Canada and the Global Environment Facility

The Global Environment Facility (GEF), established in 1991, is the single largest source of funding and a catalyst for action on the environment. Through its investments, the GEF works with partners to tackle global environmental issues, while also supporting sustainable development including poverty reduction and greater equality between women and men.

The GEF helps recipient countries meet their commitments under various multilateral environmental conventions, including:

Canada’s support

Canada has been a strong supporter of the GEF since its creation and is one of the GEF’s top donors.  Projects funded by the GEF align closely with Canada's international development priorities. For example:

Canada also supports two other trust funds managed by the GEF: the Least Developed Countries Fund (LDCF) and the Capacity-building Initiative for Transparency (CBIT). In total, Canada has provided $60 million to the LDCF to address the urgent adaptation needs among the poorest and most vulnerable countries. Canada has also committed $5 million to CBIT which supports developing countries meet their reporting requirements under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change.

Achievements

As of 2016, with the support of Canada and other donors, the GEF has:

Date Modified:

Le Canada et le Fonds pour l’environnement mondial

Le Fonds pour l'environnement mondial (FEM), crée en 1991, est la principale source de financement et a un effet de catalyseur de mesures en faveur de l’environnement. Grâce à ses investissements, le FEM travaille avec des partenaires pour régler des problèmes environnementaux planétaires, simultanément il soutient le développement durable, y compris la réduction de la pauvreté et une meilleure égalité entre les femmes et les hommes.

Le FEM aide les pays bénéficiaires à respecter leurs engagements pris dans le cadre de diverses conventions multilatérales sur l’environnement, comprenant :

L’appui du Canada

Le Canada a été un fervent partisan du FEM depuis sa création et est l’un de ses principaux donateurs. Les projets financés par le FEM cadrent bien avec les priorités du Canada en matière de développement international. Par exemple :

Le Canada apporte aussi son appui à deux autres fonds gérés par le FEM: le Fonds pour les pays les moins avancés (FPMA) et le Capacity-building Initiative for Transparency (CBIT). Au total le Canada a versé 60 millions de dollars au FPMA pour faire face aux besoins urgents en matière d’adaptation des pays les plus pauvres et les plus vulnérables. Le Canada a aussi engagé 5 millions de dollars pour le CBIT qui appuie les pays en développement à respecter leurs engagements en vertu de la Convention-cadre des Nations unies sur les changements climatiques

Réalisations

À compter de 2016, grâce à l’appui du Canada et d’autres donateurs, le FEM a permis:

Date de modification: