The Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement

The International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement (RCM) is the largest humanitarian network in the world. It is present in nearly every country and supported by millions of volunteers around the globe. The Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement work to alleviate human suffering. It works to protect life and health, and uphold human dignity, especially during armed conflicts and other crises.

The Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement is made up of three distinct bodies. Together they work to prepare for, respond to, and recover from humanitarian crises:

The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)
The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC)

Directs and coordinates the Movement’s response to armed conflicts and other situations of violence. It also works in close cooperation with national societies and provides humanitarian assistance. It advances humanitarian policy, particularly related to international humanitarian law, and acts as the guardian of the Geneva Conventions. The ICRC’s mission is to protect the lives and dignity of victims and to provide them with assistance.

The International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC)
The International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC)

represents the Red Cross and Red Crescent national societies from nearly every country. The IFRC coordinates the movement’s response to natural disasters. It works with national societies to support their domestic disaster relief and recovery efforts. The IFRC’s mission is to improve the lives of vulnerable people by working to prevent and alleviate human suffering.

National societies
National societies

Currently numbering 190, they exist in nearly every country in the world, including Canada. These societies are members of the IFRC and support ICRC emergency operations. They contribute to Red Cross Movement international humanitarian efforts and respond to domestic emergencies in coordination with public authorities. Their local knowledge and on-the-ground presence often mean that national societies are the first to respond to a humanitarian situation.

Canada’s support

Canada has supported the Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement for more than 40 years.

Canada contributes financially to ICRC and IFRC humanitarian appeals responding to natural disasters and conflict situations. We also provide institutional support to the ICRC Since June 2012, Canada and the Canadian Red Cross have had a strategic partnership to enhance Canada’s international humanitarian assistance delivery. Through this partnership, we are working together to improve the emergency response in developing countries and with national societies and local communities so they are better prepared to respond to disasters.

Canada also works with the Canadian Red Cross to implement development projects. These projects focus on strengthening access to community health services, and improving community resilience to disasters in Africa and Asia.

Upcoming Events

The 33rd International Conference of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement will be held in 2019.

Achievements

Canada has supported the Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement to provided life-saving assistance to millions of people affected by conflict and natural disasters. Some examples of this work include:

We also work with Red Cross organizations to development projects such as

Related links

Date Modified:

Le Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant

Le Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge est le plus important réseau humanitaire du monde. Il est présent dans presque tous les pays et reçoit l’appui de millions de bénévoles de partout dans le monde. Il a pour mission de soulager la souffrance humaine, de protéger la vie et la santé, et d’assurer le respect de la dignité humaine, particulièrement lors de conflits armés ou autres situations de crise.

Le Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge est composé de trois organes distincts. Ceux-ci s’efforcent de préparer les interventions en réponse à d’éventuelles crises humanitaires, et le cas échéant, d’y réagir et de s’en relever.

Le Comité international de la Croix-Rouge (CICR)
Le Comité international de la Croix-Rouge (CICR)

Dirige et coordonne la réponse apportée par le Mouvement aux conflits armés ou d’autres situations de violence. Il collabore aussi étroitement avec les sociétés nationales et fournit de l’aide humanitaire. Il fait la promotion des politiques humanitaires, particulièrement celles qui relèvent du droit international humanitaire, et agit à titre de gardien des conventions de Genève. Le CICR a pour mission de protéger les vies et la dignité des victimes de conflits armés ou d’autres situations de violence.

La Fédération internationale des Sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge (FICR)
La Fédération internationale des Sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge (FICR)

Représente les sociétés nationales de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge, présentes dans presque tous les pays. Elle coordonne l’intervention du Mouvement lors de catastrophes naturelles. Elle collabore avec les sociétés nationales pour appuyer leurs efforts de secours et de rétablissement. La mission de la FICR consiste à améliorer la vie des personnes vulnérables en agissant pour prévenir et soulager la souffrance humaine.

Les sociétés nationales
Les sociétés nationales

Dont le nombre est actuellement de 190, sont présentes dans presque tous les pays du monde, dont le Canada. Ces sociétés, membres de la FICR, appuient les opérations d’urgence du CICR. Elles contribuent aux efforts humanitaires du Mouvement à l’échelle internationale et répondent aux urgences nationales dans leur pays respectif, en collaboration avec les autorités publiques. Les sociétés nationales ont des connaissances, des compétences et une présence sur le terrain qui leur permettent souvent d’être les premières à intervenir lors d’une crise humanitaire.

L’appui du Canada

Le Canada appuie le Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge depuis plus de 40 ans.

Le Canada contribue financièrement pour répondre aux appels humanitaires du CICR et de la FICR en cas de catastrophes naturelles ou de situations de conflit. Nous apportons aussi un soutien institutionnel au CICR. Depuis juin 2012, le Canada et la Croix-Rouge canadienne ont établi un partenariat stratégique pour améliorer la fourniture de l’aide humanitaire internationale du Canada. Grâce à ce partenariat, nous travaillons de pair pour améliorer nos interventions d’urgence dans les pays en développement et collaborons avec les sociétés nationales et les collectivités locales afin qu’elles soient préparées pour faire face aux catastrophes.

Le Canada travaille aussi de concert avec la Croix-Rouge canadienne à la mise en œuvre de projets de développement. Ces projets sont axés sur l’amélioration de l’accès aux services de soins communautaires et de la résilience communautaire face aux catastrophes en Afrique et en Asie.

Évènement à venir

La 33e Conférence internationale du Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge aura lieu en 2019.

Réalisations

Le Canada a soutenu le Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge pour offrir une aide vitale à des millions de personnes touchées par des conflits et des catastrophes naturelles. Cette aide a permis d’appuyer les projets suivants :

Nous collaborons aussi, avec les organisations de la Croix-Rouge, à l’élaboration de projets au nombre desquels:

Liens connexes

Date de modification: