Canada and the World Food Programme

The World Food Programme (WFP) is the food assistance arm of the United Nations (UN). It addresses global hunger and urgent food needs by providing life-saving humanitarian assistance to vulnerable populations around the world. Its reach is extensive – more than 80 million people in 75 countries each year.

WFP also leads logistics operations whenever a humanitarian emergency requires a joint response from UN agencies and the humanitarian community. In addition, WFP provides passenger air transport to the entire humanitarian community through the UN Humanitarian Air Service (UNHAS), which goes to more than 250 locations worldwide.

Canada’s support

WFP is Canada’s largest humanitarian assistance partner. WFP helps Canada provide humanitarian assistance that saves lives, alleviates suffering and maintains the dignity of vulnerable people affected by conflicts and natural disasters.

Canada is one of WFP’s top five donors. Canada’s support to WFP helps contribute to emergency food assistance and logistics support, as well as safety net and school meals programs. WFP’s mandate to provide food assistance ties directly to Canada’s commitment to help the poorest and most vulnerable, including through humanitarian action.

In 2016, Canada provided more than $299M to WFP for its operations, including $158M in response to the UN humanitarian appeals. Part of this funding also goes to the Immediate Response Account, which is WFP’s life-saving funding facility. This funding facility allows WFP to rapidly respond to emergencies.

WFP is governed by an Executive Board, with representatives from 36 countries, including Canada. The Executive Board provides intergovernmental support to guide its policies and programs. As a key member of the Executive Board, Canada has worked to enhance the organization’s commitment to:

Upcoming events

Canada participates in WFP Executive Board sessions three times a year in Rome (February, June and November). WFP representatives regularly visit Canada. Canadian representatives also meet with WFP staff in the field while responding to emergencies.

Achievements

Related links

Date Modified:

Le Canada et le Programme alimentaire mondial

Le Programme alimentaire mondial (PAM) est l’outil d’aide alimentaire des Nations Unies (ONU). Il s’attaque à la faim dans le monde et répond aux besoins alimentaires urgents en fournissant de l’aide alimentaire vitale aux populations vulnérables partout dans le monde. Sa portée est étendue puisque, chaque année, il apporte une assistance à plus de 80 millions de personnes dans 75 pays.

Le PAM dirige aussi des opérations logistiques à chaque fois qu’une urgence humanitaire exige une réponse conjointe des agences de l’ONU et de la communauté humanitaire. En outre, le PAM assure le transport aérien de l’ensemble de la communauté humanitaire à l’aide du Service aérien d’aide humanitaire des Nations Unies(UNHAS), lequel dessert plus de 250 destinations dans le monde.

L’aide du Canada

LE PAM est le plus grand partenaire d’aide humanitaire du Canada. Le PAM aide le Canada à fournir de l’aide humanitaire qui sauve des vies, allège les souffrances et préserve la dignité des personnes vulnérables touchées par des conflits et des catastrophes naturelles.

Le Canada est l’un des cinq principaux pays donateurs. L’appui qu’apporte le Canada au PAM aide ce dernier à fournir de l’aide alimentaire d’urgence et du soutien logistique ainsi qu’à contribuer aux dispositifs de sécurité et aux programmes de repas scolaires. Le mandat du PAM visant à apporter de l’aide alimentaire est en rapport direct avec l’engagement du Canada d’aider les plus pauvres et les plus vulnérables, y compris dans le cadre de l’action humanitaire.

En 2016, le Canada a versé plus de 299 millions de dollars au PAM pour ses opérations, dont 158 millions de dollars en réponse aux appels à l’aide humanitaire de l’ONU. Une partie de ce financement est aussi affectée au Compte d’intervention immédiate, qui est le fonds de financement de sauvetage du PAM. Ce fonds de financement permet au PAM de répondre rapidement à des situations d’urgence.

Le PAM est dirigé par un conseil d’administration constitué de représentants de 36 pays, comprenant le Canada. Le conseil d’administration fournit un appui intergouvernemental pour orienter ses politiques et ses programmes. En qualité de membre clé du conseil d’administration, le Canada a œuvré afin de rehausser l’engagement de l’organisation à l’égard de :

Évènements à venir

Le Canada participe aux sessions du conseil d’administration du PAM qui ont lieu à Rome, trois fois par an (en février, juin et novembre). Les représentants du PAM se rendent régulièrement en visite au Canada. Les représentants canadiens rencontrent également le personnel du PAM sur le terrain lors des interventions en cas d’urgence.

Réalisations

Liens connexes

Date de modification: