (en anglais).

Réalisations

Au cours d'une période de 40 ans, le système du GCRAI, grâce au soutien du Canada et d'autres donateurs, a permis de :

Liens connexes

Date de modification: